Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Layers of Deception: An utterly gripping, international crime thriller.” as Want to Read:
Layers of Deception: An utterly gripping, international crime thriller.
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Layers of Deception: An utterly gripping, international crime thriller.

by
4.50  ·  Rating details ·  8 ratings  ·  8 reviews
An absolutely riveting international crime thriller that'll make you think - while keeping you on the edge of your seat!

What would you risk to achieve your ambition?
Would you risk the lives of your family and colleagues to get out of a financial hole?
Would you risk all for the next big deal?
How far is too far?

Amazon 5.0 out of 5 stars. Tightly plotted page-turner
Leo
...more
Kindle Edition, 341 pages
Published January 1st 2019
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Layers of Deception, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Layers of Deception

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-15
4.50  · 
Rating details
 ·  8 ratings  ·  8 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
FRANCHESKA MILNE
Feb 09, 2019 rated it it was amazing
This book was passed on to me by a friend along with the comment "by the time you reach the 2nd chapter I bet you can't put it down".

He was right, although the subject of this book is not my normal read and the mention of cyber security was a little daunting, it is non stop suspense and at times you feel you have to come up for air then straight back to it

Leo James writes in a way that explains the intricacies of the software industry that everybody will understand instantly without the need to
...more
Karrar
Jan 19, 2019 rated it it was amazing
The novel is a real thriller, the layer of deception dug deep inside corporations and had many plot twist, which let you feel shocked sometimes trying to process how things happened.
The way the story started success to hawk me up, I liked how the author draws the scenes with word made it very Clear for the reader to imagine and dive inside the novel, I loved the crash scene in chapter one it shows many details So realistic and an attention to small details which really impress me.
The plot was b
...more
Sarah (freshbrewbooks)
Dec 13, 2018 rated it really liked it
This book starts off with a bang (quite literally!) and doesn't slow down. The story follows a computer security firm trying to land a contract in Kuala Lumpur. The group gets involved in blackmail, extortion and gang activity when they expose the contract company's dealings involving the dark web. I don't have much experience with security technology but the author explains everything so the reader can easily understand. The story itself follows a smooth story arc and follows a natural progress ...more
Ann J. Kelly
Jan 17, 2019 rated it it was amazing
This is a grab you by the seat of your pants and take you in different directions book. Many twists and turns and hardly any lulls. The author is very good at setting descriptions such that you feel like you're experiencing what the protagonist is. I didn't expect much from the title when I picked this book to read but it was so much more intense and captivating than what I expected that I was surprised.
Bg Hartley
Jan 17, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I loved this book from start to finish couldnt put it down. Lots of characters and great plot cant wait for a follow up!!
WordsAPlenty
A struggling software business based in the U.K. is seeking clients and successfully find one in Malaysia. Steve Roussos, along with his colleagues, is excited – their bills will be paid, they are a success and they are ready to move forward; well, that is until one makes a startling discovery on the dark net that will send their worlds spiraling and for some will end in deadly consequences!

Leo James has skillfully written an international thriller with plot twists and developments that are soli
...more
Mrsk Stephen
Nov 23, 2018 rated it really liked it
A book to keep you on the edge of your seat!
Layers of Deception, by Leo James, has a well developed plot and follows the typical story arc; there is plenty of tension right from the opening chapter through to the last sentence. The reader is kept on pins and needles throughout the story wondering what the ruthless bad guys are going to do next – will it be a bomb, a hidden camera, more bribes, food poisoning, an illicit sexual encounter, blackmail, a rape, a murder, a cyber-crime? Truly the anta
...more
Morgan Amos
Dec 20, 2018 rated it liked it
All in all, this novel wasn’t my speed but could be an excellent read for someone who likes international crime thrillers.

Layers of Deception is a novel full of action, murder, and of course, deception. While I appreciate this, I found it hard to maintain my focus with reading this novel at times because there were so many moving parts.

Don’t get me wrong, I like an action-packed thriller, and this story had a solid storyline, however, there were too many players in this game and there were times
...more
Leo James
Nov 26, 2018 marked it as to-read  ·  (Review from the author)
judie l. rossberg
is currently reading it
Jan 03, 2019
Kim
marked it as to-read
Jan 23, 2019
Patrick St-Amand
marked it as to-read
Feb 04, 2019
Valeriy Kozlov
is currently reading it
Feb 10, 2019
Jason Carder
is currently reading it
Feb 11, 2019
Paula
is currently reading it
Feb 19, 2019
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
1 follower
Leo began writing during his recovery from a serious fall into a storm drain whilst on business in Singapore. To this day, he has not solved the mystery of who pushed him. Stuck in hospital, Leo found it cathartic to write. It helped with his recovery, both mentally and physically. That was the start. Once back to work, and travelling internationally, he would write everywhere: on planes, trains, ...more