Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Light Tripper” as Want to Read:
Light Tripper
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Light Tripper

by
4.06  ·  Rating details ·  16 ratings  ·  10 reviews
For fans of Firefly, Star Wars and The Starfire Trilogy, this is the space opera thrill ride you've been waiting for!

In the 23rd century, bounty hunter, Sal Tripp is a girl with simple needs.

A decent replicated meal, a bullet-free head and keeping her ability to manipulate kinetic energy under wraps.

No easy task when your home is Morpheus, a sleazy band of planets populate
...more
Kindle Edition
Published October 23rd 2018
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Light Tripper, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Light Tripper

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-44
Average rating 4.06  · 
Rating details
 ·  16 ratings  ·  10 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Light Tripper
Kirsty (Amethyst Bookwyrm)
Oct 14, 2018 rated it really liked it
Shelves: author, review, sci-fi
Thanks to Jo-Anne Tomlinson for giving me this book to review.

Light Tripper is a fun new adult sci-fi space opera full of action, betrayals and romance. It was a little slow to start but once the story started getting into the swing of it, I was hooked. I loved the twists in this book as I did not see most of them coming, and the characters were interesting and really engaging. I really liked that the story did not have any added drama for the sake of drama, which meant I could connect to the st
...more
Liz (Quirky Cat)
Nov 02, 2018 rated it really liked it
Shelves: 2018-reads
I received a copy of Light Tripper in exchange for a fair and honest review.

Light Tripper is the first novel I’ve read by Jo-Anne Tomlinson, but if this one is anything to go by; I’m already a huge fan of her work. It’s a science fiction novel, and could be categorized as a space opera (something I’m always on the hunt for).
Light Tripper reminded me of a cross between Firefly, The Starfire Trilogy, and just a touch of Star Wars. Those don’t sound like series/novels that would blend well, bu
...more
Christina H
Oct 27, 2018 rated it it was amazing
I am a huge fan of Jo-Anne Tomlinson's Ardentia series (see this link for details: https://www.amazon.com/Empyrean-Key-A...), and was thrilled to read this book.

Light Tripper is a space opera rather than fantasy, but it did not disappoint. This book was action-packed from start to finish, without neglecting character development. As with her other books, I was impressed by Tomlinson's ability to create characters with strong personalities that interacted in a dynamic way. Her characters are mem
...more
Samantha
May 08, 2019 rated it liked it
Shelves: arc-books
There were a lot of things about this story that I really liked, and also a lot of things that needed work.
The plot was great. I was interested, curious, wanting to know more and learn more. There were mysterious pasts, concealed motives, and a good amount of action. The worldbuilding was a little rough, but the shape of it was fantastic. The galaxy was colorful and interesting, with enough mystery and unspoken background to lend it depth. The characters were dynamic and unique, not mere cardboa
...more
Rosie Rizk
Jan 02, 2019 rated it liked it
Shelves: action, ok, strong-female
Lots of space travel, running for your lives escape moments, Star Wars kind of rebellion, and good main characters. I liked the MC's voice. It was refreshingly engaging.

The father daughter relationship was really nice. Sal could've been so much more successful on her own, but she stuck by her father in every situation, and it was really nice to learn their history. I might even be more interested in a separate book on Morgan, and what made him leave the planetary alliance.

There were some momen
...more
Neonila
I don't really know how to feel about this book, and I'm going back and forth on the rating. I love Sci-Fi so much, and this book featured a lot of elements I like, which I guess is one of the biggest reasons I liked this book.

What I found really weird though was the way it was told. It was told in third person, but it felt like there was someone else with them and they were they one letting the story? Also, I can't say I was that fond of the characters. Sal kind of annoyed me at times and I pre
...more
DB in Richmond
Dec 19, 2018 rated it it was amazing
I received an eARC of this book from NetGalley and the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Light Tripper is well-worth the hype on the back of the book and in its glowing review. I am a fan of hard science fiction and ground-pounders SF (ie, not space naval campaigns). This book had a bit of everything but mainly it was action. There was a non-stop pace to the characters and the plotline that kept my attention throughout. No spoilers, just start reading and then you will be hooked.
Tammy
Feb 04, 2019 rated it liked it
This is a bit like Firefly but without the wittiness in the dialogue. Story was well paced. Characters likable and I enjoyed the different types. Having Sal's father, Morgan, in the majority of the book with her was a bit different and the story line was good. It is 3.5 stars and would have been 4 if there were some more romance/personal interaction between Raijin. I think their banter could have been better.
Breane Ross
Dec 19, 2018 rated it really liked it
Received an arc from netgalley. This is a fun, engaging, humorous sf adventure with bounty hunters. If you like Firefly and things like that, you will LOVE this book!
Jonathan
Nov 02, 2018 rated it it was amazing
i really enjoyed this book i found it hard to put down. i liked sal as a character. i highly recommend it
Anne Slight
rated it it was amazing
Nov 03, 2018
Jeffrey
rated it really liked it
Jan 10, 2019
TrueLovesFirstBite
rated it it was amazing
Oct 23, 2018
Danny Wilkerson
rated it it was ok
Oct 27, 2018
Keryn Soppet
rated it it was amazing
Oct 28, 2018
Alex
rated it it was amazing
Nov 04, 2018
Someone's Potato
marked it as to-read
Oct 11, 2018
Kay
marked it as to-read
Oct 19, 2018
Stéphanie Louis
marked it as to-read
Oct 19, 2018
elizrdbthspeaks
marked it as to-read
Oct 22, 2018
Victoria
marked it as to-read
Oct 22, 2018
E.
marked it as to-read
Oct 22, 2018
James Robert
marked it as to-read
Oct 23, 2018
Shiori
marked it as to-read
Oct 23, 2018
Shirley Ann
marked it as to-read
Oct 23, 2018
Maria Malaveci
marked it as to-read
Oct 23, 2018
Bea LaRocca
marked it as to-read
Oct 23, 2018
Jenn M
marked it as to-read
Oct 23, 2018
Amber Terry
marked it as to-read
Oct 23, 2018
Bridgett
marked it as to-read
Oct 23, 2018
Becky Richardson
marked it as to-read
Oct 23, 2018
Barbara Gary
marked it as to-read
Oct 23, 2018
Daniela
marked it as to-read
Oct 23, 2018
Gabbi
marked it as to-read
Oct 23, 2018
Danny
marked it as to-read
Oct 23, 2018
Kim hansen
marked it as to-read
Oct 23, 2018
Sara
marked it as to-read
Oct 23, 2018
Kim
marked it as to-read
Oct 23, 2018
Debbie P
marked it as to-read
Oct 23, 2018
Arf2D2
marked it as to-read
Oct 23, 2018
Calvin
marked it as to-read
Oct 23, 2018
Allison Swain
marked it as to-read
Oct 23, 2018
Lee Todd
marked it as to-read
Oct 23, 2018
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Spin the Dawn (The Blood of Stars, #1)
  • Blood Heir (Blood Heir Trilogy, #1)
  • Kingdom of Exiles (The Beast Charmer, #1)
  • Two Thousand Years (The Empire Saga #1)
  • The Frame-Up (The Golden Arrow #1)
  • The Path Keeper (The Indigo Chronicles, #1)
  • Eyes on Me
  • Terminal Uprising  (Janitors of the Post-Apocalypse, #2)
  • Finder (Finder Chronicles, #1)
  • A Parliament of Bodies (The Maradaine Constabulary, #3)
  • The Stone's Heart (The Queen's Wing, #2)
  • Divine Prey (Noramgaell Saga) (Volume 1)
  • Night of Cake & Puppets (Daughter of Smoke & Bone, #2.5)
  • The Boyfriend Bid
  • Montauk
  • Neron Rising (Neron Rising Saga, #1)
  • Here There Are Monsters
  • To Best the Boys
See similar books…
53 followers
Jo-Anne Tomlinson was born and bred in the mystical land of New Zealand.
No, she wasn't in Lord of the Rings. No, she doesn't know that guy, Steve. Yes, she has seen a kiwi and they are both powerful and majestic.
As well as writing, Jo is an inventor, currently designing a sophisticated robot that will spit out a completed manuscript based on a very vague synopsis. Unfortunately, as she hasn't even
...more

Related Articles

Space operas, magic, destiny, dystopia, aliens: There's a bit of something for everyone in 2020's latest offerings in science fiction and fantasy...
22 likes · 1 comments
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »