Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Magic on the Map #1: Let's Mooove!” as Want to Read:
Magic on the Map #1: Let's Mooove!
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Magic on the Map #1: Let's Mooove!

(Magic on the Map #1)

by
3.58  ·  Rating details ·  121 ratings  ·  22 reviews
On the last day of second grade, twins Spencer and Maggie Parker come home from school to find a camper van in their driveway. And not just any camper; a magic camper that can transport them to every state in the continental US. This is perfect for Maggie, who loves geography and is a star student, and for Spencer, who's been failing his geography quizzes and could use the ...more
Hardcover, 128 pages
Published May 7th 2019 by Random House Books for Young Readers
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Magic on the Map #1, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Magic on the Map #1

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.58  · 
Rating details
 ·  121 ratings  ·  22 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Magic on the Map #1: Let's Mooove!
Prabhjot Kaur
Molly and Finn are twins. On the last day of their second grade school, they arrive home to a camper parked in their driveway which their dad had traded from one of his colleagues to go on family trips. At night, Finn and Molly both decide to check out the camper from inside as they had never been inside a camper before.

They are welcomed by a magical GPS or should I say magical PET that takes them over to Colorado and they experience horse riding on a ranch and also a day filled with other cowb
...more
Erica Sonzogni
Jun 03, 2020 rated it really liked it
Shelves: kids-books
Ever wonder what it would be like to travel in a camper? What about a camper that could magically transport to different places in the United States? Finn and Molly, two second grade twins, have this experience when their father brings home an RV. While their mother did not agree with the purchase and wanted the vehicle returned, the twins decided to take it for a test drive prior to its return. Once inside, the camper came to life and whisked the children away to Colorado. Their RV, named PET, ...more
Christian
Jun 03, 2019 rated it liked it
Other people have said as much -- kind of like the Magic Treehouse books, but not as interesting or compelling.
Dee Dee G
Oct 01, 2019 rated it really liked it
I picked this up by mistake yesterday in the library and forgot to put it back. Cute short book for elementary children.
Alison
May 08, 2019 rated it it was amazing
So sweet with a very fun premise! Highly recommend to all my elementary school teacher friends or parent friends looking for something for their new readers!
Becky B
Twins Finn and Molly are shocked to find a camper in their driveway when they come home from school. Their dad got it spontaneously for summer vacation, but it sounds like he may be returning it. Both twins sneak out to look around inside during the night. The camper has a weird set of controls in the dashboard and after pressing some buttons it seems that they've turned on something called PET. PET decides to take them on a trip and Finn and Molly suddenly find themselves in Colorado instead of ...more
Pam
Oct 23, 2019 rated it liked it
New series that uses a magic camper to transport Molly and Finn to a different state. They live in Ohio and the camper takes them to a cattle ranch in Colorado. They can only return after they finish their work there.
Sheinmel weaves in informative text on several topics as the story unfolds. The twins and their friend rescue the prize cow from the outlaw cowboys and return home. Time fluctuates so they get back in the morning and their parents don't suspect anything.
Simple text for mid elementa
...more
Erin
Feb 08, 2019 rated it liked it
I revived an ARC from the publisher of this book. It definitely reminded me of the Magic Treehouse series but a bit more modern. I wish there was more about the PET (camper) as I have students who would be very interested in that!!

Good story, interesting dynamic between the twins. I’ll have my 8 year old read it as well to better get a grasp on what the age group it’s written for think about the concept.
Marcie
Between 3 and 4 for this Magic Treehouse wanna be. However Since this first volume in the series is set in Colorado I moved it to 4. The series is geography and touches on history and I can see it as a 1st grade read aloud and/or second grade guided reader. Didn't quite get to finish it as it is a summer reading prize and I'll have to wait to get a library copy. ...more
Teresa Gellenbeck
May 11, 2020 rated it liked it
We’ve read many similar books (Greetings from Somewhere and Magic Treehouse series) so the overall story line was somewhat redundant for us - siblings, travel, etc. But the story was easy to follow & my 7 year old enjoyed it!
Rev Gary
Jun 18, 2019 rated it really liked it
Shelves: ya
It reminds me a lot of the Magic Tree House series. The RV PET machine was a good idea. The characters are realistic and just waiting for more development. Having read almost all of the Magic Tree House series, I really believe this will be that good or better.
Cynthia
Mar 16, 2021 rated it liked it
Not nearly as good as the Magic Tree House series, but a nice change of pace for a read aloud to my my students. The series does take the reader through the United States, with facts about the states, landmarks, etc... which is good for kids to learn these days.
Ricki
Feb 22, 2020 rated it it was ok
Shelves: fantasy, ya, adventure
Even for a chapter book, this moved too fast with very little explanation of certain plot points.
Julia Crainshaw
Jul 01, 2019 rated it really liked it
Shelves: grade-school
New series perfect for fans of The Magic Tree House. Grades 1 - 3.
Brenda
May 19, 2019 rated it it was ok
I was hoping for more, but will keep up with the series. It is on the easy side for 3rd grade, but it fits with our exploration of our country. I wonder what kids will think>
Joy
Feb 24, 2019 rated it it was ok
Shelves: jfic
Started out strong but then it lost my interest. I hope the twins will be developed more in the coming books.
Anne Afshar
Sep 03, 2019 rated it really liked it
Reading some children's book to ascertain the grade level --- this is a cute new series that should be fun for kids and educational. Twins, a boy & girl, go out on adventures on a magic camper! ...more
Amanda
Jul 13, 2020 rated it really liked it
This reminds me of Magic Tree House but no time travelling. The facts Molly shares are kind of annoying (and seem out of place) but it doesn't take away from the story itself. ...more
Susan Bartol
Jul 31, 2019 rated it it was ok
Shelves: kids-books
Simple story - without out much depth to it and an easy resolution.
Tanya Prax
Nov 24, 2020 rated it really liked it
I think the 3rd graders will really like this series!
Nicki
Apr 01, 2021 rated it liked it
A different version of Magic Tree House. Cute series.
Ms. Yingling
May 09, 2019 rated it liked it
Copy provided by the publisher

Finn and Molly Parker's father brings home a travel camper for which he has traded his car. Their mother is not happy, and requests that the camper be returned. While the twins are not really happy about the thought of traveling, they are curious about the camper, and sneak into it at night. They find that the camper talks to them, and befreo they know it, they are on a dude ranch in Colorado! The camper (aka PET- Planet Earth Transport) tells them that they can re
...more
EJ Humphrey
rated it it was amazing
Nov 21, 2020
Calla
rated it it was amazing
May 03, 2021
Everett Murra
rated it really liked it
Feb 25, 2021
Marte
rated it liked it
Nov 23, 2019
Toni
rated it liked it
Apr 08, 2020
Mecca
rated it liked it
Dec 31, 2019
Caitlin
rated it liked it
Jun 13, 2020
Alexandra
rated it it was amazing
Jun 11, 2020
« previous 1 3 4 5 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Measuring Up
  • Rise of the Earth Dragon (Dragon Masters, #1)
  • Mystery Ranch (The Boxcar Children, #4)
  • Act (Click, #3)
  • Jabari Jumps (Jabari, #1)
  • The One Thing You'd Save
  • Doodleville (Doodleville, #1)
  • Late Lunch with Llamas (Magic Tree House #34)
  • I Will Surprise My Friend! (Elephant & Piggie, #6)
  • Once Upon a Unicorn Horn
  • Pet
  • Bo's Magical New Friend (Unicorn Diaries #1)
  • Dragons and Marshmallows (Zoey and Sassafras, #1)
  • Lenny's Book of Everything
  • Blue Bay Mystery (The Boxcar Children, #6)
  • Witches of Brooklyn
  • Lifeboat 12
  • The Musubi Man: Hawai'i's Gingerbread Man
See similar books…
See top shelves…
201 followers
Born in California. Raised in New York. Went to law school, now write full time. Love: long walks, fresh notebooks, the smell of brownies, pomegranate seeds. Don't love: yogurt, spam (the email kind, and the food kind), deep water, deserted city streets.

My new middle grade series, The Kindness Club, debuts this fall. Look for book 1, CHLOE ON THE BRIGHT SIDE, on November 1, 2016.

Other recent books
...more

Other books in the series

Magic on the Map (4 books)
  • Magic on the Map #2: The Show Must Go on
  • Magic on the Map #4: Escape from Camp California
  • Magic on the Map #3: Texas Treasure

News & Interviews

These twelve books are so consistently adored, they have become regulars month after month in our data of most popular and most read books on...
126 likes · 46 comments