Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Messy Joys of Being Human: A Guide to Risking Change and Becoming Happier” as Want to Read:
The Messy Joys of Being Human: A Guide to Risking Change and Becoming Happier
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Messy Joys of Being Human: A Guide to Risking Change and Becoming Happier

by
4.05  ·  Rating details ·  19 ratings  ·  16 reviews
A joyously cathartic and deeply spiritual road trip for readers of Anne Lamott, Elizabeth Gilbert, Pema Chodron, and Brené Brown.

Feeling stuck? You're not alone. In or out of a relationship, job hunting or retiring, in a life transition, or wrestling with Big Questions, a joyful life can feel elusive. After two decades offering motivation, inspiration, support, and proble
...more
ebook, 264 pages
Published September 27th 2018 by Riverview Press
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Messy Joys of Being Human, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Messy Joys of Being Human

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-35
Average rating 4.05  · 
Rating details
 ·  19 ratings  ·  16 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Messy Joys of Being Human: A Guide to Risking Change and Becoming Happier
Kirsty ❤️
Dec 07, 2018 rated it really liked it
This is a really interesting book and I'm not sure if it has a unique angle or if it's just that I have been reading only one set of self help books but this one has a Jewish perspective that runs through it. Mostly the ones I've read have either been Eastern spiritual or Christian and I found the Christian ones a bit too heavy handed to the point I won't read them now (I'm agnostic so it's not a go to thing for me) however this perspective is effortlessly woven throughout the book without being ...more
Anna
Jan 17, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I voluntarily read and reviewed a copy of this book. All thoughts and opinions are my own!!!!
Its a book about self-help. And not just “read and thats all”, if you want to improve your fears and your hopes, you’d work for it hard. I liked the author’s style, it was like speaking with a close friend.
I’ll re-read this book soon.
Laura Anne
Not in the mood for this - was feeling adventuresome on NetGalley - pressed those buttons and ping, got something I didn't really want. ...more
Ann T
Dec 17, 2018 rated it liked it
Thank you Riverview Press and Netgalley for an ARC in return for my honest opinion.

This book, written by an advice columnist, explores human nature and all the messiness that entails. The writing style is casual, in a friendly conversational style. Unfortunately I didn’t really connect with the writing style and found myself skimming through pages in search of the gems the author had written.

There were gems and wisdom to be found amongst the pages so this would be a good book for someone new to
...more
Tiffany
Dec 13, 2018 rated it really liked it
I thought this was a good, easy read book which made me think.

I enjoyed the style of writing and all the phrases made it seem like speaking to a friend.
Happy Booker
Nov 10, 2018 rated it really liked it
The messy joys of being human is a self-help book about changing your life in the matter of creating an atmosphere which promotes a happier mood and a happier you.

The author is a life coach, and therefore the book is filled with life and advice stories on how to become successful in your life. What made this book stand out for me was its way of walking you through the situations rather than just bombarding you with the information you may have read elsewhere.

I Particularly enjoyed the quote from
...more
Angie
Aug 08, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Many people buy self-help books and expect that just by reading them (or flicking through!) somehow things will change, and get disillusioned when things stay the same.

I have read many self-help books, and to be honest, I don't think any one of them has provided the answers - instead, each provides something, a piece of a jigsaw if you like, that you can mold to fit your needs. So my advice is when reading self help books to always be questioning - is this relevant to the problem I have? How can
...more
Paul Franco
May 05, 2019 rated it liked it
Despite the title, this is a self-help tome.
Even though my first thought as I plunged into this was “I’ve heard all of this before,” I couldn’t help noticing that it was transmitted differently.
I think the most admirable quality this author possesses is the ability to be optimistic despite everything that’s happened and continues to happen around us. On the other hand it’s got a light style that makes me wonder how much I’ll remember when I’m done.
I love that she’s a fellow grok. . . person. Som
...more
Amit Verma
Nov 27, 2018 rated it liked it
This is self help book that provides motherly advice and guidance from acclaimed columnist Helen, who has nice blend of both East and West cultures.
Book touches almost all aspects of our life from health to job to marriage and religion. I liked chapter on death as the highlight of the book and I have to say there were, few little slow phases in between really good chapters.

There is wisdom from jew religion and buddhism.
Mention of lots of books and contemporary examples make read interesting a
...more
Jess Probert
Dec 04, 2018 rated it liked it
If nothing else, The Messy Joys of Being Human show you that you're not alone in your feelings, and really reinforces that feeling the way you do makes you human, and not a complete lunatic as feelings can lead you to believe! This is one of the few self help books I've read where I don't feel like I am being talked AT, rather , it felt more like a conversation.
One aspect of the book that made me disengage slightly was the extended metaphors that the book was filled with. After the first couple
...more
Amina Ishaque
Dec 10, 2018 rated it really liked it
I really don't read self-help books but, I was intrigued to read this one because of its title. This book touches almost every aspect of our lives, making us nostalgic for our past and how far we've come. The writing style made this book enjoyable although the lessons were all the same. ...more
Kathleen Duffy
rated it really liked it
Nov 26, 2018
Tracy Wood
Dec 06, 2018 rated it really liked it
Shelves: z-netgalley
Although I didn't feel I learnt anything new from this book it was a good read. I enjoyed the style of writing and the subject matter but this old dog didn't discover any new tricks! However reading through it made me consider my heritage, memories and how I got to where I am today which isn't a bad thing.

I am glad to have read this book via Netgalley in return for an unbiased review and my reaction to it has been very positive so maybe I did learn more than I'd thought.
...more
Sarah Reich
rated it it was amazing
Jun 05, 2019
Despina
Nov 19, 2018 rated it really liked it
I received this book from NetGalley for a honest review

I requested this book because the book title intrigued me. While I think the writing was good, I didn't think the author had anything new or more to say than most authors about this subject and in the end left me feeling a bit disappointed.
...more
Lisa Rau
rated it it was amazing
Jan 01, 2019
Alise Sinclair
rated it it was amazing
Jul 25, 2019
Phil
rated it really liked it
Feb 02, 2020
Lovely Loveday
The Messy Joys of Being Human: A Guide to Risking Change and Becoming Happier reads like having a conversation with an old friend. The writing prompts are evocative and inspiring; you could come back again and again as life evolves. Read certain parts or the whole book. A book that you will find yourself reading again and again. The Messy Joys of Being Human is an insightful and meaningful read that is full of humor and life lessons for living in the present.  A book that many will relate to and ...more
Dora Okeyo
Oct 25, 2018 rated it really liked it
The thing about self-help books is that they do not offer the quick fix. Some readers take it to be instant redemption, but rather, they are just a nudge in a direction that when pursued could bring about change.

I highlighted this book so much that I believe it’s got to be the most highlighted book in my Kindle Library.

The author looks at why we worry, how we feel, how negative perceptions can cause us to think and feel less about ourselves. She also explores faith drawing from experience and li
...more
Amna Ishaque
Dec 10, 2018 rated it really liked it
I really don't read self-help books but, I was intrigued to read this one because of its title. This book touches almost every aspect of our lives, making us nostalgic for our past and how far we've come. The writing style made this book enjoyable although the lessons were all the same. ...more
Helen Rosenau
Sep 01, 2018 added it  ·  (Review from the author)
Ryan Taylor
marked it as to-read
Sep 16, 2018
Katarina
marked it as to-read
Oct 05, 2018
Nancy
added it
Oct 06, 2018
Sarah
marked it as to-read
Oct 10, 2018
Marla.
marked it as to-read
Nov 10, 2018
Sara
marked it as to-read
Dec 25, 2018
Lisa
marked it as to-read
Jan 01, 2019
Alison
is currently reading it
Jan 08, 2019
Claire
marked it as to-read
Jan 09, 2019
Antonia
marked it as to-read
Jan 23, 2019
Kim Gerato
marked it as to-read
Feb 03, 2019
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Get in the Van: On the Road With Black Flag
  • Murder on a Winter Afternoon (Melissa Craig, #5)
  • Embrace Your Greatness: Fifty Ways to Build Unshakable Self-Esteem
  • Murder in the Orchard (Melissa Craig, #6)
  • 365 Ways to Find Peace
  • Becoming Superman: A Writer's Journey from Poverty to Hollywood with Stops Along the Way at Murder, Madness, Mayhem, Movie Stars, Cults, Slums, Sociopaths, and War Crimes
  • Figuring
  • What My Mother and I Don't Talk About: Fifteen Writers Break the Silence
  • Gods of Risk (The Expanse, #2.5)
  • Strange Dogs (The Expanse, #6.5)
  • Stitches: A Handbook on Meaning, Hope, and Repair
  • Murder in Langley Woods (Melissa Craig #8)
  • Murder at Benbury Brook (Melissa Craig #9)
See similar books…
4 followers
In 2000 I launched my alter ego at yourjewishfairygodmother.com. Two years later I began a weekly advice column that helps folks with day-to-day problems. You can read lots of Q&A at yourjewishfairygodmother.com/blog. In 2006 I started kabbalahglass.com to share visual art and Jewish mysticism. In 2012 I started a weekly Torah blog, though it's more about self-development than mainstream Judaism. ...more

Related Articles

  Discover lots of new and upcoming nonfiction reads this spring with our author interviews, articles, and book lists!   Interviews with...
3 likes · 0 comments
“Run With Me: You're evolving into a different and better you. You believe more in yourself so you're more ready for risk.” 3 likes
“One More Time: When your issues cycle around look at them unafraid. Your transition is
already underway. The biggest Yes is behind you. A thousand smaller ones may lie ahead. But now we are insulated and buoyed by hope and have more courage.”
3 likes
More quotes…