Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Luke's Gift (The Harlow Brothers #2)” as Want to Read:
Luke's Gift (The Harlow Brothers #2)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Luke's Gift

(The Harlow Brothers #2)

by
4.32  ·  Rating details ·  62 ratings  ·  42 reviews
After serving in the Army, Luke Harlow returns home in time for the holidays to help his brothers raise their twelve-year-old half-sister. With his new job as Marietta’s police officer, Luke finds himself in the middle of a festive mystery that the entire town will want solved before Christmas morning.

Mary Best is Marietta Courier’s most promising young reporter. When she
...more
ebook, 113 pages
Published November 1st 2018 by Tule Publishing
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Luke's Gift, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Luke's Gift

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
4.32  · 
Rating details
 ·  62 ratings  ·  42 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Christine~justlovemybooks.com blog~
4 Stars!

Luke's Gift was a sweet story with likable characters. The premise was a bit predictable but I didn't mind that. Watching Luke and Mary grow into something more than friendship was sweet. I inferred pretty quickly that these two characters would not have an easy time trying to develop anything more than friendship. Yes, there is a bit of angst if you're wondering.

Luke is back from his stint in the military trying to find purpose with his life. He has a job, a home, and his younger brothe
...more
Eva Millien
Nov 03, 2018 rated it really liked it
This holiday romance is a charming and delightful read that would make the Grinch’s heart swell to 100 times in normal size with Christmas spirit. Luke and Mary are two strong, captivating characters that easily draw readers to them as they become caught up in a romance that proves that opposites attract. They both have some emotional issues that readers can’t help but understand to overcome if they want to achieve that happily ever after. The story is fast paced and bit too short, but is full o ...more
Elaine
This is such a sweet, festive friends to more romance with Luke Harlow, a caring military veteran who is now a Marietta police officer, and Mary Best, a young reporter, as the main characters. Luke has returned to his home town to help raise his half-sister and it is with her that he is secretly playing Santa by giving amazing gifts to some of the local community who are in need.

Mary is intrigued by Luke and wants to write about his heroic military service but the more she gets to know about thi
...more
Maria
Aug 06, 2018 rated it really liked it
+++ Received an Advance Reader Copy in exchange for a fair review +++
With “Luke’s Gift” Kaylie Newell wrote another fantastic love story, with great characters and a delightful romantic feel. I just adore these wonderfully romantic stories with amazingly honest heroes and heroines.
I loved that the conflict stems from the characters’ inner issues and professional ethics and deontology and not cheating nor other external and/or superficial issues.
Luke is a great hero, so earnest, good and honorabl
...more
Bette Hansen
Nov 04, 2018 rated it really liked it
This sweet small town romance was a great holiday read. Luke Harlow is back in Marietta after his military career ends. Mary Best is a reporter wanting to write a story about Luke's heroic military service. After spending time with Luke and really getting to know him Mary is certain she may have stumbled upon an even better story. Will Mary spill Luke's secret?

This was a very enjoyable read and one I highly recommend.

Tracie R
Oct 28, 2018 added it
Shelves: netgally
4.5 Stars Book 2 in The Harlow Brothers series, Luke’s gift is a wonderful, feel good story that will pull at your heartstrings. Tanner and Mary are great characters, their interaction is real, and the storyline is engaging throughout. I will definitely be recommending and reading more by this author
Karen Roma
Sep 10, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Luke’s Gift is the second book in the Harlow Brothers series and what a wonderful, tear-jerker it is. Kaylie Newell was a new author to me when I decided to read Tanner’s Promise and I have very quickly become an avid fan of her easy writing style and the warmth, emotion and passion she brings to her stories.

This is a feel good story that pulls at the heartstrings and reminds you just how important it is to have a little faith in human nature. Not everyone is perfect, but learning to trust and l
...more
Carrie
Sep 21, 2018 rated it really liked it
Shelves: keeper, netgalley
I enjoyed Luke’s Gift. I thought Luke made a great hero. I loved how he was playing Secret Santa around the town and including his younger sister to teach her the joys of giving. The love story with the heroine Mary developed quickly but that’s the nature of novellas.

This was my first book by this author and now I want to read about the rest of the Harlow brothers and I hope Mary’s friend gets her own story.

I received a copy through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
SOMDReigel
Sep 10, 2018 rated it it was amazing
The thing that keeps coming back to me after having read Luke’s Gift is that the story was amazingly realistic. The dialogue, the inner issues, the conflicts, the romance, it all read true to life. The main characters struggle with trust and commitment issues and were portrayed naturally. This is a story of a couple just meeting and the author portrays this new relationship wonderfully through their actions and dialogue. You get to see them dating, getting to know each other, the stubbornness of ...more
Marsha Spohn
Reviewed at Keeper Bookshelf

I’ve never hidden the fact that I love anything even remotely related to Marietta, Montana – it is my ideal fictional small town where amazing things happen year round. But I have to confess to being so touched by the very realistic messages I’m finding in The Harlow Brothers series by Kaylie Newell. In a world filled with negativity the Harlows – Tanner, Luke, Judd and their half-sister Maddie – put forth all that is still good, decent and realistically believable to
...more
Emma
Nov 01, 2018 rated it really liked it
Luke’s Gift by Kaylie Newell
After serving in the Army, Luke Harlow returns home in time for the holidays to help his brothers raise their twelve-year-old half-sister. With his new job as Marietta’s police officer, Luke finds himself in the middle of a festive mystery that the entire town will want solved before Christmas morning.
Mary Best is Marietta Courier’s most promising young reporter. When she starts spending time with sexy Luke Harlow to write an article about his heroic military service,
...more
Ayekah
Sep 30, 2018 rated it really liked it
Set in one of my favorite little town's in Montana, this was a great, quick read and made me remember why I love Marietta and Copper Mountain so much.
Luke Harlow is home from 3 tours in Afghanistan and now a local police officer. Mary Best is a reporter for the local news paper, part of her wants to go to NY and do bigger things like her friends form college yet she is set here at home. Especially after she meets Luke who comes to answer a call at the paper dealing with an unhappy customer. Luke
...more
Monique
Review written: November 1, 2018
Star Rating: ★★★★
Heat Rating: ☀☀☼☼☼

An Advanced Reader Copy (ARC) of this book was received free via Netgalley for an honest review.

Luke's Gift hit almost all of my sweet spots: military hero, strong woman, a hint of mystery, a family in crisis, emotionally wounded hero, marshmallow-hearted hero, and such a sweet Christmas story to boot. Wow! I think I was swooning over Luke at the same time as Mary, from the start.

And truthfully, Luke just gets better the lon
...more
Paula
Nov 02, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Kaylie Newell’s latest Tule Publishing Series, The Harlow Brothers is one of my all-time favorites. I could hardly wait for Luke's Gift. It did not disappoint me in the least but sealed t at the top of great family romance series. Nora Robert’s Chesapeake Bay Series held that honor for many years, but I love the Harlow brothers and especially little sister Maddie.

Luke Harlow is just as great of a person as his younger brother, Tanner from Tanner's Promise. How these men turned out so well after
...more
Sandi Ramirez
I love Marietta, Montana! It is my adopted hometown. I have no problem that this town is not real because to me and so many others this town feels real. And one of the reasons that it does is because of authors like Kaylie Newell and her latest book Luke's Gift. Luke is one of 3 brothers who have come home to help raise their half sister after the death of their mom. This is the second book in the Harlow series and I have to say one that had me with feel good goose bumps throughout the entire bo ...more
Sharon Grow
Nov 01, 2018 rated it it was amazing
I really enjoyed this heartwarming romance, not just a holiday romance, but an “any time of the year romance”. Luke Harlow has returned to his home town after serving in the military. He is working as a police officer on the Marietta P.D when he is called to a disturbance at the town paper and meets Mary Best, reporter. There is instant attraction between them, but Mary plans on moving to New York and Luke is still recovering from his time in the military. Mary gets Luke to agree to allow her to ...more
Mia
Luke Harlow has returned home after several tours of duty in Afghanistan. Back to the town that never quite let him forget who his mother was and how he grew up. The town he left at 18 when he joined the Army. He has returned to be back near his brothers and little sister and accepted a position with the sheriff's department as a deputy.

Mary Best grew up near Marietta raised by her divorced parents. Her father is a retired sheriff who trusts no one. And he has forced his belief on his daughter t
...more
Sue
I received this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. I enjoyed this romance that takes place in Marietta Montana. This is book 2 in the series about the Harlow brothers. Luke Harlow has returned from his final tour in Afghanistan to join his brother Tanner and sister Maddie. He takes a job as a police officer in Marietta. As such he meets Mary Best, a reporter with the local newspaper. He is called to the paper office when an irate town person is causing a disturbance. Mary deci ...more
Sarah
Oct 31, 2018 rated it really liked it
Sometimes not knowing can be a blessing and a curse, or at least that is what Mary is faced with when she seeks with the towns help to find out who the Christmas Santa is. I loved the story and the meaning behind this story it was completely heartfelt and it easily put you in the Christmas spirit. I also loved how the author didn't make Christmas all commercialized but showed the heart of Christmas in this story. I loved Maddie when ever she appeared in the story she was a force to recon with, t ...more
Val
Did not see this coming.

Luke's Gift had a promising and entertaining beginning. Luke is back to help Tanner raise their sister, Maddie. He left the army to be a cop and is adjusting to civilian life, which for him doesn't involve falling in love. Unfortunately (fortunately) he meets Mary and sparks fly the instant they start interacting.

In the beginning, I loved Luke and Mary getting to know each other. There were adorable and funny moments that made me think this would be a fantastic love sto
...more
Pam
Oct 14, 2018 rated it really liked it
Loved this story. Luke is a veteran that’s come home to help raise his half-sister. He’s taken a job as a police officer & has a secret he’s keeping. Mary Best is a reporter that is making Luke uncomfortable. She keeps trying to make him out to be a hero & Luke isn’t comfortable with that. Now she’s determined to find out who the town’s Secret Santa is.

I loved Luke’s down to home persona. He doesn’t feel he’s a hero. He was just doing his job. He feels more guilty about what everyone el
...more
Shelagh
Nov 03, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Perfect Christmas reading, Luke’s Gift really brings to the fore the true meaning of Christmas. This story is all about family, love, sharing and giving to those who need it in whatever way you can. It’s heartwarming and utterly charming and I flowed through the pages. Luke is a gorgeous man both physically and within himself but he has some healing to do - his mother had a reputation and he’s wary, worried that people might judge him based on that. Maddie is also gorgeous, warm and generous but ...more
Shari
Nov 04, 2018 rated it it was amazing
A must read this holiday season. Luke has returned home after leaving his military career. He is now a police officer in Marietta. Mary is a local reporter f the town newspaper, wanting to do a story on the home town hero, which Luke does not believe he is one. As Luke and Mary get to know each other, their friendship develops into so much more. Luke is keeping a secret though, but soon the talk around town id , who is the Secret Santa.

Luke is one of my all time favorite book boyfriends. He h
...more
Paula Pugh
Aug 20, 2018 rated it really liked it
The second book in the Harlow Brothers Series introduces Luke Harlow, returned home from the armed forces and working as a Marietta cop. He has seen too much sadness for families and children on his tours of duty that he feels compelled to make some Christmas miracles happen for families of Marietta. With the help of his half-sister, Maddie, they embark on a secret mission to make some Christmas joy for select families.
Meeting Mary Best, Marietta Courier journalist, may blow his cover. He feels
...more
Laura D
Jan 01, 2019 rated it really liked it
Mary is a reporter for the Marietta Courier waiting for her big shot in New York. When Marietta get it's very own Secret Santa she just has to break the story. If she can figure out who is behind the secret gifts to those in need she can write the story she has been waiting for. As she gets involved with Luke, the hometown hero, she not only falls for him she figures out his secret. Will his desire for privacy win out over Mary getting her story? This story is all the journalist in Mary can thin ...more
poppy
Jan 09, 2019 rated it really liked it
Shelves: ng
This is another super read it is the second book in the series and it did not disappoint it was just as good as the first one. After leaving the military and returning home to help raise his sister Luke is now a police officer he meets Mary when she wants to do a story on the town hero but Luke does not see himself that way. I liked that these two start as friends and get to know each other first. This was such a sweet holiday read I really did like it.
Karen
Aug 28, 2018 rated it really liked it
Kaylie Newell is a new to me author and I think plenty of people will fall in love with this novella, Luke's Gift this holiday season. Mary is a reporter who wants to interview Luke, a former soldier and now a new police officer, for a feel good piece during the holiday season. Luke turns her down, but Mary is persistent and they spend some time together. There is also a little mystery as a generous Secret Santa is helping a few people in town who have hit hard times. The story and romance makes ...more
Donnajo
Sep 09, 2018 rated it it was amazing
I voluntarily read a advanced reader's copy of this book

Luke's Gift by Kaylie Newell, a great addition to The Harlow Brothers series, this is book two in the series. This book will get you in the holiday spirit. I loved the character development it was perfect for the storyline. I look forward to seeing what is up next in this series.
Jacki
Nov 05, 2018 rated it it was amazing
4.5☆
I liked it!
I always enjoy revisiting Marietta and its characters.

What I liked:
The writing style
The characters
Maddie
Part of a series: The Harlow Brothers
Standalone
HEA
Epilogue

I look forward to reading the other books in this series.
I voluntarily read and reviewed an ARC from NetGalley.
Deanna Stevens
Nov 12, 2018 rated it liked it
I love sweet, holiday romances! Luke's Gift is just that! Luke and Mary face some issues on their way to love. Me Newell writes well developed characters. A perfect book to read on a weekend for some quiet me time! A thoroughly enjoyabe read!

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for my open and honest opinion!
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
230 followers
Kaylie Newell lives in Southern Oregon with her husband and two daughters. She’s the proud author of over a dozen romances, including the RITA finalist, Christmas at The Graff.

Other books in the series

The Harlow Brothers (3 books)
  • Tanner's Promise (The Harlow Brothers #1)
  • Judd's Vow (The Harlow Brothers #3)