Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “City of Windows” as Want to Read:
City of Windows
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

City of Windows

4.19  ·  Rating details ·  16 ratings  ·  11 reviews
"A tough, wise, knowing narrative voice, a great plot, a great setting, and even better characters -- I loved this." --Lee Child, New York Times bestselling author

In the tradition of Jeffery Deaver's Lincoln Rhyme and David Baldacci's Amos Decker, City of Windows introduces Lucas Page, a brilliant, reluctant investigator, matching wits with a skilled, invisible killer

Dur
...more
Hardcover, 400 pages
Expected publication: August 13th 2019 by Minotaur Books
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about City of Windows, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about City of Windows

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-46
4.19  · 
Rating details
 ·  16 ratings  ·  11 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Dave
Mar 18, 2019 rated it really liked it
The star of this fast-paced thriller is Lucas Page, a retired FBI specialist who now sports a prosthetic eye, arm, and leg and thought he’d be left alone to quietly raise his house full of foster kids. When a sniper is targeting law enforcement officers, making impossible shots on moving targets, Page is reluctantly called back into the line of duty. Page was a precocious child who performed graduate-level math at an age when he should have been racing Big Wheels. His unique mathematical skills ...more
Laura Rash
Jan 08, 2019 rated it it was amazing
HOT DAMN!!!! This was a ripper of a book! A really unique concept between the flawed characters, outlandish storyline and descriptive settings. Fans of the Michael Bennett books can imagine that crossed with Lincoln Rhyme and it’s still not going to completely explain this very original story. I also enjoyed the one liners that had me snort laughing. I feel the need to go read all this authors books now.
Many thanks to Minotaur for this early copy:)
Jannelies
Mar 19, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: five-stars, thriller
Brilliant!
Brilliant!
Brilliant!

What can I say? I don't want to compare Lucas Page to any other of the great characters like Lincoln Rhyme. Lucas Page is someone special and I'm happy he is nót as any of the other great characters. He is unique. I really loved his sense of humor; I think his love for his wife and children is a great thing and he may be a little grumpy sometimes, it makes him all the more likable.
Solving the shooting of his former partner and subsequently other people, Lucas is fo
...more
Gram
Feb 17, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
An absolutely stunning thriller that's so fast paced it will leave you breathless. Although laced with the darkest of dark humour, it also raises serious questions about liberty, justice and the USA Constitution's 2nd Amendment - the right to bear arms.
Seemingly out of nowhere a sniper has begun a killing spree - a sniper who is invisible and leaves no tracks. The powers that-think-they-know-it-all believe it's the work of a French millionaire playboy turned radicalised Muslim. The shooting tak
...more
Maria
- Received an Advance Reader Copy in exchange for a fair review -
A fabulous thriller! Top-notch writing style, with a beautiful, cinematic atmosphere in place descriptions, and an utterly singular, alluring wounded hero.
“City of Windows”, by Robert Pobi, is a gripping, suspenseful read, with fabulous characters, characterization and setting, and a tight, cohesive storyline.
Lucas Page is the most fascinating, low profile, wounded hero I’ve read recently. He’s a complex character, a superior mind
...more
Dianne Laheurte
Dec 10, 2018 rated it it was amazing
A super smart, well written, fast paced novel by Robi Pobi, unlike his others! I could not put this book down, instead, put my life on hold for 24 hours! Now I need to re-read Bloodman, Mannheim Rex, and American Woman again! SO good!
Carol Ann
Jan 16, 2019 rated it liked it
I read Bloodman a few years back and it knocked my socks off. This one was no disappointment. Pobi is just great at bringing the tension and the excitement.
3.5 seriously action packed stars!
Mads Bruynesteyn
Mar 19, 2019 rated it really liked it
A decent 'actionhero'-thriller, in line with Baldacci's Amos Decker-series and Deavers Lincolm Rhyme-series. Well built plot and an interesting protagonist.
Mackenzie
rated it really liked it
Jan 28, 2019
Paul
Mar 15, 2019 rated it really liked it
Incredibly tense, fast-paced thriller. My first Pobi novel, and I plan to grab some others. The plot is excellent and quite unpredictable. Excellent (and sometimes funny) dialog and an excellent build-up and ending. This one will probably linger in mind for at least a few days, and probably longer. Highly recommended.

I really appreciate the advanced copy for review!
Meipera
rated it really liked it
Mar 12, 2019
Bonnye Reed
Mar 14, 2019 is currently reading it  ·  review of another edition
Netgalley
pub date Aug 13, 2019
Minotaur Books
Kelly Well Read
rated it really liked it
Jan 15, 2019
Justin Cline
rated it really liked it
Nov 02, 2018
Robin
rated it liked it
Dec 14, 2018
Tasha
Mar 17, 2019 added it
Dr Page has a life he enjoys.....teaching at the university and creating a family with his wife and foster children. He planned to leave his past behind, the time with the FBI which left him with a replacement leg, arm and eye.

His ability to absorb and mathematically calculate crime scenes brings FBI to his door to solve the shooting of an FBI agent. The fact the dead man is Pages former partner draws him into the storm. A blizzard. Revenge. And time running out.

I enjoyed the story and pace. It
...more
Luca
rated it it was amazing
Jan 20, 2019
Laverne M
rated it liked it
Dec 25, 2018
Chandni
marked it as to-read
Aug 17, 2018
Alice Blanchard
marked it as to-read
Oct 23, 2018
Robin
marked it as to-read
Nov 08, 2018
Keeley
marked it as to-read
Dec 03, 2018
Towandajane
marked it as to-read
Dec 05, 2018
Kristin Centorcelli
marked it as to-read
Dec 06, 2018
Pib
marked it as to-read
Dec 07, 2018
Miriam
marked it as to-read
Dec 15, 2018
Robin
marked it as to-read
Dec 16, 2018
Vicki
marked it as to-read
Dec 18, 2018
Dana
marked it as to-read
Jan 01, 2019
Chris Brown
marked it as to-read
Jan 01, 2019
Greg Mitts
marked it as to-read
Jan 01, 2019
Whitney
marked it as to-read
Jan 01, 2019
Benjamin  Thomas
marked it as to-read
Jan 02, 2019
Melissa
marked it as to-read
Jan 04, 2019
Emily
marked it as to-read
Jan 08, 2019
Vivian
marked it as to-read
Jan 10, 2019
Kye Anderson
marked it as to-read
Jan 11, 2019
Kristen
marked it as to-read
Jan 15, 2019
Ana Silva
marked it as to-read
Jan 17, 2019
Chantal Demoor
marked it as to-read
Jan 18, 2019
Nicky Mottram
marked it as to-read
Jan 23, 2019
Schizanthus
marked it as to-read
Jan 31, 2019
Andrea
marked it as to-read
Jan 31, 2019
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
59 followers
ROBERT POBI has fished for great whites off Montauk, chased coyotes with a dune buggy in the Mojave, and spelunked caves in the former Yugoslavia. He is a renowned expert in English period furniture and makes a mean coq au vin. He spends most of his time in Montreal, Canada.