Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Story Raider (The Weaver Trilogy, #2)” as Want to Read:
The Story Raider (The Weaver Trilogy, #2)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Story Raider

(The Weaver Trilogy #2)

by
4.53  ·  Rating details ·  97 ratings  ·  59 reviews
Deceiving an empire is a treacherous game.

Tanwen and the Corsyth weavers race to collect the strands of an ancient cure that might save Gryfelle. But Tanwen has a secret—Gryfelle isn’t the only one afflicted by the weaver's curse.

As Queen Braith struggles to assert her rule, a new arrival throws her tenuous claim to the Tirian throne into question.
...more
Paperback, 384 pages
Published April 30th 2019 by Enclave Publishing (first published April 2019)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Story Raider, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Story Raider

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.53  · 
Rating details
 ·  97 ratings  ·  59 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Story Raider (The Weaver Trilogy, #2)
Lindsay Franklin
Jul 25, 2019 added it  ·  (Review from the author)  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: books-i-wrote
Okay, friends. This little story of my heart is finally out there. I'm so excited to share it with you.

Here are some content warnings/notes:

Like The Story Peddler, The Story Raider is a clean read. This book would probably be rated PG or PG-13 due to fantasy violence and thematic elements, if it were a movie. My opinion is that it's appropriate for ages 12/13+, though your mileage may vary, depending on your judgment of such matters. I know every reader's (and every paren
...more
Jane
Nov 01, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: favourites
This book is absolutely INCREDIBLE. As a sequel, it perfectly carries on from the character arcs and storytelling of the first book and it heightens the tension and the stakes and dives in deeper into what makes the characters who they are. It's an absolutely glorious ride.

I loved the character development that happened in this story. How the relationships were growing and changing, and oh-so naturally too. There's so much conflict between the characters and it just fuels the plot like n
...more
Nicki Chapelway
Jul 29, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I liked this book even better than the first. We get a whole lot more world building and character development in this one. I really enjoyed seeing more of this world including the other cultures and how they worked under Tir's rule. I was still a little confused with the whole magic system, but I certainly got to know this world much better as a whole.

The concept of the curse and the search for the cure was of course right up my alley. And I grew extremely fond of them all throughou
...more
Jason C.
Aw man...

Lindsay has written another beautiful, stirring, and entertaining fantasy in her Weaver Trilogy. The Story Raider takes threads from The Story Peddler and continues to weave (ha) a brilliant tale that explores trauma, tragedy, and the beauty and power of art.

My aw man is because the third book isn't here to dive into today.

Don't miss The Story Raider. You need Mor of this in your life.
Heidi
Jun 22, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Whoa. That escalated quickly.
I LOVED The Story Peddler, and this was quite a step up. The stakes have been raised, folks. 😳
Also, I AM NOT OKAY. Because THINGS HAPPENED and I’m not going to spoil them, but there might have been some yelling at the author. 😑
AND SOOOOO MANY FEELS I CAN’T EVEN. 😍😍😍😍❤❤😭😭😭😂😂😬😬😬😱😱😱
I ADORED IT, and I need book 3 NOW.
I received an advance copy, opinions are my own.
...more
Deena
Jun 12, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I'm always a little nervous about the second novel in a series. Will it be as good? Will it be as epic? Will I fall in love all over again?

The answer to all three questions regarding The Story Raider?

YES! And again I shout, YES, a thousand times YES!

The excitement! The people! The adventure! The lands! I'm so, so satisfied!

And yet I'm not. Oh, I want more! I want more Tannie, more Braith...more Mor!!! I want to tell you all about the story but I'll
...more
Abigail
You cannot, I repeat cannot, end a book like that and expect me to wait who knows how long for a sequel!! That ending killed me!

Everything in this book was amazing! The characters their personalities deepened, the plot thickened, and my love for this series grew.

I honestly cannot put into words my feelings for this book.....I have so many yet I can't seem to get the words. I also don't know what to say without spoiling anything.

I loved this sequel. I loved the adventure that I went
...more
Jenna
Aug 09, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: fantasy
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Josh
Aug 19, 2019 rated it it was amazing
After reading The Story Peddler last year I honestly didn't think it would be possible to be more invested in a book. Well, The Story Raider proved me wrong. It was the only book I've read this year that had me up until the wee hours of the morning because I *had* to know what came next. All of the danger, action, and heartstring-tugging makes this easily my favorite read of 2019!
Stephanie
Aug 12, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Even better than the first book. Lindsay writes with such heart and adventure. I am so looking forward to this trilogy's conclusion.


(4.5)
Deborah O'Carroll
(Originally posted on my book blog here, along with pictures and reminiscing about the Story Raider Launch Party at Realm Makers 2019!)

That was a wild ride! I feel like this book is better than the first one but at the same time this one had more plot things that I was . . . less than pleased about? XD So I’m just a little mixed on it.

But I definitely enjoyed reading it, and I need the next book yesterday because CLIFFHANGER. *dies* I can’t wait to find out what happens!

It’s going to be sooo har
...more
Jessica Baker (A Baker's Perspective)
Wow. I was blown away by book one, how can you top that? I may not know the words to describe it, but this installment certainly did. I was already hooked into the storyline before I started reading, but this brought me even deeper. Franklin’s creative storytelling is simply amazing. There’s really no other way to describe it.

The Story Raider had even more action, more excitement, and more breath holding moments. Yes, I do hold my breath every now and then when reading a book! It was
...more
M. R.
Jun 15, 2019 rated it really liked it
Oh my goodness. That ending. Lindsay, how could you do that to me!? I was not expecting this book to end with such a cliffhanger! Once the book is released, I'll post a full review, but I thoroughly enjoyed reading more of Tannie's story and I can't wait for The Story Hunter!!!! #MoreMor
Selina Gonzalez
Aug 01, 2019 rated it liked it
I feel a little bit bad about being the first person to give this less than four stars. It's not a bad rating. The book just didn't quite capture me.

Positives first:
I love all the varied places they travel to. The worldbuilding is pretty cool, and some of the places are so vivid. More weaver abilities are cool and the weaver battles are fun/cool. I do really like this unique magic system. (Even if it's sometimes confusing. I'm very unsure about the rules of this magic system, b
...more
Phyllis
Aug 05, 2019 rated it it was amazing
A fantastic continuation to the fantasy

I fell in love with The Story Peddler when I read it last year. The imagery of telling stories by weaving pictures in the air in living color is just incredible. And the adventure and mystery were thrilling. I have been anxiously waiting for The Story Raider‘s release ever since.

Once again, Lindsay A. Franklin captivated my imagination and transported me to another world. The adventures continue and twists and turns abound. The battl
...more
Sydney
In book two of her Weaver Trilogy, Lindsay A. Franklin, once again brings to life a magical adventure. This story continues and compliments the story of that in the first book. This is a series that will need to be read in order to best understand what is going on. Readers of The Story Peddler, the first book in the series, will be drawn to this story, waiting and wanting to know what will happen next. Although the story is a bit stretched out and slow going and one of the main characters is a b ...more
Chris Morris
Jul 22, 2019 rated it it was amazing
So, the first book in The Weaver Trilogy was The Story Peddler, and it was amazing in its own right. But, The Story Raider takes all the great characters in The Story Peddler, throws them into a mish-mash of danger and strife, and forces every single one of them to grow in very unexpected ways. Plus, there are new characters added, each of which are completely endearing. The plot has several twists, including something at the end that makes me want to read the end of the trilogy ASAP.

I cannot r
...more
David Justiss
Jul 21, 2019 marked it as to-read
Just got this at the Realmmakers Conference. Still deciding whether to read it now or wait till book 3 is out so I can go straight to the next book after finishing...
Katelyn Bolds
Jun 24, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: enclave
Lindsay Franklin has woven an incredible story in her first book, and this one just kept getting better! The Story Raider is a masterpiece of YA fantasy.

Not only does the action and plot intensify, but the emotions and characters are written so naturally and beautifully. I was touched so often throughout reading it and I cannot wait for the next book.

Excellent for YA readers and lovers of fantasy of any age.
Fiction Aficionado
Aug 07, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: fantasy, young-adult
I’m thoroughly enjoying this YA fantasy series from Lindsay A. Franklin! Not only do I love the world the author has created, with its storyweavers, songspinners, colormasters, and stoneshapers, (not to mention animals such as fluff-hoppers and marsh-grazers) but the writing is just so engaging and entertaining. And I love, love, love it when authors are able to create YA characters with that authentic mix of immaturity and maturity that speaks to YA readers at their level but also encourages th ...more
Karissa
Sep 08, 2019 rated it really liked it
This is the second book in the Weaver Trilogy. I didn't enjoy this book quite as much as the first book in the series...there just wasn't as much of the cool creative magic as in the first book. That being said this was still a very solid adventure fantasy.

Tanwen and crew must take off to search for a cure for the curse brought on by suppressing Tanwen’s magic. Both her life and Gryfelle’s are completely dependent on finding this cure. Meanwhile Braith is trying to secure her throne and stabili
...more
MJSH
Jul 28, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: read-2019, book-tours
“Hope is never lost as long as you’re willing to fight for it. And I do think there is hope for you.”

“For what is honorable does not change with the tides, and when one acts with honor, he need not fear the consequences.”

This book 2 in The Weaver Trilogy picks up right where the first book The Story Peddler ended, so definitely read book 1 prior to reading this. Much like the first story, this one is told from both first person and third person perspectives. The author’s
...more
Alice
Jul 23, 2019 rated it it was amazing
This book was even better than the first one!

One of the main things that stood out to me was the struggles the characters went through. They were real issues and it hurt to read about them because I know real people going through similar struggles. But that made me love the book even more [also #MoreMor]. It was definitely darker than The Story Peddler but Lindsay A. Franklin dealt with the struggles well and showed the characters starting to work through some of it (please get me the next book so we can get them into a better place
...more
Hallie Szott
In a perfect continuation to Linzy A. Franklin’s trilogy, The Story Raider delivers adventure aplenty as Tanwen and friends embark on a quest. Added to that, political complications, interpersonal conflicts, lots of tension, danger, and action, and some excellent plot twists—The Story Raider grows beautifully from what began in The Story Peddler and absolutely does not disappoint.

Needless to say, I’m wholly enjoying The Weaver Trilogy. It’s fantasy at its finest, and I love visiting
...more
Suzie Waltner
Aug 08, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Tanwen and her friends embark on a quest to find a cure for Gryfelle while unrest stirs in Tir. Y’all I was so excited to spend time with these fictional friends again, and Lindsay A. Franklin did not disappoint.

The Story Raider has a good balance of action and adventure with the weavers traveling across the lands in search of the cure and the internal struggles and realizations. Between Tanwen’s illness and her relationships with many around her (mostly Mor and her father but others
...more
Madison Brown
Aug 06, 2019 rated it really liked it
I’ve been waiting for this book for over a year, and it was totally worth the wait! I am always nervous when it comes to sequels and whether or not they will be as good as the first book, but I’m happy to say that The Story Raider was just as awesome as The Story Peddler! It did a wonderful job of continuing Tannie’s story and expanding the storyworld. I really liked the world building and seeing what the lands around Tir were like, and I also loved the subplots that were woven through the story ...more
Stephanie C
I read the first in the series quite awhile ago and was worried that I wouldn't remember the characters or get swept up in the action again, but everything clicked back in place pretty much within the first chapter, without ever running into one of those "recap everything in the first book" passages.

I liked this one even more than the first book. I was cheering for our characters the whole way!
Brianna
Jun 30, 2019 rated it it was amazing
It can sometimes take me a while to get sucked into a book. This was not a problem with The Story Raider. As soon as I began to read, all of the things I'd loved about The Story Peddler came flooding back. The fun cast of characters, the intriguing magic system, the fascinating story world, and how much I identify with Tanwen. That last one is extremely rare for me, so this series has a special place in my heart. I can't wait for the next installment!
Kathleen Denly
Why This Book:

The second I read the final page of The Story Peddler, I knew I would be reading the next book in this series. Then my two eldest boys (13 & 11) read The Story Peddler and loved it as well. We all agreed that we would preorder the next book as soon as it was available to do so. So we did. Then I came across the opportunity to join Lindsay Franklin's launch team. Um yeah. I signed up in a blink.

So I now have a digital ARC (Advanced Reader's Copy) and a printed purchased copy of The St
...more
Juny
Aug 23, 2019 rated it it was ok
Oh come on! It didn't wrap things up with Mor and Tannie and by this point I don't really care to read the third one now. I skipped Naith's parts skimmed and skipped some of Braith's parts and skimmed the descriptions and cut to the conversation. Which was better than just calling it quits.

The plot again is rather simplistic? I don't know quite how to describe it. Everything was just so convenient. Everyplace they went to the people started with pointing arrows at them and then Tanni
...more
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Flight of the Raven (The Ravenwood Saga, #2)
  • Strands of Truth
  • The Painted Castle (Lost Castle #3)
  • Mark of the Raven (The Ravenwood Saga, #1)
  • The Yellow Lantern
  • Fragments of Fear
  • Odd Girl Out (Being Zoey #2)
  • Once Upon a Christmas: Contemporary Retellings of Timeless Tales
  • Meet the Misfits (Being Zoey #1)
  • The Number of Love (Codebreakers, #1)
  • Aiming for Love (Brides of Hope Mountain, #1)
  • Surf Smugglers (The Legacy of Sunset Cove #3)
  • Midnight on the River Grey
  • State of Lies
  • Beautiful in His Sight
  • Termination Dust (Alaskan Refuge)
  • Meghan’s Choice (Known by Heart)
  • Daughters of Northern Shores (Blackbird Mountain, #2)
See similar books…
164 followers
Lindsay A. Franklin is a Carol Award–winning author, freelance editor, and homeschooling mom of three. She would wear pajama pants all the time if it were socially acceptable. Lindsay lives in her native San Diego with her scruffy-looking nerf-herder husband, their precious geeklings, three demanding thunder pillows (a.k.a. cats), and a stuffed marsupial named Wombatman. You can find Lindsay on In ...more

Other books in the series

The Weaver Trilogy (2 books)
  • The Story Peddler (The Weaver Trilogy, #1)