Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Underfoot Vol. 1: The Mighty Deep” as Want to Read:
The Underfoot Vol. 1: The Mighty Deep
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Underfoot Vol. 1: The Mighty Deep

by
3.58  ·  Rating details ·  74 ratings  ·  28 reviews
It has been untold years since the Giants-That-Were disappeared, leaving behind the animals forever changed by their strange science. Now, granted the gifts of intelligence and self-awareness, the valiant Hamster Aquatic Mercenaries struggle to keep their horde alive in the dangerous new world.

In The Underfoot: The Mighty Deep, H.A.M. has been hired to save their badger
...more
Paperback, 160 pages
Published April 23rd 2019 by Oni Press
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Underfoot Vol. 1, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Underfoot Vol. 1

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.58  · 
Rating details
 ·  74 ratings  ·  28 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Underfoot Vol. 1: The Mighty Deep
Chad
Mar 30, 2019 rated it really liked it
Recommends it for: fans of The Secret of NIMH
Shelves: 2019, netgalley-2019
The Secret of NIMH with some Rescuers built in. A wonderfully inventive tale about hamsters living in a world after humans have long ago disappeared. They have now become mercenaries working for other animals in the area. Badgers hire them to destroy a beaver dam before their homes are flooded. There's lots of fun and excitement with alludes to a larger backstory going on. I never knew there were so many different breeds of hamsters. They are all drawn in glorious detail. The art and coloring is ...more
Etienne
Feb 02, 2019 rated it liked it
2,5/5. Interesting universe but a comic that I find really slow in the story evolution and just felt unbalanced alternating between long pages full of dialog and then a fews pages of action, and then back again... Could have bee done better. Still not bad and could please some. The animals heroes is always entertaining and done okay here.
Carrie Templeton
Feb 26, 2019 rated it really liked it
In a big world, this team of little hamsters is prepared to save the day. The story of this community, built on the ruins of human culture, is both intriguing and adorable. Full of adventure and dynamic relationships, I was very pleasantly surprised by The Underfoot. Not to mention the exceptional art on every page!
Valéria.
Mar 02, 2019 rated it really liked it
Shelves: comics
Never thought I'll have tears seeing dying hermit crab.
This was a really nice and clever anthropomorphic story, I had fun reading this, each of the characters (hamsters) has its personality. There are different breeds of them, old and young, brave and fearful. There's a really hairy one who has a lisping problem. Going on the mission to accomplish, they have to defeat snakes and lizards, fish and eagles (some of the parts were bloody, I did not expect that in the book like this). The artwork is
...more
Sunil
Jun 12, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: own, 2019
Look, I have been friends with Emily S. Whitten for over a decade, and I am well acquainted with her love of hamsters, so when she told me she had co-written a graphic novel about hamster...aquatic...mercenaries, I thought, okay, that sounds fun and cute, what a silly concept. It'll be an enjoyable romp about furry animals with weapons.

I was wrong. The Underfoot: The Mighty Deep is the real fuckin' deal, folks. Taking obvious inspiration from works like Watership Down and Mrs. Frisby and the
...more
YOU LOOK LIKE
Apr 10, 2019 rated it it was amazing
It was a marvelous book with interesting plot points and the occasional notes from presumably the humans just adds even more taste and element
Brianna
Mar 22, 2019 rated it really liked it
Unexpectedly cute. Love the premise and can't wait for more!
Kelly
Feb 08, 2019 rated it liked it
Two words: hamster mercenaries.

(Full disclosure: I received a free e-ARC for review through Edelweiss/NetGalley.)

The Underfoot is set in the (not-so-?) distant future, in which humans - known to the surviving land mammals as the Giants-That-Were - have been wiped out: either by mass floods, or by earthquakes, or perhaps even by avalanches, depending on who you ask. In our wake, we left behind the results of our scientific cruelty (or generosity, again relative to the teller of the tale): a
...more
Kai Alexander
Mar 13, 2019 rated it liked it
*I received an ARC via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. *


This is a post-apocalyptic book set in the distant future where humans (the giants that were) have been wiped out. We following a team of hamsters that are ready to do any job and save the world. We follow our characters as they try to adapt to a world without humans and how they start to test their limits. I think that this is an interesting and fun story concept. I loved the characters and the idea of survivalist hamsters. I
...more
Kim
Mar 06, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I enjoyed The Mighty Deep so much that I immediately got my co-worker to read it and ordered it for my library. The writing is so well done that I didn't feel at all uncomfortable cheering for hamsters. The illustrations are beautiful, but at time it is difficult to tell the different characters apart. The characters themselves are complex and emotive. I read this in one setting, and felt challenged to interpret some parts of the hamster vocabulary, such as "sea-dees" and "magic nets". I can't ...more
Steff Pasciuti
I have to hand it to Ben Fisher and Emily S. Whitten,The Underfoot was a damn clever story with beautiful illustrations that kept me captivated the entire way through. A graphic novel featuring various hamsters as they navigate a newfound intelligence as a result of scientific testing after the disappearance of all humans within the world. Perhaps the most fascinating piece of all this is the fact that they regularly refer to humans as "the gods that were" and speak of the supposed promise that ...more
J.D. DeHart
Feb 06, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Ben Fisher is a new comic book/graphic novel talent for me, but one I am likely to revisit again. The Underfoot is a likeable, enjoyable visual feast that is just the right amount of human and otherworldly. It's fantasy and engaging concept fiction in graphic novel form. Liked it!
Calvin Daniels
Feb 19, 2019 rated it really liked it
3.75 just a fun adventure! Enjoyed!
Dobie9 Library
The H.A.M. (Hamster Aquatic Mercenaries) are who their furry brethren call on when they have a problem that needs to be fixed fast. Talented, ruthless, and intelligent, the members of H.A.M. Protect their burrow and their team mates with everything they’ve got and they are willing to take the risks to see their missions succeed.
Y’all, a graphic novel about a bunch of genetically enhanced mercenary hamsters made me laugh, cheer, AND cry. I don’t think I’ve ever been this emotionally invested in a
...more
Theediscerning
Mar 20, 2019 rated it did not like it
A book I really never took to, this features some hamsters who are training young hamsters to be ninjas in time to demolish a beaver dam before it floods out some badgers. Yup. It's an amalgam of animal adventure and interminable training montage, where every joke falls flat, every page is filled with unnecessary arguing for the sake of character and action, and – well, I don't know. I immediately grew a dislike to it and never found any opposing emotion.
Fiction State Of Mind
Aug 06, 2019 rated it it was ok
Shelves: graphic-novels
I really struggled with this one. Talking animals has been done in many formats and so I had high hopes for this one. The art is stellar and there are no funny animal moments. It was the story that felt hard for me to connect to. It tried to project and epic fantasy element but it failed to connect with me. I know there are more volumes in this story but I don't think I will continue with this series,
Bridget
This was an interesting post-apocalyptic book with a very clever story but, unfortunately, I struggled to stay invested in its detail. I liked that each of the hamsters had their own personality. Rating 4 Stars

Thank you to NetGalley and Diamond Book Distributors for the complimentary ARC. This is my honest and totally voluntary opinion.
Marlana
Nov 14, 2019 rated it liked it
I really wanted to love this one, but I think at times there's too many mysteries and not enough answers.

Enjoyable and I would recommend, but not a must read and I fear probably easily forgettable.
Kimberly
Long live the Hamster Aquatic Mercenaries! The first installment in a new graphic novel series, The Underfoot is a bit of Nymh, a pinch of Redwall and a dash of Mission Impossible all rolled into one!
Cat Cassel
Aug 26, 2019 rated it really liked it
Will appeal to fans of Mouseguard and Redwall, and has a very clear D&D background. I also loved the hoarding hermit crab you meet halfway through the narrative who has wistful eyes and a broken mug as its shell.
Nicole Westen
I really like how the artist makes sure that each hamster actually resembles the proper breed, and isn't just a generic hamster. Also pretty timely, since the premise of this book is all the genetically modified animals get free when humans eventually succumb to global warming.
Heather
Sep 18, 2019 rated it really liked it
I found the story involved but easy enough to follow, and I’m excited for more of this Ms Frisby x Redwall series. Grades 4-8. Not sure why it’s in our YA section.
Diana-christie
Jul 23, 2019 rated it did not like it
That was a horrible story. I didn't like how the hamsters talked. It was boring.
Kelly Skony
Aug 18, 2019 rated it it was amazing
My 7 year old son and I read this in one sitting - marvelous artwork and an exciting tale! We can't wait for more HAM, HAP, and HAM adventures!
Nancy
May 14, 2019 rated it liked it
More like 3.5, honestly. Interesting mythology here, and some nice moments. Curious to see where it leads.
Mindi
Dec 09, 2019 rated it really liked it
Cute story about hamsters!! It could use a bit more humor for me...but that's just my opinion. I hope that the author will write more! There's definitely more story to be told.
Theresa
An odd amalgamation of mercenary hamsters in a post-apocalyptic world that leaned juvenile, but had a gore factor that went teen or higher.
Emma
Apr 15, 2019 rated it liked it
Because this is a book about hamsters, I was expecting something very different. It was a fun adventure, but with more death and explosions than I had anticipated.

[Free ARC from NetGalley and Edelweiss+]
Amanda
rated it liked it
Jul 05, 2019
Eric
rated it it was ok
May 09, 2019
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Pilu of the Woods
  • Haphaven
  • The Okay Witch
  • A Story About Cancer With a Happy Ending
  • The Tea Dragon Festival
  • Blackbird, Vol. 1
  • The Breakaways
  • Under The Moon: A Catwoman Tale
  • Écumes
  • Unicorn Day
  • Mooncakes
  • Pumpkinheads
  • Book Learnin': A Pie Comics Collection
  • Hotel Dare
  • Black Canary: Ignite
  • Fake Blood
  • Grass
  • His Hideous Heart
See similar books…