Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Screaming for Pleasure: How Horror Makes You Happy and Healthy” as Want to Read:
Screaming for Pleasure: How Horror Makes You Happy and Healthy
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Screaming for Pleasure: How Horror Makes You Happy and Healthy

by
4.61  ·  Rating details ·  41 ratings  ·  14 reviews
Horror has the gripping ability to captivate...and enthrall. It hooks you with unnerving stories of dread and evil, pushes your limits and pokes every phobia. Audiences love to be scared but behind every muffled scream is something deeper and even more fascinating.

In Screaming for Pleasure, S.A. Bradley takes you on a wild journey exploring horror, where you'll discover
...more
Paperback, 290 pages
Published October 5th 2018 by Coal Cracker Press
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Screaming for Pleasure, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Screaming for Pleasure

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.61  · 
Rating details
 ·  41 ratings  ·  14 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Screaming for Pleasure: How Horror Makes You Happy and Healthy
Rebecca McNutt
All too often people assume that those who read, write and watch horror are either socially awkward creeps, or psychos who get off on scary and disturbing things. This new nonfiction book aims to change that negative perception. After reading Screaming for Pleasure, whether you love it or loathe it, you'll never look at the horror genre the same way again.

I still personally remember the first real horror film I ever watched. I'd always enjoyed shows like Eerie Indiana, Goosebumps and Are You
...more
Isaac Thorne
Jan 02, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I knew it! Horror really does make you happy and healthy.

S.A. Bradley's book is the Danse Macabre for Generation X and later. Chapter after chapter, Bradley discusses different subgenres of horror film, how each affected him on his personal journey, as well as the general psychologies of the eras in which they were produced. Bradley is well-read, articulate, and witty as he guides the reader through horror and, in the end, explains why it is an important yet vastly underrated benefit to
...more
KT
Nov 27, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Real serial killers aren't anything like those in the movies. Ever wonder why? And did you ever think that the Addams Family was the most well adjusted group of people portrayed in popular culture? If so, this book is for you. Horror is a safe outlet for all our worst excesses and fears, allowing us to explore them without being consumed by them. This book examines horror through both an analytical and a personal lens, giving plenty of perspective while providing cool information - and tips on ...more
John
Nov 29, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
There are few authors who are able to communicate the vitality, the essential nature of their own medium like S.A. Bradley. For him, and for fans of Horror, Horror is more than a genre, it is a mode of storytelling in and of itself. In 'Screaming for Pleasure,' Bradley gives both personal and methodological accounts of how Horror can help us through the darkest of times, and perhaps shine a light towards a "happier and healthier" future. Horror cannot make us immune to trauma (nothing can), but ...more
Stmcw
Mar 12, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I am the person S.A. talks about in the book. Someone whom used to love horror and then forgot it along the way. This book is a wonderful reminder of the great horror films that I used to watch, and more importantly ones I missed. The author is passionate about this art-form.. an art-form dismissed and call out when done bad, and renamed when it is done well (i.e. Get Out). You can feel the excitement the writer gets talking about why this genre matters. For horror fans new and renewed, this was ...more
Jill Van
Jun 03, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
A great read for horror lovers! An internal look at the genre with great detail and much love!!
Kenzi
Jan 03, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This book was the perfect way to start my 'More Books in 2020' resolution.

This book sums up perfectly why the horror genre is great! It doesn't matter if you're a casual fan or a diehard like myself.
F.C. Schaefer
Jan 12, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: horror
Sometimes the only thing more disdained than horror films, is horror film fans. If, like me, you have been one for life, then you know what I am talking about, the roll of the eyes, the dismissive groan, the “I hate those movies” retort when you mention that THE TEXAS CHAINSAW MASSACRE and THE SHINING are among your favorite films, and God help you when you say you’ve got the DVDs and have watched them dozens of times, that automatically makes you fit company for psycho killers. But the great ...more
Mary Kay
May 03, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Screaming for Pleasure: How Horror Makes You Happy and Healthyis a genre-bending look at horror film, criticism of it, and personal narratives about how various films interest the narrator.

This book is perfect for those either very well-versed in horror film or interested in becoming more familiar with it. He examines motifs of horror movies, their evolution and new applications, and uses his personal experiences with them to analyze them.

I loved this book because--while it is OBVIOUSLY written
...more
K. Thomas
Feb 15, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This book thoughtfully articulates what's fascinating about horror.
If you love horror, you'll love this book and the way it digs into so many different sub-genres.
If you don't like horror, this book will help you GET why people are taken with it.
An excellent resource that covers a wide range of horror in the form of movies, books, music, comics, and more.
I especially liked the idea of cross-breeding horror with other genres.
The author does an amazing job of noticing what works, whether it's
...more
Clarissa Jacobson
Page turner of a book that has insightful and intelligent thoughts on horror but also has humor. I loved how the author brought his own personal experiences to why he loves horror and the demons he fought with giving himself permission to love it. The author is also incredibly versed in all areas of horror from books, to films to music and has unique thoughts about the topic. It's just a very smart book that is also heartfelt and fun to read. I learned a lot and was also entertained.
Kristyn Sees
Jan 30, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This was a very interesting and thought provoking book. I could never explain why I liked horror so much. S.A.Bradley showed me why. He explains the history behind horror. He mentioned so many movies I have not seen that I see myself binge watching a lot of horror movies. Good Job! I look forward to your next book!
Cory
Nov 03, 2019 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
I liked it. There was plenty I disagreed with, but to each their own. The important part, and point, of the book, is to start a dialogue about the importance and value of horror, and the book really succeeded in that.
Johnny
Aug 23, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: horror, essays
Fun and insightful essays on horror from the creator and host of the Hellbent for Horror podcast. I especially appreciated his connections between horror films and heavy metal music (in particular the history of the tritone...the Gregorian Monks discovered it in the ninth century...who knew?).
Samantha
rated it it was amazing
Jan 24, 2019
Ian
rated it really liked it
Nov 12, 2019
Robin  Dickert
rated it it was amazing
Aug 02, 2019
Dan
rated it it was amazing
Jun 06, 2019
Jamie Grecco
rated it it was amazing
Jan 09, 2020
Christa Rose
rated it it was amazing
Dec 15, 2018
Katie
rated it it was amazing
Oct 13, 2019
Jaqueline Kyle
rated it it was amazing
May 22, 2019
Lisa Gorski
rated it it was amazing
Oct 11, 2018
Emma Williams
rated it really liked it
Dec 22, 2019
Julie Broad
rated it it was amazing
Nov 27, 2018
Savanny
rated it it was amazing
Oct 02, 2019
Antonia
rated it really liked it
Dec 28, 2019
Molly Burke
rated it it was amazing
Jan 02, 2019
Joe Pettit Jr.
rated it really liked it
Aug 14, 2019
Daniel C. Wittig
rated it it was amazing
Dec 25, 2019
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Guardian
  • The Lady from the Black Lagoon: Hollywood Monsters and the Lost Legacy of Milicent Patrick
  • The Sparks (Feud Trilogy, #1)
  • The Resolutions
  • FantasticLand
  • Mannequin: Tales of Wood Made Flesh
  • In a Dark Place (Ed & Lorraine Warren #4)
  • When I Arrived at the Castle
  • The Labrador Response
  • A Cosmology of Monsters
  • The Sentinel
  • Dead By Sunset: Perfect Husband, Perfect Killer?
  • Love Came Softly: A Journey of the Heart
  • My 10 Years In The USA
  • The Meat Hunter
  • Good Luck? Bad Luck? Who Knows?
  • Shattered Lives: Overcoming the Fraunces Tavern Terror
  • The Black Alabaster Box (The Last Crystal Trilogy Book 1)
See similar books…
27 followers
S.A. Bradley is the host of the popular podcast Hellbent For Horror, exploring all things horror across books, film, comics, and music. Bradley has loved being scared by over 1,600 horror films. He’s turned his passion into purpose, sharing his expansive knowledge on dozens of podcasts and in anthologies like Medium Chill and EvilSpeak magazine. Hellbent For Horror was a 2017 Rondo Hatton Classic ...more