Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Other, Better Me” as Want to Read:
The Other, Better Me
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Other, Better Me

by
3.89  ·  Rating details ·  83 ratings  ·  19 reviews
From the critically acclaimed author of Mascot comes this heartfelt novel, perfect for fans of John David Anderson and Cammie McGovern, about a girl searching for the meaning of family.

Lola and Momma have always been a team of two. It hasn’t always been easy for Lola, being one of the only kids she knows with just one parent around. And lately she’s been feeling incomplete
...more
ebook, 288 pages
Published October 1st 2019 by HarperCollins
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Other, Better Me, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Other, Better Me

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.89  · 
Rating details
 ·  83 ratings  ·  19 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Other, Better Me
ReadAlongWithSue [Catching-Up]

Twitter |
Goodreads |
Blog |
Instagram |

What an enjoyable well written and easy to follow book for a YA. And let me say, you don’t need to be young to read it!

This superbly writes about many hard hitting subjects.

Single parenting.
Whose my dad.
Standing out at school......among other topics.

I loved the beginning the middle and the end, but most of all, towards the last couple of chapters it was me, yes this older reader who learnt a lot and reminded of the priorities in life and what and who mat
...more
Forever Young Adult
Graded By: Brian
Cover Story: Eclectic
Drinking Buddy: Cool Kids' Table
MPAA Rating: PG: Some crude humor
Talky Talk: That One School Year
Bonus Factors: Romance Through the Ages, Mystery
Bromance Status: Until We Meet Again

Read the full book report here.
...more
Kristi Housman Confessions of a YA Reader
Thanks to a power outage, I was able to get to this book quicker than I thought I would.  It's a short read at only 261 pages.  I will say that reading by flashlight isn't fun at all. 



I wasn't sure what to expect when I started this, but once I got a few chapters in, I knew I would like it.  The book covers several important topics:  single parent, not knowing a parent/parental abandonment, rich vs poor, illness, death, and bullying.  That sounds like a lot for such a short book, but things were
...more
Karen (BaronessBookTrove)
I voluntarily reviewed an Advance Reader Copy from the Publisher. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.The Other Better Me by Antony John tackles a lot of touching topics that not, in my experience, kids know about these days.
Is finding her dad a good thing for Lola and her mom?
Lola Harmon
Lola is a ten-year-old girl living in a single-parent home that is a mobile home. She has no clue who her dad is and wants to find out. Lola thinks this will make her feel
...more
Jamie
May 13, 2019 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Cute enough. Not nearly as good as MASCOT but still a good story well told.
Olivia
Sep 03, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: yabc-reviews
See my full review here: https://www.yabookscentral.com/kidsfi...

THE OTHER, BETTER ME is a contemporary middle grade novel that follows a ten-year-old, Lola, as she explores herself and her family. Lola lives with her mother in a trailer, where she has a pretty good life. She often spends her evening with the elderly woman across the street, Ms. A, who used to star in commercials.

She has never met her Australian father, who she knows overstayed his visa and was deported before she was born. She
...more
Jenny (Bookbookowl)
Thank you so much to Wunderkind PR for providing me with a copy of The Other, Better Me, in exchange for an honest review.



Life isn't easy for Lola right now, with a class bully who won't leave her alone, her mum so tired all the time and her constant wondering about who her dad is - and why he hasn't contacted her since she was three years old, it's a lot for a ten year old to take in.  When her teacher sets an assignment at school to write a paper on an alternate life path, an 'other you' story
...more
Kasey Giard
Oct 08, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This was such an enjoyable book to read. I laughed and teared up and loved every minute of Lola’s story. The way she pieced together things happening around her, from things like brunch meaning a meal you make when you’re feeling lazy and planning to use a lot of dishes to her empathy and understanding toward a prickly classmate, made me fall totally in love with THE OTHER BETTER ME.

I love the community elements in the story. Lola feels like her family is just herself and her mom, but all the wa
...more
Stephanie
May 15, 2020 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2020
I received this book in exchange for an honest review. No compensation was given, offered, or taken to alter the opinion forth with.

This is a middle grade novel about a girl who decides that for her school project she is going to get in contact with her estranged father. Eventually, she learns to really appreciate the people in her life who have actually chosen to know and care for her and become content with the family she does have.

I think that the target audience for this book will really lik
...more
MMill
Jul 24, 2020 rated it really liked it
Lola has grown up with only her mom in her life, and that has always been enough for her. But lately she has been wondering more and more about her father. Especially when her mother starts having health problems, Lola begins to think about how helpful it would be to have another person to count on. A school project asking her to think of another version of herself with one significant change prompts her to start sending letters and asking questions to see if she can get in touch with the father ...more
Ridgewood Public Library Youth Services
This book is about 10-year-old Lola finding her true self as she learns from people around her. Lola had never met her father before, and because she knew that her mother didn't like to speak of him, Lola tries her best to avoid topics about her father around her mom. When Lola's class is assigned to write about what an alternate life for each of them would be like, Lola chooses to explore a life in which she knows her father.

This book is for anyone who reads about family stories and self-realiz
...more
Cara
Jun 19, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
The “Other, Better Me” referenced in the title starts out as a school project that Lola uses as a springboard to find out about her dad, but by the end of the book, Lola realizes a different version of who she wants to be – a person who can stand up for herself and others when she feels strongly about something. The mystery of what happened with her dad weaves throughout novel as Lola and her friends uncover information that confuses and astounds Lola. As she considers advice from her friend Ms. ...more
mei eyam
Aug 14, 2022 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Pretty chill and short read. Felt like a comfort book and helped get out of a reading slump. Enjoyable. May read it again whenever i feel down. Just watching Lola trying to be her better self give me soo much motivation. Also, really liked the topics mentioned in the story. A good read for a chill fall day.
Jackie
Nov 07, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Was pleasantly surprised. Not something I would normally read but I won an ARC.
Brie
I win this book in a Goodreads First Reads contest.

I gifted the book to an avid reader friend during the holidays.
Margaret
Jun 07, 2021 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
3.5 stars
Kay
Nov 04, 2019 rated it liked it
Shelves: reviewers
This book was okay, but I got kind of bored of it at the end. It was also a little bit confusing, but it was okay. It would be good for people who liked Dear Sweet Pea. It would also be good if you liked any book where the character is searching for their long lost father. Overall, not a bad book but not particularly interesting.
Shauna Yusko
rated it liked it
Jan 27, 2020
Steph
rated it really liked it
Jun 06, 2021
Mary
rated it really liked it
Aug 02, 2021
Leslie
rated it it was ok
Sep 10, 2022
Natasha
rated it really liked it
Mar 08, 2022
Naomi Milliner
rated it it was amazing
Mar 03, 2020
Jean Creelman
rated it it was amazing
Feb 04, 2022
Jenny McCartney
rated it it was amazing
Jul 29, 2020
Julie Williams
rated it really liked it
Sep 25, 2019
Jessie
rated it it was amazing
Feb 18, 2020
Dierdre
rated it really liked it
Apr 08, 2020
Joyous Link
rated it really liked it
Feb 03, 2022
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Dragon Pearl (Thousand Worlds, #1)
  • The Hound of Hell (Renault, Hound of Hell #1)
  • Origins (The Grimm Cases, #1)
  • Something To Tell You
  • Beauty and the Badge (Charlotte's Cove #1)
  • Christmas Inn Love (Silver Bell Falls, #5)
  • One Last Dance (A Willow Valley Historical Romance)
  • Hall-O-Ween!
  • Sick Kids in Love
  • Tequila & Lace (Saddles & Racks, #2)
  • Cold Queen
  • Redemption
  • Angels & Whiskey (Saddles & Racks, #1)
  • All For Love: Short Stories to Make You Sigh
  • Steel King (Clifton Forge, #1)
  • Talent
  • Love to Prove You Wrong (Old Pine Cove, #2)
  • Joan Is Okay
See similar books…
432 followers
Antony John was born in England and raised on a balanced diet of fish and chips, obscure British comedies, and ABBA's Greatest Hits. In a fit of teenage rebellion, he decided to pursue a career in classical music, culminating in a BA from Oxford University and a PhD from Duke University. Along the way, he worked as an ice cream seller on a freezing English beach, a tour guide in the Netherlands, a ...more

Related Articles

Fearless readers, gather ’round…   For those with the courage and bandwidth to launch a bold new reading adventure, we’ve put together this...
69 likes · 22 comments