Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Star of Simbako (A Sam Harris Adventure)” as Want to Read:
The Star of Simbako (A Sam Harris Adventure)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Star of Simbako

(Sam Harris Adventure #3)

by
4.33  ·  Rating details ·  69 ratings  ·  17 reviews
What have a missing diamond, a voodoo priestess and a civil war disappearance got in common? Can a courageous geologist use her skills to unravel the truth?

Geologist Sam Harris goes to Simbako in West Africa to work in the diamond fields of Fona. She is soon involved with a cast of characters who are starring in their own soap opera, a dangerous mix of superstition, cultur
...more
Paperback, 304 pages
Published July 2nd 2018 by Nielsen
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Star of Simbako, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Star of Simbako

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.33  · 
Rating details
 ·  69 ratings  ·  17 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Star of Simbako (A Sam Harris Adventure)
David Lucero
Mar 14, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Sam Harris is a promising geologist with dreams of making it big in a profession dominated by men. But it's 1990, and women in this field are far less appreciated than the 'Working Girls' of the big city. However, an opportunity offering her the chance to further gain experience and respect comes her way, but requires a journey to West Africa.

Sam's big dreams about Africa take a turn upon arriving in the town of Fona, where reality settles in and the harsh challenges of living day-to-day confron
...more
Bob Perhach
Oct 12, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Sam in trouble again

As usual Sam finds herself in another predicament in which she will have to make some hard decisions. I just enjoy PJ's books. Keep up the good work.
...more
Randall Krzak
Nov 08, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
The Star of Simbako finds Sam on her way to West Africa. Hired to work in the diamond fields of Fona, Sam becomes the victim of a voodoo curse. Or is it? She jumps at the chance to take on this project as this will be her first paid geology job. After a rocky arrival in Fona, Sam begins her new job. A chance meeting in the airport paves the way for her acceptance by the owner of the Star of Simbako, but will things be easy for her?

Once again, PJ has completed another fast-paced plot with more re
...more
Stitch
Dec 29, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: series-good
As usual Sam finds herself in a bit of a pickle but its nothing she can't handle. She's off to Africa this time to find a girl's best friend 😉 ...more
Caley Brennan
Jun 04, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
[I was given a free copy of the book by the author in exchange for a review through Voracious Readers Only]
What a great book! The story focuses on Sam Harris, a plucky female geologist as she investigates a mining terrace in the fictional African country of Simbako while navigating her increasingly complicated love life. "Soap opera" in the description definitely wasn't an exaggeration as the story is heavy on the drama with a dash of adventure here and there. The author does pull this off quite
...more
Douglas Williamson
It's just supposed to be a simple geological survey, but fate has other plans.

This is the third book in the series and things are picking up. There are a few references to people and things past, but nothing critical to the plot. The story stands very well on its own, so feel free to join any time.

The story is pure adventure with a lost diamond, a mix up with baggage, mistaken identity and lots of other inconveniences all leading to action and adventure. Add a heavy dose of intrigue and multipl
...more
Anne Kinslow
Dec 01, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Anne Kinslow.
Wow! I think that I am becoming a great fan of Sam Harris the Geologist!! This story was full of unexpected twists and turns that keep you glued to the page just in case you miss something. It was a great read which I enjoyed very much. I loved all of the characters including the conniving Tamba who was seeking power through Adanna. I highly recommend this book.


Lorna Francis
Oct 10, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
The star of Simbaco by P.J. Skinner 5 stars
Yet another excellent addition to this series. Drama mixed with traditions, marred with death and fighting. Excitement, romance and more in this thought provoking and action packed adventure.
Nicola
Dec 30, 2019 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Another great look at life as a female geologist in the 80s and deepest Africa
Nomi
Oct 29, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Thank you to the authour for a complinentary copy in exchange for an honest review.

This series keeps getting better!
Shelley
Nov 10, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Pleasantly surprised by a freebie!

Different! I wasn't sure what to expect with the premise of this book but was very pleasantly surprised!! I don't want to ruin it for other readers so I won't say anything about the plot twists and turns but it was SO worth reading and I will be reading her other Sam books!

I'm so glad I decided to read it and want to thank the author and Voracious Readers Only for the free copy of this book which I would have missed the opportunity of reading.

You will not be dis
...more
Una
Jun 17, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I received a free advance copy of this book for proof reading and review. Having read Fool's Gold and Hitler's Finger, I am really enjoying following Sam on her adventures, and The Star of Simbako does not disappoint. I loved the storyline and can't wait for Sam Harris #4! I'm particularly waiting to see what happens with a certain person.... ...more
Cindy Tomamichel
I read all the Sam Harris books one after the other, and this one is even better. All the books provide interesting insights into working and living in dangerous areas, but this one drew in many interesting observations of life in Africa.

Sam once again faces danger and personal issues with courage and humour. The setting and people come to life on the pages.
Sue
Nov 15, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2018-challenge
Geologist Sam Harris is finally being recognized in the world of geology and is hired to go to West Africa to help mine for diamonds. This couldn’t come at a better time as her boyfriend is back to cheating and this time with her very own sister. A few months away should mend her broken heart.

Kindness given to an older man at the airport makes Sam’s new job run more smoothly and opens doors she never imagined. Lost luggage and a bag with the wrong clothes tags her as a tart by the maid/cook at t
...more
P.J. Skinner
Jul 08, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)  ·  review of another edition
The third book in the Sam Harris series is set in West Africa in the diamond fields of Simbako. Based on my experience in Sierra Leone after the civil war, I have transported the story back to 1990 to fit in with Sam's timeline. The mix of voodoo and superstition and violence is very real. I found this book wrote itself to some extent, I just had to put my hands on the key board and take a deep breath. I loved that Sam got herself in a pickle romantically instead of mooning over Simon. I tried t ...more
Tanya
Nov 26, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
She is nursing a broken heart so she goes to west Africa to work in a diamond mine. She is about to go into an adventure about a missing diamond since the civil war. Will she find the missing diamond? Will she solve the mystery at the camp? See what will happen

I received a free copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review.
Jud Hanson
Oct 18, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Fun read

Light-weight but enjoyable read. One might call it a twist on the male-dominated treasure seeking genre. Definitely a winning series.
Cherie
rated it it was amazing
Jun 23, 2020
Frances D Lenox
rated it it was amazing
Sep 22, 2018
melissa smalley
rated it liked it
Apr 12, 2020
Rhonda Stainbrook
rated it really liked it
Jan 10, 2020
Stephen Charles Boardman
rated it really liked it
Sep 20, 2019
Bianca
rated it liked it
Jul 31, 2019
shauna brown
rated it really liked it
Jan 12, 2021
Neil Tennant
rated it really liked it
Nov 30, 2019
Anna M Stone
rated it really liked it
Aug 11, 2019
Don Weymouth
rated it really liked it
Aug 23, 2020
Megan
rated it liked it
Apr 17, 2019
Sharon Blackmon
rated it it was amazing
Jan 07, 2020
Ermalinda Horne
rated it really liked it
Jun 15, 2020
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Aleutian Portal (Sam Reilly #8)
  • The Tomb of El Dorado (Sam Reilly #18)
  • Treasured Secrets (Treasure Hunters #1)
  • The Coelho Medallion (Dan Kotler #1)
  • The Atlantis Stone (The Stone Collection #1)
  • Ark Found (Omega Files Adventures #2)
  • In Search of the Lost World (Primordia #1)
  • Chasing Rain (Chase Wen #1)
  • Ice (Dr. Leah Andrews and Jack Hobson Thrillers, #1)
  • Donna Teresa (Rex Dalton #8)
  • The Last Monument
  • Atlantis Stolen (Sam Reilly #3)
  • The 10th Cycle (Rossler Foundation #1)
  • Cleaning the Gold (Jack Reacher, #23.6; Will Trent, #8.5)
  • Habitat Zero (Sam Reilly #15)
  • Black Nowhere (Lisa Tanchik #1)
  • Havana Fury (Ryan Bodean Tropical Thriller #0.5)
  • Christmas at the Lakeside Resort (Lakeside Resort #1)
See similar books…
33 followers
PJ Skinner is the author of the Sam Harris Series of adventure mystery/thriller novels. A geologist who has spent thirty years roaming the planet and collecting tall tales and real-life experiences, she now writes fact-based novels from the relative safety of London. She still travels world wide collecting material for the series and having her own adventures. The author is working on two other ne ...more

Other books in the series

Sam Harris Adventure (7 books)
  • Fool's Gold (A Sam Harris Adventure #1)
  • Hitler's Finger (A Sam Harris Adventure #2)
  • The Pink Elephants (A Sam Harris Adventure #4)
  • The Bonita Protocol (A Sam Harris Adventure, #5)
  • Digging Deeper ( A Sam Harris Adventure, #6)
  • Concrete Jungle (Sam Harris Adventure, #7)

News & Interviews

These twelve books are so consistently adored, they have become regulars month after month in our data of most popular and most read books on...
136 likes · 52 comments