Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “You Exist Too Much” as Want to Read:
You Exist Too Much
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

You Exist Too Much

4.36  ·  Rating details ·  14 ratings  ·  7 reviews
On a hot day in Bethlehem, a 12-year-old Palestinian-American girl is yelled at by a group of men outside the Church of the Nativity. She has exposed her legs in a biblical city, an act they deem forbidden, and their judgement will echo on through her adolescence. When our narrator finally admits to her mother that she is queer, her mother’s response only intensifies a ...more
Hardcover, 272 pages
Expected publication: June 9th 2020 by Catapult
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about You Exist Too Much, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about You Exist Too Much

Community Reviews

Showing 1-45
Average rating 4.36  · 
Rating details
 ·  14 ratings  ·  7 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of You Exist Too Much
Catapult
Oct 25, 2019 rated it it was amazing
For fans of Garth Greenwell and Weike Wang, You Exist Too Much is a startling debut novel of desire and doubleness following the life of a young Palestinian American woman caught between cultural, religious, and sexual identities.
Bandit
Jan 05, 2020 rated it liked it
This sounded really intriguing. Plus it checked so many of the boxes. For one thing, great for international reading, first experience with a Palestinian author, the book is set mostly in US (where the author is now based) with prolonged visits to the Middle East. Plus the protagonist is queer, bisexual to be specific, which creates for all sorts of cultural stereotype clashes. So anyway, there were certain expectations going in and at fist the book absolutely delivered. And then, as it went on, ...more
Karen
Feb 14, 2020 added it
You Exist Too Much really makes you really think about life, love, addiction, sex, identity, and culture. I often found myself shaking my head or with wide eyes as I followed the MC as she navigated her life. She (the protagonist) really has been defined by her childhood growing up between the US and Palestine. She has struggled to gain the attention of her mother and other family members along with dealing with her abusive mother. As an adult, she navigates her life by being addicted to love or ...more
Shruthi
Jan 12, 2020 rated it really liked it
I received a copy of this book through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my review.

A full review to come on the blog closer to the release date!

You Exist Too Much seemed like a book that was pretty much made for me. The premise was so interesting but the actual story was a bit of a let down. It wasn’t a bad book, I just had high expectations.

The protagonist was so unlikable. She was so self-destructive and hurt everyone good in her life. This was to probably
...more
Susie Dumond
Feb 08, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Our unnamed Palestinian-American narrator, after years of being told by her mother that she "exists too much" in her feelings and desires, checks herself into a treatment center for love addiction. During her journey of self-discovery, we see her in all of her imperfect glory: wanting to be loved, desiring the wrong people, following passions down dangerous roads, and struggling to unpack her fraught relationship with her mother. Arafat's writing is visceral and honest, and although the ...more
Daniel Hooker
Feb 15, 2020 rated it liked it
Through the book I couldn’t help fighting between being very compelled and also wanting something more to the point. It kept me reading and the different facets of the story (bisexuality, parental issues, conservative culture, love addiction, therapy, eating disorders, infidelity... to name a few??) have the recipe for something unique but I ended up thinking it never truly came together.
Sara
Feb 07, 2020 rated it really liked it
the writing was exquisite but my god it was physically painful to watch this character make the same mistakes over and over

Em
rated it it was amazing
Jan 09, 2020
Rachel Watkins
rated it really liked it
Jan 21, 2020
Nina Aron
rated it it was amazing
Nov 09, 2019
Michelle
rated it really liked it
Jan 28, 2020
Christina
rated it really liked it
Jan 13, 2020
Alicia
rated it it was amazing
Oct 18, 2019
Dave Sloan
rated it it was amazing
Feb 05, 2020
Lilly Dancyger
rated it it was amazing
Jan 28, 2020
Nadia
marked it as to-read
Sep 25, 2018
Annie
marked it as to-read
Dec 04, 2018
Jehanne
marked it as to-read
Dec 18, 2018
Mieke Eerkens
marked it as to-read
Jan 05, 2019
Timothy
marked it as to-read
Jan 27, 2019
Agata
added it
Mar 12, 2019
Gonzalo Garcés
marked it as to-read
Jul 31, 2019
Lindsey Pennington
marked it as to-read
Sep 12, 2019
Lauren Smith
marked it as to-read
Sep 15, 2019
Kristina
marked it as to-read
Sep 18, 2019
Kristin
marked it as to-read
Sep 18, 2019
Anjuli
marked it as to-read
Sep 18, 2019
Lia (_Lia_Reads_)
marked it as to-read
Sep 18, 2019
Morgan Rebecca
marked it as to-read
Sep 18, 2019
Samantha
marked it as to-read
Sep 18, 2019
Chris Perry
marked it as to-read
Sep 18, 2019
Amelia
marked it as to-read
Sep 18, 2019
Jackie
marked it as to-read
Sep 18, 2019
Jackie Keller
marked it as to-read
Sep 18, 2019
Andrea
marked it as to-read
Sep 18, 2019
Linnet
marked it as to-read
Sep 18, 2019
Kristyn
marked it as to-read
Sep 19, 2019
Katie
marked it as to-read
Sep 19, 2019
Tyler
marked it as to-read
Sep 19, 2019
Leila
marked it as to-read
Sep 20, 2019
Reggie
marked it as to-read
Sep 24, 2019
Jacqueline
marked it as to-read
Sep 24, 2019
Abby
marked it as to-read
Sep 28, 2019
Aa'Ishah
marked it as to-read
Sep 30, 2019
Ylenia
added it
Oct 02, 2019
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Only Good Indians
  • The Hand on the Wall (Truly Devious, #3)
  • In the Dream House
  • The Crying Book
  • Real Life
  • Godshot
  • Network Effect (The Murderbot Diaries, #5)
  • On Vanishing: Mortality, Dementia, and What It Means to Disappear
  • Know My Name
  • Sympathy
  • Suite Vénitienne/Please follow me
  • Something That May Shock and Discredit You
  • The Ungrateful Refugee
  • 19 Love Songs
  • Embrace Your Weird: Face Your Fears and Unleash Creativity
  • Heartstopper: Volume Three (Heartstopper, #3)
  • Out Now: Queer We Go Again!
  • The Glass Hotel
See similar books…