Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Astronaut Who Painted the Moon: The True Story of Alan Bean” as Want to Read:
The Astronaut Who Painted the Moon: The True Story of Alan Bean
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Astronaut Who Painted the Moon: The True Story of Alan Bean

by
4.16  ·  Rating details ·  117 ratings  ·  29 reviews
Journey to the moon on the Apollo 12 mission with Alan Bean, the fourth astronaut to walk on the lunar surface and the only artist to paint its beauty firsthand!
As a boy, Alan wanted to fly planes. As a young navy pilot, Alan wished he could paint the view from the cockpit. So he took an art class to learn patterns and forms. But no class could prepare him for the beauty o
...more
Hardcover, 40 pages
Published May 28th 2019 by Orchard Books
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Astronaut Who Painted the Moon, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Astronaut Who Painted the Moon

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
4.16  · 
Rating details
 ·  117 ratings  ·  29 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Abby Johnson
Despite the cover being a little misleading (Alan Bean made his paintings after he got back from the moon, using models to help get the light and shadow correct), this is an engaging story about a man who was both an astronaut and an artist. It includes extensive back matter with more information about Bean, a timeline about space exploration, and a bibliography.

Hand this to young readers interested in space travel and the moon. Readalike: ONE GIANT LEAP by Don Brown
Becky
First sentence: Lights flashed. A rocket rumbled. Alan Bean's dream was about to come true.

Premise/plot: The Astronaut Who Painted the Moon is a picture book biography of Alan Bean. The book shares how he was a pilot and astronaut who learned to paint...not just what he saw, but what he felt. He would take the photographs he took of the moon and translate them into artistic paintings of what he felt like being on the moon. Whether you're interest--as a reader--is in space or space travel OR art-
...more
Suzanne
Feb 02, 2019 rated it liked it
Just in time for the 50th anniversary of the Apollo moon missions, Dean Robbins has created a picture book about astronaut Alan Bean. Bean was part of the Apollo 12 mission and the fourth man to walk on the moon. Working with Bean, author Dean Robbins tells of the astronaut's childhood model airplanes, his time as a Navy pilot, and his trip to the moon.

The pages are filled with color. The green, red, and yellow on those models hanging in that boyhood bedroom; the white, green, and blue seen from
...more
Olivia
Jun 20, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: yabc-reviews
Find my full review here: http://www.yabookscentral.com/kidsnon...

THE ASTRONAUT WHO PAINTED THE MOON is the true story of Alan Bean, the fourth man to walk on the moon. He had always wanted to be a pilot, and when the opportunity came, he became an astronaut. He took pictures of what he saw on the moon, but they did not match up to what he felt. Thus, when he returned he painted the moon for others to experience.

Most of the book details the history and story in an approachable way for young read
...more
Barbara
The fourth man to walk on the moon, Alan Bean was also an artist, and he viewed his trip to the moon through the eyes of an explorer and a scientist but also as artist. The text and illustrations in this picture book honor the Apollo XII voyage and Alan's formative years and years of training but also his particular vision and how he felt upon walking on the lunar landscape. Once he returned to Earth, he was troubled that photographs were unable to capture his experience and the beauty of the mo ...more
Lynn
Feb 25, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Here's a gem for STEM classes and for every other kind of reader! Based on interviews with Alan Bean, Dean Robbins chronicles the fascinating story of Bean's journey to and artistic fascination with the moon. A truly inspiring story of the joyful melding of science, flying and art in a remarkable life.

Sean Rubin's illustrations are wonderfully detailed and actual photographs are liberally placed throughout the book as well.

Back matter includes more biographical information about Bean, a history
...more
Gretchen
Aug 01, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Alan Bean was one of only 12 astronauts that actually walked on the moon. While that was amazing, he said that the photographs didn't do the experience justice. You couldn't really feel all the sensations and full experience through the flat back and white photographs. Being a painter as well as an astronaut, Alan took the photographs and the memories of his experiences and began painting about his experiences. The book shows you some of the photographs and then his paintings of the photographs. ...more
Juliana Lee
Alan Bean is an astronaut who loves painting. He learned to paint to express how he feels. Alan didn't paint things exactly like they were in real life, he painted more brightly, more vibrantly, to show how he felt about his subjects. So when he returned from a trip to the moon and he was asked what the moon was like. Alan knew he couldn't describe it in words, instead he took out his paints and showed how the moon made him feel, how being an astronaut makes him feel. Now his paintings are shown ...more
Amanda
Jun 24, 2019 rated it really liked it
After reading this, I looked up pictures of Bean's artwork; WOW! This book helped me understand and appreciate it so much more. Amazing! Can you imagine if an artist went on every scientific expedition to a new place? Or if a musician went and then recorded a new piece based on the science of it all? I love the cross between science and art here! Science and art DO belong together!
Ireadkidsbooks
Neat little picture book biography of Apollo 12 astronaut Alan Bean, one of 12 humans to walk on the moon and the only one to paint about it. Solid backmatter, including snippets of interviews by the author with Bean and images of Bean's artwork.
Emmanuel
Jul 17, 2019 rated it it was amazing
This book is very creative and sentimental. I can’t quite pinpoint what exactly it is that makes it sentimental, but there is like an epiphany feeling and experience that I’m having that gives me such a renewed hope for the Astronomy industry.
Maria Marshall
Jul 19, 2019 rated it it was amazing
A gorgeous nonfiction book that blends art and science. When the atrist and astronaut Allen Bean returns to earth he paints what he saw, felt, and encountered as he stood on the moon. Great STEAM book.
Tracy Holland
Jul 18, 2019 rated it really liked it
Alan Bean, astronaut on the Apollo 12 mission to the moon, is one of the few men to have walked on the surface of the moon. But Alan Bean is more than an astronaut, he is an artist and known for his pieces that portray his experience on the moon. Good picture book about Alan Bean.
Krissy Neddo
Jun 18, 2019 rated it liked it
Giving this to my art teacher. Liked size of book(read aloud) and illustrations.
STEAM and narrative nonfiction.
Alice
Jul 18, 2019 rated it really liked it
4 stars - I had no idea - good for lunar landing year
Pam
Jun 09, 2019 rated it liked it
Biography of Alan Bean for elementary level readers.
Photos and timeline included at the end of the book.
KC
Jun 16, 2019 rated it really liked it
Biography of astronaut and artisit Alan Bean and his inspirational trip to the moon.
Katy
Jul 12, 2019 rated it really liked it
Very cool!
Meagan Myhren-bennett
Aug 19, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Astronaut Alan Bean's life is presented in picture book format for young readers.
Examples of his artwork can be found in the back of the book.
Elisabeth
Jun 24, 2019 rated it it was amazing
An artist who was once an astronaut? What could be cooler?
Todd
Jun 04, 2019 rated it it was amazing
The actual Dean Robbins author for this book is different than the one it's connected to.
Ms Threlkeld
Mar 15, 2019 rated it really liked it
Lovely intersection of art and science that exudes the perfect amount of wonderment.
Peacegal
Aug 15, 2019 rated it it was amazing
A delight! Another example of a picture book biography that will enthrall and educate adults as much as it does children.
MaryLibrarianOH
Jun 19, 2019 rated it really liked it
Alan Bean was an astronaut but he was also an artist. After being the 4th person to walk on the moon, he created paints to show what the moon experience was like.
Kelly
Jul 09, 2019 rated it really liked it
Really, really good story.
Morgan
Jul 05, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Very cool biography of Alan Bean! I read this one to our library day camp, the Explorer's Club, and they really enjoyed it and learned some cool information!
Julia Hoffman
Jul 20, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Awesome

Great and awesome book I would highly recommend this to children and adults alike what a cool story oh my god
Kellee
Alan Bean was an artist and an astronaut. He saw colors and textures with the eye of an artist, so after he visited the moon and saw that photographs didn’t show what he saw the way he saw it, he painted. The Astronaut Who Painted the Moon by Dean Robbins is his true story. I cannot wait to own a finished copy of this one!
Shauna Yusko
rated it liked it
Mar 21, 2019
Christy
rated it really liked it
Aug 05, 2019
« previous 1 3 4 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
3 followers
During the last 38 years Dean has been a consistent innovative, successful performer by sharing his progressive motivational skills through seminars, lectures and coaching. He has proven himself as an experienced, seasoned, energetic speaker, leader, coach, consultant and real estate trainer throughout the years to tens of thousands of people of all ages, ethnic groups and social economic backgrou ...more