Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “A Friend in Deed” as Want to Read:
A Friend in Deed
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

A Friend in Deed

by
4.50  ·  Rating details ·  20 ratings  ·  12 reviews
Britain: a few years from now...

A new populist political party has won the recent general election.

Duncan Jones, freelance political journalist and blogger, loses his weekly column at a national newspaper and turns to investigative reporting. The chance remark of a friend leads him to suspect that the Russians are directing the new British government’s policies and
...more
Paperback, 320 pages
Published January 28th 2019 by Matador
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about A Friend in Deed, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about A Friend in Deed

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-34
Average rating 4.50  · 
Rating details
 ·  20 ratings  ·  12 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of A Friend in Deed
Billy Buttons
Sep 04, 2019 rated it it was amazing
This book was entered in The Wishing Shelf Book Awards. This is what our readers thought:
Title: A Friend in Deed
Author: G D Harper

Star Rating: 5 Stars
Number of Readers: 17
Stats
Editing: 9/10
Writing Style: 9/10
Content: 10/10
Cover: 8/10
Of the 17 readers:
16 would read another book by this author.
14 thought the cover was good or excellent.
17 felt it was easy to follow.
17 would recommend this story to another reader to try.
Of the 17 readers, 12 felt the author’s strongest skill was ‘plotting a story’.
...more
Jane Hunt
‘A Friend In Deed’, moves forward to the near future, when Britain is in political turmoil, and a reactionary new political force is running the government. Duncan, who we first met in ‘Love’s Long Road’ is in his sixties, a political blogger and journalist, he is still suffering from the fallout of his first novel and its real-life implications, for himself, Bobbie and Michael, two characters featured in earlier books.

This is a topical political thriller, which could easily be fact rather than
...more
Misfits farm
Oct 28, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Duncan is a freelance investigative journalist. Twenty years ago he wrote a story that culminated in an innocent man going to jail and his close friend being hounded. When his reliable contract is let go along with several others at a newspaper he decides he has to do more to keep the wolf from the door. He finds an IT contact and through an innocent meeting with Tanya, a Ukranian, he begins to uncover a story. I’m not normally into political thrillers (I read this one having read Silent Money ...more
Cheryl
Feb 03, 2019 rated it really liked it
It's a tense read, with the reader never really knowing what will happen to Duncan if he uncovers too many uncomfortable truths. The world of politics seems to have gone crazy lately, with Trump and Brexit throwing up so many notions of impending world doom and uncertainty that secret political unions and betrayal seem quite possible, if not probable. The scary stories going on on Russian soil in the book seemed overly dramatic - I found it hard to believe that such things still go on in this ...more
Off the Record
Nov 18, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Book Review: A Friend in Deed by G.D. Harper

So hopefully you’ll be familiar with this intro by now, but I was asked by the awesome Rachel’s Random Resources (who you should reach out to if you are an author, who wants help to connect with a wider audience of dedicated reviewers and bloggers) to review A Friend in Deed by G.D Harper (the author you might recognise from two of my previous reviews which you can check out here and here). This isn’t the first time I’ve taken part in a blog tour, and
...more
Entrada Book Review
Nov 19, 2018 rated it it was amazing
A Friend in Deed focuses on the main character Duncan and his journalism talent in a world of political chaos. The reader joins Duncan in the not so distant future where the parts of Europe have fallen to the governing hands of Act Now! But he soon finds out that not everything is just how the government portrays it to be.

Readers will find themselves hooked within the first few pages. It takes a talented writer like GD Harper to delve into the world of politics without falling into the trap of
...more
Amanda
Nov 16, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I have read a couple of books by this author now and I have really enjoyed reading them. I read the synopsis for 'A Friend In Deed' and it certainly did sound like my kind of read- a political and psychological thriller with a hint of conspiracy. It's a scary insight into an all too possible future. Anyway I grabbed a cup of tea and settled down to read. It was most certainly an interesting read, which I thoroughly enjoyed but more about that in a bit.
It didn't take me long at all to get into
...more
Melissa
A Friend in Deed is set "a few years from now" but it's eerily close to what we see happening in both the U.S. and the U.K. with the shifts in politics and the way the media is being manipulated.

In this novel, Duncan Jones, aka political blogger Richard Foxe, and novelist Mark Jackson is a middle-aged journalist finding himself a victim of the fading of print media when two things happen at once: his paper downsizes him, basically requiring that every story be a "scoop," and he meets Tanya, a
...more
Jo Barton
Jan 29, 2019 rated it really liked it
A Friend in Deed is set sometime in our near future when the political arena is just as complicated as it is today. A new political party, aptly named, Act Now!, has emerged and is currently occupying the seat of power in Whitehall. Duncan Jones is a freelance reporter who is finding it increasingly difficult to eke out a living as an investigative journalist as newspapers, already in decline, are only interested in hard hitting stories.

When Duncan gets insider knowledge about the possible
...more
Mrs.
Oct 23, 2019 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
I received a complimentary copy of A Friend in Deed from NetGalley. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.
I was drawn to this novel because of the allure of spies. (Though the politics did not interest me as much, I found that the political parts were necessary and really did not detract from my reading experience.) I enjoyed the revelation of a betrayal, as well as a minor character stepping up to become pivotal to the progress of the plot. Quite the conspiracy theory novel!
...more
Amy Shannon
Feb 13, 2019 rated it really liked it
Thrilling

Harper pens a thrilling story in A Friend in Deed. This is the first book of Harper's that I've read, but it won't be the last. It's one of those thrillers that contains country versus country, filled with scandal and dark forces. Duncan is the main character, and one of those characters with a lot of depth and background. He is on a journey of more than just investigative journalism. Harper writes well, and I've enjoyed this writing style. I look forward to reading more by this author.
Billy Buttons
Nov 16, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
A WISHING SHELF BOOK REVIEW
15th November, 2018
TITLE: A Friend In Deed
AUTHOR: G D Harper
Star Rating: 4

‘A suspense-filled thriller, packed full of twists and turns. Not only is it a gripping story, it is also very relevant in a world of popularist politics and political interference. Highly recommended.’ The Wishing Shelf

REVIEW
I do enjoy a good thriller. I like them fast-paced, populated by strong, interesting characters, and, of course, it must have a twisting plot and a killer of an ending. I’m
...more
Manda
rated it really liked it
May 02, 2019
Mrs E McCullough
rated it it was amazing
Mar 20, 2019
Sean Talbot
rated it liked it
Nov 10, 2019
Mrs Cheryl Canning
rated it it was amazing
Mar 11, 2019
Gordon Smith
rated it it was amazing
Apr 21, 2019
Diane Ray
rated it it was amazing
Sep 08, 2019
David Green
rated it it was amazing
Jul 29, 2019
Tripehound2
rated it really liked it
Mar 17, 2019
Marie
marked it as to-read
Oct 13, 2019
Stephen Roberts
is currently reading it
Jun 10, 2019
Fiona
marked it as to-read
Sep 10, 2019
Eleni
marked it as to-read
Oct 13, 2019
John
marked it as to-read
Nov 26, 2019
Dr Paul Helliwell
is currently reading it
Mar 04, 2019
Richard Bunning
is currently reading it
May 12, 2019
J Caddell
is currently reading it
May 26, 2019
Janice price
marked it as to-read
Jun 01, 2019
John Kendall
is currently reading it
Sep 02, 2019
Olga Rickard
is currently reading it
Sep 04, 2019
Gail Sotrines
is currently reading it
Nov 26, 2019
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • A Fatal Secret (Ryder & Loveday Mystery, #4)
  • A Perfect Cornish Christmas
  • The Rector's Daughter: A stunning saga with a sweeping sense of place for fans of Dilly Court and Rosie Goodwin
  • The Quiet Girls: An absolutely addictive mystery thriller
  • The Wish List of Albie Young
  • Prooi
  • Behind Closed Doors
  • The Ex Girlfriend
  • The Snow Killer (DI Barton, #1)
  • An Unholy Shame (Monica Noble, #3)
  • Left For Dead (Morecambe Bay Trilogy Book 1)
  • Retriever of Souls (D.I. Sterling Book 1)
  • Her Perfect Lies
  • These Little Lies (D.I. Siv Drummond #1)
  • Murder at Macbeth
  • A Christmas Wish and a Cranberry Kiss at the Cosy Kettle (Cosy Kettle, #3)
  • Coming Home to Merriment Bay: Part One: A Reunion
  • From Inside The House (D.I. Graves, #2)
See similar books…