Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Unlikely Escape of Uriah Heep” as Want to Read:
The Unlikely Escape of Uriah Heep
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Unlikely Escape of Uriah Heep

by
4.13  ·  Rating details ·  39 ratings  ·  16 reviews
The ultimate book-lover's fantasy, featuring a young scholar with the power to bring literary characters into the world, for fans of The Magicians, Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore, and The Invisible Library.

For his entire life, Charley Sutherland has concealed a magical ability he can't quite control: he can bring characters from books into the real world. His older brot
...more
Hardcover, 464 pages
Expected publication: July 23rd 2019 by Redhook
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Unlikely Escape of Uriah Heep, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Unlikely Escape of Uriah Heep

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
4.13  · 
Rating details
 ·  39 ratings  ·  16 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Emily
Jun 27, 2019 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: a-own-it, fantasy
This book was on my to-read list, I guess I must have read about it somewhere as an "up and coming" fantasy book. Anyway, I added it to my to-read list and then later won it in a GoodReads giveaway.

I wish I didn't have to give this such a low rating since the book isn't even out yet, but I just didn't care for it. There's just too much about the book that doesn't make sense to me. Like characters come out of books, but they don't behave according to their character in the book, they behave howe
...more
WS_BOOKCLUB
Jun 22, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Thank you to Netgalley for providing me with this book in exchange for my honest opinion. It will be available for purchase on July 23rd.

If you enjoy The Book Jumper, Mr. Penumbra’s 24-hour Bookstore, or even the TV show The Librarians, you’ll love this book. It celebrates the bond between a reader and a really good book. I fell in love with this book before the first chapter had even ended.

Charlie Sutherland is a prodigy. Brilliant at languages, he teaches Dickensian literature at a university.
...more
Mary Nguyen (fox & wit)
May 19, 2019 rated it really liked it
Oh this was a delight! As a literature major this book hit deeply close to my heart!

This book brings favorite classics to life (quite literally.) There's five Dr. Darcys in this book lol.

This is a love letter to literature and academics who study literature. Even if you've never been a literature major, this book is a blast to read.

What's charming is this book is really about two brothers who try to figure out who they are and work through their relationship with each other. At the heart it's a
...more
J.A.
Jun 15, 2019 marked it as to-read
Starred review from Kirkus; touted as for fans of The Magicians , Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore , and The Invisible Library , but not The Eyre Affair ?
Shayne Wright
Jun 11, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: giveaways
Goodreads Giveaway. Charles had an unusual birth and unusual abilities. A prodigy, he is a "summoner", one who engrossed in a story can pull the characters from the pages. He learns to put them back or does he? One day he and his brother Rob fall through a brick wall into The Street..... An alternate reality populated with living story characters. They learn that there is another summoner in town, one who wants to create a "new world", destroying all they hold dear. Banding together the battle b ...more
Joelene Weeks
Jun 10, 2019 rated it really liked it
Shelves: netgalley
As literary invertebrates (aka bookworms) we love books, so books about books are like having our cake and eating it too, amiright?! Enter The Unlikely Escape of Uriah Heep by H.G. Parry, a story about a man who can bring characters out of books into the real world by reading, and the effects that has on him, his family, and the city in New Zealand where they live. The story opens with the accidental summoning and unlikely escape of the infamous Dickensian villain Uriah Heep and picks up steam f ...more
Charlotte Kinzie
Jul 03, 2019 rated it really liked it
Shelves: sci-fi-fantasy
Have you ever wondered what it might be like if your favorite literary characters came to life? You may want to rethink that wish because it might not turn out very well at all.

Charley was born with a unique gift. He can magically summon literary characters to life. When they arrive they are imbued with the characteristics that the reader has imagined… so it can be a bit unpredictable! Rob’s older brother has struggled with his relationship with his little brother now that they are in the same c
...more
BookwormishMe
Jun 26, 2019 rated it really liked it
Shelves: ng-reviews, reviewed
Did you ever want to be able to have tea with one of your favorite book characters? Or visit a street in Victorian London? In The Unlikely Escape of Uriah Heep, you can do those things. Dr. Charles Sutherland is an English literature professor with an unusual skill; he can “read” characters from books into existence. While this would be a fabulous skill to have, sometimes it can lead to unexpected consequences. What if the character is a fire-breathing dragon or a pre-teen girl detective who dec ...more
Eugenie
Jul 04, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This is well-written fantasy that will appeal to book lovers. It deals with questions of reality, fate, family and love.
Virginia Ingham
Jun 23, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
What a great read! I couldn’t stop reading very hard to put down!
S.
Jul 05, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Raquel Evans
This was like a grown up Inkheart meets the Thursday Next series with just a dash of Neverwhere. Plus, painfully accurate family and sibling dynamics...

Just based on the story it probably could have been a five star book for me, but it didn't quite hit that status because of the writing style (not bad writing by any means, but also not quite great writing) and because I just didn't like the viewpoint character for most of the book (I think you're not meant to like him, at least not a lot, but i
...more
Jeannette
Jul 10, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: Fans of Dickens, Fans of the Classics, Jasper Fforde fans
Recommended to Jeannette by: Net Galley
Shelves: netgalley, reviewed
I received a free copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for a possible review.

I am not even a huge fan of Dickens, but I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I really love Jasper Fforde's writing and this gave off a very Thursday Next kind of vibe. If you like the classics, especially Dickens, you may enjoy this book. Understanding where the literary references and analysis come from deepened my engagement with the story and made me think as well.

The book is mainly told from the perspective
...more
Kim McGee
Jul 16, 2019 rated it liked it
While I really enjoyed the concept of this book it can be a bit confusing at times. Two brothers, one is the caretaker always looking out for his younger sibling and trying to understand while the younger brother is a creative genius who is able to pull out characters out of books. You can see how this would be a problem. It seems that Charley is not the only one who has this gift and it is a race to stop the rogue characters from upsetting the universe. This is a very unusual and creative appro ...more
Wendy
Jun 25, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Charley is a book summoner--a rare reader with the power to read characters out of their books, though it's much more difficult to put them back, as it turns out. Throughout history, even regular readers might form a magical connection with a certain character, bringing them to life our world, often without knowing it. Maui, Scheherezade, Heathcliffe, Matilda, the White Witch (who rides a motorcycle) all make appearances. Mr. Darcy is a reader favorite, understandably--there are five known versi ...more
Amanda
Jul 08, 2019 rated it really liked it
This was delightful!
Alix Harrow
rated it it was amazing
May 29, 2019
Kathryn
rated it liked it
Jun 20, 2019
Joe Jones
rated it really liked it
Jul 15, 2019
Devin Scott Yarbrough
rated it it was amazing
Jul 20, 2019
Emily
rated it really liked it
Jun 26, 2019
Sheri
rated it liked it
Jun 30, 2019
Molly
rated it liked it
Jan 29, 2019
Dave
rated it it was amazing
Jul 18, 2019
Virginia Pommerening
rated it really liked it
Jul 02, 2019
Mike Chen
rated it it was amazing
May 11, 2019
carol
rated it liked it
Jun 30, 2019
Suzi
rated it it was amazing
Jun 06, 2019
Tawnie Mizer
rated it it was amazing
Jul 06, 2019
One More Chapter
rated it liked it
Jul 16, 2019
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
8 followers
H.G. Parry lives in a book-infested flat in Wellington, New Zealand, which she shares with her sister and two overactive rabbits. She holds a PhD in English Literature from Victoria University of Wellington, and teaches English, Film, and Media Studies. Her short fiction has appeared in Intergalactic Medicine Show, Daily Science Fiction, and small press anthologies. The Unlikely Escape of Uriah He ...more