Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Archimancy (Shadow School #1)” as Want to Read:
Archimancy (Shadow School #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Archimancy

(Shadow School #1)

by
4.16  ·  Rating details ·  25 ratings  ·  12 reviews
The first book in a middle grade series that introduces three friends and their quest to unravel the secrets of Shadow School, a strange middle school in New Hampshire, from the acclaimed author of Nightbooks and the Thickety series, J. A. White. Perfect for fans of Stranger Things, Neil Gaiman, and Adam Gidwitz.

Cordelia Liu knew Shadow School was going to be different. Bl
...more
Hardcover, 304 pages
Expected publication: August 27th 2019 by Katherine Tegen Books
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Archimancy, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Archimancy

Community Reviews

Showing 1-56
4.16  · 
Rating details
 ·  25 ratings  ·  12 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Carina Olsen
Dec 12, 2018 rated it really liked it
Shelves: arcs-i-want
I have been a fan of this author for many years now. I loved his first fantasy series beyond words. And will always read his new books. I was a little nervous about this new one, as I'm more of a fantasy person, and do not read many books set in present time. Yet I was excited too. And ended up liking it a bunch. Four stars.

Archimancy was a quick and fun read. I had a small issue getting into it at the beginning, but that did not last long, and I ended up enjoying everything a whole lot. While I
...more
Chayse Sundt
Jan 06, 2019 rated it really liked it
Review to Come!
Pop Bop
Nov 22, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: reviewed
A Thoughtful and Engaging Ghost-Adventure Story

The genius underlying J.A. White's books is that he establishes a scary premise, puts a smart and resourceful hero in the middle of it, and then allows that hero or heroine to think, reason, and act bravely and creatively in order to overcome the threat. In the "Thickety" series our heroine must enter and subdue the dark woods and the witchcraft within. "In "Nightbooks" the hero is tricked into a witch's lair and has to plot his way out.

In this book
...more
Ms. Yingling
ARC provided by Young Adult Books Central

Cordelia Liu moves from California to the Northeast because her father has lost his job. She enrolls in the local school only to find out that it is a quirky building that is haunted! She does meet a friend, Agnes, but when the ghost sightings start piling up, she also gets to know Benji. Benji was a popular kid and great soccer player until he started to hide behind his hoodie and earbuds. Cordelia suspects he can also see the ghosts, and she's right. He
...more
Ollie
May 08, 2019 rated it it was ok
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
hallie bertling
Apr 15, 2019 rated it really liked it
i love j.a. white's books!

he has such a way with witty kid dialogue and funny banter-- and always has the right balance of adventure and danger and mystery. and of course a healthy dose of the supernatural.

i won an ARC of shadow school: archimancy on instagram, and am really grateful to katherine tegen books & harper collins for letting me read it early!!

i loved the premise of only-child cordelia being thrown into a new school. (being an only child & a navy brat myself, boy do i know wha
...more
Jennifer Hill
Jun 07, 2019 rated it really liked it
Cordelia's family has to move all the way from California to Vermont. Her new school looks like a haunted house: black iron gates, freaky paintings, weird hallways that don't make sense. As she is hiding out in the gym, she hears someone crying under the bleachers, it's a little boy. But as she tries to help him, she realizes he is a ghost! Then she finds out another student, Benji, can see ghosts too. They begin to realize the ghosts are trapped and they can set them free if they can figure out ...more
Angie
Jul 14, 2019 rated it really liked it
I received a free advanced reader’s copy from ... I think it was Edelweiss? 🤔🤨 But I would have looked for this either way because I super enjoyed The Thickety.
Spooky! Best for strong 4th grade and up. I believe this releases in August? The problem with getting early access is you have to wait that much longer for the next one! 🤪
Pat Brown
May 04, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I won an Advance Reader's Edition through goodreads. I really enjoyed this middle grade novel. It was creepy without being overly scary. The characters were well-developed and a twist at the end required a tissue! Since the spine says Book One, I'm assuming there will be more books which I look forward to.
Saruuh Kelsey
I really enjoyed Archimancy. It was fun, full of mystery, ghosts, and the ups and downs of friendship, and it was just what I needed! Plus the major plot twist stunned me (I totally thought that teacher was a bad guy - well played, book.)
mindy
Jan 05, 2019 rated it liked it
Honestly, what a cute story. I enjoyed the characters and the whole idea of it. Parts were slightly slow and the MC was sort of a brat at first, but overall this was a fun read.

It’s not out until ... August? So I don’t want to give away anything
Cathleen
Mar 21, 2019 rated it it was amazing
My kids and I are big fans of "Nightbooks", we look forward to the opportunity to review "Archimancy".
Story Eater
rated it really liked it
Jun 10, 2019
Rose Marie
rated it liked it
May 01, 2019
Maria Wang
rated it liked it
Apr 29, 2019
Roxane
rated it it was amazing
Mar 10, 2019
Rachel Seigel
rated it really liked it
Jun 06, 2019
Heather
rated it it was amazing
Jun 30, 2019
Aimee
rated it it was amazing
Jan 14, 2019
Melissa Cheresnick
rated it really liked it
Jun 07, 2019
Nichole
rated it really liked it
Mar 30, 2019
Carol
rated it it was amazing
Jun 26, 2019
Rachael Conrad
rated it really liked it
Mar 26, 2019
Rebecca Clinite
rated it it was amazing
Jul 08, 2019
Preeti Sharma
rated it it was amazing
Jul 04, 2019
OwlCrate Jr
rated it really liked it
Apr 29, 2019
Bee
added it
Nov 15, 2018
Angie Johnson
marked it as to-read
Nov 15, 2018
Dizneeee
marked it as to-read
Nov 18, 2018
Brittany
marked it as to-read
Dec 12, 2018
Ainsley
marked it as to-read
Feb 27, 2019
Carol Krueger
marked it as to-read
Mar 20, 2019
Stef Bones
marked it as to-read
Mar 21, 2019
Cindy
marked it as to-read
Mar 24, 2019
My
marked it as to-read
Mar 29, 2019
Nikki
marked it as to-read
Apr 05, 2019
Fm Shipp
marked it as to-read
Apr 08, 2019
Olivia V.
marked it as to-read
Apr 30, 2019
Catz
marked it as to-read
May 01, 2019
Sara
marked it as to-read
May 02, 2019
Angel
marked it as to-read
May 14, 2019
Amanda
marked it as to-read
May 29, 2019
Steven
marked it as to-read
Jun 25, 2019
msleighm
marked it as to-read
Jun 25, 2019
Beezoo
marked it as to-read
Jun 25, 2019
Bria
marked it as to-read
Jun 25, 2019
Lydia
marked it as to-read
Jun 25, 2019
Sol
marked it as to-read
Jun 26, 2019
Aimy
marked it as to-read
Jun 26, 2019
Mollie
marked it as to-read
Jul 01, 2019
Molly Eisen
marked it as to-read
Jul 04, 2019
Brittany N Wilson
marked it as to-read
Jul 10, 2019
TheReadandSeek
marked it as to-read
Oct 23, 2018
Hapsari Darmastuti
marked it as to-read
Nov 15, 2018
Michelle
marked it as to-read
Nov 17, 2018
BookLoversLife
marked it as to-read
Nov 18, 2018
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
280 followers
J. A. White lives in New Jersey with his wife, three sons, and a hamster named Ophelia that doesn’t like him very much. When he’s not making up stories, he teaches a bunch of kids how to make up stories (along with math and science and other important stuff). He wishes dragons were real because it would be a much cooler way to get to work.