Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Other, Better Me” as Want to Read:
Blank 133x176
The Other, Better Me
 
by
Antony John
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Other, Better Me

by
3.82  ·  Rating details ·  11 ratings  ·  7 reviews
From the critically acclaimed author of Mascot comes this heartfelt novel, perfect for fans of John David Anderson and Cammie McGovern, about a girl searching for the meaning of family.

Lola and Momma have always been a team of two. It hasn’t always been easy for Lola, being one of the only kids she knows with just one parent around. And lately she’s been feeling incomple
...more
ebook, 272 pages
Published October 1st 2019 by HarperCollins
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Other, Better Me, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Other, Better Me

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-42
Average rating 3.82  · 
Rating details
 ·  11 ratings  ·  7 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Kristi Housman Confessions of a YA Reader
Thanks to a power outage, I was able to get to this book quicker than I thought I would.  It's a short read at only 261 pages.  I will say that reading by flashlight isn't fun at all. 



I wasn't sure what to expect when I started this, but once I got a few chapters in, I knew I would like it.  The book covers several important topics:  single parent, not knowing a parent/parental abandonment, rich vs poor, illness, death, and bullying.  That sounds like a lot for such a sho
...more
Karen (BaronessBookTrove)
I voluntarily reviewed an Advance Reader Copy from the Publisher. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.The Other Better Me by Antony John tackles a lot of touching topics that not, in my experience, kids know about these days.
Is finding her dad a good thing for Lola and her mom?
Lola Harmon
Lola is a ten-year-old girl living in a single-parent home that is a mobile home. She has no clue who her dad is and wants to find out. Lola thinks this will make her feel complete, and mareview.The
...more
Jamie
May 13, 2019 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Cute enough. Not nearly as good as MASCOT but still a good story well told.
Ms. Yingling
E ARC provided by Edelweiss Plus



Lola is a well meaning ten-year-old who has two good friends, Kiana and Nick, and does nice things like read with kindergartener Tiffany on the school bus in the mornings, in their own "book club". Her mother has been a bit low energy lately, but luckily their neighbor in the trailer park, Mrs. Archambault, often steps in to watch Lola, even taking her to the studio where she teaches yoga classes to older adults. When her teacher, Ms. Del R
...more
Olivia
Sep 03, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: yabc-reviews
See my full review here: https://www.yabookscentral.com/kidsfi...

THE OTHER, BETTER ME is a contemporary middle grade novel that follows a ten-year-old, Lola, as she explores herself and her family. Lola lives with her mother in a trailer, where she has a pretty good life. She often spends her evening with the elderly woman across the street, Ms. A, who used to star in commercials.

She has never met her Australian father, who she knows overstayed his visa and was deported before she was born. She wonders what he is
...more
Kasey Giard
Oct 08, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This was such an enjoyable book to read. I laughed and teared up and loved every minute of Lola’s story. The way she pieced together things happening around her, from things like brunch meaning a meal you make when you’re feeling lazy and planning to use a lot of dishes to her empathy and understanding toward a prickly classmate, made me fall totally in love with THE OTHER BETTER ME.

I love the community elements in the story. Lola feels like her family is just herself and her mom, bu
...more
Julie Williams
rated it really liked it
Sep 25, 2019
Carol
rated it it was amazing
Sep 29, 2019
Shirley Freeman
This is a sweet middle reader about 10-year Lola and the community of people who surround her and, mostly, love her. Lola is a great 'tween' character - able to read with a kindergartner on the bus, able to be alone but not really, friendship with a boy getting a tiny bit awkward, walking the line between vulnerability and self-protectiveness and really, really wanting to know who her father is and why he never comes to visit.
Jaaron
rated it really liked it
Sep 29, 2019
Tara
rated it liked it
Jun 29, 2019
Kat
rated it liked it
Oct 05, 2019
MMill
marked it as to-read
Jan 05, 2019
kari
marked it as to-read
May 15, 2019
Meghin
added it
Jun 26, 2019
Christa Martin
marked it as to-read
Sep 18, 2019
Kerry
marked it as to-read
Sep 21, 2019
Becca
marked it as to-read
Sep 27, 2019
Nicki
marked it as to-read
Oct 01, 2019
Kathy
marked it as to-read
Oct 01, 2019
Anne
added it
Oct 03, 2019
Marianne
marked it as to-read
Oct 04, 2019
Shelby Kukla
marked it as to-read
Oct 08, 2019
Kimberly Wright Oelkers
is currently reading it
Oct 11, 2019
Jaime
added it
Oct 12, 2019
Su
marked it as to-read
Oct 20, 2019
TheReadandSeek
marked it as to-read
Jun 08, 2019
Sandy
marked it as to-read
Jun 17, 2019
Danielle Hammelef
marked it as to-read
Jul 03, 2019
Alice
marked it as to-read
Jul 06, 2019
Erica Luck
marked it as to-read
Jul 13, 2019
Krissy Neddo
marked it as to-read
Jul 17, 2019
Somayeh
marked it as to-read
Jul 18, 2019
Shauna Yusko
marked it as to-read
Jul 19, 2019
Lydia Wallace
marked it as to-read
Jul 24, 2019
Micielle
marked it as to-read
Jul 24, 2019
Frederick Rotzien
marked it as to-read
Jul 24, 2019
Bill Schlott
marked it as to-read
Jul 24, 2019
Brie
marked it as to-read
Jul 24, 2019
Deborah Gerhart
marked it as to-read
Jul 24, 2019
Kim Ellis
marked it as to-read
Jul 24, 2019
Valerie
marked it as to-read
Jul 24, 2019
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
430 followers
Antony John was born in England and raised on a balanced diet of fish and chips, obscure British comedies, and ABBA's Greatest Hits. In a fit of teenage rebellion, he decided to pursue a career in classical music, culminating in a BA from Oxford University and a PhD from Duke University. Along the way, he worked as an ice cream seller on a freezing English beach, a tour guide in the Netherlands, a ...more