Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Our Year in Love and Parties” as Want to Read:
Our Year in Love and Parties
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Our Year in Love and Parties

by
4.22  ·  Rating details ·  49 ratings  ·  23 reviews
In this poignant, funny, and romantic novel, four nights of epic partying will see two teens through their highest highs and lowest lows over the course of one unforgettable year. Perfect for fans of Gayle Forman and Mary H.K. Choi!

Tucker knows that some relationships take work. With his best friend, Bobby, and his mom, everything is simple, steady. His dad, on the other hand,/>
...more
ebook, 368 pages
Published October 8th 2019 by HarperTeen
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Our Year in Love and Parties, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Our Year in Love and Parties

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.22  · 
Rating details
 ·  49 ratings  ·  23 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Riley Redgate
edit: this book is out today! pick it up. you won't regret it.

---

surprisingly understated for a book set entirely at parties! also as sweet and complex as a truffle plucked off a silver tray. this story nails the wistful feeling of being up too late and tipsy on good conversation and never wanting to go back to regular daylight life. you never feel the constraints on setting at all, it’s a wonderful framing device.

also, tucker is the softest male romantic lead
...more
Danielle (Life of a Literary Nerd)
"Fine," she said, with the biggest eye roll she could manage. "Bring on the star-crossed bullshit."
I wasn't expecting to be so enamored by Our Year in Love and Parties, but here we are. This is a beautiful story filled with nostalgia, hope, and pain and I couldn't put it down. I honestly don't think I can write a coherent review because it would just be me stating and restating everything I liked over and over, but I'll try.

I loved the format of the story. We see snapshots of Erika and Tucker's
...more
Laurie Flynn
Apr 30, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Wow, what an absolutely beautiful book. I love a story that feels genuine and goes deep emotionally, and OUR YEAR IN LOVE AND PARTIES delivers in spades. It's sweet without ever being cloying, which is hard to accomplish. Karen's writing is phenomenal. Her language is evocative and intricate, and she has a true gift for dialogue that feels consistently authentic. As I read, I could visualize each party, and the interactions between Tucker and Erika. With themes of rebuilding trust, finding yours ...more
Jamie
Apr 15, 2019 rated it it was amazing
This book should not have wrecked me. With a cover like this, with a title like this, I should not have been gasping for air to keep from crying at the 3/4 mark. But I’ll be damned if I wasn’t saying, “oh god oh god my heart oh god no I can’t,” while reading the third of the four(ish) parties portrayed in this phenomenally affecting YA novel. I’ll be honest: was expecting NOTHING from this. And yet the emotional and psychological arcs that Tucker and Erika take in this book - both apart from one ...more
Samantha (WLABB)
Sep 22, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: 2019, arcs, ya, contemporary
Rating: 4.5 stars

Tucker had been crushing on Erika the summer they worked together at the Cave, and found that there was still a spark after their separation. They were reunited at a Farewell Cave party, and I had the pleasure of seeing their relationship morph and change over the course of one year and four parties, and I loved every second of it.

I am actually shedding tears of joy as I write this review, because I ADORED THIS BOOK SO MUCH!! It was just so beautiful. It
...more
Jordan Francoeur
I would never have considered picking up this novel and devouring it at the speed I did. As another reviewer observed, based off the title and cover art, this novel's literary value and the enjoyment I got from it, was a rather unsuspected experience. Even the first line didn't draw me in but damn. shortly thereafter everything about One Year in Love and Parties had me turning one page after the next. By structuring the story in four different parts, the author cleverly and carefully pieces toge ...more
Ms. B
Oct 10, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Our Year in Love and Parties is a wonderful, poignant coming-of-age, shaped by the messiness of life's complexities. Eloquently written, with strong and well-developed characters - the story touches many important topics from toxic masculinity to slut shaming.

All, I can say is Tucker and Erika captured my heart.
Elizabeth Sanchez
Sep 23, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review

Originally posted on Ideally Inspired Reviews

Here’s the thing…..I absolutely LOVED this book.

gif

Okay okay, you probably want to know WHY I loved this book, the entire point of the review.

So let’s break it down.

In the book, we have our two main characters: Tucker and Erika. Now, there is a small age difference (teeny-tiny), but Erika is older than Tucker by two years. He is going into his senior
...more
Michelle (Love, Stars and Books)
(I received a free eARC from Edelweiss for a voluntary and honest review. All thoughts and opinions are my own)

Book review: Our year in love and parties by Karen Hattrup (2 stars)

Our year in love and parties by Karen Hattrup
Genre: YA, Contemporary, Romance
Rating: 2/5 stars

(Synopsis from Goodreads)
Tucker knows that some relationships take work. With his best friend, Bobby, and his mom, everything is simple, steady. His dad, on the other hand, seems
...more
Kathy MacMillan
Sep 01, 2019 rated it it was amazing
To be honest, I am not a party person. Whenever I see one of those rom-coms where people are dancing on tables or playing beer pong, I cringe – because the idea of being around a big group of people, most of them drunk, is not now and never has been my idea of fun. But Karen Hattrup’s new novel, Our Year in Love and Parties, goes far beyond the “party night” tropes of teen books and movies to explore the evolving relationship of its two main characters – the sensitive Tucker and the jaded Erika. ...more
Margot Harrison
"Tucker used to think falling for someone meant entering a private world ... Now he felt like that wasn't true at all—if anything, it reminded him how much he needed other people, other kinds of love."

I think my No. 1 favorite thing about this book is encapsulated by the quote above. This is a romance in context. A romance where the two people falling in love don't run away or shut out the world; instead, they help each other to deal with the world better, to bring the world in. And the stren
...more
Dan
May 08, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Another lovely book by Karen Hattrup. This novel tackles a lot and is definitely more emotionally draining than one would expect out of a YA novel (but perhaps I'm just a novice to the genre). It starts off sweet rom-com, but buckle up! Unlike her last novel-- which I loved, but was more reflective-- this novel is more dialogue driven, but still beautifully written and deep. For me, the novel successfully captures something authentic about party conversations (the novel takes place over a series ...more
Cassie
Sep 09, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: 2019, october, arc
The first thing I want to say is how much I love Tucker's personality. He's such a funny goofball with a great heart. All of Tucker and Erika's friends were really awesome too. They reminded my of my high school friends. This book was heavier than I was expecting at times, but then it was balanced out with hilarious high jinks. I found myself grinning like a freak as I was reading, and even laughing out loud at times. The depth of the circumstances both Tucker and Erika faced added authenticity ...more
Aubrey
Jul 06, 2019 rated it liked it
Read the full review on my blog: http://theshelflifechronicles.home.bl...

Instead of the typical flow of time that most stories follow, Our Year in Love and Parties jumps in time from party to party. This is the second book I've recently read that was written like this (see review of Maybe This Time) and while I though this one was better executed, there was still too much time in between parties and I was just not a fan of it. I felt like I never got to really know any of the main characters because how do you get to know them i
...more
Karen Fortunati
Aug 04, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I adored Karen Hattrup's Frannie and Tru and Our Year in Love and Parties shines just as bright! Tucker, struggling with the unwanted/guilt-ridden return of his father, can no longer deny his feelings for Erika. Erika, still in free fall from the aftermath of a bad decision caught on video, fights her growing attraction to Tucker. Over the course of basically four parties during the year, Erika and Tucker come to terms with the inner conflicts and their feelings for each other. Hattrup is a gorg ...more
Tara Weiss
Jun 03, 2019 rated it really liked it
Great story arc with lots of real-world issues, including consent, but an ending that begs for a bit more. All great parties come to an end. And in the final scene there is a full circle to the exposition, but what happens once Erika and Tucker take that final leap? There's no real conclusion beyond the reader's imagination. But there is hope. Second story???
Liz Gaska
Sep 16, 2019 rated it really liked it
This was really good. If you're a fan of Sarah Dessen (and who isn't), Kasie West, David Levithan, and Maureen Johnson (her YA Gen Fic not her YA Supernatural), you'll like this book. The characters are genuinely funny and the plot deals with some young adult issues that haven't been addressed enough. Definitely pick it up.
Carole
Oct 18, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I don't usually buy hard back books anymore but I do for Karen Hattrup! What a delightful book! It was well written and contained wonderful characters. Just loved them both, especially Tucker. Highly recommend!
Melissa
Oct 16, 2019 rated it really liked it
This book is so good. If you like Katie Cotugno, READ THIS. It's entertaining and romantic, while also dealing with tough, relatable issues. It's a funny, nerdy, warm, emotional read.
Epsita
Oct 20, 2019 rated it liked it
The initial parts were boring but it got interesting and engaging as I read on. I esp. loved Tucker’s narrative, although I felt that it dragged towards the end.
Katie
4 sections of this book, each one taking place during a different party throughout 1 year and IT WAS SO COOL. Tucker and Erika will have you so happy, so mad, so swooning, so annoyed, and so totally thinking Frank is a G.
Favorite nonsense excerpt from my notes: “Got you” is KILLING ME SOFTLY
Laura
May 29, 2019 rated it it was amazing
A fun, thoughtful book that immediately had me laughing out loud and tearing up. Hattrup's writing aptly captures the acute highs and lows of growing up. I loved the portrayal of strong, yet vulnerable tough girls and gentle, thoughtful boys - all trying to figure themselves out and ultimately other relationships in their lives. Hattrup's dialogue is so much fun to read - so realistic and witty - it quickly shapes the characters personalities.

Hattrup has a way of writing about gender, sexuality
...more
Nicole
rated it really liked it
Oct 11, 2019
Carol
rated it it was amazing
Sep 29, 2019
Kayla
rated it it was amazing
Sep 29, 2019
Meredith
rated it really liked it
Sep 20, 2019
Marochka
rated it really liked it
May 07, 2019
Maggie
rated it liked it
Dec 19, 2018
Ashli
rated it liked it
Jun 13, 2019
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »