Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Seraphina Does Everything” as Want to Read:
Seraphina Does Everything
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Seraphina Does Everything

by
4.58  ·  Rating details ·  26 ratings  ·  22 reviews
If I don't open every door, to see what lies within, I'll miss an opportunity, that might not come again. I stay busy day and night, through winter, fall, and spring. I crush my fear of missing out by doing EVERYTHING.

Seraphina wants to do it all. From soccer to ballet to French club, her schedule is jam-packed. However, Seraphina finds she feels blue. With some help from
...more
Paperback, 32 pages
Published April 9th 2019 by National Center for Youth Issues
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Seraphina Does Everything, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Seraphina Does Everything

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-37
Average rating 4.58  · 
Rating details
 ·  26 ratings  ·  22 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Seraphina Does Everything
Kimberly Dawn
Apr 11, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: for-kendall
Love this book’s important, timely message to today’s kids, and its absolutely beautiful illustrations!

Seraphina enjoys participating in many after school activities. She is afraid of missing out on something great if she doesn’t join each activity.

Yet, lately she is beginning to notice she doesn’t have time to do relaxing things at home. For example, Seraphina doesn’t have much time to play with her dog, or shoot hoops with her dad, which she enjoys. She would like to have some time to spend
...more
Rachel
*thank you to Netgalley, National Center for Youth Issues and the author for a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review*

5 stars.

Wow. This was above my expectations. The moral of the story is not just for children of all ages but also a very important message for adults aswell. Seraphina is an overachiever. She tries to do everything because she fears missing out on something. But while she's trying to do everything, she finally realised that she's trying to do too much and that in fact
...more
Carla Johnson-Hicks
Aug 20, 2019 rated it really liked it
This book highlights a problem that many children in this generation suffer from. Doing too much and not having time to relax and be a kid. This is as much a parental problem and a child problem. Seraphina is a young girl who is afraid of missing out on something. She joins so many clubs and takes so many lessons, that she has not time to enjoy with her friends or by herself. Not only that, but she is not being as successful as she wants to be at anything and her lessons are falling behind. She ...more
Veronica ⭐️
May 08, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: 2019, a, childrens
*https://theburgeoningbookshelf.blogsp...
Seraphina Does Everything is a timely reminder that we need to slow down and spend time to relax in this hectic age where the fear of missing out is rife.

What child doesn’t want to try everything? They see a friend doing dancing and want to join in, or sport, gym, singing. There are so many extracurricular activities offered to children these days it’s enticing to want to do everything.

Seraphina is loving life rushing from one after school activity to the
...more
Etienne
Apr 12, 2019 rated it it was amazing
An interesting subject, not yet present enough in the children literacy world. This book talk about overscheduled and how it can affect children. We live in an age where parents put their children into so many class in and out of school that some just haven’t free time anymore, which I really think isn’t normal for children. Having nothing to do and having to find something to do by yourself is an important way to grow, and consider by many neurologist a necessary thing. The story may not do it ...more
Donna Maguire
I like the idea behind this book an encouraging children to look at their life balances. I will admit even as an adult I don't have it right and I can definitely sympathise with Seraphina. The images were nice and the story was easy to follow - 4 stars
Esther Lombardi
This book is a must-read for kids and adults. Our children (my children) want to do it all, and I want to let them do it. After all, my only activity as a child was to sit at home in my book spot and read a book. I (like so many parents) in our modern age want to give my kids the moon and all. I want to make all their dreams come true. But first, perhaps, they need some time of silence and reflection. They need to dream. They need to do what they love. They need some time (and space) to grow and ...more
Isabelle
"I know that IAM everything.
I get to choose each door.
I'm filled with possibility!
And right now, I don't need more."

Seraphina Does Everything by Melissa Gratias is about a little girl that thinks she needs to try everything so she won't miss out on anything but eventually learns that choosing a few things to do well is a lot more fun than doing all the things at once and not having fun with it. This is a great book to read with your children to explain priorities but that it's also okay to try m
...more
Eli  ✨🌹
Apr 17, 2019 rated it really liked it
Shelves: netgalley-books
RATING- 4.5/5
I read this book to my 10-year-old cousin who has struggled with balancing her activities, bullies, and friends. She really enjoyed it and as did I. The story's theme is very true and is almost empowering. I recommend buying this for any child that is in your life.
Lucy (Talk Less, Smile More)
*I received a digital copy of this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review*

I went into this book thinking it was going to be about a little girl who's talented at everything, but I had no idea that this book would touch on some pretty deep topics. I'll go into depth later in this review.

So, I want to start off by saying that I am SO here for books with little black girls on the cover. To be honest, this is what initially drew me to the story. I love that we're living in a day and ag
...more
Storywraps
May 23, 2019 rated it it was amazing
This book is a wonderful reminder as to what is important in life. It is a valuable life lesson that should be taught early to every child.

Seraphina immerses herself in life: Monday it's soccer, Tuesday is karate class, Wednesday she attends Youth Group, Thursday she leads a French Club, Friday is her ballet class and on the weekends?... Soccer games, trips with the family and shows. Whew!!!!! She is one busy little girl and always wants to keep occupied just in case she misses out on something
...more
Mayu
May 01, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I am not much of a children fiction reader but still I went for this book because of the synopsis and also because it was all around blogosphere but mostly because of the synopsis, the book just seemed to be so great.

Even before I went into the story, the first thing I noticed is the pages, the book is so colourful, it is great for children. Even if they don’t enjoy the story, they will definitely love the beautiful drawings of each page. Plus the book is written in that poetic language that wil
...more
Trish C. Arrieche
Apr 18, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Not only is this a great book for children to read, but it is also great for adults with young children! The book focuses on multiple perspectives: (1) putting so much on your plate because you are scared that you will miss opportunities, (2) not having a social life because you are so overwhelmed with the activities you are doing, (3) doing things that you love instead of doing things to say you do them, (4) doing fewer things so that you do them well, (5) and most importantly, having a balance ...more
Ariel Webb
May 08, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Such a great story with a message to kids (and parents!) that they don't have to do all of the activities out there to find happiness. Life is full of doors and it's perfectly fine to not open them all at once. I also really loved the Tips for educators and parents at the end to help support the children in their lives. The illustrations were colorful and engaging, and feature a diverse cast of characters. I would recommend for kids 4 and up, as well as parents with young children.

Thank you Netg
...more
Helena#bookdreamer
Apr 12, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Thank you Netgalley for providing this ARC in exchange for an honest review.
I loved the colorful illustrations and that the main character was from a diverse background. I loved that the little girl was portrayed as active, smart and kind. It was interesting that the author chose to comment on the negative impact of taking on so many activities and feeling overwhelmed with the expectations of perfection. This storybook ends with a clear message that's OK for kids to do the things they enjoy and
...more
Chelsea Smith
May 12, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: netgalley
This book is adorable. The message is encouraging. The images are vivid and colorful. The book brightens my heart just looking at it and through it. The message is so encouraging and inspiring. It’s interestingly worded, keeps your attention, and moves pretty quickly (in a good way). I wish this were a book when I was younger because the encouraging message of this book speaks to me. Thank you to the publisher and Net Galley for allowing me to read this for free.
Producervan in Cornville, AZ from New Orleans & L.A.
Seraphina Does Everything! by Melissa Gratias. Illustrated by Sue Cornelison. National Center for Youth Issues. Independent Book Publishers Association (IBPA). Children’s Fiction, Parenting & Families. Publication date: 09 Apr 2019. 5 Stars.

Gorgeous vibrant colored artwork combined with text to present a valuable message about an overly active child. Great message. Highly recommend!

Many thanks to NetGalley for providing this ebook for review.
...more
Deanna
Apr 19, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Seraphina Does Everything is a wonderful tale of overcommitting to too many interests. It will be a great tool for my busy students about managing interests and scheduling. The tips for educators and parents will be helpful when I refer this book to other educators and parents. Illustrations are beautiful and diverse. Thanks National Center for Youth Issues and NetGalley for the advanced reader copy of this title.
Brittany Rowe Mitchell
This would not be a book to buy for my kids. However, it’s a good little story for parents to read to understand limitations that are forgotten in life. Cute story and a little drawn out. Wouldn’t hold my kids attention, but good to read nonetheless
Jozef Syndicate
Feb 21, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Seraphina Does Everything! is such a great presentation of how busy-ness can keep a child away from enjoying the things they truly love the most and even miss out on the delicate phases of childhood--even if it's their decision to do it all. Smile - even chuckle - at beautiful brown Seraphina as she juggles French, dance, soccer, and little rest. Fun storytelling by Melissa Gratias and beautiful illustrations by Sue Cornelison. 4-star. #JozefBookandBrew @jozefsyndicate @NetGalley
Julie
Oct 15, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I received a free ARC from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Such a good message. Learning to slow down and not over schedule things. The illustrations were really great too.
Andréa
Note: I received a digital review copy of this book from the publisher through NetGalley.
OjoAusana
rated it it was amazing
Apr 19, 2019
Lauren White
rated it it was amazing
Jul 11, 2019
Teresa Grabs
rated it really liked it
Apr 14, 2019
Elisabeth
rated it it was amazing
Apr 30, 2020
Nicole Windhagen
rated it it was amazing
Apr 18, 2019
Julia
marked it as to-read
Feb 17, 2019
Joslyn Truitt
marked it as to-read
Mar 31, 2019
Julie Bestry
marked it as to-read
Mar 31, 2019
Kelly s
marked it as to-read
Apr 10, 2019
Emily
marked it as to-read
Apr 11, 2019
Meredith
marked it as to-read
Apr 17, 2019
Nicole W
marked it as to-read
May 18, 2019
Allison Lienen
marked it as to-read
Jul 23, 2019
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Quinn Says Goodbye: Friends May Go Away, but God Is Here to Stay
  • Hide and Seek, Little Chameleon
  • Help Wanted, Must Love Books
  • Jocelyn's Box of Socks
  • Feel Better, Mommy
  • The Big Buna Bash: One Little Girl's Story About Being Different and the Ethiopian Coffee Ceremony
  • The Tea Dragon Festival (Tea Dragon, #2)
  • The Greatest Hall of Fame: (Book 2)
  • Be Kind: You Can Make the World a Happier Place! 125 Kind Things to Say & Do
  • I Campaigned for Ice Cream: A Boy's Quest for Ice Cream Trucks
  • Bedtime
  • Dolly Parton
  • You Are Home with Me
  • Rubi's Best Friend
  • When I Look Up
  • Count on Me
  • Livi & Grace
  • When I Look Up
See similar books…
Melissa Gratias, Ph.D., is an international speaker, coach, blogger, and author. For more than 20 years, Melissa's coaching and consulting work has improved productivity for multinational, billion-dollar companies as well as individual solopreneurs. She creates workable systems so people can accomplish their professional goals in less time and with less stress. As a result, thousands of business o ...more

News & Interviews

  Let’s say it now and say it proud: Horror is back.  This summer, as the world was thrown into uncertainty by a pandemic and our...
61 likes · 17 comments