Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Drenched Sunflowers (The Water Street Chronicles Book 1)” as Want to Read:
Drenched Sunflowers (The Water Street Chronicles Book 1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Drenched Sunflowers (The Water Street Chronicles Book 1)

by
3.84  ·  Rating details ·  25 ratings  ·  20 reviews

Rainy days and river views fill Beth's summer as she makes a new start in small town Washington, North Carolina.  After the loss of her husband in a tragic accident, simple seems better.  It's time to renovate her life, starting with a future art gallery on the river.  Sam, her contractor, has everything under control, but the stress of the construction project and new bus

...more
Mass Market Paperback, 1st Edition, 318 pages
Published October 16th 2018 by Tammera Cooper
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Drenched Sunflowers, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Drenched Sunflowers

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-45
3.84  · 
Rating details
 ·  25 ratings  ·  20 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Barbara Senteney
Nov 10, 2018 rated it really liked it
4,5/5 stars
I loved this story the romance was cute and slow the way romance really is, usually. Basically Beth loses her husband in an accident, so she moves to a small town where she can cut cost on starting an art gallery. She buys an old historical house and some artifacts and a diary are found.
She has dreams of the girl in the dairy, who drowns, she keeps trying to rescue her, and it messes with her waking hours.
She ends up dating Sam her contractor, and ends up kidnapped.
This was good bu
...more
Camille Maio
Jan 09, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
A wonderful debut that will leave readers eagerly anticipating the next in the series. Part romance, part paranormal, and part mystery, it is ALL Southern charm. This one had me putting off my to-do list so that I could finish it!
Sai Johnson
Oct 23, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Drenched Sunflowers, a title that was my first draw in to this story...and though it seems like it should be melancholy and depressing, I found it to be refreshing and unique.
Kristin
Nov 05, 2018 rated it it was amazing
"Thank you Netgalley and the publisher for the advance copy of this book, in exchange for an honest review."

Loved this book very much. It had just enough sweet romance and the storyline was great! I highly recommend!
Cosima demaglie
Nov 13, 2018 rated it really liked it
I just loved this book! I think it is now my absolute favorite! The author's characterization skills are phenomenal. She has the knack of being able to make her characters very realistic. No cookie-cutter characters here. They are not all sweet and full of fluff. No there are some mean ones, some very stubborn ones, some pathetically clueless ones, as well as strong and forthright ones. This just makes the conflict in the story that much more real, which, in turn, makes the resolution of the con ...more
Linda
Nov 10, 2018 rated it really liked it
I started this book thinking it was a nice light romance, as others I enjoy reading. Then things started to twist, and I’m still processing what I think will happen in the next book! Looking forward to it! Romance, mystery and history - a great combination.
Sue
Dec 08, 2018 rated it really liked it
Shelves: southern-fiction
I always enjoy a good Southern fiction novel and this one fit the bill. the characters were well written - flaws and all - and there was a bit of mystery in the plot. My only disappointment (and this was my fault) is that I didn't realize that this was a series and expected everything to be wrapped up at the end but now I have a reason to pre-order the next book in the series Sleeping Mallows in the spring, 2019.

Beth is starting her life over in the small town of Washington, NC. Her husband had
...more
Katherine Iorio
I honestly couldn’t get through Drenched Sunflowers by Tammy Cooper. I can’t NOT finish a book, but this one I truly couldn’t do it. From the dialogue between the two main characters, to the language being to stiff at parts, I couldn’t finish it. The story felt very predictable and the twists were absolutely no surprise for me either. I thought this had so much potential, but Cooper’s book really fell flat.

I eventually put this book down and walked away after the numerous spelling and grammatic
...more
J
Nov 12, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Disclosure: I received a copy of this book through a Goodreads giveaway.

Basically this book is about a woman, who following the loss of her husband, decides to settle in fictitious Washington North Carolina and build an art gallery on the river. As she rebuilds her life, she finds romance but she also finds ghosts from the house's history. Reading the romance between Beth and Sam, I found myself rooting for them to continue to get to know each other. However something traumatic happens to Beth w
...more
Lynda
Nov 12, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Disclosure: my normal genre preference is SF/Fantasy, and I am acquainted with the author. Having said that, I found this to be a pleasurable reading experience. The story, set mainly in a small, coastal town, unfolds with natural grace. There is romance, betrayal, mystery, and history in a lovely blend, plus a gorgeous historical house undergoing restoration. The characters feel real, like people in my own hometown, as if I could walk into the bakery, and recognize them. I really enjoyed this b ...more
Di Paterson
Jan 21, 2019 rated it it was ok
Shelves: netgalley
This book left me quite conflicted. I enjoyed the story, but the fact that it's the first part of a three-part story is a little disappointing, because I'm not sure I can read another book in this style. The writing just doesn't do it for me. It lacks depth, in my opinion, and the love story is just a little too predictable, while the obsessions are also just a little too unrealistic. There are plenty of holes in the plot, and the editing leaves a lot to be desired. However, as I said, the basic ...more
Eileen Lettick
rated it really liked it
Dec 15, 2018
Beatrice Rice
rated it it was amazing
Nov 04, 2018
Kristina Kelm
rated it really liked it
Dec 15, 2018
Diana Hock
I read “ drenched sunflowers” in 3 days and loved it! Can’t wait for “ Sleeping Mallows” coming this spring and thanks Tammera for the sneak peek! I love when authors do that. I’ve always been interested in this subject and you brought the characters together beautifully. I live in Greenville and come to Washington often. Now this book give me whole different feeling with the area thanks to you, Tammera! Diana Hock
Love Reading
Jan 23, 2019 rated it liked it
This was a good story and if you can get past the very proper grammar then it’s enjoyable. I did think some things were brushed over in the story when brought up that I thought would’ve been discussed more between the characters but maybe that was to prolong the story. Nevertheless it was a good book
 ♡ One Click Romance ♡
This story had so much potential but, it fell short,
To me, it needed more fleshing out, the characters needed more work and growth.
The relationship between Sam and Beth (I almost forgot her name) felt forced and fabricated.
The story itself was just everywhere and very predictable, from the first few chapters I knew how this would play out and I guessed right everytime. There was no mystery, no suspense, it was all very...stale and flat.
Virginia
rated it it was amazing
Oct 31, 2018
Joan Campbell
rated it it was amazing
Nov 02, 2018
Lianne
rated it really liked it
Dec 04, 2018
Madhuri Palaji
Nov 21, 2018 rated it really liked it
Drenched Sunflowers by Tammy Cooper is a romantic thriller. This story has a ghost in it but its the friendliest and nicest ghost I’ve ever come across so far. Beth is a widow who comes to a small town to get away from his dead husband memories. She hires Sam to renovate the old building and convert it into an art gallery. They discover a basement from 18th century during the process. Beth starts seeing nightmares and a ghost. The ghost keeps warning Beth about the danger from someone but Beth i ...more
Corinne
Nov 17, 2018 rated it liked it
I was given this book for free to do an honest review.

I enjoyed this book and its story, however at various points in the book the text was too stilted and it did not involve the reader to feel what the author wanted him/her to feel. The chemistry between the main characters was not clearly felt. Also, the story was too predictable with the twists in the story coming at no surprise. I would have also suggested a round of proofreading as there are some spelling and grammar mistakes. Some sentenc
...more
Lianne
Dec 04, 2018 rated it really liked it
I received an Advanced Reader's Copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

It took a while for this book to capture my attention and make me want to finish it. When it did though - boy, did it! It kept me guessing right through the end. Even though there were themes of ghosts and such, it did not scare me.or keep me from reading it through the wee hours.
JoAnn
Nov 27, 2018 rated it liked it
Drenched Sunflowers is well written. Good plot and setting. Thanks to the publisher and Netgalley for my digital arc this is my unbiased review.
 ♡ One Click Romance ♡
This story had so much potential but, it fell short,
To me, it needed more flessing out, the characters needed more work and growth.
The relationship between Sam and Beth (I almost forgot her name) felt forced and fabricated.
The story itself was just everywhere and very predictable, from the first few chapters I knew how this would play out and I guessed right everytime. There was no mystery, no suspense, it was all very...stale and flat.
Sherri Hollister
Jan 22, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Falling in love with the characters is half the joy of reading a good story. Falling for the setting adds to that enjoyment. Tammera Cooper has done an excellent job of weaving antebellum Washington, North Carolina with the modern. The port city was active on the Underground Railroad. Her research is obvious in her reconstruction of the time period.
As her modern heroine works to restore the house on Water Street, the history is brought to life. Beth and her contractor, Sam fall in love amidst t
...more
Gina
marked it as to-read
Oct 22, 2018
Helyce
marked it as to-read
Oct 22, 2018
Jenene
marked it as to-read
Oct 23, 2018
Elizabeth
marked it as to-read
Oct 23, 2018
Jennifer Lessard
marked it as to-read
Oct 23, 2018
Mrs D S Brereton-Ward
is currently reading it
Oct 28, 2018
Dawn Cunningham Roether
marked it as to-read
Oct 29, 2018
Christi Massey
marked it as to-read
Nov 19, 2018
Louise Bird
marked it as to-read
Dec 02, 2018
Crystal Gray
marked it as to-read
Dec 10, 2018
Nessa
marked it as to-read
Dec 22, 2018
Cindi Knowles
marked it as to-read
Dec 31, 2018
Cynthia Carpenter
marked it as to-read
Dec 31, 2018
Kari Angeles
marked it as to-read
Dec 31, 2018
Paula Marchbanks
marked it as to-read
Dec 31, 2018
Irma
marked it as to-read
Jan 01, 2019
Ariel Botkin
marked it as to-read
Jan 01, 2019
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Ethics in Energy Medicine: Boundaries and Guidelines for Intuitive and Energetic Practices
  • Seeking Glory
  • Love Over Logic (Desert Monsoon, #2)
  • For Sissy
  • White Picket Fences: Turning toward Love in a World Divided by Privilege
  • Goodpoint
  • Awake Under the Night Sky
  • The Trekker's Guide to the Picard Years
  • Term Limits
  • Father Bear and Daughter Bear Create a Garden
  • The Twenty-Seventh Letter of the Alphabet
  • Color Wonder Winter Is Here!
  • In the Company of Like-Minded Women
  • Free to Dream
  • National Geographic Almanac 2019: Hot New Science - Incredible Photographs - Maps, Facts, Infographics & More
  • One Death at a Time (Twelve Stakes #1)
  • In the Blink of an Eye
  • TURBO Racers: Trailblazer