Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Purity of Crimson (Gabriel Davenport #3)” as Want to Read:
The Purity of Crimson (Gabriel Davenport #3)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Purity of Crimson

(Gabriel Davenport #3)

by
4.63  ·  Rating details ·  63 ratings  ·  34 reviews
Menacing dark fantasy/horror and paranormal suspense combine in the final book of this reader acclaimed supernatural series (Gabriel Davenport) from British author Beverley Lee.

Blood calls to blood.

Gabriel Davenport and his brothers have found a temporary refuge. But safety is fleeting. Beneath the streets of London three become five, as the brothers, the "Bloody Little Pr
...more
Paperback, 383 pages
Published October 9th 2018 by Ink Raven Press
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Purity of Crimson, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Purity of Crimson

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.63  · 
Rating details
 ·  63 ratings  ·  34 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Purity of Crimson (Gabriel Davenport #3)
Sadie Hartmann
Dec 19, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: scream-mag
Review originally posted in SCREAM MAGAZINE
Title: The Purity of Crimson
Publisher: Amazon Digital Services
Release Date: October 9th, 2018

The Purity of Crimson is book three in the Gabriel Davenport Series by Beverley Lee. It would be difficult to review this epic conclusionary tale without first recommending book one, The Making of Gabriel Davenport and it’s follow up book, A Shining in the Shadows.

Book one is one, the Making of Gabriel Davenport, is one of the best debut stories I’ve ever read.
...more
Alex | | findingmontauk1
Oct 31, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: owned
I loved reading this book even though I knew it was going to be the last in the Gabriel Davenport series. Beverley Lee's ability to tell a story surpasses so many authors that I have read and she does not disappoint with The Purity of Crimson. With short chapters and a riveting plot this book seemed to fly by while I was reading it - and I am not complaining! I could get lost in Lee's prose and the minds of all her intricately developed characters. And we get some new ones in this book which is ...more
Emily
Oct 22, 2018 rated it really liked it
"We live on the edge of wild and bloody midnights, clothed in ceaseless cold and driven by perpetual hunger."

The Purity of Crimson is the third and final book in the Gabriel Davenport series. I was late getting into this series, and only read the first two books a month ago. I am so glad that I found it! Beverley Lee is a skilled storyteller with an amazing ability to write detailed characters. This a fantastic vampire series, and I was thoroughly invested throughout all three books.

Each book
...more
Chandra Claypool (WhereTheReaderGrows)
Can I just first say how SAD I am that this is the final book in the trilogy of The Gabriel Davenport series? I must have mentally blocked this information because I just did NOT want this to end. However, if it had to end, it went out in a glorious way. Lee has a lot of surprises in store for her readers with this one.

Moth, Teal and Gabriel are back and while they have safety, they are starving for food while simultaneously trying to keep out of harms way. They soon realize they need to face t
...more
Becky Wright
Sep 28, 2018 rated it it was amazing
You can read my full review on my blog - www.beckywrightauthor.com

I was honoured to have an ARC (advance reading copy) sending my little dark heart all aflutter - thank you, dear Beverley.

Gabriel with his brothers, Moth and Teal have found refuge, but their safety is short-lived. Danger, strangers, hunters lurk in every shadow. Gabriel, feeling the need with his innate ability as a pure breed, takes responsibility for his brothers, leading them on a journey with the pull of Teal's fireflies.

The
...more
Dana Fraedrich
Sep 30, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Like its older siblings, The Purity of Crimson is utter perfection when it comes to atmosphere. You can feel the cold wind biting at your skin, hear the brittle leaves crunching under the characters’ feet. It’s gorgeously written. I always worry descriptive bits are going to slow down a story, but not when Beverley Lee does it.

And the characters! I’ve had to bandage up my heart a bit because there were several parts that took it out to play hacky sack with. I was on the couch crying, trying not
...more
JamesFahyAuthor
Oct 29, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Ending a trilogy is bittersweet, especially when it's one you've loved from start to finish.

It's also a huge amount of pressure for an author. Will they be able to do the series justice? Will they be able to round off and tie up flapping loose ends? Will they be able to meet the (HIGH) expectations of their ravenous readers?
Luckily in this case, the answers are yes, yes, and hell yes.

Lee's writing style has grown ever more confident as this wonderful vampire series has grown. Dancing the often d
...more
Julia Blake
Aug 09, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I don't usually, as a rule, read any books in the horror or vampire genres, but I made an exception to this rule in the case of the excellent Gabriel Davenport trilogy by Beverley Lee. Not as graphic as most horror, Ms Lee's books rely more on a slow-creeping terror that insidiously oozes into your brain, making you hear noises in an otherwise empty house and your heart to beat a little faster.

Sophisticated and clever, these books work well as a whole, gradually building the tension through all
...more
TheVampireBookworm
Dec 16, 2020 rated it really liked it
This trilogy is definitely something you need to read from the beginning otherwise you'll have a lot of questions about the characters and their background story. So if you haven't read the first two installments, just go away and come back when you are ready. ;-)
Even though Lee's story is that of horror, her language is borderline poetic and paints such a decadently beautiful picture that it will ease the pain you will feel for Gabriel and his brothers.
Despite the book primarily being about va
...more
Jenny Glover
Feb 13, 2019 rated it it was amazing
The Purity of Crimson is a compulsive, intriguing read ‒ that title, for one. For me, it reflects two great universals that underpin all life: the commonality of blood that runs undiscriminating through our veins; and bright, blind transforming fire.

Universality is what makes Lee’s vampire characters so empathetic. It’s not just their emotive backstories and relationships that bring them stepping off the page. For me, it’s the place the author assigns them in the natural order of things. I cann
...more
Sarina Langer
Oct 05, 2018 rated it it was amazing
I was thrilled to receive an ARC of this book. I love Lee's writing and have been waiting for the conclusion to her deliciously dark series!

There was so much to love about The Purity of Crimson. It's easily the darkest of the three. Be warned: if you have any favourite characters, they'll get hurt emotionally as well as physically. Especially Moth. *ahem*

Every chapter kept me turning the pages as things progressively got worse for the boys. The foreshadowing was killing me, and I raced through t
...more
Andrea
Feb 06, 2019 rated it really liked it
My pulse was racing from the moment I opened the third installment of The Gabriel Davenport Series for several reasons. 1) The anticipation and anxiety of knowing that this would be the culmination of the series, 2) the fact that the author, who undoubtedly loves the characters she has so masterfully created, would not hesitate to put them in harm's way for the sake of the story, and 3) this book would finally reveal the source of the dark shadow that has followed young Gabriel since birth.

Ther
...more
Diamond
Dec 02, 2018 rated it really liked it
Although I'm sad to reach the end of the trilogy, this was a great conclusion! It was great meeting back up with characters from the last two books, as well as meeting some new (very interesting) characters. I especially liked that each book takes place in the winter, as well as how each book introduces us to a new location, while maintaining the previous settings, creating an interesting kind of continuity. It's hard not to refer back to the first two books, because Purity is truly the culmina ...more
Denise Mehling Smith
Jan 10, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I read The Making of Gabriel Davenport, the first book in this series, a couple of summers ago while on vacation. I loved it so much that I passed it along to a friend as soon as I returned home, excited to share such a phenomenal read!
Now after completing this final installment, I can honestly say Beverley Lee has taken my initial impression and amped it up tenfold. Her writing is beautiful, exhilarating, and engaging, with characters that pulled me into their world at every terrifying turn. I
...more
Vicky Coughlan
Jun 13, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Oh wow what a wild ride this book was! My head is still spinning with this oh so sad tale but also so horrific. Beverley Lee spins a web of love, sadness, horror and goosebumping flesh with the mastery of a virtuoso. She humanises these young vampires in such a way that there’s nothing you can do but love them. And the evil ones are so evil you’ll cheer when they get their just desserts. A happy ending? No. But we can call it a peaceful and satisfying ending. I loved this trilogy and strongly re ...more
Megan
Oct 31, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I need some time to recover

I’ll review this better when I’m not totally blown away. Beverley, you are a master. 🖤 I want illustrated versions of these books 😍
Beth Skye Denny
Oct 26, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Oh how I put off finishing this book and how truly sad I was this amazing trilogy was at its end.
Ms. Lee has such a knack with continuity, passing from one book to the next and having it feel as if no time has passed at all. There was so much heart-pounding content, twists, turns, secrets, and surprises in Purity. My head is still spinning!

Gabe, Moth, and Teal are living in relative safety together. Though hiding and starving, the amazing feeling of family and love resonates. I blame this on th
...more
Faith Rivens
Dec 08, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: books-of-2018
Beverley Lee proves yet again to be a master of storytelling, blending heartbreaking moments with love and hope and horror.

It’s sad to think this is goodbye. The chronicles of Gabriel Davenport have been thoroughly immersive, each book’s impression lingering long after the last page is turned.

As with her preceding novels, Lee opens up with character and closes the same. They are the heart of her story and she throws them through fiery hoops (just about literally) as they fight for survival. Gabr
...more
Adriana M S Andresen
Jan 31, 2019 rated it it was amazing
What a beautiful journey! I loved every second. I will miss this little family. Great reading.
Julie
Oct 31, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Enjoyed this series very much!

This does contain mild spoilers.
I just finished this final book in the Gabriel Davenport series, and while I didn't QUITE as exciting as the first two, I did very much enjoy seeing real relationships and emotional development among the vampire characters. I feel that was certainly necessary to tie up the series. There were a few things I thought could have been fleshed out more, like Noah's leaving the church, the identity of Carver's mystery super-fan (maybe that w
...more
Therése Åström
Oct 30, 2018 rated it it was amazing
The third and last installment in the Gabriel Davenport series did not disappoint. It is jam packed with passion and action, and things get tied together.

I was putting the book down so many times in the last part of the book because I couldn’t stand the tension of not knowing how it would end!

I do love the way these books are written. I’m a big fan of different POVs and I like when a lot of characters are involved in a story. My only thing with the book is that I wish there had been a bit more
...more
Nicola Rose
Nov 07, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Yes, yes, yes!

'We lived on the edge of wild and bloody midnights, clothed in ceaseless cold and driven by perpetual hunger.'

What a fantastic opening line! And it doesn't stop there, every sentence feels perfectly crafted. Beverley has a wonderful way with words.

I adore Gabe, Moth and Teal. These boys, full of potential power and yet so vulnerable, hold a special place in my heart.

Fast-paced, brimming with atmosphere, tension and emotion - The Purity of Crimson is a thoroughly enjoyable climax to
...more
Misty
Jan 12, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Incredible conclusion!

Beverley Lee is a rare author. She is able to spin magic with her words, putting the reader directly in the center of the story. She writes lyrically, like a poet, without compromising the excitement and suspense of the book. Not since The Night Circus has a book captivated me. All three in this trilogy are amazing! I'm sad that the story has come to and end, however, extremely satisfied with the way she brought it all together so completely. If you read this Beverley, plea
...more
G.R. Thomas
Apr 26, 2019 rated it it was amazing
It was very satisfying to get my hands on this final chapter in The Gabriel Davenport Series. Wow! Again I was taken on a dark journey that brought together all the teasers , all the moments and drama of the first two books , into a satisfyingly dark conclusion. A truly unique and imaginative series. Gabriel’s journey was very believable and human, even. I was left feeling satisfied. Vampires and witches and hybrids kept this story delightfully intriguing. Each book in this series was read almos ...more
Tracy
Oct 13, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Wow such an incredible book. Made me cry so much. Such a fantastic end to a truly wonderful trilogy. Magnificent.
Josh Radwell
Nov 06, 2018 rated it it was amazing
It's always bittersweet when a wonderful series comes to an end. "The Purity of Crimson" is the final book in Beverley Lee's Gabriel Davenport Series. And, just like the other two books, it's a 5 Star read!
••
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
••
Much like the last two books, this one is beautifully written and rich with descriptive prose. The atmosphere was fantastic; brooding and cold, loving and warm, frightening and tense, all at once. It was wonderful spending time with Gabe, Moth, and Teal again; such well developed char
...more
Julie Embleton
Jan 19, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Gabriel and his band of brothers ‘The Bloody Little Prophets’ cling tight to their precious, unconventional family. But when a greedy darkness connives to pluck them apart, sacrifices must be made.

This was a hard book to read, simply because I knew it was the last in the series and like anything that captures your heart, you don’t want it to ever end. As deliciously dark, emotive and gripping as the first two, I cannot express how much I have loved this series. The character arcs, plot, dialogu
...more
Sharman Badgett-Young
A Horrifyingly Wonderful Conclusion

As an adult, it can be difficult to find well-written fantasy-horror. Of course, there are some wonderful YA authors in this genre who attract readers of a variety of ages, but Beverley Lee has done something rare. Her Gabriel Davenport series features strong characters of various ages from the beginning, even as we grow into adulthood with its main character, Gabriel. Each volume looks at themes from an adult point of view: aging, faith, loyalty, commitment, t
...more
Ruth Miranda
Feb 04, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I don't even know where to start. Whenever I finish one of Miss Lee's books, I have a huge book hangover on me. Nothing I read for a while after will come even close to satisfying me, and this is very sad, because... well, because there's no new Beverley Lee novel to fall back on. NO safety net! All this to say MIss Lee is fast becoming my favourite indie author, and setting herself straight into my top ten fave authors of all times. Her writing is always curt and rich at the same time, lush wit ...more
M. Frances Kelley
Mar 04, 2020 rated it it was amazing
A drama-filled vampire world of twists and turns keeping you on your toes. Beyond intoxicating!! Fabulous series!!
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Released (Turning Moon, # 2)
  • A Grim Affair (A Grim Series #1)
  • Everwish
  • In Her Dreams (In Her Dreams #1)
  • The Haunting of Brynn Wilder
  • The Once and Future Witches
  • The Devil and the Dark Water
  • The Mark of Fallen Flame (Weapon of Fire and Ash #1)
  • Nine Elms (Kate Marshall, #1)
  • Black Ice
  • The Last Odyssey (Sigma Force, #15)
  • The Night Crossing
  • The Outcasts (The Blood Dagger, #1)
  • Mr Stoker & I
  • The Watchers: The Blood Dagger: Volume 2
  • Under a Gilded Moon
  • Corner House
  • A Ghost Arrives: A Novel
See similar books…
197 followers
Beverley Lee is a freelance writer currently residing in the south east of England. In thrall to the written word from an early age, especially the darker side of fiction, she believes that the very best story is the one you have to tell. Supporting fellow authors is also her passion and she is actively involved in social media writers’ groups.
The Gabriel Davenport Series (The Making of Gabriel D
...more

Other books in the series

Gabriel Davenport (3 books)
  • The Making of Gabriel Davenport (Gabriel Davenport #1)
  • A Shining in the Shadows (Gabriel Davenport #2)

Related Articles

  Whether you love the horror genre or just tiptoe into it ahead of Halloween, we have book picks for every level of scared you want to...
439 likes · 283 comments