Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Without Rules” as Want to Read:
Without Rules
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Without Rules

by
3.69  ·  Rating details ·  13 ratings  ·  11 reviews
When a professional hitman turns up at Candy’s World to hide, China Mackie discovers her plan to flee from her abusive father has tragically backfired. A gruesome bloodbath has left four people dead on the streets of a northern city centre on a cold wet Sunday morning. China knows she’s next to die. Unless she is more ruthless than everyone else. She must improvise fast. S ...more
Paperback
Published October 15th 2018 by Boomslang
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Without Rules, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Without Rules

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-27
3.69  · 
Rating details
 ·  13 ratings  ·  11 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Dash fan
4☆ Hard Hitting, Suspenseful Dark Thriller

First of all I want to start by saying how intriguing the cover is, it really drew me in, I wanted to know more.

WITHOUT RULES is a hard hitting, non stop action packed, thriller, it is dark and graphic and does contain child abuse, which some readers might find sensitive.

However it is a very gripping read, and you can't help needing to read on to find out what will happen next.

I really enjoyed WITHOUT RULES once I got into the story.
It did take me while
...more
Hobart
Oct 16, 2018 added it
Shelves: 2018-reads
Last week, in the many tributes to Elmore Leonard that I saw floating around on what would've been his birthday, I came across this quotation: "I don't judge in my books. I don't have to have the antagonist get shot or the protagonist win. It's just how it comes out. I'm just telling a story." Which seemed awfully appropriate as I was in the closing chapters of Without Rules at the time. I'm not suggesting that there's anything Leonard-esque to Field's novel*, but they definitely were working fr ...more
Donna Maguire
https://donnasbookblog.wordpress.com/...

I really enjoyed this story but I did find that the chapters jumping around made it a little confusing at times, but if you persist as I did, it does all come together at the end!

I thought the book had great characterisation, it was well written and the story had a good flow. It was a book I read in just over a day.

The plot is great but it is disturbing in places and won't be for everyone's tastes but I have to say I thoroughly enjoyed it - it was quite a
...more
Kerry
Oct 14, 2018 rated it really liked it
Without Rules has been quite a disturbing read and definitely won't be your cup of tea if you're easily offended by sexually graphic language, particularly as it involves children. There are parts that make for very uncomfortable reading.
China is a feisty character and has a particularly foul mouth, but that's somewhat unsurprising considering the abuse she has endured from the age of six. She is determined to make someone pay for what she has been subjected to and I was praying she would find t
...more
Zoé-lee O'farrell
Oct 15, 2018 rated it really liked it
Shelves: tf
Going to start off by saying if you are easily offended or easily uncomfortable then this book may not be for you. However, if you want to live dangerously….well hello to you!

So helping to close the tour today on this awesome book Without rules, and one thing i learned there are NO rules!

I need a different analogy than a rollercoaster, so this book is like getting in a life with no breaks! You just do not know what is going to happen next and if it will stop. (All in a good way).

I have been r
...more
Julie Morris
Oct 12, 2018 rated it really liked it
Okay. Right. I’ve had to take a little pause and a breather and a step back to think about what I am going to say about this book before I write my review because it has me, in the words of the great AC/DC, a little thunderstruck.

Anyway, now that I have had time to digest the book, I can say that it is one of the most original, interesting, disturbing, gripping, challenging and memorable books I have read this year.

I’ll be honest, when I started it I wasn’t’t sure if I was going to enjoy it and
...more
The Cats Mother
I received this free ARC from a book reviewing website called Hidden Gems, in exchange for an honest and voluntary review. I signed up a few weeks ago, which in hindsight was silly, as I am not short of books to read, and have enough deadlines as it is. Unlike NetGalley, you are expected to provide a review within a week. I did like the idea of supporting newer indie authors, and was curious as to the quality of books available. This was the first book I requested/received. I was intrigued by th ...more
Kaye
Oct 15, 2018 rated it it was amazing
ONE INCREDIBLE ADVENTURE!!!
Man, talk about hitting the ground running. This is one intense, action packed, hard hitting, thrilling, page turning, smooth flowing read that captivates from the start. All the twists and turns, ups and downs, along with a few glitches here and there make for one enjoyable experience. You get all the excitement and drama that holds your attention until the last word. Suspense and danger builds throughout as tension spirals and emotions run rampant. You hang on every
...more
Heath Henwood
Oct 13, 2018 rated it it was ok
Without Rules
By Andrew Field

2 stars

Great start, but then the book bogs down with confusing details, and becomes dry.

When a professional hitman turns up at Candy’s World to hide, China Mackie discovers her plan to flee from her abusive father has tragically backfired. A gruesome bloodbath has left four people dead on the streets of a northern city centre on a cold wet Sunday morning. China knows she’s next to die. Unless she is more ruthless than everyone else. She must improvise fast. Seduce her
...more
T Olsen
Sep 11, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This is not an ordinary story, with its jumping perspective every short chapter. This may seem messy, but keep reading, it's all in a timeline and making sense (sort of). A lot of violence, sex and other rated stuff, so if you are sensitive: stay clear!
I voluntarily reviewed this after receiving a free copy.
Suze Bickerton
Nov 08, 2018 rated it liked it
The story has a whole range of colourful characters, which are well described. Many of them are really not very nice guys, and this is clear in the writing. China is a very sympathetic character, with one hell of a history, whilst Jak is interesting and enigmatic. Would have loved to learn more about him.

The book went in a direction I didn't expect, and the ending was a surprise to me too. An interesting read.
Martin Turner
rated it liked it
Oct 22, 2018
Rita Bauer
rated it really liked it
Sep 16, 2018
Andrew Field
Jun 19, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)
Linda
marked it as to-read
May 02, 2018
Jennifer Soppe
marked it as to-read
Jun 19, 2018
Nancy Jones
marked it as to-read
Oct 17, 2018
Arjun Mohan
marked it as to-read
Oct 17, 2018
Chris Mara
marked it as to-read
Oct 17, 2018
Rayjan Koehler
marked it as to-read
Oct 18, 2018
Dewi Timman
marked it as to-read
Oct 22, 2018
Rona Nelfia
marked it as to-read
Nov 01, 2018
Abigail Grebe
marked it as to-read
Nov 21, 2018
Anne
marked it as to-read
Jan 05, 2019
Brenda Knight
marked it as to-read
Mar 11, 2019
Rhonda L.
marked it as to-read
Mar 13, 2019
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
8 followers
Andrew Field has spent most of his working life as a PR and marketing consultant helping raise the profiles of others. Now the roles are reversed as he steps into the spotlight as the author of Without Rules, a crime thriller about vulnerable people forced to do bad things to escape evil people. “Authors, by the nature of what they do, are relatively introverted. They work in isolation. Inhabit im ...more
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »