Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Beekeeper of Aleppo” as Want to Read:
The Beekeeper of Aleppo
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Beekeeper of Aleppo

4.23  ·  Rating details ·  29,568 ratings  ·  3,702 reviews
In the midst of war, he found love
In the midst of darkness, he found courage
In the midst of tragedy, he found hope

The Beekeeper of Aleppo

What will you find from his story?

Nuri is a beekeeper; his wife, Afra, an artist. They live a simple life, rich in family and friends, in the beautiful Syrian city of Aleppo - until the unthinkable happens. When all they care for is destr
...more
Hardcover, 360 pages
Published May 2nd 2019 by Bonnier Zaffre
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Beekeeper of Aleppo, please sign up.
Popular Answered Questions
Crys I want to echo the person who mentioned that bees/beekeeping and what they come to represent ARE an integral part of the story. There's not a lot of t…moreI want to echo the person who mentioned that bees/beekeeping and what they come to represent ARE an integral part of the story. There's not a lot of technical content related to beekeeping, though, no. The narrator does repeatedly come back to his memories of beekeeping, the sounds of the bees, different strategies for interacting with the bees, different types of bees, how he learned to do different things with/for the bees, etc. And the bee/beekeeping content never disappears; there is talk of bees and beekeeping up through the very end of the story.(less)
Julia There are lot of e-mail exchanges that are dated early 2016 between the protagonist and his cousin.

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.23  · 
Rating details
 ·  29,568 ratings  ·  3,702 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Beekeeper of Aleppo
Maureen
Feb 28, 2019 rated it really liked it
Shelves: netgalley
“Refugees didn’t just escape a place. They had to escape a thousand memories until they’d put enough time and distance between them and their misery, to wake to a better day.”
― Nadia Hashimi, When the Moon is Low

Nuri was a beekeeper in Aleppo, Syria, his wife Afra an artist - of course this was before the war that was to tear their lives apart, and in which they suffered the most unbearable loss. In addition, this loss left Afra blind. Prior to the war, they’d lived a simple but happy life amon
...more
Angela M
Jul 28, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition

After I finished reading this, I almost wasn’t going to write a full review, but just say that it’s a heartbreaking, realistic rendering of the refugee experience, of people struggling to make it to a country that would provide asylum from a place where they have endured incredible loss and face imminent danger. In spite of the heartache, it’s a beautifully written story and I highly recommend it. That’s all I was going to say because I thought the book was so powerful, it would speak for itself
...more
Nilufer Ozmekik
Aug 28, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
..............................................................................................................................
...............
I didn’t wrongly type those dots. I’m speechless and still trying to gather the broken pieces of my heart but when i glue the crumbled pieces, my heart will consist of mismatched puzzle pieces because this book already stole a huge piece of me that could be never ever replace!

Afra and Nuri created an ordinary, happy life with their child, the jobs which fi
...more
Karen
Sep 27, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
4.5

In 2015, Nuri and his wife Afra from Aleppo, Syria decide to leave their war ravaged country where they suffered many losses ...to make a very dangerous journey through Turkey and Greece with their final destination being England.
The story weaves together two timelines... the journey, and their time in England while awaiting asylum.
It’s very difficult for them to escape the memories that haunt them.
This ended up being a beautiful story!
marilyn
Sep 18, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
The Beekeeper of Aleppo gives names and faces to the glimpses we've had of the people that became Syrian refugees. People who were living their lives, working their jobs, raising their families, and enjoying everyday home life until the war and fighting finally blew up their existence and killed their friends, neighbors, and family. All that is left to do is to wait to be killed or die a slow death of starvation and lack of everything a human needs to survive.

We meet Nuri, a beekeeper who has l
...more
Liz
Aug 01, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: netgalley, book-clubs
From its first pages, this book will hit you hard. It depicts Nuri and his wife, Afra, and the disintegration of their life in Syria and their arduous journey to asylum in England. They lost their son to a bomb. Both are suffering from PTSD, although their symptoms are markedly different.
What can I say about a book like this? It is heartrending. It’s beautifully written. It comes across as totally real. But I still struggled with it. It’s very depressing, as you would expect. I had to keep putt
...more
Paige
Sep 05, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: cultural
What does it mean if we no longer grieve for what we lost? Do we legitimize the things we have lost or broken by holding on to our grief? What does it mean to carry memories?

The story begins with Nuri, the husband and main character who narrates the story, engulfed in the dark grey abyss of his wife’s blind eyes. His wife, Afra, was left blinded by the war and is left with only her own recollection. But, what does it mean to see? What does it mean to love? Revolutionized by the Syrian Civil War,
...more
Jen
Dec 15, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Who knew bees 🐝 could be so beautiful? The humming, the worker, all caught up in their world of making honey that is likened to gold. So precious.

Such a vivid and tragic story of a couple, Nuri the beekeeper and his blind wife, Afra, an artist. Both making the difficult decision to leave Syria and make the treacherous journey to Britain. The life they are leaving behind - which no longer exists- to the unknown.

The descriptive writing, captivating and heart wrenching. From the dreams Nuri has of
...more
Elyse  Walters
Oct 03, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Once I started reading this, it didn’t take long until I noticed the gorgeous writing.

But then.... there’s more. Always more!

....I wasn’t expecting to feel like a sardine packed inside a refugee camp in Athens...
.....I wasn’t expecting to treasure a little boy’s hope-
Sami- while he built a house out of Legos because he was going to build a house stronger for his family than the one they were leaving.
....I wasn’t expecting to hurt as much as I did.

The realization of how war changes lives for
...more
Dem
May 27, 2019 rated it really liked it
Shelves: war
What a thought provoking and haunting piece of fiction, beautifully written and the reader does get a horrifying glimpse into the refugee and asylum crisis and the challenges and heartbreak families caught up in this nightmare in Syria have trying to flee to safety.

This is the story of Nuri, a beekeeper and his artist wife Afra and their Journey to safety in England after the situation deteriorates in Aleppo and the sacrifices they make in order to reach family and friends in England. If you are
...more
Bkwmlee
Sep 01, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
4.5 stars

Let me start off by saying that this is a book everyone needs to read, especially given the current environment we live in with the immigration issue at the forefront of topics recently here in the Western part of the world. Though I have read plenty of books over the years about the immigrant experience from different viewpoints, including from the refugee and asylum perspectives, few of those books have been as haunting and affecting as this one. The story of Nuri and Afra and their h
...more
PorshaJo
Rating 4.5

Haunting, beautiful, heartbreaking. So glad I finally read this one. But I'm a dolt. This was one of those times I judged a book by it's cover, by it's name. I saw it on Edelweiss and thought it would be nothing more than fluff. I kept seeing it pop up, read the blurb, and thought the same thing. Then, I started seeing all these wonderful reviews on GR, or the book getting mentioned in various trades, and awards and figured I'd give it a try. Shockingly, no wait at my library, which ma
...more
Jennifer Blankfein
Author Christy Lefteri is a daughter of refugees, and spent several summers volunteering with refugees in Greece. There is no doubt she beautifully and accurately taps into the suffering of her characters with a heartfelt storytelling of the emotional plight of Syrian refugees in The Beekeeper of Aleppo. This emotional story of a once happy couple shows the toll war takes on a human’s soul, and embraces the hope that exists, even in the worst of circumstances.

Finding it difficult to walk away fr
...more
Krista
Rating: 5 brilliantly buzzing stars

What a luminous and heartbreaking book about war and the effects on the people caught in its crosshairs. While this is often a tough read because of the circumstances that Afra and Nuri have to navigate, I highly recommend this to anyone who is interested in learning more about the conditions faced by refugees from Syria as they try to flee to safer ground.

I didn’t realize all the hurdles and intermediate stops that emigrants and refugees from Syria could face
...more
Diane Barnes
Sep 02, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
"Sometimes we create such powerful illusions, so that we do not get lost in the darkness".

That's pretty much what this book shows us by relating the story of Nuri and Afra, husband and wife who are beginning the long journey as refugees from Aleppo, after a bomb kills their 7 year old son. Nuri narrates the tale, and from the beginning we get a sense that something is wrong, as Nuri tries to stay strong to protect his wife, but ignores his own grief and disillusionment.

Read this novel at the ri
...more
Tina
This is a historical fiction book. I love this book so much. It follows a couple leaving their country because it is not safe to go to UK. It shows us how hard the journey is. I have to say that some parts of this book is hard to follow and read. I won an ARC of this book from a goodreads giveaway, but this review is 100% my own honest opinion. (*)
Peter Boyle
Jun 30, 2019 rated it liked it
I don't think I'd have picked up this novel of my own accord. But I received it as a thoughtful gift so I felt I should at least give it a try. And I'm glad I did. It has given me a sense of what it means when your world is turned upside-down by a political situation that is outside your control, and of how difficult it is to put all the pieces back together again.

Nuri and his wife Afra are refugees in England, having made the long and perilous journey to escape the war in Syria. They are reliev
...more
K. Elizabeth
What a touching story. Although it’s another 3-star read in the lineup of “average” books I’ve seemed to stumble upon, it’s certainly one that I enjoyed more than the others and will recommend to people who enjoy historical fiction (about more recent “history” to be accurate).

The Beekeeper of Aleppo is a novel that deals with the movement of refugees from Aleppo in Syria to Europe during the Syrian Civil War. And like I said, this is certainly a fiction novel, but it’s based on the author’s exp
...more
Dash fan
5☆ An Unmissable Read!

The Beekeeper of Aleppo is a poignant, thought provoking and highly Compelling story of courage, determination, survival, starting over and escaping the horrors of war.

It's a riveting, real, authentic and very moving story about a husband and wife losing everything, becoming refugee's and there desperate need for survival and belonging in a very different world of uncertainties.
I adore all the wonderful facts and information about the bees. It melted my heart how Nuri cared
...more
Marialyce
Sep 22, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
“I wish I could escape my mind, that I could be free of this world and everything I have seen in the last few years. And the children who have survived - what will become of them? How will they be able to live in this world?”

Picture yourself in the midst of a Civil War and how you and your family would face the everyday occurrences in a war ravaged country. Think of how you life would change from the everyday normal into a fight for survival in a land you once loved and felt safe in. Now, know
...more
Kelly (and the Book Boar)
Find all of my reviews at: http://52bookminimum.blogspot.com/



Oh look, it’s an immigration story written by a “white” person. With zero controversy surrounding its release and a 4.23 rating. Yeah, keep telling yourself the uprising about American Dirt wasn’t about the money. But I digress. The Beekeeper of Aleppo is the story of Nuri and Afra and their journey from Syria in attempts to seek asylum in Britain after the war breaks out and they lose everything. Both suffer from their own forms o
...more
Tamara Agha-Jaffar
The Beekeeper of Aleppo by Christy Lefteri is the emotionally compelling story of a Syrian refugee couple as they undertake the perilous journey from Aleppo to England to escape the Syrian civil war.

The story unfolds in the first-person narrative of Nuri Ibrahim. Together with his cousin Mustafa, Nuri runs a successful beekeeping farm in Aleppo. The only thing that exceeds his passion for bees is his passion for his wife, Afra, and their young son, Sami. With the outbreak of civil war, their liv
...more
Susan Johnson
Aug 09, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: net-galley
There are books that will stick to us long after we finish reading them and this is one of them for me. It is hauntingly beautiful and the writing is lyrical. It took me to places I have never been (thank goodness) and put me in situations I have never experienced and I am so grateful to that. It is the story of a beekeeper from Syria and his artist wife. They have lost their young son to the bombing and are trying to make their make their way to England to join his cousin in setting up a new b ...more
Karen R
Aug 30, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
A powerful and unforgettable novel by author Christy Lefteri. Rich in culture, tradition, love, and heartache. It educates without feeling preachy or political. Beautifully written and timely, there were so many moments that touched me.
Kathryn in FL
This is a very powerful book focused on the immigrant experience. This is realistic fiction and based on many conversations the author had, while volunteering with UNICEF in a refugee camp. She returned to England (she resides in London) and her enduring compassion continued to motivate her to have conversations with those who made it out of their war torn circumstances. The book primarily focuses on a Syrian family. Two cousins in business of beekeeping realize that their city is about to fall. ...more
Serena
Jul 25, 2020 rated it really liked it
This book follows the powerful journey that beekeeper Nuri and his wife, Afra face once they make the difficult decision to leave their home in Aleppo, Syria in search of a better life in the UK.

Although this is a fictional story, it is based on the authors experiences volunteering at a refugee centre in Athens which made this so raw and heart-wrenching. I really enjoyed the beautiful descriptions of Syria. Sadly, when I think of Syria, I think of war and ruins. However, this showed me how wond
...more
Paltia
Sep 15, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Loss - verbalization being too difficult one turns, at times, to their own system of coping. Grief can work as a great divider, separating each person into their own worlds, a private world of shadows. In this compelling story we learn at the outset that husband and wife are attempting to exist in the war zone of Syria. Family and friends have fled. The woman, wife and mother, has lost her vision. She is near completely dependent on her husband to care for her. She is reluctant to leave. There i ...more
Dennis
Without spoiling the book's slow building story, The Beekeeper of Aleppo is a beautifully tragic adventure of one family's escape from Aleppo in 2015 during the height of the Syrian Civil War. As the Civil War continues, much of Syria's civilian population is fleeing the country due to humanitarian violations. In The Beekeeper of Aleppo , we meet Nuri and Afra—a married couple living in Aleppo with their extended family—beekeepers and developers of honey-based products. They are enjoying ...more
Onceinabluemoon
Sep 02, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
The minute I started reading I knew it was five stars and never once did that change. I had a lump in my throat and tears in my eyes so many times... when i googled Aleppo and saw the devastation I cried, to imagine living in such horrors. This book is so human it should touch every soul, there but for the grace of god go you or I...
Jennifer
Nov 05, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
4.5 stars

A timely book full of humanity. Read it and let your heart fill with compassion.
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Half a World Away
  • Girl, Woman, Other
  • American Dirt
  • Queenie
  • Blood Orange
  • Cilka's Journey (The Tattooist of Auschwitz, #2)
  • The Dutch House
  • The Vanishing Half
  • The Flatshare
  • The Other Half of Augusta Hope
  • Hamnet
  • The Girl with the Louding Voice
  • The Grammarians
  • A Long Petal of the Sea
  • Dear Edward
  • The Stationery Shop
  • The Strawberry Thief (Chocolat, #4)
  • The Museum of Broken Promises
See similar books…
451 followers
Christy Lefteri was born in London in 1980 to Greek Cypriot parents who moved to London in 1974 during the Turkish invasion. She completed a degree in English and a Masters in creative writing at Brunel University. She taught English to foreign students and then became a secondary school teacher before leaving to pursue a PhD and to write. She is also studying to become a psychotherapist.

Articles featuring this book

There's something great about a paperback book: They're perfect book club choices, you can throw them in your bag and go, and they've been out in...
2 likes · 0 comments
“Where there are bees there are flowers, and wherever there are flowers there is new life and hope.” 31 likes
“But in Syria there is a saying: inside the person you know, there is a person you do not know.” 27 likes
More quotes…