Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “It Sounded Better in My Head” as Want to Read:
Blank 133x176
It Sounded Better in M...
 
by
Nina Kenwood
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

It Sounded Better in My Head

4.50  ·  Rating details ·  40 ratings  ·  17 reviews
A tender, funny, and joyful novel about longing, confusion, feeling left out, and finding out what really matters, and first love, perfect for fans of Emergency Contact

Eighteen year-old Natalie has suffered every adolescent indignity when her parents announce their impending divorce. She can’t understand why no one is fighting, or seems at least mildly upset. Then Zach an
...more
Hardcover
Expected publication: April 7th 2020 by Flatiron Books
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about It Sounded Better in My Head, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about It Sounded Better in My Head

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
4.50  · 
Rating details
 ·  40 ratings  ·  17 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Adele
Apr 14, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Super charming and funny with a side plate of self-doubt, pragmatism and witty repartee.

Natalie is sure of her opinions, and doubtful of her surroundings. And that makes perfect sense because she's going through a significant change with her best friends dating each other, school's finished, her parents have separated, and she's stepping out of her comfort zone.

There's a party scene where the internal dialogue is bang on for every high school party I ever went to. And the ones I make myself go t
...more
Amanda
LOVED this! I laughed and I cried, it's excellent.
Emma
Jan 17, 2019 rated it it was amazing
A pitch-perfect contemporary YA.
This fantastic portrayal of the excruciating awkwardness and insecurity of young adulthood is filled with moments to inspire snort-laughter, tears and wry recognition.
It’s tricky navigating the chaos of family, friends & budding romance and this novel depicts the lot with honesty and a big heart.
Text Publishing
‘I loved this delightful, funny, big-hearted book. Natalie’s wry internal voice really spoke to the awkward-teen me.’
Melissa Keil

‘This book is delicious—beautiful, funny, real and supremely honest. I devoured it.’
Claire Christian

‘An adorably awkward and real romance. It was love at first chapter for me.’
Emily Gale

I loved it! Fresh and original contemporary realism leavened with humour, beautifully crafted with relatable characters - this is a novel to relish and recommend.
Lynndy Bennett, Glee
...more
Zohal
3.5 Stars
ClaireEva
Feb 18, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Either 4.5 or 5 I’m undecided but I pretty much read this in an afternoon and loved it
Trisha
Completely related to Natalie. Loved it all.
luci whitelake
May 23, 2019 rated it really liked it
Very Good YA Novel about how no one knows what they’re doing actually and also doing things people do in movies probably is not a good idea in real life. loves it. we stan.
Hayley
Mar 30, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: arcs, young-adult, oz-ya, own, 2019
Very cute and fun, super relatable and just plain wonderful, Australian YA.
Jo Case
Mar 19, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Have been longing to read Nina Kenwood’s Text Prize-winning YA debut IT SOUNDED BETTER IN MY HEAD since I found it existed: I had been following her book recommendations (via Readings social media) for over a year before we met (and then in person when we worked together), because they almost always hit my sweet spot. Just finished it. It is so sweet and funny and booknerdishly cool, and vulnerable and wise. Beautiful characters and friendships, and an indie-style rom-com core that is deeply sat ...more
Melanie Schubert
Brace yourself...for a rave review. Because this book is everything I love about a book and more. It's sweet, it's hopeful, it's raw. I read it in a single sitting and I have absolutely no regrets about that. It's exactly the kind of book I wish I read in my teens, the kind that makes you glad you exist in this crazy unpredictable world. It took me right back to my college days and all the awkward sweaty angst surrounding...well, everything 🤣 The story is simple enough, but the insightful and of ...more
Gee
May 16, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: young-adult, fiction, oz
So honest and funny and lovely. I thought it was really awesome how it showed how the way you perceive other people and how you think they perceive you is often really different to the way they perceive themselves and you—how those constructs can get in the way of forming and feeling secure in/deserving of relationships.
Ruth
Apr 25, 2019 rated it really liked it
After years of fun, unrelatable nonsense for teens (fantasy, grief porn, sci-fi) it's refreshing and a little scary to read something so thoroughly relate-able that I shed numerous tears along the way. Her characters just felt so... real. It made me laugh too, so while it hit home a little too hard in places I can still categorically say i enjoyed it.
Tash Broom
Apr 24, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I absolutely love this book. It's incredible in all the ways that matter. The best thing about 'It Sounded Better in My Head' is how relatable and real it is. It touches on anxiety and body dysmorphia in ways that I know everyone has experienced before. It didn't shatter my heart like I expected it to but it had the power and the emotion to carry it through. I highly recommend picking this one up
Tahnaya
Apr 17, 2019 rated it really liked it
I read this book in a few hours and loved every bit of it! It was funny, relatable, heartbreaking and I loved every bit of it. I ooooohed and ahhhhhhhed throughout the whole book! Well done Nina Kenwood!!!
Pauline
May 25, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Review to come.
Tara
rated it really liked it
Apr 25, 2019
The Anti-Social Influencer
rated it it was amazing
May 26, 2019
Sass
rated it it was amazing
Apr 22, 2019
Daniel
rated it it was amazing
Apr 15, 2019
Julia Gorman
rated it it was amazing
Apr 04, 2019
Beth Herbert
rated it really liked it
Apr 18, 2019
Marochka
rated it really liked it
Aug 23, 2018
Mirelle
rated it really liked it
Apr 15, 2019
Nan Cia
rated it it was amazing
May 24, 2019
Simon McDonald
rated it really liked it
May 14, 2019
Gosia
rated it really liked it
Dec 30, 2018
Arseniy
rated it liked it
Sep 15, 2018
Danielle {halfdesertedstreets}
So darn cute. And I related to Natalie so hard.
Nicole
rated it it was amazing
Apr 30, 2019
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
4 followers
Nina Kenwood has worked in the book industry for more than ten years. She is currently the marketing manager at Readings bookshop in Melbourne. It Sounded Better in My Head is Nina’s first novel.