Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Grido di guerra” as Want to Read:
Grido di guerra
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Grido di guerra

(Courtney #15)

4.12  ·  Rating details ·  2,641 ratings  ·  173 reviews
Autunno 1938.
Dopo un breve periodo di pace incostante, il mondo intero è nuovamente di fronte all'abisso di un sanguinoso conflitto. Ma il cuore di Saffron Courteney è in tumulto per la guerra non meno devastante esplosa dentro di sé.
Cresciuta nel Kenya coloniale degli anni '20 sotto l'occhio attento del padre, Leon, imprenditore di successo oltre che famoso veterano del
...more
Hardcover, I maestri dell'avventura, 544 pages
Published August 27th 2018 by Longanesi (first published March 23rd 2017)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Grido di guerra, please sign up.
Popular Answered Questions
Simpson9820 I am an avid Wilbur Smith fan and have read all his books. It is not necessary to have read any of the previous books. He gives a briefing of relevant…moreI am an avid Wilbur Smith fan and have read all his books. It is not necessary to have read any of the previous books. He gives a briefing of relevant past information in a brief and succinct manner when needed.(less)
This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
4.12  · 
Rating details
 ·  2,641 ratings  ·  173 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
bfilbeck
Feb 22, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
War Cry by Wilbur Smith is a Courtney Family story set in the World War II era. The characters will make you cry and make you angry and make you sad but they will never make you bored! This is a page-turner that will keep you reading well past your bedtime! Don't miss this one!
Steven Walle
Aug 22, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This was a great book. I will give a full review at a later date.
Enjoy and Be Blessed.
Allison
Sep 26, 2017 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: waste-of-time
This book is the nail in the coffin - Wilbur Smith needs to retire. Having read a few Courtney novels, I found this book to be a complete let down.
Hannes Booysen
Mar 12, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Well I have finished reading "War cry" and all I can say is "Wow! The master seems to be back!". I found it much better written than his previous recent books. I get the feeling he had much more of a hand in writting the story and adding the final Wilbur touches like only he can. The story itself I found well written and thought out. It is basically a big introduction to Saffron Courteney and quite a long build up to what promises to be a great sequel book that will be following "War cry". I fou ...more
Simon Brading
Dec 01, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Not quite the same as I remember from my youth, but still great to get back to the Courtneys.
Matt
May 11, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: audiobook
Building on his multi-generational Courtney family saga, Wilbur Smith crafts a new story that shifts focus on the Kenyan-based group, led by Leon. After the tragic death of his wife, Leon is left to raise his precocious daughter alone. Saffron Courtney's determination and refusal to let anything stand in her way shows how much of the family blood flows through her veins. Sent to study at a reputable boarding school in South Africa, Saffron learns the ropes as Leon tries to resurrect Courtney Tra ...more
Bev Taylor
Feb 13, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
a thrilling tale of espionage, adventure and danger. set in africa and spanning from the end of WWI to WWII

this is the story of saffron who is brought up on her father leon's estate in kenya, learning to live like a native. nobody knows where his wealth came from but it was linked to WWI

she loses her mother at the age of 7 and then goes to school where she succeeds sufficiently to go to roedean in england and then oxford

leon meanwhile has to fight for the family company, courtney trading, esp
...more
Anne Fraser
Mar 26, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I won this book in a Goodreads giveaway and was pleased to discover a new author. Much of this book is set in Kenya on the eve of the second world war and this unfamiliar background added greatly to my enjoyment.

I will certainly look out for other books in the series.
Judith E
Sep 13, 2017 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: audible, fiction, jim
A mildly entertaining audible listen while traveling with my husband.
Tom Tischler
May 26, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
As a member of the Courtney family Leon knows how quickly fortunes can be won or lost.
Over the course of two centuries his family has risen and fallen with the tides of history.
Leon too has experienced his own share of triumph and pain. In the wake of his beloved
wife's death he is raising his young daughter Saffron alone in colonial Kenya. In the 1920's
the continent of Africa is a dangerous place as Leon attempts to navigate the murky waters
of this beautiful land. His daughter grows into an ind
...more
Ronald Smith
Have been a fan of Wilbur smith for many years was really pleased to win a copy of this book in a Gooodreads giveaway, the book set in a beautiful part of the world at a time where things are on the change, some for the better but most for the worse, the story moves along fairly slowly I would say, like 300 pages in and ones thinking is it worth reading any more or not but I did carry on too the end and was I pleased to get to the end I sure was, for me a total let down this is no classic Wilbur ...more
Antonio Rosato
Ennesimo capolavoro di Wilbur Smith incentrato sulla saga dei Courteney... adesso scritto (molto probabilmente per la sua età ormai avanzata) a quattro mani con David Churchill. Come sempre succede nelle opere dello scrittore sudafricano, l'avventura ed i bellissimi paesaggi del continente nero la fanno da padrone... ma questa volta conosceremo anche gli orrori della Seconda guerra mondiale.
Nel volume n. 16 della saga dei Courteney (e terzo del ciclo dei "Courteney-Ballantyne"), protagonista ass
...more
Nicolás Briozzo
"Grito de guerra" es una continuación directa de lo que fue "Assegai" (en español, "El destino del cazador"). Los protagonistas de esta novela son los hijos de quienes fueran héroes y villanos en aquella novela de hace casi diez años, siguiendo una vez más la saga de la infalible familia Courtney.
En esta ocasión, el trasfondo de la acción nos mete de lleno en el clima de intranquila paz de entreguerra, previo a la irrupción de la 2da Guerra Mundial, y en los primeros años del conflicto bélico.
A
...more
Danielle Tremblay
First, I must mention that I won this novel in GoodReads giveaways in exchange for an honest review.

I had not read any of Wilbur Smith's earlier novels. But at no time did I feel lost or unable to understand the characters' motivations or their story.

I will not describe what was going on in this book; several other reviewers did it very well. Let me just tell that this is an interesting family saga and an excellent historical novel. Mr. Smith mastered his subject and knew how to bring his story
...more
Pieter Rossouw
Apr 12, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Great novel. There may be a little too much sex in this novel especially when you expect adventure and action. Smith plays his characters like a chess game and then slowly move them into checkmate for the finally. Strong characters and really a entertaining read if you need something easy to read.
Rita Chapman
Dec 25, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I really enjoy Wilbur Smith's Courtney series and this was no exception. Great characters, great writing and an engaging plot.
Crystal
Mar 22, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: giveaways
I received this book as a giveaway and had not read any previous books in the series. It was a very engaging read as I have always enjoyed historical fiction. The author use the political atmosphere in the world leading up to WWII as the backdrop as 2 families on opposite sides of the conflict navigate the perils of life in this time. The characters are interesting and compelling, it leaves you wanting to read the next installment!
Aniruddha Mondal
Apr 16, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
After a long time, Wilbur Smith seems to be back in his elements. The towering allure of African life and its landscapes, the trails and tribulations of the Masai and Courtneys all come to life once again... Though in the middle it stretches a bit and takes on some frivolous undertones, it does come back to an intriguing finale and the promise of more to come. This is the journey of Leon and his daughter Saffron Courtney from pre World War II times to its peak. Now can't wait for its sequel!
Naomi
May 09, 2017 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Always enjoy reading about the Courtney family in the Smith novels. Saffron Courtney is the daughter of Leon Courtney head of the family. They are enormously rich, live in Africa and have immense power to influence events. Saffron goes to school in England before the second world war and grows into a superb athlete and a great student. She makes friends of a German girl who she visits from time to time in Germany. On one of her trips there she meets Gerhard von Meerbach, a very handsome man and ...more
Martin
Oct 28, 2017 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Always eagerly anticipate the arrival of a Wilbur Smith book. A magnificent author of historical fiction and always with African characters in the prominent roles. This book sees more of the Courtney family, of whom so many wonderful books have been produced. But alas I am disappointed. This is surely the first of a series and really 80% of it is almost like a biography or documentary of the families and key characters. Additionally, Africa itself plays a magic character in his books which I fin ...more
Nixon Saju
Well,
first of all this is not a detailed review, this is just my opinion considering I have read half of the book......

I didn't know that this book was a part of a series.this is my first Wilbur smith book.I picked it up on an airport.
while I found the initial pages of the book interesting ........
The graph went up for some pages and suddenly dropped to death and it remains the same(till page 240) and that's why I took to write a quick review.I felt that even though I came halfway through the
...more
PJ
Oct 13, 2017 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Reading a Wilbur Smith is kind of like eating at an up-market chain restaurant. You pretty much know exactly what you're going to get. You know the quality is going to be good. You're going to enjoy your meal, but you're not going to blown away, or surprised. Or, in fact, remember much of the experience after about a week.

War Cry does, unusually, for Mr Smith, move a little slowly. In fact, it's only just starting to gain steam when you hit the rather abrupt end (clearly the start of a new Cour
...more
S.S.
Jan 20, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I recently bought this book from a local supermarket and it was actually my dad who pointed it out to me. He knows I love anything to do with Berlin and WWII, so the cover, with the image of the Brandenburg Gate, alerted him that the book would be something I'd like to read. When I took it to the till, the lady who served me happened to be a Wilbur Smith fan and said that the book was a 'cracking good read.' I think I surprised her when I confessed that I had never actually read a Wilbur Smith b ...more
Nan Williams
Jun 15, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: Everyone
Shelves: read-more
This is the first book I’ve read by Wilbur Smith although I can’t imagine how I’ve missed him! Seeing that it was the newest in the Courtney Family series, I checked to make sure I didn’t need to read previous books in that series. No, not necessary at all. The family background was well covered and the novel had the feel of a stand alone book.

The story was excellent and believable (well, mostly), the characters were well developed and the history was well fleshed out. The book was set in the mi
...more
Richard West
Definitely not for children or younger people due to several extremely explicit and graphic sex scenes which really don't add a lot to the book and it would have been just as good without them. Admittedly though, they aren't something these younger people don't already know all about.

This is the 15th installment in the Courtney family saga and you know No. 16 is coming - you don't have to be a genius to figure that out! The last page just tells you - "there will be a sequel - look for it."

Cente
...more
Gail
Jul 09, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Beth
Jun 09, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I have not been following the Courtney series. I chose it to read "War Cry" because there was a Kenya segment to it. What I found was the story of Saffron growing up with her father, Leon, in Kenya and being sent to England for education. The Courtney family and its businesses are like another character in the book. Saffron's personality is that of a very strong woman for the 1920s; her psyche was in slight array because her father had sent her away so soon after her Mother died.

I liked reading
...more
Scott Vout
Mr. Smith and I are old friends. I have been reading his work for over 30 years. We havent spoken in a few years and then I discovered this book. Quite honestly I thought Mr. Smith had passed on.

So, I have reacquainted myself with the Courtney clan. They have not changed much over the years. Still larger then life and bold and brassy as ever.

this particular chapter takes place during the mid to late 30s and into the start of WWII. As always i did enjoy how Mr. Smith weaves his tails around actua
...more
Manuela
Wilbur è tornato lui, nel bene e nel male, nei pregi e nei difetti.
Ambientazione interessante, ben sviluppata, al netto dei soliti cliché, con un personaggio femminile forte, a volte fin troppo, che la fa da padrone (e Smith sottolinea nella postfazione che è un elemento assolutamente voluto).
Peccato invece che la storia tra Leon ed Harriet risulti stucchevole nello svolgimento, ma so che gli sviluppi amorosi sono sempre stati il tallone d'Achille di Smith.
Mi ha fatto molto piacere rivedere, anc
...more
Sana Khan
Aug 01, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
It was first of my Courtney Series and I really liked it :) it is full masala novel covering all aspect of emotions from romance, action ,drama and emotion. What I really liked are the protagonists , they are strong drool over characters esp Saffron Courtney and her father Leon Courtney. The plot is set over the time where world war 2 is near, Nazis had started taking over the Europe . Wilbur Smith is one of the best Historical Fiction Authors. It lets you re read history in a more interesting w ...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Venture to the Interior
  • African Silences
  • On Foot Through Africa
  • The Dark
  • Death of the Mantis (Detective Kubu, #3)
  • The Eye of the Elephant: An Epic Adventure in the African Wilderness
  • Malaria Dreams: An African Adventure
  • Whisper
  • How I Found Livingstone in Central Africa
  • The Lost Airman: A True Story of Escape from Nazi Occupied France
  • In Afrika
  • Jericho's War
  • Prester John
  • Shiang
  • The Death of Robin Hood (The Outlaw Chronicles, #8)
  • Cave Dwellers
  • Black Horn
  • Muddling through in Madagascar
2,539 followers
Wilbur Smith is the bestselling author of many novels, each meticulously researched on his numerous expeditions worldwide. His bestselling Courtney series includes Assegai, The Sound of Thunder, Birds of Prey, Monsoon, and Blue Horizon. His other books include Those in Peril, River God, Warlock, The Seventh Scroll, and The Sunbird. His books are now translated into twenty-six languages and have so ...more

Other books in the series

Courtney (1 - 10 of 17 books)
  • When the Lion Feeds (Courtney, #1)
  • Sound of Thunder (Courtney #2)
  • A Sparrow Falls (Courtney #3)
  • The Burning Shore (Courtney #4)
  • Power of the Sword (Courtney #5)
  • Rage (Courtney #6)
  • A Time to Die (Courtney #7)
  • Golden Fox (Courtney #8)
  • Birds of Prey (Courtney #9)
  • Monsoon (Courtney #10)
“as everyday occurrences. The two girls talked all the way to Brighton, and then on the coach that took them to the school. They stood together in line as the girls all snaked past the teaching staff who were, as school custom dictated, lined up to shake the hand of every girl in the school, and then Francesca, who told Saffron that her family all called her Chessi, showed her around. Both girls now knew that they had at least one person they could always sit next to and at the start of any school term that made all the difference. Leon walked back across Green Park to the Ritz, glad of the chance to stretch his legs. He felt as though he had a lot of nervous energy to work off. By God, I feel like a bloody schoolboy, he thought to himself. Get a grip of yourself, man! Earlier in the day, while Saffron was busy packing, he had sent a messenger round to the Daniel Neal store, with a note addressed to Miss Halfpenny” 0 likes
More quotes…