Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Spirit of Prophecy: Paranormal and Sci-Fi Crime” as Want to Read:
Spirit of Prophecy: Paranormal and Sci-Fi Crime
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Spirit of Prophecy: Paranormal and Sci-Fi Crime

4.23  ·  Rating details ·  52 ratings  ·  35 reviews
What if your past came back to haunt you and stalked the present until it became your worst nightmare? What would you do if you discovered you’re engaged to a murderous psychopath about to go serial?

J.J. Hughes explores the lengths to which we will go, to keep the past from overshadowing the present and destroying the future. Spirit of Prophecy is a highly original, cutt
...more
Paperback, 360 pages
Published June 11th 2018 by moneymagnet.global
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Spirit of Prophecy, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Spirit of Prophecy

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.23  · 
Rating details
 ·  52 ratings  ·  35 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Spirit of Prophecy: Paranormal and Sci-Fi Crime
Jill Hughes
Feb 17, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
A fascinating delve into the world of a psychic detective as she tries to solve the murder of a teenage stable girl in an apparent road-rage incident.
Juliet Jermaine's Olympic Gold Medal winning 3-Day Event horse is killed in the "accident" but is there more to it than just road-rage? Psychic Detective Rosetta Barret believes there is a Karmic link stretching back to the Apache Indians in the nineteenth century that may be wrapped up in this modern-day crime.
This is a page-turning, murder/myst
...more
Cam
May 01, 2019 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Thank you netgalley and publisher for this book to review.

I found this book very difficult to get into. I usually give a book til the 15% mark to know if I’ll like it, if it peeks my interest enough to continue, or I know that I will not finish it. This book was a little to long winded for me. Rosetta works for the Elite Paranormal Intelligence Service. And receives information from a extrasensory database that prophets have inputted their predictions. Overall I’m having a hard time reading thi
...more
Payal Sinha
Sep 04, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Spirit of Prophecy is a thoroughly entertaining book. It is a crime thriller with huge servings of science fiction and paranormal. Also, while the plot is crime based, the book as a whole left me with a positive feeling, particularly towards the end- when the whole universe was spread out before the two leading ladies and they are allowed to make three wishes each.

The thing that I liked about the book was that it offered many jig saw puzzles and in some places the author allowed the readers to
...more
Rissa
Spirit of Prophecy⭐️

I am not a hugr fan of paranormal or sci fy so if you are a fan you will probably love this. This was a cover request. It was gold and i wanted it. The summary sounded interesting as well but it didn’t capture my attention and I couldny get into the world and the characters.
Since this is an ARC i wont judge to rashly on punctuation errors, but the amount of run on sentences was excessive.
Besides the sentence runons the writing was good and the characters were developed but
...more
Cam
May 01, 2019 rated it liked it
Thank you netgalley and publisher for this book to review.

I found this book very difficult to get into. I usually give a book til the 15% mark to know if I’ll like it, if it peeks my interest enough to continue, or I know that I will not finish it. This book was a little to long winded for me. Rosetta works for the Elite Paranormal Intelligence Service. And receives information from a extrasensory database that prophets have inputted their predictions. Overall I’m having a hard time reading thi
...more
Tahseen Nakavi
Jul 22, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
`Spirit of Prophecy’ written by J. J. Hughes is a mystery novel with a supernatural twist. Rosetta Barrett, a psychic detective, has “controversial” beliefs. These beliefs cause her to lose custody of her children amidst a bitter divorce. Determined to prove herself and solve the mystery, Rosetta embarks on a journey that will change her life forever.

Rosetta faces turmoil in her career and personal life. She sets out to settle old scores while simultaneously fighting to bring her kids back hom
...more
Iva Kenaz
Nov 29, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I enjoy reading original books with colourful elements, which are unfortunately oftentimes suppressed and forced into one style or one genre. The author of this novel created an atmosphere that blends genres in a natural, and most importantly, meaningful way. I felt that everything in this story had its place and reason, and I could sense an important message behind the surface right from the start.

The story begins with a strange hit and run accident. Successful horse riders, Juliet her her frie
...more
Lel Budge
Jan 28, 2020 rated it really liked it
Spirit Of Prophecy is an unusual mix of sci-fi, crime thriller and the paranormal.

Rosetta is a psychic detective, she has a nightmare that she feels is a message, a puzzle to solve. But the reader is privy to information she doesn’t have so you can start to solve the mystery as you read.

Rosetta is determined to solve a recent hit and run incident that may have been murder. Can she put an end to the relentless cycle of revenge?

She is a complex character with her personal life a mess, which makes
...more
Marija
Nov 14, 2018 rated it it was amazing
A little bit different reading material for me, but it was nice change. It is a brilliant story and pretty entertaining that kept me turning pages.
It is paranormal mystery novel about a Rosetta - psychic detective that is fighting to stop a cycle of revenge on the Indian territory.
All the plots, twists and turns in the story were brilliant and the main character was so good built with all her imperfections that was just perfect.
I really enjoyed reading and I this is definitely not my last boo
...more
Julius Blitzy
Aug 31, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Despite moving on about the tragedy that comes with the sole fact of remembering the past, nothing really is neither forsaken nor buried enough to no rise again, and the most tragic and darkest twist you could ever imagine will happen here.
I like to make parallels between stories across several mediums, so I can easily compare this story with the series of videogames known as ‘Dead Space’, with the dark atmosphere, sci-fi elements and more, an eerie feeling that something is going to be horribly
...more
Mar
Aug 28, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Spirit Prophecy is a paranormal mystery novel by J. J. Hughes that turn out to be a very good surprise.
The premise was intriguing enough to catch my eye while I was looking for my next reading. A story about a psychic detective fighting to put a stop to a cycle of revenge in an Apache Indian territory seemed interesting and I could only hope it delivers. And it did, even surpassing my expectations. This is a very good book, thought-provocative and interesting with all the needed ingredients to m
...more
Deedra
Aug 20, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Audio:I absolutely loved this book!The storyline starts with an act of 'road rage' against two girls on horse back.Where we go from there is a tangle of back roads and probably improper relationships.Set in the near future,it is fascinating. Matt Addis was a terrific narrator.His voices were spot on.I was given this book by the narrator,author or publisher free for an honest review.
Jolie
Nov 06, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I was super excited to read this book. The blurb got me going. A paranormal mystery? Sign me up!! I am glad that I read this book because man, it was good.

Rosetta is a psychic detective and a witch. Used to people making assumptions about her, she tries to fly under the radar while solving her cases. The last time it got out that the police was using a psychic, Rosetta ended up losing custody of her children to her manipulative ex-husband. Rosetta is also employed by the Elite Paranormal Intelli
...more
Shari
May 05, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
An edge of your seat crime suspense novel that had me guessing right from the beginning who it was right up until the very end. I love the fact this author has thrown in the paranormal side of things without taking it to far in to the realm, and making it very relatable. I really enjoyed the story line and already recommended it to a few of my friends.

Look forward to more from this author.
Grant Leishman
Sep 19, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: read-2018
Spirit of Prophecy, a debut novel by J.J. Hughes was a stunningly unexpected surprise for me, as a reader. What I initially thought was a serial-killer hunt turned into so much more than that.
When Olympic Three Day Event Gold Medalist Juliet Jermaine's prize horse Gothic is killed, along with its young stable-hand rider, in an apparent road rage incident, the search is on to find the killer. Was Juliet the target of the attack or was it indeed just a simple case of someone losing their rag over
...more
Ileana Renfroe
Apr 23, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Description
Are you a believer? Psychic Detective Rosetta Barrett has the highest security clearance with the Elite Paranormal Intelligence Services. But Rosetta can’t tell anyone what she does, not even her family. Her divorce from her ruthless husband was sheer hell. He’s a top Russian diplomat, and she lost a custody battle for her children Edward and Alice, because of her paranormal beliefs and supernormal abilities. For weeks Rosetta has been having sleepless nights, haunted by a horrific pr
...more
Ginger
Jan 04, 2020 rated it really liked it
I was given a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

This story is a mix of genres - paranormal, science fiction and thriller.

The narrative is from several character's point of view and for the most part, is very involved and cohesive.

Rosetta works for a clandestine organization that works with aliens, psychics, seers and more to keep the world in balance. She is also a divorced mother of two children AND a detective in the UK.

Rosetta has visions, premonitions and she is trying desp
...more
Charles Ray
Sep 19, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Rosetta Barrett is a psychic detective, but she can’t tell her family or the public. Then, when a young girl and a horse are brutally killed by an aggressive driver, and it looks like it was a deliberate assassination attempt, her skills are tested to their limits. The Spirit of Prophecy by J. J. Hughes is a mystery with a bit of a paranormal and sci-fi twist—well, actually, more than just a bit. It involves a centuries-old atrocity that took place across the ocean from England, in New Mexico du ...more
Jessica Belmont
Feb 19, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Spirit of Prophecy by Jill Hughes is right up my alley. A mysterious fantasy thrill ride that makes you want to devour the story as quickly as you can and leaves you longing for more. This is one of those books I immediately wanted to read again when I finished.

Jill Hughes has written a highly original crime mystery mixed with a fantasy/paranormal twist, which makes this story suspenseful and fun. I love the back story and the world building. I felt as though I was sucked inside the book and I w
...more
Kat Drennan
Jan 14, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
When a horse and rider are killed in what looks to be a road rage incident, psychic crime investigator, Rosetta is called in: She’d seen it all in a premonition and was unable to stop it happening. Is it road rage? Is it an accident? Is it an international crime? Or, as Rosetta thinks, does the entire incident have its origins in another lifetime? This novel checks all the boxes for a fast-paced British crime mystery, but adds in a whole tertiary layer of government intrigue and paranormal links ...more
Sarah Stuart
Jan 20, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Rosetta has a gift, and it’s a mixed blessing. She’s a psychic crime investigator, and she sees things before they happen. So, they’re preventable? They are if the local police a) believe her and b) take prompt action. They don’t when Rosetta reports a coming incident of road rage, and the result is a child trapped beneath a dead Olympic-standard horse.

Juliet Jermaine isn’t likable, caring more about the threat to her Olympic hopes due to the loss of her horse than the young rider who died of h
...more
Rebecca
Jan 21, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: review-groups
This book exemplifies the modern author's ability to step outside of the conventional categorizations of genres, mixing and matching elements to create a unique and satisfying tale. Much activity takes place within its pages: a crime to be solved, budding romances, visiting aliens. Each has it part to play in the cohesive whole of the story.

If I had one complaint it would be that I wish the various threads of the story were more evenly spaced throughout the entirety. Just as I was getting deep
...more
Bruce Polkinghorne
This book runs back and forth between a series of different genre. It is sometimes a detective story, sometimes paranormal, sometimes science fiction, sometimes historical and sometime equestrian.
A horrific crime against horse and rider attracts the attention of a psychic detective. The investigation leads down a whole series of different paths. Past lives, indian history, relationship developments, relationship breakdowns, reincarnation, secret government organisations, aliens, conspiracy theor
...more
Laura Ruetz
May 26, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This was a very thought provoking book that I enjoyed reading. What starts off as a hit and run accident that killed a both a young girl and a racehorse, turns in a paranormal type mystery that involves past karma and how it affects the here and now. I felt that this was original and well written, with the base genre being mystery. The characters are complex and well-developed and we learn about them as the book goes on, which really pulled me into the book, into their stories and was engaging t ...more
Kristen
Sep 15, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: upwork
This Spirit of Prophecy took an interesting look at the spirit world and sort of a culture completely different from most of ours. The writing appeared to be thoroughly researched and cared for as the author delicately took the subject and presented the reader with an interesting story that both kept them drawn into this thriller from front to back.

If you are looking for a good read, especially as we approach October, this can keep you in the sci-fi spooky mood.
Annarella
Dec 06, 2019 rated it really liked it
An excellent mystery, solid and well written. It's an engrossing and entertaining read that kept me hooked.
I liked the style of writing, the well thought cast of characters and world building.
I look forward to reading other books by this author.
Recommended.
Many thanks to the publisher and Netgalley for this ARC, all opinions are mine.
Catherine
Jan 10, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
So different to my usual choice of fiction, yet I enjoyed this novel and was absorbed by the storyline. JJ Hughs combines genres skilfully and with ease, the readability of this novel backed up by great writing. An opening for a sequel, I think.
Helen Leighton-Rose
A mix of paranormal, thriller, crime. It works well but I did find the dialogue a little naive and at times a little difficult to follow the layout of the story. Saying that, it's a really great idea, so unusual and it works really well. Look forward to reading more of Jill Hughes books.
A.B. Shepherd
Read to 13%. Couldn't get into it at all.
Karyl Ahn White
Nov 17, 2018 rated it it was amazing
The Spirit of Prophecy by JJ Hughes
Okay. I’ll admit it. This book was a total cover request for me from Netgalley. I didn’t think I’d get approved but YAY!!! I almost bought it JIC, but I am on a hubs-imposed book buying ban. While waiting, looked up everything I could about the book: blurbs, reviews, the trailer- OH MY GOSH! Have you seen the trailer? Even if you’ve read the book already, you need to watch the trailer. Seriously. NOW. It’ll make you wanna read the book all over again. But enoug
...more
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Hillary's Back! (DI Hillary Greene, #18)
  • Individutopia
  • Death by Diploma (Chalkboard Outlines, #1)
  • Ancestral (The Many #2)
  • Poison by Punctuation (Chalkboard Outlines Book 2)
  • The Grave Above the Grave
  • We Were Killers Once (Brigid Quinn, #4)
  • The Witch of the Hills
  • Death on Tap (A Sloan Krause Mystery #1)
  • A Spell for Trouble (An Enchanted Bay Mystery #1)
  • Sandman Slim (Sandman Slim, #1)
  • The Strange Curse of Breda
  • Sword of Shadows
  • The Mermaid, the Witch, and the Sea
  • Anthony Bourdain's Hungry Ghosts
  • Alice in the Country of Hearts, Vol. 01 (Alice in the Country of Hearts, #1)
  • Altar of Bones
  • Addiction, Procrastination, and Laziness: A Proactive Guide to the Psychology of Motivation
See similar books…
16 followers
Jill Hughes was born in Cottingley, a quaint little village in West Yorkshire, UK. Her grandfather Arthur Shackleton [was related to Sir Ernest Shackleton, the polar explorer - but the furthest grand-dad travelled perhaps was up the road to the men-only social club, but then he rose early and worked long and hard and filled the house with the amazing aromas of freshly baked cakes and bread..so cou ...more

News & Interviews

While books about anti-racism are trending on Goodreads and dominating the bestseller lists right now, some of our favorite Black authors are a...
197 likes · 42 comments