Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Fool's Gold (Sam Harris Saga)” as Want to Read:
Fool's Gold (Sam Harris Saga)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Fool's Gold

(Sam Harris Adventure #1)

by
3.82  ·  Rating details ·  862 ratings  ·  79 reviews
She aspires to be Indiana Jones
But she’s more like Bridget Jones
Until she finds the Inca steps.

It’s 1987. Sam Harris graduates as a geologist in mineral exploration. Undeterred by the difficulties presented by her sex, she is determined to overcome her inexperience and naivety to make her mark in a man’s world.

Following the global market crash, jobs become even harder to f
...more
Paperback, 301 pages
Published December 12th 2017 by Nielsen
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Fool's Gold, please sign up.
Popular Answered Questions
P.J. Skinner Hello Ahdom, This adventure is not suitable for children as it deals with adult themes. Sex and violence are present although not graphic in any way b…moreHello Ahdom, This adventure is not suitable for children as it deals with adult themes. Sex and violence are present although not graphic in any way but definitely not for children. There is also random swearing. I hope you will enjoy it but please don't read it to children, it is an adult book for grownups only. (less)
This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.82  · 
Rating details
 ·  862 ratings  ·  79 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Fool's Gold (Sam Harris Saga)
David Lucero
Nov 01, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Get ready for an edge-of-your-seat adventure!

Sam Harris is a just-now-university graduate of geology. She's also broke, living at home with her parents, coming out of a bittersweet relationship with an estranged boyfriend, and up to her ears in college debt. With no jobs in England for a graduate with no first-hand experience, and no jobs abroad in search of a female geologist, she decides to take a much-needed vacation in the Mediterranean Sea to relax, recover, and figure out what to do next.

T
...more
Cheryl
This is a 2.5 star read.

I've had to DNF this book. There is nothing wrong with the book and it is well written, but it's just not holding my attention. At 30% there still has not been a murder or a mystery that I can see and the book seems almost biographical as it is based around the author's experience as a geologist working in mining. I think the problem is that it's dry ..... not as dry as a dead dingo's donger .... or a camel's butthole in a sandstorm .... but dry nevertheless. 😕
Jenny Reeve
Aug 08, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition


This is quite an exciting book. It is a little like reading the feminine version of Indiana Jones, the early years! Sam, a newly qualified geologist stumbles by chance into her first job after meeting two men in a bar. They know only too well that a keen junior like Sam would be a walkover, and cheap. But, is she as dumb as they seem to think?

Sam jumps at such a great opportunity to work as a geologist in the jungle, even more exciting is the fact that they will be searching for the lost treasu
...more
Ann Girdharry
This was an enjoyable, light entertainment read. We follow geologist Sam as she treks the South American rainforest in search of hidden treasure.
I thought the descriptions of the rainforest were particularly good and they transport the reader to the real place. I also liked Sam's adventurous spirit. Sometimes the pacing was a bit slow, but I think overall it makes a good mystery adventure.
3.5 stars.
Pete
Oct 10, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: thriller fans
Sam Harris is a plucky, rather naive female geologist, one of the first women to move into this profession, and as such she has a lot to learn.
Getting her first job after university is not easy, and so she accepts a position searching for gold reserves in mountainous rainforests in Africa, working for a very dodgy boss.
We learn a lot about Sam in the book, and she becomes a very believable character. The period when the book is set, 1987, is evoked brilliantly, especially the comparatively basic
...more
Sarah Bauer
Jan 01, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Book Theme Song: Quixote by Crywolf
The song was made after the artist's equipment was stolen while he was abroad. This didn't stop him from making music and may have even fueled his creativity. I thought that meaning was in line with the themes of this book.
The pacing is a lot slower than I thought it'd be. The treasure hunt doesn't begin until well over halfway in. Instead, the focus is on developing the characters and the world. Reading about Sam's struggle to learn the ways of Sierramar r
...more
Audrey Gerber
Well written adventure story that gives the desire to travel.
Well-developped characters and interesting themes. Good distraction book to read when in a plane and airport.
Stitch
Dec 10, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
A bit of an adventure story, a little predictable but none the less a good read.
Bonnye Reed
I received Fool's Gold, the first of the Sam Harris series, from TheFussyLibrrian, P.J. Skinner, and Amazon Digital Services. Thank you all for sharing your hard work with me. I have read this novel of my own volition, and this review reflects my honest opinion of this work. I am pleased to recommend PJ Skinner to friends and family. She writes a tight, exciting mystery with realistic characters in locales we are not always familiar with. This is a series I will want to complete.

It's 1987 and E
...more
CW Crollard
Mar 22, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Hunting for treasure in the jungle. Assorted characters all trying to finishing it.

South American country, somewhere in the Amazon basin, a female geologist takes her first job for an entrepreneur hunting for an Inca treasure. Shady characters, rain, villains all work at odds, headed for a surprise ending.
Larry Bryan
Aug 07, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Geologist proves herself

A story of a young lady who proves herself in a man's world. Great plot. Good portrayal of good and evil.
Beth
Feb 19, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
A good thriller!

I enjoyed this story and it was well written. I always love a good archeological thriller to read in bed!
Kelli
Mar 20, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This book was a fun read, a perfect choice for being stuck at home during a pandemic.
Karen
Oct 03, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This book focuses on geologist Sam; in need of a job, she accepts an offer that takes her to the rainforests of Sierramar, to an adventure that gets her in some unanticipated situations.

With "Fool's Gold", PJ Skinner has created a slowly yet steadily developing adventure around Sam Harris. The story comprises a variety of characters with sufficient depth, drama, surprising turns which are solved as the story continues, and interesting geological/archaeological passages. I had a good time reading
...more
Paul Blake
Nov 16, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
A slow build-up leads to an excellent rainforest adventure. I liked this style as it allowed the author to really develop the Sierramar world and characters which brought the story to life. I will definitely be reading the next in the series.
André Haddad
Starts slow and builds toward a great finish. Looking forward to reading the next in the Sam harris series.
Lucretia Ward
Jun 30, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Not my normal read but a surprising diversion. The characters become more and more interesting. Try this one for an intriguing ride.
K.D.
May 17, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Customer Reviews Top customer reviews
K.D. McNiven
5.0 out of 5 stars Looking for a fun adventure? Then Fool's Gold written by PJ Skinner ...
May 17, 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Looking for a fun adventure? Then Fool's Gold written by PJ Skinner is the book for you. This story is about the feisty, somewhat rebellious geologist, Sam Harris. Looking to gain more experience in the field she meets up with Mike Morton, who wants to hire her to go along with his project manager to review
...more
Una
May 13, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
An enjoyable read - we're introduced to Sam on her first adventure in a Sierramar. What starts out as a new job turns into an exciting hunt for Incan treasure

I have since read Hitler's Finger and the Star of Simbako.. I'm really enjoying Sam's adventures and am already looking forward to #4 to see where Sam goes next...
anthony lanigan
Apr 24, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
A good adventure book

This book was enjoyable as the characters were well defined and the background research helped the story along.
A clever adventure with believable characters.
Janet
May 10, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
very good
Alan Snow
Oct 19, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
A good plot and quite well written. It is the first in a series I note which explains some of the dead ends and stories that remain open although they were side issues and do not detract in any way from the story line.

The story centres around Sam Harris, a young geologist who heads off to South America with her first job – and then someone wants to kill her. There are all sorts of villains in the story, in fact Sam maybe the only one who isn’t. There is a friendship that develops between Sam and
...more
Sue
Nov 12, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2018-challenge
The year is 1987 and Sam Harris is a newly graduated geologist facing a world that still thinks of women unequal to men. She wants to prove that she is a value to society and to her profession, so she takes a job with a less than stellar individual to get credentials on her resume.

Sam has been hired on to examine soil and rocks to determine if there is gold waiting to be found. She is thrust into an adventure within the jungles of Sierramar with a drunk, egotistical, and lecherous lead geologist
...more
Judy
I read this for the Popsugar Challenge 2020 prompt "a book with "gold", "silver" or "bronze" in the title". I found it already on my Kindle from a previous unread download, which made it a natural for this prompt. The premise is good. Sam, a young female geology graduate takes a job for little or no money to join an expedition looking for gold in South America in the hope of gaining some good experience for her resume. The time is 1987, and gender bias is rampant which is likely realistic (the a ...more
Anita Dow
Mar 03, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This first book in the Sam Harris series introduces us to a newly qualified young female geologist from England who embarks on her first, rather risky job in South America in 1987. She is engaged to join a small expedition in the jungle with the aim of discovering some long forgotten Inca treasure.
The author is apparently a geologist herself with knowledge of working in out of the way countries, and does a good job of painting the details of the era, location and the people, both indigenous and
...more
Heidi J.
Dec 27, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
If you like "Indian Jones" and "Romancing the Stone," this adventure is definitely for you. Even though the South American place names are made up and it centers on a quest for a lost treasure of the Incas, much of the book feels very, very real, possibly even based on the author's experience. I could too easily see how a passionate, stubborn young woman with something to prove could end up somewhere dangerous with a lot of unsavory characters. I found it semi-panic inducing--more danger than fu ...more
Norman
Jan 29, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Sam Harris who just completed her masters in geology is nhired on as an unpaid assistant for Mike Morton who seeks to make an expedition to Sierramar. Sam is so excited that she accepts the hardships that may be endured. However: there is more in the background that may involve Inca gold.
All is not what it seems and Sam only has visions or finding a treasure to help her get further in her career. But is she too naive and that may hurt her. A good read.
Angela Anderson
Aug 06, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I was given a copy of this book by the author thru Voracious Readers Only, in return for an honest review. This was an enjoyable adventure with Sam a newly qualified geologist takes her first job exploring for gold in Sierramar, South America. Being employed by a rather unscrupulous character, working with a historian who is constantly drunk, you can imagine the troubles that will occur. When there is gold involved you can guarantee there will be dangers and possible death along the way. The fir ...more
Bonny Millard
Jul 07, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Adventure Bonanza

What an intriguing story, of another culture. South America has not been visited by me and since I enjoy reading adventure books with great stories, this is fantastic. I personally could not put it down.
Cindy Tomamichel
Aug 08, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
An entertaining read, with some enjoyable characters. The setting -1980's geologist job hunting - is spot on, as is the geology. A fun adventure read which takes you into the jungles of South America hunting for a treasure which is not quite what anyone expects.

« previous 1 3 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Spoiler 2 2 Mar 09, 2020 10:07AM  
New Cover 1 2 Apr 27, 2019 03:50AM  
New Cover 1 1 Apr 17, 2019 03:21AM  

Readers also enjoyed

  • Map of the Dead (Alex MacLure #1)
  • The Sam Reilly Collection Volume 4 (Sam Reilly #10-12)
  • The Tomb of El Dorado (Sam Reilly #18)
  • The Secret of the King's Tomb (Richard Halliburton Adventure #1)
  • Wood's Reef (Mac Travis Adventures #1)
  • Echoes of Atlantis: Crones, Templars and the Lost Continent (Templars in America Book 6)
  • Dead in Their Tracks (Mitch Kearns Combat Tracker #1)
  • Echo (Kate Redman Mysteries, #6)
  • Powdered Gold: Templars and the American Ark of the Covenant (Templars in America Series Book 3)
  • One Last Prayer for the Rays (DCI Michael Yorke, #1)
  • StrikeForce Reborn (Project StrikeForce #4)
  • Wood's Relic (The Early Adventures of Mac and Wood #1)
  • The Jake Fonko Series #4-6 (Jake Fonko #4-6)
  • Green Light (Sam Archer, #7)
  • Agent Zero (Agent Zero Spy Thriller #1)
  • Tracking the Treasures (The Capsule Killer #1)
  • Last Secret Chamber (Joey Peruggia #2)
  • The Coelho Medallion (Dan Kotler #1)
See similar books…
23 followers
PJ Skinner is the author of the Sam Harris Series of adventure mystery/thriller novels. A geologist who has spent thirty years roaming the planet and collecting tall tales and real-life experiences, she now writes fact-based novels from the relative safety of London. She still travels world wide collecting material for the series and having her own adventures. The author is working on two other ne ...more

Other books in the series

Sam Harris Adventure (7 books)
  • Hitler's Finger (A Sam Harris Adventure #2)
  • The Star of Simbako (A Sam Harris Adventure #3)
  • The Pink Elephants (A Sam Harris Adventure #4)
  • The Bonita Protocol (A Sam Harris Adventure, #5)
  • Digging Deeper ( A Sam Harris Adventure, #6)
  • Concrete Jungle (Sam Harris Adventure, #7)

News & Interviews

Whether it’s magic schools, dystopias, paranormal love stories, or contemporary explorations of important real-life issues, young adult books a...
143 likes · 130 comments
“Sam crossed her fingers and hoped that Gloria could be distracted from her hopeless quest of the successful Diego by a successful quest for the hopeless Alfredo.” 0 likes
“Yes, I hope so.  Sam might have discovered the resting place of the lost treasure of the Incas.  Imagine the historical value of a treasure like that,” 0 likes
More quotes…