Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Carnival of Wishes & Dreams” as Want to Read:
The Carnival of Wishes & Dreams
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Carnival of Wishes & Dreams

by
4.06  ·  Rating details ·  18 ratings  ·  11 reviews
In the tradition of Wishtree and You May Already Be a Winner, this hopeful middle grade novel tells the story of three former friends who must come together at their annual town carnival to heal and reconnect after a tragedy.

The small town of Clarkville has seen better days. Ever since the Cohen factory burned down a few years ago, jobs are scarce and unemployment is high.
...more
Kindle Edition, 304 pages
Published February 12th 2019 by Aladdin
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Carnival of Wishes & Dreams, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Carnival of Wishes & Dreams

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-49
4.06  · 
Rating details
 ·  18 ratings  ·  11 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Tucker (TuckerTheReader)
Jan 27, 2019 marked it as not-released-tbr  ·  review of another edition
I have no idea why but the nostalgia this cover just gave me made me cry a little
Katie
Jan 01, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Thanks to @kidlitexchange, @jenny_lundquist, and @simonkids for the review copy of this book. All opinions are my own.

Fans of Jenny Lundquist – rejoice! She has a new #middlegrade book out next month and it’s wonderful. I adored IZZY MALONE and VIOLET BARNABY, and though these are different characters, the story is just as heartwarming.

Grace, Audrey, and Harlow used to be inseparable, until a tragic accident tore them – and their small town – apart. The Carnival of Wishes and Dreams is an annual
...more
Ms. Yingling
E ARC from Edelweiss Plus

Audrey, Grace, and Harlow's fathers played high school baseball together in their small town, and thre three grew up as friends. This ended when the factory owned by Harlow's family, and managed by Audrey's father, burned to the ground. Grace father, a firefighter, thought that Audrey's father was in the building, and lost his life trying to save him. The entire community has felt the loss of the company, with the lack of jobs, and also are cool toward Audrey and Harlow'
...more
Laura Gardner
Dec 05, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
⭐⭐⭐⭐/5 for The Carnival of Wishes & Dreams by @jenny_lundquist; thanks for sharing this ARC with me for @kidlitexchange! This book is out 2.12.19 and is perfect for upper elementary students looking for clean middle school drama. I read this in less than two hours. It's an easy, fun read that will have wide appeal. .


The carnival has come to Clarkville and Grace, Audrey and Harlow are all hoping one night of magic might erase the problems of the last year since the Carlson Factory burned do
...more
Sarah Overvaag
Jan 06, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Jennifer Hill
Oct 08, 2018 rated it really liked it
One year ago the factory burned down, killing one man in the process and the town has never been the same. Audrey, Grace and Harlow used to be best friends, but after the factory was destroyed, it seemed so was their friendship. They each get an anonymous "pumpkin-gram" inviting them to meet at the Ferris Wheel at the Carnival of Wishes and Dreams at midnight. Grace is moving to California with her mom to have a fresh start after her dad died, Audrey's mom left the family and her dad is not exac ...more
3queensread
Thanks to the @kidlitexchange community, author Jenny Lundquist and publisher Simon Kids for the copy of The Carnival of Wishes & Dreams. All opinions are my own.

I was instantly drawn into the cover of this book. It is absolutely beautiful and reminds me of my youth. It takes me back to summer time with my friends in middle school and begging my mom to let us go to the fair so we could eat all the junk food and ride the Ferris wheel. That said this book will definitely be relatable to its in
...more
Lisa
Feb 21, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This book is a page turner. I started it a bit late on Friday night and was up until 2 am so I could finish it. I wanted to find out what happened at midnight so I didn't want to put the book down. It kept my interest the entire time. I passed off the book the next day to my 11 year old niece and she did the same thing. She couldn't put it down and read it all in 1 night.
Heidi M Rogers
Feb 22, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
So. Much. Fun!
Creyer
Jan 12, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
A well written book about friendship facing tragedy. I really liked the book BUT DO HVE SOME QUESTIONS ABOUT THE ENDING.
Christine Quigley
rated it really liked it
Mar 08, 2019
Kristen Picone
rated it really liked it
Jan 21, 2019
Kate Waggoner
rated it it was amazing
Mar 21, 2019
Heather
rated it liked it
Nov 03, 2018
Janet Haworth
rated it it was amazing
Feb 28, 2019
Sarah Mahieu
rated it really liked it
Feb 20, 2019
Ellie
rated it really liked it
Jan 27, 2019
Paula
rated it liked it
Sep 08, 2018
Christina
rated it really liked it
Jan 13, 2019
Jenny Lundquist
Apr 20, 2017 marked it as to-read  ·  (Review from the author)  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: books-i-wrote
Nicole
marked it as to-read
Apr 21, 2017
Jen
marked it as to-read
Apr 21, 2017
Gene Reams
marked it as to-read
May 01, 2017
Jennifer
marked it as to-read
Jun 17, 2017
Lori Ann
marked it as to-read
Jun 22, 2017
Sydney
marked it as to-read
Jun 23, 2017
Peach
marked it as to-read
Jul 23, 2017
Raina
marked it as to-read
Aug 12, 2017
Caroline
marked it as to-read
Aug 31, 2017
Heidi
marked it as to-read
Sep 02, 2017
Sam Miller
marked it as to-read
Sep 19, 2017
Wayong
marked it as to-read
Sep 21, 2017
Arielle
marked it as to-read
Sep 22, 2017
Abi Harvey
marked it as to-read
Sep 23, 2017
Amanda
added it
Oct 20, 2017
Nancy Luebke
marked it as to-read
Nov 02, 2017
Julie
added it
Nov 09, 2017
Cara (Wilde Book Garden)
marked it as to-read
Nov 19, 2017
Jennifer Bradshaw
marked it as to-read
Nov 27, 2017
Hanna Fogel
marked it as to-read
Nov 28, 2017
Noa Sperber
marked it as to-read
Dec 08, 2017
Lisa
marked it as to-read
Dec 14, 2017
Kaiya
marked it as to-read
Jan 02, 2018
Jami
marked it as to-read
Jan 08, 2018
R
marked it as to-read
Jan 18, 2018
Lisa D
marked it as to-read
Jan 30, 2018
Jaymie
marked it as to-read
Feb 14, 2018
Laura
marked it as to-read
Mar 28, 2018
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
435 followers
Jenny Lundquist grew up in Huntington Beach, California, wearing glasses and wishing they had magic powers. They didn't, but they did help her earn a degree in intercultural studies at Biola University. Jenny has painted an orphanage in Mexico, taught English at a university in Russia, and hopes one day to write a book at a café in Paris. Jenny and her husband live in northern California with thei ...more