Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Cruel Stars” as Want to Read:
The Cruel Stars
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Cruel Stars

by
4.40  ·  Rating details ·  5 ratings  ·  3 reviews
With a ruthless sect of humanity intent on wiping out their species, five intrepid heroes must think like their enemies in this epic sci-fi adventure for fans of The Expanse and Battlestar Galactica.

The galaxy was once terrorized by the Sturm, a group of "species purists" intent on destroying any human with genetic or cybernetic enhancements. Fashioning themselves as the o
...more
Hardcover, 432 pages
Expected publication: August 20th 2019 by Del Rey Books
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Cruel Stars, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Cruel Stars

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-36
4.40  · 
Rating details
 ·  5 ratings  ·  3 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Julia Nolan
Apr 10, 2019 rated it really liked it
I got this one at the Del Rey book booth at ECCC. I really enjoyed this one.

So a brief plot synopsis: a number of different characters (a princess, a member of the military with a complicated past, a war hero, a criminal) are all caught up in a plot by a group of exiled humans (the Sturm) who are determined to destroy humanity.

What I liked: fast paced plot, great writing, interesting world (it feels unique enough from ours to be cool, but not so weird that I couldn't follow it), compelling villa
...more
Chandra Mohl
Apr 09, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Got this book at Emerald City Comicon from the Del Ray Booth. Its an advanced readers copy but even so I thought it was really good! I'm not usually into scifi all that much but I found this one rather thrilling to read. Definitely would recommend when it comes out!
Lara Bahr
rated it really liked it
Apr 18, 2019
deep
Apr 20, 2019 marked it as to-read
PW Starred: Birmingham’s gripping near-future novel launches readers into a genocidal interstellar war amid sudden violence and dark humor. A long-exiled radical human group bent on killing any “impure” humans with genetic or mechanical modifications has executed a massive strike against the rest of human culture’s defenses and elites. Standing in its way are one military ship with a new captain, a band of pirates, a bodiless criminal, a 12-year-old princess, and a legend. Birmingham alternates ...more
Lugosbstn
rated it it was amazing
Apr 12, 2019
B. Emm
rated it really liked it
Apr 20, 2019
Gavin Purtell
marked it as to-read
Nov 29, 2018
Simon Ross
marked it as to-read
Nov 29, 2018
Tom
marked it as to-read
Nov 29, 2018
Alex Turner
marked it as to-read
Nov 30, 2018
ALPHAreader
marked it as to-read
Nov 30, 2018
Nanci
marked it as to-read
Nov 30, 2018
Sarah A
marked it as to-read
Nov 30, 2018
Polo Lonergan
marked it as to-read
Nov 30, 2018
Shane
marked it as to-read
Mar 20, 2019
Edward E Eilenfeld Jr
marked it as to-read
Mar 28, 2019
Angela
marked it as to-read
Apr 10, 2019
Laura
marked it as to-read
Apr 10, 2019
Michael
marked it as to-read
Dec 25, 2018
Zachary Frieling
marked it as to-read
Dec 27, 2018
Vinay Badri
marked it as to-read
Jan 08, 2019
Runalong
marked it as to-read
Jan 08, 2019
Alex Davidson
marked it as to-read
Jan 09, 2019
Brenda
marked it as to-read
Jan 09, 2019
Vanessa
marked it as to-read
Jan 09, 2019
Lisa Dees
marked it as to-read
Jan 09, 2019
Matt
marked it as to-read
Jan 11, 2019
Kate
marked it as to-read
Jan 18, 2019
LYNDSEY S.
marked it as to-read
Jan 21, 2019
Ithlilian
marked it as to-read
Jan 21, 2019
Wes
marked it as to-read
Feb 08, 2019
Betsy
added it
Feb 11, 2019
Daniel Hamad
marked it as to-read
Feb 12, 2019
Wayong
marked it as to-read
Feb 26, 2019
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
561 followers
John Birmingham grew up in Ipswich, Queensland and was educated at St Edmunds Christian Brother's College in Ipswich and the University of Queensland in Brisbane. His only stint of full time employment was as a researcher at the Defence Department. After this he returned to Queensland to study law but he did not complete his legal studies, choosing instead to pursue a career as a writer. He curren ...more