Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Other Half of Augusta Hope” as Want to Read:
The Other Half of Augusta Hope
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Other Half of Augusta Hope

4.23  ·  Rating details ·  8,093 ratings  ·  740 reviews
Augusta Hope has never felt like she fits in.

At six, she’s memorising the dictionary. At seven, she’s correcting her teachers. At eight, she spins the globe and picks her favourite country on the sound of its name: Burundi.
 
And now that she's an adult, Augusta has no interest in the goings-on of the small town where she lives with her parents and her beloved twin sister, J

...more
Hardcover, 384 pages
Published June 13th 2019 by The Borough Press
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.23  · 
Rating details
 ·  8,093 ratings  ·  740 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Other Half of Augusta Hope
Paromjit
Jun 05, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Joanna Glen's extraordinary debut is fiercy intelligent, lyrical, interspersed with the magic of Lorca's poetry, questions of what home and family means, amidst our contemporary world and the ills that afflict it. Living in Hedley, Augusta is the younger twin, her beautiful sister, Julia, who is supportive of her and her world, despite the fact that the sisters could not be more different. Julia is the favoured daughter, much more conventional, everything their parents wish Augusta was. Augusta ...more
Dem
May 22, 2020 rated it liked it
3.5 Stars

A skilfully woven and thought provoking read that was entertaining and quirky. I only realised on finishing the novel that this was Joanna Glen’s first novel and it certainly packs a punch.


Augusta Hope has never felt like she fits in. At six she is memorising the dictionary, at seven she’s correcting her teachers and at eight she spins the globe and picks her favourite country on the sound of it’s name Burundi. As Augusta and her twin sister Julia grow up in a small town in England,
...more
Phrynne
Jun 05, 2019 rated it liked it
Shelves: 5000-2019
An interesting story told in dual narratives which did not link up until very late in the book, although there were huge hints all the way through as to what would eventually happen.

I was enjoying it very much until somewhere in the middle when I knew what the outcome was going to be and wanted to get there. At that point the switching from Augusta to Parfait and back began to irritate and the book seemed to move very slowly. Several characters were introduced but never developed and then the f
...more
Carolyn
This is the story of a young woman called Augusta Hope who first loses and then finds her other half. Born a twin, Augusta feels she doesn't fit in to the small town in England where her family are happy to live and dreams of escaping to more exotic places. She loves words and reading and asks too many questions. Even her parents think she is weird and wonder why she can't be more normal like her twin Julia, who is her only friend and supporter.

On the other side of the world, a young boy called
...more
Amanda
Jun 23, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Augusta Hope and her twin sister Julia are bought up in a small town, but they are like chalk and cheese in their personalities. “Augusta loves words like other people love sweets or ice cream” and dreams of traveling to more exotic places whereas Julia is more of a homebody falling in love and marrying a neighbour happy with her life.

I Loved that Augusta was completely unique, she reads a lot and asks lots of questions. Her favourite book is the dictionary and she soaks up general knowledge lik
...more
Louise Wilson
Jun 15, 2019 rated it really liked it
Augusta is a twin. Her sister Julia is the oldest twin. Augusta took that long to be be born that sisters were born on different months and different months. They are like chalk and cheese. Augusta has never fitted in, her idea of having fun is reading her dictionary and learning new words. She decides that Burundi is her favourite country and she's eager to find out all she can about it. Meanwhile, in Burundi, Parfait's family have been raped, tortured and killed by soldiers in a horrific civil ...more
Mandy White
Jun 09, 2019 rated it really liked it
The more I think about The Other Half of Augusta Hope the more the story really hits me. I was not sure about it at first, it felt slow and I was a bit unsure where this was going to go. The writing is not your usual style, a lot of poetry and different languages. But that is the whole point - Augusta Hope is not your usual type of girl . This book is definitely a grower. It is emotional, funny and sad and very clever.

Augusta is a twin - but born in August where her twin Julia was born in July.
...more
Jeanette Lewis
May 25, 2019 rated it it was amazing
The author has created two stories from very different worlds running parallel very successfully and keeps the reader in suspense as to when they will finally merge together. It is Augusta's family's dramatic change in everyday life and tragedy that sees her young adulthood grow into one of some wisdom and one that finally merges with that of Parfait's.

Augusta is a twin with Julia but they have different birthdays because Augusta has taken longer to emerge and was born past the stroke of midnigh
...more
Gumble's Yard
Nov 28, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2019
But don’t we all have experiences all the time that are only ours. None of us can ever imagine being someone else. Isn’t that why being human is lonely? Because however many words there are in a language, they never express the actual thing, the actual feeling, the actual being ourselves.


A story told in two sets of alternating first person chapters, narrated over a period of 20+ years.

One is by the titular English girl, starting with her childhood, growing up in a small town in Hertfordshir
...more
Marianne
May 11, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
“‘So where is all that time, Augusta?’ he said. ‘Perhaps we’ll find it in heaven,’ I said, which was a surprising thing to say, and came out of my mouth without me thinking about it. ‘Or would it be hell?’ said Mr Sánchez. ‘If you found the past, all piled up by the side of the road. All the things you’d ever said. All the things you’d ever thought. All the things you’d ever done.’”

The Other Half of Augusta Hope is the first novel by British author and teacher of Spanish, Joanna Glen. In the beg
...more
Kylie H
May 20, 2019 rated it really liked it
This book centres on family, grief, loss and being true to yourself. Never giving up hope that things have a purpose.
Through the book you follow the life of Augusta Hope who has a twin sister Julia. Julia is everything that her parents want her to be, while Augusta is the stone in the shoe. The awkward one, the inappropriate one, the one who wants to escape her droll English suburb and find 'duende' a Spanish word for 'spirit'. She loves words and maps and sees these as a form of escape.
Meanwhil
...more
Jo - •.★Reading Is My Bliss★.•
Augusta and Julia are twins, the only children born to their parents. Their parents own a small retail shop and each year they close for two weeks for an annual family holiday that is carefully planned out for months. They live a very happy, routined, family life. Her father is very British and proud of being a provider for his family.

Augusta and Julia may have shared a womb but they could not have turned out more different. Julia is pretty much the perfect daughter, she does okay in school and
...more
Michelle
Apr 26, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
The Other Half of Augusta Hope is about twins Augusta and Julia who lives in a little town in England. Augusta is the odd twin. She reminded me a bit of Eleanor Oliphant. She is an odd child and loves words. Her favourite book is the dictionary. She finds hard to fit in life. Her sister Julia is the ‘normal’ child and is always there for her sister. The story continues telling us of the summers they spend travelling with their parents. They share everything together until she meets Diego and bot ...more
Bookread2day
Jun 20, 2019 rated it liked it
I did like reading The Other Half of Augusta Hope, it was beautifully written, but I did feel I wanted a bit more within the story.

Augusta and Julia are twins, but from birth onwards are very different. Julia was born 31st July, but Augusta didn't appear until Mintues later, which by this time happened to be August. This is how Augusta was named by being born in August.

I did laugh at this point, as Augusta was so bright she had to slow down for her father because he couldn't think Straight.

Au
...more
Carol -  Reading Writing and Riesling
Hugely enjoyable!! What a fantastic read! I love you Augusta :) :)
My View:
Intelligent, poignant, insightful, lyrical…this is a remarkable read.

This is a story, well actually two stories, that are the same but oh so different; modern England family life juxtaposed against lives in a war torn refugee camp. A story of isolation, of family, of identity, of violence, of death and coming home….Beautifully imagined and executed, heartbreakingly poignant
Lydia Bailey
May 23, 2020 rated it it was amazing
A really strong debut novel by Joanna Glen which goes straight into my ‘desert island books’ shortlist. In it she talks much of the Spanish word ‘duende’ as being when several factors all combine at once to cause a perfect feeling and/or situation. I really feel she creates duende for the reader here too. It’s all too rare that a good plot coincides with beautiful, intelligent writing to give such an absorbing & poignant read but following Augusta & Parfait’s emotional journeys to happiness is d ...more
Amanda - Mrs B's Book Reviews
*https://mrsbbookreviews.wordpress.com
The Other Half of Augusta Hope is about feeling lost, finding hope, developing connections and accepting your identity. This debut novel by Joanna Glen is defined by exquisite prose, well defined characters and a parallel style narrative that will warm your heart.

Meet Augusta Hope, a woman who has never felt like she fits in. Augusta has a penchant for the written word and her favourite past time is to memorise the dictionary. From a tender age, Augusta unde
...more
Jx PinkLady Reviews ♡ @bookwormthoughts
A few thoughts to come
Jesika
Jun 09, 2019 rated it it was ok
Shelves: arc-s
I struggled with this book a lot - there are parts of it that are really, really well done. Those parts pack an emotional punch and really delve into the idea that we take our most important relationships in life for granted - and, as such, it shocks us to our core to find out they may not be something we can rely on forever after all.

The book is written from two perspectives - that of Augusta and of her other half Parfait. The main issue I had was wanting to spend much, much more time on the ob
...more
MetLineReader
Apr 25, 2019 rated it liked it
Shelves: arcs, 2019
There were parts of this story I loved and parts that absolutely draaaaaggggged. There were some fabulous characters (Parfait’s siblings) and others that were just glossed over, even though they contributed to the atmosphere (the Spanish friends)...
take one pair of twins with hopes and dreams, one boy to lust over, a boy who wants a better life out of Africa and some parents who have a favourite twin. Mix them all together and you have this interesting story. It could have been amazing - themes
...more
Adele Shea
Jun 15, 2019 rated it it was amazing
It's hard for me to write a review for this book. All I can say is I felt every emotion and I will remember it always.
Theresa Smith
May 29, 2019 rated it really liked it
Shelves: netgalley
This is one of those novels where you don’t really know, heading in, what you’re truly in for. The blurb gives the impression that this might be one of those stories where the character is sailing along, trying hard to discover who they really are, tragedy strikes its savage blow, levels them, and then before you can blink, they have emerged stronger and surer, knowing exactly who they are in this new and altered universe. It is to a certain extent, but it’s not quite as straightforward as all t ...more
Nicole
Jan 06, 2019 rated it really liked it
Augusta is the second twin, her sister Julia, her other half, born the other side of midnight. Augusta loves words, she is clever but unable to ravel the mystery why she wants to leave their world, why at the age of 9 she already wanted to go far away, travel, to find out everything there was to know about Burundi.
Parfait is one of nine in his family, the firstborn, one who knows the love that flows through his mother and father to each of them, the beauty his father sees in everything. But Parf
...more
Tracy Fenton
Aug 08, 2019 rated it really liked it
I listened to the Audible version of The Other Half Of Augusta Hope which was narrated by the wonderful voices of Stephanie Racine and Jude Owusu.

I always choose my audible books that have a character led story rather than a gripping thriller as I love to savour the story and get to know the characters over a period of weeks rather than an afternoon frantically page turning.

Augusta Hope is the most wonderful, observational, honest character that I fell for almost immediately. She narrates her st
...more
Rosemary Standeven
Jun 15, 2019 rated it it was amazing
This was a lovely story told from the points of view of two people from completely different backgrounds and continents. Augusta grows up in the Little England small town of Hedley Green with her staid parents and twin sister Julia. Parfait grows up in Burundi with his parents, two sisters and four brothers in the middle of a civil war that takes over half of his family away from him: starting with the murder of his pacifist father, then the repeated rape of his sisters (“The soldiers, when they ...more
Kathryn
Augusta Hope is a twin - an outspoken twin growing up. She says things that are pointed and well.... truthful. But others who like to be less forthright - like her parents, squash her down. Her sister Julia, the good one, supports her with love. I liked Augusta, she sees things as she grows up with honesty.  Her poetry is raw and sometimes made me laugh. She could almost be described as counter cultural.  Burundi a small oppressed country in Africa obsesses her. She  loves new words and enjoys t ...more
Rebecca If Only I Could Read Faster
At first I wasn’t quite sure what to think of The Other Half of Augusta Hope because Augusta is really rather odd. The way that she thinks is seen as odd by everyone around her, her mother seems not to know what to do with her and her father is embarrassed by her.

Augusta feels really quite alone, but she has a twin sister, Julia, who is always there for her. Until she isn’t. As they grow the siblings naturally grow apart, mainly because of a boy that Julia falls for.

Gradually, Augusta Hope worke
...more
Tracey Allen at Carpe Librum
"My parents didn't seem the sort of people who would end up killing someone." The opening line of The Other Half of Augusta Hope by Joanna Glen had my immediate attention and I found the voice of the main character compelling.

Born to average middle class parents, Augusta Hope lives at 1 Willow Crescent in Hedley Green. Augusta reads the dictionary for fun and couldn't be more different from her twin sister. Studying the globe and the names of all the countries, Augusta decides Burundi has the mo
...more
Bridget
I simply loved this clever and wonderful book. For me, it had a little bit of everything; from hope, love, humour and joy to loss and sadness. It was in my thoughts even after I had put it down and I didn’t want to finish it because it was so good. Joanna Glen has written this novel so beautifully and with a lovely lightness of touch which made even the most sombre parts of the book easier to digest. It’s a novel about coming together and redemption. I smiled and laughed and shed a few tears whi ...more
Kajree Gautom
Oct 11, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I'm going to give this book 5 whole stars because the writing absolutely captured me and made me emotional. It was so so so beautiful, the story, I can't even explain 😭
I loved how the two stories merged at the end and how everything fell into place. The author showed beautifully the advents of growing up, dealing with loss, falling in love and living. It's such a beautiful story - and I seem to be at a loss of words here - but ahhhh I loved it. It's poetic and full of ecstatic imagery and lovely
...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Wirral Libraries ...: The Other Half of Augusta Hope 1 5 May 23, 2020 03:00AM  

Readers also enjoyed

  • One Moment
  • Finding Henry Applebee
  • Half a World Away
  • The Secrets of Strangers
  • The Carer
  • The Woman in the White Kimono
  • The Botanist's Daughter
  • Blood Orange
  • Under the Midnight Sky
  • The Family
  • Four
  • The Hiding Game
  • Just One Wish
  • The Nursery (Alexis Tyler #2)
  • Going Under
  • The Accusation
  • White Horses
  • A Home From Home
See similar books…

News & Interviews

Are you having a difficult time reading these days? If so, you're not alone. Since the pandemic began, I've found it harder to concentrate on...
58 likes · 27 comments
“None of us can ever imagine being someone else. Isn’t that why being human is lonely? Because however many words there are in a language, they never express the actual thing, the actual feeling, the actual being ourselves?” 3 likes
“I didn’t bother to talk about the fact that love might be the hugest word there is in the world and that we would never, across a whole lifetime, work out what it meant.” 3 likes
More quotes…