Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Brief Answers to the Big Questions” as Want to Read:
Brief Answers to the Big Questions
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Brief Answers to the Big Questions

4.33  ·  Rating details ·  10,574 ratings  ·  1,175 reviews
The final book from Professor Stephen Hawking, the bestselling author of A BRIEF HISTORY OF TIME and arguably the most famous scientist of our age, BRIEF ANSWERS TO THE BIG QUESTIONS is a profound, accessible and timely reflection on the biggest questions in science.
Hardcover, 232 pages
Published October 17th 2018 by John Murray (first published October 16th 2018)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Brief Answers to the Big Questions, please sign up.
Popular Answered Questions
Berislav Jozic Yes, as in audio version there really is a sentence or two of his voice in every chapter.
Diego Fernández Of course, it needn't knowledge about cosmology and astrophysics. He's good at teaching you by reading. I highly recommend you read this book and his…moreOf course, it needn't knowledge about cosmology and astrophysics. He's good at teaching you by reading. I highly recommend you read this book and his other boo Hawking changed my life and he's my rock star despite we have different disability. :)

You'll enjoy for sure and hopes it be of your great. :D(less)
This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
4.33  · 
Rating details
 ·  10,574 ratings  ·  1,175 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Khurram
Dec 24, 2018 rated it it was amazing
A great book, by a great man. I had heard the name Steven Hawking, but never read any of his theories. Simply for the very reason the something coming from the smartest men of the previous 2 generations would be overly complicated and beyond my understanding. What I discovered in this book is Steven Hawking was just a great man as we was a scientist, but an incredible teacher as well. His method of writing allows people like, who have a passing interest in but only a vacation of his ability in s ...more
Emily (Books with Emily Fox)
Quick book answering some Big Questions while learning a bit more about Stephen Hawking.

Is there a God?
Is there other intelligent life in the universe?
Is time travel possible?
Will artificial intelligence outsmart us?

It was great - recommend the audiobook too!
Florencia
Oct 15, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: non-fiction
A few years ago, The Times newspaper ran a headline on the front page which said 'Hawking: God Did Not Create Universe'. The article was illustrated. God was shown in a drawing by Michelangelo, looking thunderous. They printed a photo of me, looking smug. They made it look like a duel between us. But I don't have a grudge against God. I do not want to give the impression that my work is about proving or disproving the existence of God. My work is about finding a rational framework to understand
...more
Sean Barrs the Bookdragon
Feb 26, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: 5-star-reads
“While there’s life, there is hope.”

Stephen Hawking was such an inspirational man. When he first received his diagnosis, he was ready to give up on life; he was ready to abandon his studies as his body slowly diminished, but with the help of a few friends and loved ones he managed to carry on and complete his work. And, to his surprise, he carried on living beyond what he thought was capable. So, he made the most of every moment as he pursued his academic goals.

“Be brave, be curious, be
...more
Jenna
Dec 10, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: science
Hawking 6 GIF - Hawking GIFs

Well, this was certainly a bitter-sweet read, knowing it is the last book of Steven Hawking. I wish I'd borrowed the e-book instead of the print because there are so many things I'd have loved to highlight.

In Brief Answers to the Big Questions, Stephen Hawking attempts to answer 10 big questions, such as:

•How did the universe begin?

•Is there a god?

•What is inside a black hole?

•Is it possible to time travel?

•Will AI outsmart us and if so, should we be worried?

These and other questions are answe
...more
Barbara
Apr 03, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition



Stephen Hawking

Stephen Hawking was an English theoretical physicist and cosmologist who's considered one of the most brilliant scientists since Albert Einstein. In addition to making huge contributions to physics, Hawking strove to share his discoveries with the general public, and his book "A Brief History of Time" was a best seller. Moreover, Hawking did most of his research while battling amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, which makes his accomplishments even more remarkable.



In 'Brief Answers to
...more
André Oliveira
Oct 28, 2018 rated it it was amazing
In this book Stephen Hawking, possibly the last book written by him, answers some big questions and makes some predictions for the future taking into account the current state of science. How did it all begin? Is there other intelligent life in the universe? Is time travel possible? Obviously, I wasn't expecting solutions for these questions, but Stephen Hawking is able to explain complicated questions in a way that everyone would understand.

Also, I love how Stephen Hawking answers those questi
...more
Manuel Antão
Nov 25, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2018
If you're into stuff like this, you can read the full review.



Closed Time-like Curves: “Brief Answers to the Big Questions” by Stephen Hawking



“Is there any point in hosting a party for time travelers? Would you hope anyone would turn up?
Hawking’s answer: In 2009 I held a party for time travelers in my college, Gonville and Caius in Cambridge, for a film about time travel. To ensure that only genuine time travelers came, I didn’t send out the invitation until after the party. On the day of the par
...more
Bharath
Jan 05, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This is my first book of 2019. As a thought-provoking book from one of the leading thinkers till recent times, a good way to start the year. I have previously read his “A brief history of time” and “The grand design” both of which I liked for presenting serious science in a very readable form. This book released after Stephen Hawking’s death does not disappoint, and is a great compilation of the most important topics Hawking dealt with in his lifetime – and these topics are also those most of us ...more
Gabby
"Unleash your imagination. Shape the future."
I loved loved loved this book. I have always been fascinated by science and astronomy and I have never read anything by Stephen Hawking, and this book was absolutely fascinating and thought provoking to me. I loved hearing his theories about our future and I agree with a lot about what he has to say about religion and how human fascination with science and space travel is so important for our future. I really agree with that statement about having all
...more
Lou
Oct 22, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Having always had much admiration for the way Stephen Hawking has lived his life, overcoming adversity to become one of the brightest stars in our sky (pun absolutely intended), I was intrigued to see what his last contribution would bring with it. One of the things I most appreciate about him and his books is that he makes often complex and complicated topics accessible to everyday individuals such as myself - those without a background or degree in the sciences, and here he explores some of th ...more
Bryan
Oct 17, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
A total page-turner, this book is quite remarkable it gives you a sense of a personal interview between Dr. Hawking and the reader.

The Big questions are:
Is there a God?
How did it all begin?
Is time travel possible?
What is inside of a black hole?
Is there other intelligent life in the universe?
Will artificial intelligence outsmart us?
How do we shape the future?
Should we colonize space?
Can we predict the future?
Will we survive on earth?

I highly recommend this book.
Giorgio
Why 3 stars if the book is well-written?
Well, there is NOTHING NEW.
He just said again and again what he always said...
Maybe it should be sold as "Hawking in 90 minutes" or "Hawking for Dummies"...
Yes, his life was really RICH in experiencies, and pain, and fight to overcome an ammount of things that almost nobody could... but...

At the end, I did not feel any "answer", just plain stabilishment cientific thinking.

Not enough for me.
TS Chan
Dec 10, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: non-fiction
As the final parting gift from one of the modern legends of scientific genius and embodiment of human perseverance, I couldn't give this anything less than 5-stars.

“Be brave, be curious, be determined, overcome the odds. It can be done”

Poignantly bookended by a beautifully written Foreword from Eddie Redmayne and a touching Afterword from his daughter, Lucy Hawking, this book is a collection of essays which attempt to answer some of the biggest questions rooted in science, and to an extent
...more
Science (Fiction) Comedy Horror and Fantasy Geek/Nerd
Part of the legacy of an exceptional genius, a source of inspiration and a science communicator.

Please note that I have put the original German text to the end of this review. Just if you might be interested.

Hawking understood how to use his life in many ways in exemplary fashion, despite his adverse health, and to research with full vigor. He was an inspiration to millions of people despite all the restrictions. And he used the nimbus as a genius, who is caged in his body, to achieve that goal.
...more
Jako
Dec 26, 2018 rated it did not like it
Even though the book was meant to be as exoteric as possible, it is still rather thorough for the general public. To me, the answers were prolix and discursive. Much explaining was done, but I often found myself asking "How's that relevant to the question?".
Netta
Jan 28, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: read-2019
Mind-boggling and utterly moving book which is legitimately bigger-than-life as it contains black holes, space-time, time travels, dreamers, discoveries, wonders and, of course, Star Trek. One may think that this book is indeed what it looks like – a genius addressing big and teeny tiny little bit naïve questions that you and me are longing to ask, such as How Did It All Begin? Is There Other Intelligent Life In The Universe? Can We Predict Future? What Is Inside a Black Hole? Is Time Travel Po ...more
Richard
Oct 20, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
"So remember to look up at the stars and not down at your feet. Try to make sense of what you see and wonder about what makes the universe exist. Be curious. And however difficult life may seem, there is always something you can do and succeed at. It matters that you don't just give up. Unleash your imagination. Shape the future."

This is how Stephen Hawking lived his life and this is the message to the world he presents in Brief Answers To The Big Questions.

Hawking was a genius. His research and
...more
Brian Bakker
Dare I say this book felt like an unnecessary addition to Hawking's work this soon after his death?

I get it, when someone with the stature of Hawking passes away, the demand for a book is there. And since I believe Hawking to be an extraordinary person, what objection could there be for this release?

My main gripe is the editing. It's beyond my grasp how such a wide-spread book could be edited so poorly, making it feel rushed and cheap. There are a lot of sentences and entire paragraphs being r
...more
Bam
Nov 26, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I'm sure the remarkable Stephen Hawking was always being asked hard questions; I'm grateful for the opportunity to read some of his final thoughts on these topics:
~Is there a God?
~How did it all begin?
~Is there other intelligent life in the universe?
~Can we predict the future?
~What is inside a black hole?
~Is time travel possible?
~Will we survive on Earth?
~Should we colonize space?
~Will artificial intelligence outsmart us?
~How do we shape the future?

I won't claim to have completely understood his
...more
Karen
The audiobook is fantastic. Interspersed with interview clips with Stephen Hawking, in his own words. And the afterword, by his daughter is a touching end cap to Hawking's last book for the world to read. Simple enough for those without a science background to understand.
Toñi
Dec 09, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Sin duda, mi joya literaria de 2018. El libro en sí es una breve recopilación de temas a los que Stephen Hawking ha dedicado gran parte de su vida, pero el atractivo del mismo es la posibilidad de ser entendido (al menos la mayor parte) por quienes no tengan conocimientos previos en la materia. Una ventana al universo y a su origen que incitan a querer saber más sobre las obras de este gran físico. Libro muy recomendado.
Sazedul Waheed Nitol
বইটি সটিভেন হকিং-এর মৃতযু-পূরববরতী কয়েক বছরের লেখালিখি ও চিনতাভাবনার সংকলন। চমৎকার কিছু পরসঙগ নিয়ে হকিং-এর মাঝারি আকারের পরবনধগুলো পড়তে গিয়ে বেশ আরাম পেয়েছি, কারণ তাঁর লেখনি বরাবরের মতোই চোসত ও মসৃণ। তবে পরসঙগগুলো নিয়ে বযকতিগত আগরহ থাকার কারণে অনেক কিছুই জানা ছিল, যার ফলে আলোচয বইটি 'The Grand Design' বা 'A Brief History of Time'-এর মতো মুগধ করতে পারেনি। কিনতু এ-কথা বলতেই হয় যে, যারা পরথমবারের মতো পরসঙগগুলো নিয়ে বইটি থেকে জানবেন তারা বেশ উপভোগই করবেন। বইটির বাড়তি আকরষণ হলো: অভিনেতা এডি রেডমেইন ও ...more
Anne ✨
Apr 03, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: science-tech
I find there's something really calming about listening to the words of someone who has spent his entire life thinking about the big picture! We are so easily distracted and stressed by the daily woes of economy, politics, religion, environment, but Hawking reminds us that in a few hundred years, super-humans will be zipping around the cosmos, settling on Mars etc. Life will be unimaginable to ours today!

I loved listening to this on audio, each chapter has snippets of Hawking's own speaking, and
...more
Христо Блажев
Големите въпроси имат и (почти) кратки отговори: http://knigolandia.info/book-review/k...

Сбогуваме се с човека, но книгите остават. Най-популярният учен на планетата си отиде десетилетия след предопределената смъртна присъда, след дълъг, смислен и пълноценен живот против всички очаквания и предразсъдъци, един инвалид със застинала физиономия, който допринесе за човечеството с блясъка на ума си. Стивън Хокинг стана лице на модерната наука не само заради заболяването си и механичния си глас, не са
...more
Charly
Jan 23, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: Anyone.
This was a very entertaining piece. While I am not anywhere near him in cosmology or any level of physics he made the answers to some really deep yet interesting questions understandable. He carried an extremely dry wit that finds itself in the work.

Not lengthy or overwhelming. Interesting perspectives on our future world and what could or could not happen.
Dan Graser
Oct 22, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
While this collection of essays and musings on a huge range of topics makes for stimulating reading, it's a bittersweet experience realizing this is the final trip through the wonderful mind of Stephen Hawking we can take. This man has inspired generations around the world to think about the big questions and to do so in a much more engaged and informed manner, how many can boast that?

Following wonderful introductions from actor Eddie Redmayne and physicist Kip Thorne, we hear Hawking's views on
...more
Petra
Jan 28, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Quotes and highlights;


Let us fight for every woman and every man to have the opportunity to live healthy, secure lives, full of opportunity and love. We are all time travellers, journeying together into the future. But let us work together to make that future a place we want to visit.



Be brave, be curious, be determined, overcome the odds. It can be done.


I am uncomfortably, acutely aware of the passage of time, and have lived much of my life with a sense that the time that I have been granted is
...more
Mohammed  Bouarrata
"Fact is sometimes stranger than fiction"
I went to the barber at 11 AM prepared for a long wait and started reading this.
This is not a very good book, to tell the truth, my truth that is. I certainly learned stuff from it, however, and liked it despite its problems, more or less, I guess that makes it good after all.
For problems, I'll focus on two:
- For one, the answers are not exactly brief. While this book, as far as I know, is directed to the general public, it does in depth more than needed
...more
Cheryl Kennedy
Forward: Eddie Redmayne - actor who played Stephen in 'The Theory of Everything'.
An Introduction: Kip Thorne

Why we must ask the big questions
1. Is there a God?
2. How did it all begin?
3. Is there other intelligent life in the universe?
4. Can we predict the future?
5. What is inside a black hole?
6. Is time travel possible?
7. Will we survive on Earth?
8. Should we colonise space?
9. Will artificial intelligence outsmart us?
10. How do we shape the future?

Afterward: Lucy Hawking, daughter

Should we colon
...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
  • How to Build a Universe: An Infinite Monkey Cage Adventure
  • L'ordine del tempo
  • The Future of Humanity: Terraforming Mars, Interstellar Travel, Immortality, and Our Destiny Beyond Earth
  • What Is Real?: The Unfinished Quest for the Meaning of Quantum Physics
  • Lost in Math: How Beauty Leads Physics Astray
  • New Scientist: The Origin of (almost) Everything
  • The Rise and Fall of the Dinosaurs: A New History of a Lost World
  • She Has Her Mother's Laugh: The Powers, Perversions, and Potential of Heredity
  • The Equations of Life: How Physics Shapes Evolution
  • How to Invent Everything: A Survival Guide for the Stranded Time Traveller
  • The Relativity of Wrong
  • A Most Improbable Journey: A Big History of Our Planet and Ourselves
  • The Best American Science and Nature Writing 2013
  • Broad Band: The Untold Story of the Women Who Made the Internet
  • Hidden In Plain Sight 2: The Equation of the Universe
  • The Best American Science and Nature Writing 2018
  • The Space Barons: Elon Musk, Jeff Bezos, and the Quest to Colonize the Cosmos
  • Spying on Whales: The Past, Present, and Future of Earth's Most Awesome Creatures
8,199 followers
Stephen William Hawking was born on 8 January 1942 in Oxford, England. His parents' house was in north London, but during the second world war Oxford was considered a safer place to have babies. When he was eight, his family moved to St Albans, a town about 20 miles north of London. At eleven Stephen went to St Albans School, and then on to University College, Oxford, his father's old college. Ste ...more
“When we see the Earth from space, we see ourselves as a whole. We see the unity, and not the divisions. It is such a simple image with a compelling message; one planet, one human race.” 22 likes
“Be brave, be curious, be determined, overcome the odds. It can be done” 20 likes
More quotes…