Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Escaping the Past (Downfall #2)” as Want to Read:
Escaping the Past (Downfall #2)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Escaping the Past

(Downfall #2)

by
4.65  ·  Rating details ·  17 ratings  ·  15 reviews
"Dark and impossible to put down..." - 5 stars

After being released from prison, Jane Ellerton is forced to assume a new identity and relocate in an attempt to leave the painful memories of both what she has done, as well as lost, in the past.

When problems arise at her place of work, she gladly accepts an unexpected job offer, but instead of this improving the situa
...more
Kindle Edition, 458 pages
Published October 2018 by Athame Press (first published April 4th 2018)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Escaping the Past, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Escaping the Past

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-25
Average rating 4.65  · 
Rating details
 ·  17 ratings  ·  15 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Escaping the Past (Downfall #2)
Kayla Krantz
Lots of moving parts in this book.
It seems as if everyone has a secret and their secrets consume them.
The relationship between Seth and Jane was interesting—he believing she is dead and Jane believing she has killed them.
They have a bond though that’s been forged by fire, and they love each other in a way that’s stronger than most other characters.
The plot is dark, but that’s what makes this book so compelling.
A great psychological read.
Susiej
Jul 16, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Brilliant!!!!

Oh my goodness I started reading this book with trepidation. Book one was so dark and gruesome I really wasn't sure I if could cope with anymore. But wow, am I glad I took the plunge!!! This story isn't quite as gruesome but it still has it's moments......some of the characters are the same, but different, their personalities continually evolving and new characters are introduced. The story is a tangled web, which I absolutely love, made into an amazing read by Edie Baylis' awesome writ
...more
Maggie Long
May 21, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Wow! Gripping and Fantastic read

Jane and Seth, both believing each other are dead, and both using aliases - Jim and Marie - try to carry on with their lives the best way they know how. I love the way Edie Baylis - the author - manages to keep certain characters hidden from sight from those who would recognise them - very neatly done; so near yet so far away. Suddenly things begin to change when Eliza---a jealous bitch---recognises Seth. Eliza had a crush on him before his so-called d
...more
Renee
Jun 12, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Edie Baylis is able to take characters that are distasteful and make a reader fall in love with them. This book had some excellent twists to it that I didn't see coming. There was plenty of suspense! Be aware though, if you have triggers, you'll want to pass on this because it knows how to bring violence. If you can handle it, the book is a solid read.

The character development and world building overall was good. As it is a lengthier book, the author strives to showcase several chara
...more
Ellie Midwood
Oct 12, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: dark-read
I really enjoyed book one but book two was even better! It was a pleasure to watch the already familiar characters, and particularly Jane, grow and mature in front of my eyes and try to rebuild their lives after everything came crashing down in a big finale of the first part. A rivalry between the two mob bosses and constant scheming and intrigues only added to an already charged, gritty thriller, making it impossible to put down. Supporting characters were very well-written and interesting, but ...more
J.B. Trepagnier
Jun 15, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I read and enjoyed book one, but to say book one has an unhappy ending would be an understatement. I was glad to see there was a book 2 with some of the same cast. I loved reading the building tension, wondering when Jane and Seth would eventually meet again. It came during an unfortunate incident, but this is an Edie Baylis book, so it's not all sunshine and rainbows. There is crime, murder, drugs, and quite honestly, you're going to be wondering at any minute which character is actually safe f ...more
Anthony Kohler
Oct 27, 2018 rated it really liked it
Oh, yes, Jane is back.

Seth is back, too.

It’s been several years, they’re no longer in their prior haunts and they’re both going by assumed names, but what really matters to both of them is that they’re each convinced the other is dead and likely to remain so.

With as much sex and perhaps more alcohol than the previous book, but less drugs, the story proceeds in its usual fashion, with both of them rather embittered over the loss of their one true love, until th
...more
J.M. Ralley
Dec 08, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: dark-fiction, romance
I really enjoyed this book, even more than the first. It’s catchier, hooks you quicker and I didn’t want to put it down. The character development is good, especially Jane’s and I couldn’t wait to see what happened when they finally met.
There are still a lot of characters and POV’s to cope with, but the POV’s were clearly marked. The plot was strong and gripped you. The only thing I didn’t like was when you got hooked in a subplot and then there was a change of POV. I had to force myself not to
...more
Gordon Bickerstaff
May 30, 2019 rated it really liked it
There is no escape from the past

This is a gritty crime thriller with depictions of graphic violence, sex, strong language and contains the type of bad characters you love to hate. There is an underlying romance thread that bonds principal characters and supports the development of the story. It is the second in a series, and works well as a standalone read. There are plenty of characters to keep tabs on, and for me, that was a challenge. Characters are well drawn and believable in this world. I
...more
Trudie Collins
Dec 07, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Set 5 years after the events in the first book, this one catches up with not only Jane, but Eliza, Maggie and Digger as well. And an unexpected blast from the past. The way their lives converge once more is cleverly done. There are a number of places where you think people are going to meet, but they don’t. It leaves you on the edge of your seat, wondering what is going to happen when they eventually do. This book flows nicely and leads you forward through the story. The new characters that are ...more
Diane Garner
Nov 16, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
He's back!

Drugs, money, sex and more sex. In this book the characters story and back stories become more available. I don't want to say too much about the story because I could easily keep going and give it all the way. I definitely do not like spoilers.

I will say one thing though, the author takes these characters who you would find in the grungiest cesspool and makes you like them. Makes feel for them and their situation. That right there is what makes a great writer. Bravo!
Joshua Grffith
Sep 19, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Dark and gritty

This one continues down the dark and twisted road that the first novel began. The story centers around both Jane and Seth as they both attempt to move on with their lives and leave the past buried but as the title suggests, escaping the past isn't so easy because both of them believes that the other is dead. Their worlds eventually collides as do many other dark secrets that plays out. The story is dark, edgy, filled with violence and plenty of drug and alcohol abuse but that g
...more
Jo Pilsworth
Apr 06, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Now I need to read first book. Totally addictive.

Wow! Did sparks ever fly in this second book of the Downfall series. Not for the faint hearted, that’s for sure. The end may seem ‘just right’, but will it be?
Paul Whetzel
Apr 25, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Excellent plot twists keep you on the edge of your seat.

Both the first and second book in this series has exceeded my expectations. Plot twists, gritty writing and ridiculously entertaining.
Grace
Jan 20, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Edie Baylis has a unique way of dragging you into this series, I've not done across many authors who show the characters at they're extreme worst, but make you love them regardless.
Seth & Jane are toxic as a couple, but the passion they have for each other overrides all the dark sides.
Slow to get into book 1, but couldn't wait to start book 2 straight after & I wasn't disappointed.
Janine Wicks
rated it it was amazing
May 26, 2019
susan harrod
rated it it was amazing
May 24, 2019
Kim
marked it as to-read
Mar 02, 2018
Susan
marked it as to-read
Apr 30, 2018
Glenda McFarlin
marked it as to-read
Nov 23, 2018
Stephanie Gonzales
marked it as to-read
Dec 05, 2018
Neepa Shah-Chittur
marked it as to-read
May 11, 2019
McPhaul M.
marked it as to-read
May 24, 2019
Molly
marked it as to-read
Jun 12, 2019
Michelle
marked it as to-read
Jul 22, 2019
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Goodreads Librari...: Book cover update 3 17 Oct 02, 2018 03:44PM  
Goodreads Librari...: Book Cover change 4 27 May 25, 2018 12:20AM  

Readers also enjoyed

  • Light's Rise (Light in the Darkness, #1)
  • Blood Relic: A Dark Paranormal Fantasy Novel (Paranormal Peacekeepers Book 3)
  • Deference (Temper, #1)
  • Hunters (Toldar Series #1)
  • The Rift In Our Reality: A Sweet Young Adult Romance
  • The Woman Behind the Waterfall
  • The Missing Activist
  • The Bride's Trail
  • Magister's Bane (Call of the Elements, #1)
  • Of Knights and Dogfights: A WWII Novel
  • Irma's Endgame
  • Scared to Breathe
  • Maggie
  • Mother Knows Best
  • Light's Eyes (Light in the Darkness - Book 2)
  • Private Messages
  • Quinn's Faith
  • No Other Choice
See similar books…
55 followers
Edie Baylis lives in central England with her partner, children and oversized nutcase dog. She has worked all over the country in previous occupations - some of which have been enjoyable, others not. Either way, she has met a lot of interesting people.

Reading has always been one of Edie's great passions and is a self-confessed book hoarder. Music and the love of all things interesting and unique are other favou
...more

Other books in the series

Downfall (3 books)
  • Until the End of Time (Downfall #1)
  • Vengeful Payback (Downfall #3)