Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Blood of an Exile (Dragons of Terra, #1)” as Want to Read:
Blood of an Exile (Dragons of Terra, #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Blood of an Exile

(Dragons of Terra #1)

by
4.32  ·  Rating details ·  41 ratings  ·  25 reviews
Bershad was supposed to die...

When he was caught trying to assassinate a fellow noble, Flawless Bershad was given a death sentence. Fight monsters so that he would die serving the kingdom. But Beshad can’t die.

He’s never lost a fight, the most successful dragon slayer in history but marked as a doomed man, Bershad stands apart from the world. But that is about to change.

Th
...more
ebook, 400 pages
Published August 6th 2019 by Tor Books
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Blood of an Exile, please sign up.
Popular Answered Questions
Brian Naslund Ah, it appears a slightly outdated description snuck in there. Bershad is the correct spelling.

As to whether the book is good, my answer will be…more
Ah, it appears a slightly outdated description snuck in there. Bershad is the correct spelling.

As to whether the book is good, my answer will be biased so I'll politely abstain. (less)
This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
4.32  · 
Rating details
 ·  41 ratings  ·  25 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Petrik
Jul 17, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
ARC provided by the publisher—Pan Macmillan—in exchange for an honest review.

Blood of an Exile has dragons and dragonslayer, if you love a great fantasy debut with dragons, I doubt you’ll be reading the rest of this review.

And yet I will still write one. Blood of an Exile is Brian Naslund’s debut. It’s the first book in the Dragons of Terra trilogy. The story follows the Silas Bershad the Flawless, an exile who was supposed to die after he was caught trying to assassinate a noble. Bershad, the m
...more
James Tivendale
Jun 23, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: fantasy, freecopy
I received an uncorrected proof copy of Blood of an Exile in exchange for an honest review. I would like to thank Brian Naslund and Tor.

Bershad the Flawless is a dragon-slayer. After betraying the King fourteen years ago Bershad was exiled and given a brutal sentence. To spend the rest of his days trying to kill the flying lizard behemoths that roam around Terra. To most, this is a fate worse than a simple execution and very few dragon-slayers ever actually complete the deed even once. Sixty-se
...more
Sebastien Castell
Aug 05, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: fantasy
It takes a lot to get me excited about dragons and dragonslayers. The tendency for authors to drop such classic tropes of fantasy for effect either as "look at this evil monstrosity – however will our hero defeat it?" or "behold this majestic magical beast - let us learn from its wisdom" irks anyone who's ever wondered how such behemoths could possibly fit into a viable ecosystem. Fortunately, Brian Naslund's Blood of an Exile begins with dragons not as a singular species nor a set of "red drago ...more
FanFiAddict
Aug 08, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Rating: ★★★★☆+

Synopsis

First in the Dragons of Terra series, Brian Naslund’s Blood of an Exile is a fast-paced adventure perfect for comic readers and fans of heroic fantasy

Bershad stands apart from the world, the most legendary dragonslayer in history, both revered and reviled.

Once, he was Lord Silas Bershad, but after a disastrous failure on the battlefield he was stripped of his titles and sentenced to one violent, perilous hunt after another. Now he lives only to stalk dragons, slaughter them
...more
Nils | nilsreviewsit
Fantastic characters ✅
Awesome plot ✅
Battles ✅
Dragons ✅✅✅

This was such a great read!

Full review to come soon!

Nigel
Aug 13, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: arc, fantasy, netgalley
This book started nicely for me. Flawless Bershad is a dragon slayer. This is a job for those who are exiled for their crimes - he was once a lord. The life of dragon slayers is generally either short or very short. Bershad has killed more dragons than anyone else. His survival is seen as remarkable. He is surprised to be called back to the capital by the king who sentenced him. He is even more surprised at the offer the king makes him. Kill a foreign emperor and he will be able to walk free aga ...more
Mollie ~ Ink & Blood Club
A dragonslayer who seems more like a mythical beast than the dragons he fights.

Judging from the excerpt I read on the publisher's website, this is going to be a fantastically fun book for fans of the Witcher series, Drizzt books, or the Powder Mage series and I can't wait to read the rest!

Dragonslayer Bershad drinks & swears like a sailor while performing heroic feats that no mere human should be capable of.

The imagery is richly described to the point where I could actually feel the chainmai
...more
Gillian Bronte Adams
Jul 19, 2019 rated it really liked it
Both the cover and blurb for this book immediately captured my attention so I eagerly seized the chance to read an early excerpt! I was immediately fascinated by the depth of world building involving the dragons and their place in the world's complex ecosystem. Few fantasy novels carry their world building down to such precise depths and the detail was fascinating without limiting the action or pace of the story. Biggest complaint? The mention of a seasick donkey vomiting aboard a ship - in our ...more
Lady Reads
May 23, 2019 rated it really liked it
The writing in this book is good, really good. What I loved most is that, although the story is told from the point of view of several characters, the timeline is linear. Instead of having flashbacks or jumps in time, more and more is disclosed about the characters as you read. It feels organic, like the way you would really get to know someone over time.
The best part of the book is the dragons. The mythology around them feels layered, nuanced. Some people love the dangerous creatures. Most fea
...more
Cathy Geha
Aug 06, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Blood of an Exile – Preview by Brian Naslund
Dragons of Terra #1

Being given a preview of book one in a new series that had to do with dragons seemed a good choice for reading. I just wish that it had been the entire book since there is a lot more story to be told than what I read in the first 200 or so pages. I can see this as a multi-book series that will deal with dragons, vampires and a variety of other beings before it ends.

Bershad seems to be the main character in the book. He had a run-in
...more
Michele
Jul 23, 2019 rated it really liked it
Blood of an Exile appears to have all the ingredients of an epic fantasy. The main character, Bershad is a reknowned dragonslayer. Dragonslayers are those who have been sentenced to that life as a punishment for certain crimes. It is a life sentence where they must continue to perform this duty until they either die or are killed. There are hints that events leading up to Bershad's criminal sentencing are confused and maybe even intentionally misleading. I suspect more will be revealed as the bo ...more
Karen  ⚜Mess⚜
Aug 10, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: arc, epic-fantasy
Dragons. Magic. War.

Blood of an Exile has all the desirable contents that I love in an epic fantasy novel. Dragons aren't romantic nor loveable pets. They are just dragons. A part of nature, but an important part of nature (as we learn with this novel). The world building in this novel is insanely good. I loved the storyline and how easily the author's voice flows.

I received a copy of Blood of an Exile from NetGalley. Although the copy said "excerpt" the length appeared to be the full book.

...more
Annette
Mar 22, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Excellent book!
jonathan finn
Aug 15, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
A interesting debut

The flawless Bershad is a dragon hunter which in almeria is another way of saying soon to be dead, Dragon hunting isn’t a calling it’s a death sentence handed down for past misdeeds though in the case of Bershad not a very effective one as he has lived longer and killed more dragons then any living dragon hunter, a former lord made infamous by a wartime massacre he gets roped into one final mission by the crown by his former lover and crown princess Aishlinn.

With a crew of mis
...more
Gemma McGee
Aug 13, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Blood of an Exile is a tremendous debut novel. It hooked me from the first page and I was disappointed when I had to put it down. 

One of my favourite elements of Blood of an Exile is Bershad and his mismatch companions interaction on their journey. It felt very realistic their banter, and how they deal with the problem that occurs. They are rude, crude and very funny.  I also like that fact that Bershad default was threated to kill people when he was in difficult situations. Some situations real
...more
J.A.
Aug 01, 2019 marked it as to-read  ·  review of another edition
Starred review from Kirkus, which suggests this similar book: The Wise Man's Fear.

NoveList Plus gives it these read-alikes: Uprooted, The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms, and The Fate of the Tearling.

Based on the description, I'm hoping it will be something like A Blade of Black Steel.
Bethany Andrews
Aug 07, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Where do I start with this amazing book? Firstly, the English cover would’ve made me buy it in a heartbeat, it has Game of Thrones vibes and at this point who doesn’t love an adult fantasy novel?! I was kindly sent this book as an advanced copy by the publisher (free) and I went into it apprehensively as I always do. What if I hate it? What if it takes me ages to read? Well within the first 20 pages my apprehension had been melted by dragon fire. Naslund has a complete talent for easing you into ...more
Jessie Gunter
Aug 08, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I ripped through this book, with hardly any of the confusing early times I find in most fantasy books. The creativity of the dragon species and the nuanced “view” of dragons was pretty cool- not something I’ve really encountered thus far in my years long fantasy reading kick. Underlying sexual tension and the allure of the main characters kept things exciting as well. Everyone loves a flawed hero, and this one is more complex than most. I was eager for more information about him and his motivati ...more
Annarella
Aug 11, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: edelweiss, fantasy
Another amazing debut of a fantasy story and another series I will surely read.
It's fast paced and action packed story that makes you turns pages as fast as you can.
The world building is amazing and rich of details, the characters development is excellent and I loved the plot, engrossing and entertaining.
I look forward to reading the next instalment.
Highly recommended!
Many thanks to the publisher and Netgalley for this ARC, all opinions are mine.
Stig Edvartsen
Aug 16, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: fantasy, male-author

I can hear the rolling of the dice in the background when reading this book. I have a weak spot for books that seems to have sprung out from table-top games directly or indirectly, so this was a bonus for me.

This is the kind of book you'll expect to see nominated for the David Gemmell Awards.
Melody
Aug 14, 2019 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: fantasy
Great world building, as advertised, and I liked the ecological elements, but the characterization was a little weak for me--people are differentiated but behave stereotypically and/or driven by plot demands
Nicholas Hart
Aug 12, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Amazing start to what I hope to be a great series.
Jeanne
Aug 04, 2019 rated it it was amazing
The preview was so good I've already pre-ordered the book! Can't wait to see what happens next! I don't think I'll ever read another preview excerpt again. I hate being left hanging.
Karen
Aug 13, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: fantasy
In true grrm fashion, nobody is save in this book!
Loved it, can't wait for the follow-up.
Simon Tombides
rated it really liked it
Aug 16, 2019
Kate~Bibliophile Book Club
rated it really liked it
Aug 02, 2019
Sharon Karpierz
rated it it was amazing
Aug 11, 2019
Django Wexler
rated it it was amazing
Jul 17, 2019
Nick Brummett
rated it it was amazing
Aug 14, 2019
Crunknor
rated it it was amazing
Jul 17, 2019
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
18 followers
Brian is an American fantasy author based in Boulder, CO. Blood of an Exile is his debut novel, and the first in The Dragons of Terra series.

He grew up in Maryland and studied English at Skidmore College in New York. Brian is now a product director for a tech company, and first started writing about dragons to escape the crushing boredom of his incredibly long bus commute.

When he's not writing,
...more