Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Fool's Gold (Sam Harris Saga)” as Want to Read:
Fool's Gold (Sam Harris Saga)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Fool's Gold

(Sam Harris #1)

by
really liked it 4.00  ·  Rating details ·  129 ratings  ·  23 reviews
Nobody told her geology could be dangerous.

When a rookie geologist discovers a clue to a lost Inca treasure, her first job gets a lot more thrilling.

Geologist Sam Harris is a woman in a man's world - overlooked and underpaid, but resilient and passionate. Desperate for her first job, she accepts a contract with a dodgy entrepreneur exploring for gold in the remote rainfore
...more
Paperback, 301 pages
Published December 12th 2017 by Nielsen
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Fool's Gold, please sign up.
Popular Answered Questions
P.J. Skinner Hello Ahdom, This adventure is not suitable for children as it deals with adult themes. Sex and violence are present although not graphic in any way…moreHello Ahdom, This adventure is not suitable for children as it deals with adult themes. Sex and violence are present although not graphic in any way but definitely not for children. There is also random swearing. I hope you will enjoy it but please don't read it to children, it is an adult book for grownups only. (less)
This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
really liked it 4.00  · 
Rating details
 ·  129 ratings  ·  23 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Cheryl
This is a 2.5 star read.

I've had to DNF this book. There is nothing wrong with the book and it is well written, but it's just not holding my attention. At 30% there still has not been a murder or a mystery that I can see and the book seems almost biographical as it is based around the author's experience as a geologist working in mining. I think the problem is that it's dry ..... not as dry as a dead dingo's donger .... or a camel's butthole in a sandstorm .... but dry nevertheless. 😕
Ann Girdharry
This was an enjoyable, light entertainment read. We follow geologist Sam as she treks the South American rainforest in search of hidden treasure.
I thought the descriptions of the rainforest were particularly good and they transport the reader to the real place. I also liked Sam's adventurous spirit. Sometimes the pacing was a bit slow, but I think overall it makes a good mystery adventure.
3.5 stars.
Lucretia Ward
Jun 30, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Not my normal read but a surprising diversion. The characters become more and more interesting. Try this one for an intriguing ride.
K.D.
May 17, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Customer Reviews Top customer reviews
K.D. McNiven
5.0 out of 5 stars Looking for a fun adventure? Then Fool's Gold written by PJ Skinner ...
May 17, 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Looking for a fun adventure? Then Fool's Gold written by PJ Skinner is the book for you. This story is about the feisty, somewhat rebellious geologist, Sam Harris. Looking to gain more experience in the field she meets up with Mike Morton, who wants to hire her to go along with his project manager to review
...more
anthony lanigan
Apr 24, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
A good adventure book

This book was enjoyable as the characters were well defined and the background research helped the story along.
A clever adventure with believable characters.
Janet
May 10, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
very good
Sue
Nov 12, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2018-challenge
The year is 1987 and Sam Harris is a newly graduated geologist facing a world that still thinks of women unequal to men. She wants to prove that she is a value to society and to her profession, so she takes a job with a less than stellar individual to get credentials on her resume.

Sam has been hired on to examine soil and rocks to determine if there is gold waiting to be found. She is thrust into an adventure within the jungles of Sierramar with a drunk, egotistical, and lecherous lead geologist
...more
Heidi J.
Dec 27, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
If you like "Indian Jones" and "Romancing the Stone," this adventure is definitely for you. Even though the South American place names are made up and it centers on a quest for a lost treasure of the Incas, much of the book feels very, very real, possibly even based on the author's experience. I could too easily see how a passionate, stubborn young woman with something to prove could end up somewhere dangerous with a lot of unsavory characters. I found it semi-panic inducing--more danger than fu ...more
Angela Anderson
Aug 06, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I was given a copy of this book by the author thru Voracious Readers Only, in return for an honest review. This was an enjoyable adventure with Sam a newly qualified geologist takes her first job exploring for gold in Sierramar, South America. Being employed by a rather unscrupulous character, working with a historian who is constantly drunk, you can imagine the troubles that will occur. When there is gold involved you can guarantee there will be dangers and possible death along the way. The fir ...more
Cindy Tomamichel
Aug 08, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
An entertaining read, with some enjoyable characters. The setting -1980's geologist job hunting - is spot on, as is the geology. A fun adventure read which takes you into the jungles of South America hunting for a treasure which is not quite what anyone expects.

James L Fields
Sep 16, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Very entertaining

I enjoyed the book. It moved along rapidly and the characters were interesting. Although set in a fictional country, it was well written and kept me reading at a quick pace. I believe this is the beginning of a fun series.
Bonny Millard
Jul 07, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Adventure Bonanza

What an intriguing story, of another culture. South America has not been visited by me and since I enjoy reading adventure books with great stories, this is fantastic. I personally could not put it down.
Wayne Kilkenny
Jan 17, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This was well researched and easy to read, I quite enjoyed the Spanish connection too. All in all a good read and a strange adventure. I will be reading more from this Author in the future
Anne Kinslow
Sep 17, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Anne Kinslow.
I enjoyed this book immensely. A great storyline of Treasures to be found and many characters along the way. I didn’t want it to end.
I recommend this book.
Joshua Trout
Aug 06, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Really enjoyed it.
Margot Frye
Nov 04, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I received this complimentary book from Voracious Readers Only. I liked this treasure hunting adventure written with humor. The characters were colorful and entertaining. You just really dislike the bad guy! Set in remote South America, this book would appeal to anyone who enjoys treasure hunting stories or who just wants to be highly entertained!
Anna
Jul 28, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Enjoyed this as a follow on book. More content on the treasure hunt would have been good. Great end to the hunt.
Una
May 13, 2018 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
An enjoyable read but it took a long while to get to the treasure hunt, which wasn't very exciting in itself.

I have since read Hitler's Finger and the Star of Simbako.. I'm really enjoying Sam's adventures and am already looking forward to #4 to see where Sam goes next...
Imogen
Jan 05, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Great debut. Fab characters, page turning drama and more than one wry smile moment.
P.J. Skinner
Mar 19, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)  ·  review of another edition
This book is the first in a series of seven books following the career of geologist Sam Harris as she gets to grips with working in remote sites and different cultures. The stories are based on real life episodes and imagined scenarios resulting from them. There is minimal explicit sex and violence but plenty of opportunity for the reader's imagination to create their own vision of pleasure and pain. For those of a sensitive nature, you will find minimal swearing in character and situation. Also ...more
Ted Tayler
"A blast from the past"

I read comics such as the Eagle, Victor, Hotspur and Valiant when I was a boy. This read like a story that would have appeared in the female equivalent of those tales of derring-do. Our heroine was a geologist, no less, which has to be an occupation with the lowest chance of excitement possible. Sorry, this didn't hold my interest for more than a third of its length. There were typos too which became annoying simply because the story didn't wrap me up in its intensity and
...more
Sandy
Oct 21, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Fool's Gold

Very entertaining storyline about the search for treasure in the jungles of South America and introduces us to the heroine of the series, a female geologist trying to make it in a masculine world.
Raymond White
As an author myself I hate leaving poor reviews. I know how much hard work goes into creating a novel and I usually prefer to not leave a review rather than hand out a bad one, but I do think this author has promise. She just needs to get some better test readers who can help her develop her plotting, dialogue, suspense and drama skills as this book had no climax worthy of the name.

Fool's Gold has a fun sounding plot but the author needs to learn how to ramp up the suspense and drama. Shallow ch
...more
Diane Griego
rated it it was amazing
May 19, 2018
Dee Anna S. Willis
rated it really liked it
Oct 14, 2018
Jean
rated it it was amazing
Aug 23, 2018
Eleanor
rated it really liked it
Jul 18, 2018
Betty
rated it liked it
Feb 12, 2019
marianne green
rated it it was amazing
Sep 30, 2018
Beryl M.Richards
rated it it was ok
Oct 16, 2018
« previous 1 3 4 5 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Last Secret Chamber (Joey Peruggia #2)
  • The Larmenius Inheritance
  • Destiny's a Witch (Wicked Good Mystery #1)
  • Just For The Birds (Hetta Coffey Mystery #10)
  • Cookies, Corpses and the Deadly Haunt (Haunted House Flippers Inc. #1)
  • Some Like It Witchy (Main Street Witches, #3)
  • The Port Elspeth Jewelry Making Club
  • Flag Boy (The Tubby Dubonnet Series Book 10)
  • Yesterday's Lost (Yesterday's Mysteries)
  • Aztec Gold (Alicia Myles, #1)
  • Witchnapped in Westerham (Paranormal Investigation Bureau, #1)
  • Bedtimes and Broomsticks (Mystic Cove Mysteries #1)
  • Chicago Blue (Red Riley #1)
  • A Witchy Business (Harper Grant Mystery #1)
  • The Jack Reacher Experiment Books 1-7 (A Reacher Universe Collection)
  • Christmas, a Cat and Cardiac Arrest (Heather's Forge Mystery #1)
  • Witch on Second (Jinx Hamilton Mystery #5)
  • Other People's Skeletons (Rebecca Schwartz, #5)
7 followers
PJ Skinner is the author of the Sam Harris Series of adventure mystery/thriller novels. A geologist who has spent thirty years roaming the planet and collecting tall tales and real-life experiences, she now writes fact-based novels from the relative safety of London. She still travels world wide collecting material for the series and having her own adventures. The author is working on the fourth b ...more

Other books in the series

Sam Harris (5 books)
  • Hitler's Finger (A Sam Harris Adventure #2)
  • The Star of Simbako (A Sam Harris Adventure #3)
  • Digging Deeper (A Sam Harris Adventure #6)
  • The Pink Elephants (A Sam Harris Adventure #4)
“Yes, I hope so.  Sam might have discovered the resting place of the lost treasure of the Incas.  Imagine the historical value of a treasure like that,” 0 likes
More quotes…