Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Devil's Pact (The Devil's Revolver #3)” as Want to Read:
The Devil's Pact (The Devil's Revolver #3)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Devil's Pact

(The Devil's Revolver #3)

by
3.86  ·  Rating details ·  21 ratings  ·  8 reviews
Hold on to your hats — the Devil’s Revolver series is back with an evil twin, deep magic, zombies, menacing grand balls, a train heist, hand-to-hand high-stakes battles, and two sisters who have grown in their power to face and fight the end of the Weird West.

If Hettie Alabama could do what she was told and stand down . . . she might not anyway. Especially when the lette
...more
Kindle Edition, 308 pages
Published December 18th 2018 by Brain Mill Press, LLC
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Devil's Pact, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Devil's Pact

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-47
Average rating 3.86  · 
Rating details
 ·  21 ratings  ·  8 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Devil's Pact (The Devil's Revolver #3)
Chad
Jul 30, 2019 rated it really liked it
Shelves: 2019
A supernatural Western. Hettie is bonded to the mage gun, Diablo, that takes a year of her life every time she kills someone with it. Currently, she along with her cohorts are trying to determine why soothsayers are falling into comas. Along the way she uncovers something much larger going on. I like the multiple ongoing plots and how they weave in and out. McGrath has a knock for writing complicated characters. Everyone is shades of gray as opposed to black and white. I'm looking forward to see ...more
Danielle's
Dec 28, 2018 rated it really liked it
Western meets magic.

Hettie is our leading lady. She is more cowboy than a lady, but in this book, she has a more feminine roll in places. Hettie has a magical weapon linked to the devil, but her mundane fighting skills are lacking. She needs to learn to look out for herself and not rely on magic. Her magic comes with a price and isn’t always available to her which leaves her weak. She is slowly building up her skills. In this book, she is going to need them.

Her sister is in hiding. Unfortunate
...more
Kit (Metaphors and Moonlight)
4 Stars

Review:
*I received a copy of this book from the publisher. This has not influenced my review.*

This was the most gripping book so far in this feminist Weird West series!

The whole series has had a lot of inclusivity/diversity, but this book especially so. Almost every character was female, POC, and/or LGBT+, and that's something you don't find often, especially not in westerns.

I already liked all the characters, but they seemed to have even more nuance and personality this time, and I think
...more
K.J. Charles
Another fantastic instalment in this dark and twisty fantasy Western series, and things are getting even worse for Hettie, if such is possible. Her growing bond with Diablo the demon gun is decidedly creepy, she's lost her allies, and they've stumbled on a seriously sinister plot.

I love this series, Hettie's dedication and defiance paired with her moral flaws, the general catastrophic atmosphere, the desperate attempts of people to hold onto what they have as the world is falling apart. I saw a
...more
Jypsy
Jan 09, 2019 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
I didn't realize this was the third book in a series. Reading the others first would have been better. I found the story confusing at times and lacking substance. Unfortunately, I couldn't connect with this one. ...more
Nostalgia Reader
3.5 stars, but the last showdown was heckin suspenseful enough to warrant rounding up.

I friggin love weird westerns. This has EASILY become a favorite series, and while I wasn't quite as enamored with this installment, I still enjoyed every moment of reading it. Whereas the first two have been heavily grounded in weird west/magical realism, this one was much more steampunk grounded with Fielding's engine as the main catalyst. It was still a unique addition to the magicked world and I loved how i
...more
Toni
Jan 20, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This series is perfect for fans of Wynonna Earp. It will keep you busy until the next season premieres.
Brenda Robinson
Dec 20, 2020 rated it really liked it
These Books are different, and I am enjoying them because of that.
Vae
rated it really liked it
Oct 25, 2019
Viktoria Tomcheva
rated it really liked it
Oct 17, 2019
Toni Nichols
rated it really liked it
Mar 19, 2020
Victor *True Unagi Master*
rated it really liked it
Nov 05, 2019
Dana
rated it it was amazing
Aug 10, 2020
Ay
rated it really liked it
Dec 23, 2018
Amanda Heideman
rated it liked it
Mar 08, 2019
Erin
rated it it was amazing
Jul 23, 2019
Dave Slutzkin
rated it liked it
Mar 01, 2019
Leslie
rated it really liked it
Dec 08, 2020
Gigi Knows
rated it really liked it
Jan 03, 2020
Mal
rated it liked it
Feb 23, 2019
Zuzana899
rated it really liked it
Jan 20, 2019
Mon Mon
rated it really liked it
Jan 06, 2019
Mel
added it
Nov 28, 2018
Sister Bootknife
marked it as to-read
Nov 28, 2018
EditorialEyes
marked it as to-read
Dec 17, 2018
ElizrdbthSpeaks
marked it as to-read
Dec 22, 2018
Nancy (The Avid Reader)
marked it as to-read
Dec 22, 2018
Adrianna
marked it as to-read
Dec 30, 2018
BookLoversLife
marked it as to-read
Jan 01, 2019
Jason
is currently reading it
Jan 08, 2019
Jodi Hassel
marked it as to-read
Jan 14, 2019
Darlene Owen
marked it as to-read
Jan 14, 2019
Shannon
marked it as to-read
Jan 14, 2019
Nancy Burgess
marked it as to-read
Jan 14, 2019
SD
marked it as to-read
Jan 14, 2019
Judy Thomas
marked it as to-read
Jan 15, 2019
Julie
marked it as to-read
Jan 15, 2019
Onyinye Akpanisi
marked it as to-read
Jan 15, 2019
Daniela
marked it as to-read
Jan 17, 2019
Esperanza
marked it as to-read
Jan 20, 2019
James
marked it as to-read
Jan 20, 2019
Tammy Hudson
marked it as to-read
Jan 22, 2019
Milton
marked it as to-read
Jan 24, 2019

Readers also enjoyed

  • Winterkill (Joe Pickett, #3)
  • Being Neighborly
  • Wreath Between the Lines (A Cookbook Nook Mystery, #7)
  • Trophy Hunt (Joe Pickett, #4)
  • Out Of Range (Joe Pickett, #5)
  • Dull Knife (Joe Pickett, #4.5)
  • In Plain Sight (Joe Pickett, #6)
  • Dead at Third (Henry Walsh Private Investigator #1)
  • Free Fire (Joe Pickett, #7)
  • The Sun Down Motel
  • This Is How You Lose the Time War
  • Blood Trail (Joe Pickett, #8)
  • Below Zero (Joe Pickett, #9)
  • Savage Run (Joe Pickett, #2)
  • Nowhere To Run (Joe Pickett, #10)
  • Cold Wind (Joe Pickett, #11)
  • Vivid (The Grayson Family, #1)
  • The Master Falconer (Joe Pickett, #11.5)
See similar books…
28 followers
V. S. McGrath, is a published romance author (as Vicki Essex), and has six books with Harlequin Superromance: Her Son’s Hero (July 2011), Back to the Good Fortune Diner (January 2013), which was picked for the Smart Bitches Trashy Books Sizzling Book Club, In Her Corner (March 2014), A Recipe for Reunion (March 2015), Red Carpet Arrangement (January 2016) and Matinees with Miriam (November 2016). ...more

Other books in the series

The Devil's Revolver (4 books)
  • The Devil's Revolver (The Devil's Revolver #1)
  • The Devil's Standoff (The Devil's Revolver #2)
  • The Legend of Diablo (The Devil's Revolver #4)

News & Interviews

What will you do when it's your turn to pick your book club's next read? Well, this is what you won't do: panic. Why not? Because we've dug...
73 likes · 14 comments