Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Bicycles Locked to Poles” as Want to Read:
Bicycles Locked to Poles
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Bicycles Locked to Poles

by
3.9  ·  Rating details ·  20 Ratings  ·  5 Reviews
This mournful but pleasing collection features many of the best photographs of bicycles locked to poles ever taken.

Shot using an old-fashioned 35mm Nikon, and in many cases after waiting days for alternate-side-of-the-street parking regulations to take effect, the photos here follow in the tradition of John James Audubon, Bernd and Hilla Becher, the Peterson Field Guides,
...more
Paperback, 87 pages
Published May 17th 2005 by McSweeney's (first published April 20th 2005)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Bicycles Locked to Poles, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Bicycles Locked to Poles

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-36)
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Tuck
Sep 17, 2012 rated it liked it
sad and lonely abused bikes. fairly artful and poetic photos but a bit repetitive. perhaps needed greater focus/expanded vision of the project, or better editor. also needed artist commentary of some sort. but if you've ever come outside to find your bike savaged, these artful photos will resonate, and warn you to "get 'em inside"
mim
Oct 07, 2007 rated it liked it
Recommends it for: anyone who like collections of things
I loved the images in this book, having seen many of them myself. The chart showing the bicycles by parts remaining was great fun. I liked the idea of this book and the images were nicely photographed. I passed this book along to a student in a class i was teaching, as he was creating bicycles.
Michael
Apr 04, 2012 rated it really liked it
I got my copy Powells.com used for $5.95 (with a free shipping special - guess I'm cheap) and it was even signed by the photographer.

On some level, of course, it's a terribly sad little book of photographs, but most of the bikes are just crap (missing various parts) so it isn't quite so sad. Perhaps.

The locks on some of these NYC bikes liked to poles clearly weighed more than the bikes (when the bikes were whole). I almost never see monster locks like these around here.

The inside of the front a
...more
Yesica
Jan 12, 2008 rated it really liked it
Shelves: art
How can you not like a book showing the dismantling and denigration of poor bicycles locked to poles in NYC. The images tell a story, albeit a sad one. McSweeney's Rocks!
Mathew
rated it liked it
May 16, 2008
tori kayal
rated it liked it
Jul 02, 2007
Mark
rated it liked it
Feb 10, 2008
David Gray
rated it liked it
May 13, 2013
Paul Debraski
rated it liked it
Jan 15, 2015
Craig
rated it it was amazing
Mar 03, 2012
Wiliam
rated it really liked it
Nov 23, 2014
John  Ervin
rated it it was amazing
Oct 28, 2009
Thom
rated it really liked it
Apr 16, 2013
kate
rated it really liked it
Jun 24, 2007
Kelly
rated it it was amazing
May 17, 2012
John
Dec 29, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  (Review from the author)
Matt Eckel
Sep 25, 2007 rated it really liked it
Photobook. The most depressing thing I've ever seen.
Lily Koppel
rated it it was amazing
Jan 22, 2013
Rich
rated it it was amazing
Dec 30, 2007
Ian
added it
Apr 06, 2007
Neil
added it
Jun 15, 2007
Matthew
marked it as to-read
Feb 26, 2008
Reina
marked it as to-read
Jul 14, 2008
Nola Reader
marked it as to-read
Jun 21, 2009
Thisiskirby
marked it as to-read
Nov 09, 2009
Melissa
marked it as to-read
Jun 16, 2011
Aloha
added it
Feb 21, 2013
Jeff
marked it as to-read
Aug 04, 2013
Louie
marked it as to-read
Nov 11, 2013
Erwin
marked it as to-read
Nov 08, 2015
Rhonda L.
marked it as to-read
Feb 07, 2016
BookDB
marked it as to-read
Oct 04, 2016
Nahid
marked it as to-read
Oct 23, 2016
Mason
added it
Mar 19, 2017
Gabriel
marked it as to-read
Apr 21, 2017
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
9 followers
I'm the author of a book about a colorful but largely forgotten seventeenth-century scholar and priest named Athanasius Kircher. It's called A Man of Misconceptions. It was first published by Riverhead Books in November of 2012, and came out in paperback in late 2013.

I've been a contributing editor for The New York Times Magazine and have written for many publications including The Believer, The N
...more
More about John Glassie