Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Sol Majestic” as Want to Read:
The Sol Majestic
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Sol Majestic

by
4.60  ·  Rating details ·  15 ratings  ·  6 reviews
The Sol Majestic is a big-hearted intergalactic adventure for fans of Becky Chambers and The Good Place

"A feast of a book." --Hugo Award-winning author Seanan McGuire

Kenna, an aspirational teen guru, wanders destitute across the stars as he tries to achieve his parents' ambition to advise the celestial elite.

Everything changes when Kenna wins a free dinner at The Sol Majes
...more
Paperback, 384 pages
Published June 11th 2019 by Tor Books
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Sol Majestic, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Sol Majestic

Community Reviews

Showing 1-44
4.60  · 
Rating details
 ·  15 ratings  ·  6 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
jonathan finn
Jun 13, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Quirky and original Sci fi tale

The Sol Majestic is a hugely hopefull and joyful book that celebrates the bonds of found family and the power that can be found when you move beyond the expectations that are imposed on you both by your self and others.

Kenna is a destitute 16 year old the heir or prince to the Inevitable philosophy a sort of self help religion that is powered by the will power and determination of there followers when they find there philosophy, the personal truth or ephiany that d
...more
Robert
Jan 12, 2019 rated it it was amazing
This was another home run from Ferrett Steinmetz. I loved the Flux series and while this one took me a little longer to get into the world building (I'm much more into fantasy than sci-fi honestly), once I got into it I was sold and finished 3/4 of the book in a single day.

Kenna is an incredibly deep character that I think a lot of people will be able to identify with as the story goes on. The story leads off seeming like it's about a poor boy and the restaurant but it's so very, very much deepe
...more
Tracett
Mar 27, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Sort of like El Bulli in space. Picture a far away space station. Now picture that station with the most exclusive and imaginative restaurant in the universe. Mix in a starving young philosopher about to give up on life. (Okay, now, after the introduction of the story, it bogs down a bit, but keep going. It will kick back into high hear soon.) World building is great; believable (if over the top) people; colorful clothing, and soup! Space soup. I love a book that makes me hungry.
Ida Lindskog
Mar 08, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: own, sci-fi
I LOVE THIS!

Amazing story. Charmig, eccentric and exiciting with a great depht in the theme and characters. It's definitely one of the best sci-fi stories I've read.

I already miss this restaurant and these unique people, a lot.
I want more! 😍
Melissa
May 26, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: got-an-arc
I really enjoyed The Sol Majestic, even though I got a little depressed by the weight of the middle. Pushing through paid off and there's a great warmth in my heart for these characters. Says quite a lot that I cared so much for the characters that I almost couldn't handle the challenges they had to face.
Dena
rated it really liked it
Feb 14, 2019
Meagan
rated it really liked it
Jun 15, 2019
Wendy
rated it really liked it
Jan 22, 2019
Lexica
rated it it was amazing
Jun 16, 2019
Kit Fox
rated it it was amazing
Jan 01, 2019
Karin
rated it liked it
May 05, 2019
Jennifer Soucy
rated it it was amazing
Jun 11, 2019
Diana
rated it it was amazing
Nov 19, 2018
William Gillespie
rated it really liked it
May 23, 2019
Jana
Review to be posted at Fantasy Literature.
Tammy
marked it as to-read
Sep 29, 2018
Amber Brown
marked it as to-read
Oct 07, 2018
Alyssa
marked it as to-read
Oct 08, 2018
Beth
marked it as to-read
Nov 04, 2018
Joy
marked it as to-read
Nov 05, 2018
Vanessa
marked it as to-read
Nov 05, 2018
Marian
marked it as to-read
Nov 07, 2018
Trash Panzer
marked it as to-read
Nov 07, 2018
Lindsey
marked it as to-read
Nov 07, 2018
DB in Richmond
marked it as to-read
Nov 08, 2018
Chandni
marked it as to-read
Nov 08, 2018
Marj
is currently reading it
Nov 14, 2018
Becki
added it
Nov 16, 2018
Katie
marked it as to-read
Nov 16, 2018
Adam Burke
marked it as to-read
Nov 19, 2018
Rachel
marked it as to-read
Nov 19, 2018
OLeg89
marked it as to-read
Nov 19, 2018
Sekel
marked it as to-read
Nov 21, 2018
Ysabet
added it
Nov 22, 2018
Cherie
marked it as to-read
Dec 02, 2018
Calvin Jensen
marked it as to-read
Dec 04, 2018
Rachel Goldstein
marked it as to-read
Dec 10, 2018
Eva
marked it as to-read
Dec 10, 2018
Derek Nason
marked it as to-read
Dec 11, 2018
Christina Pilkington
marked it as to-read
Dec 16, 2018
WillowRaven
marked it as to-read
Dec 19, 2018
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
200 followers
After twenty years of wandering desolate as a writer, Ferrett Steinmetz attended the Clarion Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers' Workshop in 2008 and was rejuvenated. Since then, he's sold stories to Asimov's Science Fiction (twice!), Beneath Ceaseless Skies, Shimmer, and Andromeda Spaceways Inflight Magazine, among others, and otherwise has a marvelous collection of very personalized rejection l ...more