Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Doodleville (Doodleville, #1)” as Want to Read:
Doodleville (Doodleville, #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Doodleville

(Doodleville #1)

4.23  ·  Rating details ·  30 ratings  ·  6 reviews
For fans of Svetlana Chmakova's Awkward and Raina Telgemeier's Smile comes an inventive new story from Cardboard Kingdom creator Chad Sell about a group of young artists who must work together when one of their own creations becomes a monster.

Drew is just a regular artist. But there's nothing ordinary about her art. Her doodles are mischievous . . . and rarely do they stay
...more
Hardcover, 288 pages
Published 2020 by Knopf Books for Young Readers
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Doodleville, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Doodleville

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.23  · 
Rating details
 ·  30 ratings  ·  6 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Doodleville (Doodleville, #1)
Michele
Oct 28, 2019 rated it it was amazing
With the diverse cast of characters, everyone will find someone with whom they can identify. The plot is funny and action packed and I love the teamwork angle.
Ciera
Dec 30, 2019 rated it liked it
Doodleville was a cute kids graphic novel all about art and creativity and friendship. It dealt the psyche of artists and how emotion can affect art and vice versa and the demarcation between low and high art. I especially liked the scenes in the museum that established Drew as the colleague of famous and classical artists despite her age and because of her passion, and the value that art has contrary to the value people assign.

Of course, it also was very much centered on friendship and the
...more
Jennifer Noonan
I enjoyed Cardboard Kingdom, Sell’s first graphic novel produced with a team of other creators, but I like this debut solo effort even better. It’s got a wonderfully original story, and a cast of diverse characters that have genuine mass appeal. It’s got an illustrative style that will appeal to lovers of the clean lines of Telgemeier-esque books, while at the same time, drawing in fans of the more action-inspired superhero genre. It’s the perfect combination of fantasy and reality with a dose ...more
Julia
Jan 26, 2020 rated it it was amazing
This is such a sweet graphic novel! The diverse cast features some really fun young artists, and I think young readers will definitely be able to find someone to relate to. I loved that art was alive in this book, and watching Drew's doodles interact with famous paintings, as well as her friends' superhero sketches, was cute and clever! This is an awesome read that readers young and old should pick up!
Isabel
Dec 04, 2019 added it
I didnt really like it, but overall I think a lot of people will like it
K
Nov 19, 2019 rated it really liked it
Shelves: graphic-novels
ARC from AASL was for sure appreciated!
Marian
rated it it was amazing
Jan 16, 2020
Nichole
rated it really liked it
Dec 23, 2019
Becca Rutkowski
rated it really liked it
Jan 30, 2020
Fdfegfsduigrfoideri
rated it it was amazing
Oct 27, 2019
Hari Yang
rated it really liked it
Nov 30, 2019
Kristin
rated it liked it
Feb 18, 2020
Justin
rated it it was amazing
Jan 28, 2020
Julie Kirchner
rated it liked it
Dec 21, 2019
Laura
rated it really liked it
Jan 29, 2020
Melissa
rated it really liked it
Dec 19, 2019
Agatha  Gavaldon
rated it it was amazing
Jan 19, 2020
Laura
rated it liked it
Nov 06, 2019
Pam  Page
rated it liked it
Dec 30, 2019
Manuel Betancourt
rated it it was amazing
Jul 12, 2019
Marisa
rated it it was amazing
Dec 31, 2018
Kate
rated it liked it
Feb 11, 2020
Liv Morris
rated it really liked it
Jan 08, 2020
China
rated it it was amazing
Feb 13, 2020
Joss
rated it really liked it
Dec 28, 2019
Ann
rated it really liked it
Dec 03, 2019
Trusty
rated it really liked it
Dec 01, 2019
Megan Westman
rated it it was amazing
Feb 15, 2020
Erin Boyington
rated it really liked it
Jan 27, 2020
Stevie Durocher
rated it it was amazing
Nov 29, 2019
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Stepping Stones
  • When You Trap a Tiger
  • Clean Getaway
  • Go with the Flow
  • When Stars Are Scattered
  • Fry Bread: A Native American Family Story
  • Stargazing
  • Truman
  • Things Seen from Above
  • My Video Game Ate My Homework
  • Red at the Bone
  • Nat Enough
  • Patron Saints of Nothing
  • White Rose
  • Hair Love
  • Almost American Girl
  • The Extraordinaries (The Extraordinaries, #1)
  • The Starless Sea
See similar books…

Other books in the series

Doodleville (2 books)
  • Untitled (Doodleville, #2)