Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Peacemaker” as Want to Read:
The Peacemaker
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Peacemaker

by
4.55  ·  Rating details ·  11 ratings  ·  9 reviews
As the war to end all wars is about to be followed by another, a young woman finds her life taking the same tragic course as her mother's. One night in the summer of 1938 Violet Lowther's mother Peggy is dying, her father Ellis is drunk in the pub, and Violet's life is being ruined behind a dance hall in Barnsfield by a young miner who doesn't look like Clark Gable after ...more
Paperback, 232 pages
Published April 1st 2019 by Top Hat Books
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Peacemaker, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Peacemaker

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-16
Average rating 4.55  · 
Rating details
 ·  11 ratings  ·  9 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Peacemaker
Jeanette
Mar 27, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I do love a war time story and this book certainly was a wonderful read. It is not often that i can sit and read for long periods without having to put the book down for a while, but i was so wrapped up in this story, i just kept turning the pages. A very well written book and one that i can recommend. I am not going to write what the story is about, as i always prefer one to read a book for themselves.

My thanks to Netgalley and the Publishers for my copy. This is my honest review.
Janet
Dec 12, 2018 rated it really liked it
I received a DIGITAL Advance Reader Copy of this book from #NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

From the publisher, as I do not regurgitate the contents or story of books in reviews, I let them do it.


As the war to end all wars is about to be followed by another, a young woman finds her life taking the same tragic course as her mother's. One night in the summer of 1938 Violet Lowther’s mother Peggy is dying, her father Ellis is drunk in the pub, and Violet’s life is being ruined behind a
...more
Myse
Apr 24, 2019 rated it really liked it
Shelves: strong-women
I bought my copy from the author in York at an event during York Literary Festival on 24 March 2019 when I was on holiday there.
I read the book over a couple of days. I could "see" the characters well, warts and all. I was carried along with the unfolding story and it kept me turning the pages. I liked the juxtaposed glimpses of the violence of war and its effects physically and mentally seen from the behaviours of the men and the experiences of the female characters at the hands of men which
...more
Jacqueline
May 25, 2019 rated it it was amazing
The sense of time and place grabbed me from the first page of The Peacemaker. Violet, the main protagonist, is brilliantly portrayed as a working class Yorkshire lass whose life echoes the past. Full of family secrets and consequences, Janet Dean-Knight weaves her magic to hold the reader’s attention to the last word. Her writing shows the emotions and actions of her characters, allowing us to feel the joy and pain as history overtakes them. I look forward to reading the sequel.
Janet MarySpencer
Apr 21, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I thoroughly enjoyed the depiction of Violet's struggle to come to terms with her family's past and her own problems. The characters were believably fallible - past events describing how they had come to act as they did. I also really liked certain passages where dales and moors were beautifully conjured up.
Charlotte Dean-Knight
Apr 14, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Wow- I was gripped from the beginning of this fabulous book. Janet's writing style drew me in instantly and effortlessly through layers of emotion and suspense. The Peacemaker is heartwarming, shocking and real as Janet tells the story of young Violet and her working class Yorkshire family through a difficult time in need. This is a story of repeated history, which I will read again and again!
Clare Plunkett
May 28, 2019 rated it really liked it
An interesting parallel between two lives, intertwined yet lived decades apart. I loved the familiarity of Yorkshire dialect and descriptions of the countryside and people. So easy to feel transported back in time! Now I’m awaiting the continuation of the family saga - I’m hoping it was a just a taste of further tales to be revealed.
RedRobinXXX
Mar 27, 2019 rated it really liked it
I am reviewing this book 'The Peacemaker' for Janet Dean Knight, John Hurt Publishing and NetGalley who gave me a copy of their book for an honest review.
This was a book which gripped me from the beginning and was annoyed when life got in the way and I had to put it down for a bit! Set during WWII it follows Violet and the people she comes into contact with.
Another author I'll be watching for more of in the future
Debbie Nolan
Aug 23, 2019 rated it it was amazing
A thrilling read. Twists and turns are described in such detail I felt like I was there and I knew the characters, quickly and immediately
Kayla Herbert
rated it it was amazing
Jul 13, 2019
Rose
rated it really liked it
Mar 12, 2019
Linda
marked it as to-read
Dec 11, 2018
Kara
marked it as to-read
Dec 11, 2018
Jennifer
marked it as to-read
Dec 12, 2018
Janet Knight
Aug 29, 2019 added it  ·  (Review from the author)
stephen eames
is currently reading it
Apr 20, 2019
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Young Skins
  • The Flat White Economy
  • Pond
  • In the Month of the Midnight Sun
  • Nonviolent Communication: A Language of Life
  • The Summer King (The Chronicles of Faerie, #2)
  • The Lost Girls of Camp Forevermore
  • The Light-Bearer's Daughter (The Chronicles of Faerie, #3)
  • The Diviners
  • The Hunter's Moon (The Chronicles of Faerie, #1)
  • When We Were Orphans
  • The Good People
  • The Artist's Way
  • Kindling the Celtic Spirit: Ancient Traditions to Illumine Your Life Through the Seasons
  • Corelli's Mandolin
See similar books…
Janet Dean Knight is from Barnsley and lives in York. Her debut novel The Peacemaker was longlisted in the Mslexia Novel Competition 2017 and published in March 2019 by Top Hat Books.

As Janet Dean, her poetry has most recently appeared in The Anthology of Yorkshire Poetry by Valley Press and The York Literary Review, the National Poetry Library’s digital collection Poem of the North, and in Strix
...more
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »