Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Ghost and Bone” as Want to Read:
Ghost and Bone
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Ghost and Bone

3.72  ·  Rating details ·  118 ratings  ·  26 reviews
A twisty middle grade adventure standalone for fans of Neil Gaiman and Nevermoor: The Trials of Morrigan Crow about a cursed boy who embarks on a journey into a magical city of ghosts to find out who he really is.

Oscar Grimstone is a normal kid--aside from his secret Curse. Whenever he touches something living, like a flower or his classroom goldfish, they always seem to d
...more
Hardcover, 224 pages
Published August 13th 2019 by Delacorte Press (first published August 1st 2019)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Ghost and Bone, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Ghost and Bone

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.72  · 
Rating details
 ·  118 ratings  ·  26 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Ghost and Bone
Christi M
Feb 17, 2020 rated it it was amazing
In Ghost and Bone, Oscar Grimstone’s mom runs a funeral home, but that part doesn’t bother Oscar because he feels right at home there. One day, strange things start happening there (silvery fog out of nowhere, knives floating in mid air that immediately fly at Oscar). Oscar is in a fight for his life that he is losing until… Well, he becomes a ghost. He didn’t die, he just changed for that moment, escaped, and then soon after changed back. No one is more shocked than Oscar.

Later that night, two
...more
andrea caro
It was solid. I love my spooky middle grade a lot, but I think that a lot more could have been done with this story.
RM(Alwaysdaddygirl) Griffin (alwaysdaddyprincess)
5 stars.

One reason is this another author who truly understands grief. Maybe I am wrong. None of my business. Regardless, this is why I gave it 5 stars. The story was good. If the grief was not well written, it would have been 4 stars.

I understand this book for middle age kids. However, I recommend this book to those that like a weird character or/and on the grief journey.

🇺🇸💀

P. S I am weird and on a grief journey. Everyone journey is different. Never forget that there is no time expiration with
...more
Barbara
Although this story got off to a slow start, I ended up liking it and giving it points for originality. Oscar Grimstone--love that name--has never felt that he truly fit in with his peers. Part of it is his personality and his reluctance to mingle with others, but more of it has to do with how he spends his free time as he helps his mother in their funeral home. Plus, Oscar has starting noticing that everything he touches dies, and he worries that this will also apply to his mother if he hugs he ...more
Emilou
Feb 11, 2020 rated it did not like it
While it has a good plot, I didn't think it was written well. There were times when characters jumped to conclusions that didn't seem reasonable. An example of this was when Oscar went home to see his mom and she forgot who he was. He said something like, "It's me. Oscar." and then the mom says, "I don't have a son." Oscar didn't say "I'm your son." He didn't use the word "son" when talking to his mom, so the scene felt disconnedted. There were a bunch of little things like that all through the ...more
Anita McDivitt Barrios
Oct 12, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Oscar Grimstone works for his Granny in the family business. They're undertakers, so Oscar's grown up around death. But lately Oscar's killing everything he touches. He tries to hide it but it's pretty odd when the grass around you starts to curl and die, or the flowers you're trying to tuck into a corpse's pocket shrivel and turn brown.

Then a shimmering green carriage pulled by ghostly horses pulls up to his house, and a girl ghost -- Sally Cromarty -- identifies him as the source of an astound
...more
Carli
May 25, 2020 rated it liked it
⭐️⭐️⭐️💫/5. Misfit British teen Oscar has always felt out of place. He honestly prefers working at his mum’s funeral home, taking care of corpses, than he does his peers’ company. When a strange occurrence prompts a ghost detective to show up at mortuary, Oscar learns that he has the rare ability to see and communicate with ghosts. What he doesn’t expect is another ability entirely. While I tore through this story, I felt that it was too short. There were so many characters that could have been f ...more
Kirsten
Sep 04, 2019 rated it really liked it
Original concept, but OMG it dragged. The main character is an undertaker's son and discovers that he kills everything he touches. He's attacked by a poltergeist and it turns out he has the ability to phase between being alive, or "bone", or a ghost. His father died when he was young so he goes on an adventure with detective ghosts to find out what makes him unique, why he's been attacked, and what happened to his father. This is a great concept, but I just kept wondering when it was going to en ...more
Kelly Roll
Nov 04, 2019 rated it liked it
Shelves: middle-grade
Oscar Grimstone kills things he touches and he doesn’t know why and soon discovers that he has another skill, he can turn from living into a ghost. A malevolent figure attacks him at his family’s mortuary is the trigger for this discovery. A young ghost detective Sally Cromarty joins forces with Oscar to track down his attacker. Sally has her own mystery she would like to solve. Much of this is done in Londinium, the ghostly version of London. I quite enjoyed the portrayal and rules of the ghost ...more
Sara
May 26, 2020 rated it it was ok
Recommended to Sara by: Kirkus
Shelves: middle-grade
A fun premise ruined by bad pacing, tired cliches, and borrowed storylines. It can be boiled down to The Graveyard Book meets Coco, with dashes of Mort, Harry Potter, and Yu Yu Hakusho for good measure. The child characters didn't speak like children of their age, and the last 20 pages not only include a deus ex machina but also a loose plot thread meant to be solved in a sequel (which I can't imagine will be published). Disappointing.

2/5
...more
V
Sep 16, 2020 rated it it was ok
The best part of this book is the cover art. It's not the slightest bit spooky, the story is weak, and the reader is constantly told everything the characters are thinking and feeling. Honestly reads like a first draft. I slogged through this because it was fairly short, but it nearly ended up in the DNF pile. ...more
Ellen
Oct 19, 2020 rated it really liked it
This book to me was a mix of the movies "Coco" (looking for family in the afterlife) and "Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them" (a separate world with all its government agencies hidden right in plain sight...kinda) in book form. It was a very fast-paced read with a lot of action (combined with ghost bureaucracy) and was a perfect read for the season! ...more
Donna Dobihal Smith
A fun, spooky romp, hand this to any kid looking for a quick read ghost story that won't give them nightmares with one caveat, it starts a little slow but once paranormal characters show up, it takes off. I loved it! ...more
Andrea Roberts
Oct 31, 2019 rated it it was amazing
BEST. MIDDLE GRADE. BOOK. EVER! It has Justin the right balance of spooky and humor an and suspense and a happy ending and twists I never saw coming and yet it all felt very realistic! Andrew Prentice knocked this one out of the park!
Carol Stirling
Jan 23, 2020 rated it really liked it
Was a good book. Is a mystery. Will look for more mystery from this author.
Jerby  Verderosa
Jan 04, 2020 rated it it was ok
Very interesting premise, moved a little too quick for me. I also wish that I could have seen a little more from the female protagonist.
Stacey C.
Nov 06, 2019 rated it really liked it
Such a cute book. Made me laugh. I recommend to anyone looking for an easy read.
Betty
Sep 04, 2019 rated it really liked it
Good book for middle grade kids about belonging.
Sarah Easley
Aug 20, 2019 rated it really liked it
Great cover! The story was really more mystery/adventure than horror but still a lot of spooky fun. I'll be getting this for my school library. ...more
Alyssa
Nov 26, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Imaginative and creative. A different story for those who like ghost stories.
Darby
Aug 28, 2019 added it
Great ghost story. A new twist on being or not being a ghost.
PottWab Regional Library
Jan 23, 2020 marked it as to-read
Shelves: 2020-new
E
Jennifer
Not too scary trip to the underworld, more mystery/adventure than horror. 3rd-6th grade
Jessica Bonanni
Nov 19, 2020 rated it really liked it
Give me all the spooky middle-grade books please! Especially if they're as fun as this one!

This was a quick but fast-paced adventure that had elements of Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them (a government-type magic system), Coco (searching for a loved one in the afterlife) and Enola Holmes (definite mystery vibes).

This was a bit on the short side with the plot starting and not slowing down but I was in the mood for something quick and this accomplished that. The description says this is
...more
Kelsey
Apr 10, 2020 rated it liked it
A middle grade paranormal ghost story with a side of adventure and mystery. Oscar Grimstone has never really fit in with others. His mom runs a funeral home, he wears all black, and lately he has felt cursed. Then one day he discovers that he can turn into a ghost (even though he is still very much alive), and he starts an adventure in the City of Ghosts to find out who he really is.

As far as paranormal stories go, this was fairly entertaining. The story moves along, and the inclusion of Sally,
...more
Karen McKenna
Jun 02, 2019 rated it really liked it
Adventure abounds in this middle grade ghost story. Oscar has always been more comfortable with the dead, his mother being an undertaker and all. But, when a ghost appears intent on murdering him, Oscar accidentally discovers that he can turn himself into a ghost and enter the alternate ghost world of London. He befriends friendly ghost detective Sally while trying to evade a murderous ghost out to kill him and figure out why. What Oscar uncovers is a secret past he could never have dreamed of. ...more
Maria Giefer-Olsen
rated it really liked it
Sep 17, 2019
Heather Allen
rated it liked it
Aug 03, 2020
Becca Amstutz
rated it liked it
Jul 11, 2020
Moire Erin
rated it really liked it
Apr 24, 2020
« previous 1 3 4 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Guest: A Changeling Tale
  • The Forgotten Girl
  • Scritch Scratch
  • Hide and Seeker
  • Changeling (The Oddmire, #1)
  • Winterborne Home for Vengeance and Valor
  • Roll with It
  • Ghost Squad
  • The Fear Zone
  • Catherine's War
  • A Box of Bones
  • Charlie Hernández and the League of Shadows
  • Wink
  • Dead Voices (Small Spaces, #2)
  • The Nightmarys
  • The June Boys
  • Archimancy (Shadow School, #1)
  • White Bird
See similar books…

News & Interviews

Happy Women's History Month! One of the undisputedly good things about modern scholarship is that women’s history is finally getting its due....
69 likes · 11 comments
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »