Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Luke's Gift (The Harlow Brothers #2)” as Want to Read:
Luke's Gift (The Harlow Brothers #2)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Luke's Gift

(The Harlow Brothers #2)

by
4.23  ·  Rating details ·  413 ratings  ·  70 reviews
After serving in the Army, Luke Harlow returns home in time for the holidays to help his brothers raise their twelve-year-old half-sister. With his new job as Marietta’s police officer, Luke finds himself in the middle of a festive mystery that the entire town will want solved before Christmas morning.

Mary Best is Marietta Courier’s most promising young reporter. When she
...more
ebook, 113 pages
Published November 1st 2018 by Tule Publishing
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Luke's Gift, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Luke's Gift

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.23  · 
Rating details
 ·  413 ratings  ·  70 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Luke's Gift (The Harlow Brothers #2)
Christine~justlovemybooks.com blog~
4 Stars!

Luke's Gift was a sweet story with likable characters. The premise was a bit predictable but I didn't mind that. Watching Luke and Mary grow into something more than friendship was sweet. I inferred pretty quickly that these two characters would not have an easy time trying to develop anything more than friendship. Yes, there is a bit of angst if you're wondering.

Luke is back from his stint in the military trying to find purpose with his life. He has a job, a home, and his younger brothe
...more
Eva Millien
Nov 03, 2018 rated it really liked it
This holiday romance is a charming and delightful read that would make the Grinch’s heart swell to 100 times in normal size with Christmas spirit. Luke and Mary are two strong, captivating characters that easily draw readers to them as they become caught up in a romance that proves that opposites attract. They both have some emotional issues that readers can’t help but understand to overcome if they want to achieve that happily ever after. The story is fast paced and bit too short, but is full o ...more
Coco.V
Nov 17, 2019 marked it as to-read  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: freebie
🎁 FREE on Amazon today (11/17/2019)! 🎁
Maria
Aug 06, 2018 rated it really liked it
+++ Received an Advance Reader Copy in exchange for a fair review +++
With “Luke’s Gift” Kaylie Newell wrote another fantastic love story, with great characters and a delightful romantic feel. I just adore these wonderfully romantic stories with amazingly honest heroes and heroines.
I loved that the conflict stems from the characters’ inner issues and professional ethics and deontology and not cheating nor other external and/or superficial issues.
Luke is a great hero, so earnest, good and honorab
...more
Elaine
This is such a sweet, festive friends to more romance with Luke Harlow, a caring military veteran who is now a Marietta police officer, and Mary Best, a young reporter, as the main characters. Luke has returned to his home town to help raise his half-sister and it is with her that he is secretly playing Santa by giving amazing gifts to some of the local community who are in need.

Mary is intrigued by Luke and wants to write about his heroic military service but the more she gets to know about thi
...more
Bette Hansen
Nov 04, 2018 rated it really liked it
This sweet small town romance was a great holiday read. Luke Harlow is back in Marietta after his military career ends. Mary Best is a reporter wanting to write a story about Luke's heroic military service. After spending time with Luke and really getting to know him Mary is certain she may have stumbled upon an even better story. Will Mary spill Luke's secret?

This was a very enjoyable read and one I highly recommend.

Tracie R
Oct 28, 2018 added it
Shelves: netgally
4.5 Stars Book 2 in The Harlow Brothers series, Luke’s gift is a wonderful, feel good story that will pull at your heartstrings. Tanner and Mary are great characters, their interaction is real, and the storyline is engaging throughout. I will definitely be recommending and reading more by this author
Karen Roma
Sep 10, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Luke’s Gift is the second book in the Harlow Brothers series and what a wonderful, tear-jerker it is. Kaylie Newell was a new author to me when I decided to read Tanner’s Promise and I have very quickly become an avid fan of her easy writing style and the warmth, emotion and passion she brings to her stories.

This is a feel good story that pulls at the heartstrings and reminds you just how important it is to have a little faith in human nature. Not everyone is perfect, but learning to trust and l
...more
Terri Jones
Nov 23, 2019 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
I'm abandoning this free book at 11%, because the thought of wading through it while bored and/or annoyed is depressing. I've read books with as little plot but far more interest, so it's definitely this writer, not just me. Luckily she's not depending on my approval. :)
Kari
Mar 31, 2020 rated it really liked it
Shelves: audiobook, 2020
This was a very sweet follow-up to Tanner's Promise in the Harlow Brothers series. I enjoyed Luke and Mary's story. The "secret" that Luke had was very heartwarming and one of hope. I loved how he included his little sister in it. I definitely recommend this one.
Carrie
Sep 21, 2018 rated it really liked it
Shelves: keeper, netgalley
I enjoyed Luke’s Gift. I thought Luke made a great hero. I loved how he was playing Secret Santa around the town and including his younger sister to teach her the joys of giving. The love story with the heroine Mary developed quickly but that’s the nature of novellas.

This was my first book by this author and now I want to read about the rest of the Harlow brothers and I hope Mary’s friend gets her own story.

I received a copy through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
Kimberley O'Malley
Dec 10, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: 2019
Loved the community this author built. Excellent read!
SOMDReigel
Sep 10, 2018 rated it it was amazing
The thing that keeps coming back to me after having read Luke’s Gift is that the story was amazingly realistic. The dialogue, the inner issues, the conflicts, the romance, it all read true to life. The main characters struggle with trust and commitment issues and were portrayed naturally. This is a story of a couple just meeting and the author portrays this new relationship wonderfully through their actions and dialogue. You get to see them dating, getting to know each other, the stubbornness of ...more
Manda
Dec 18, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Love

I loved this book and what it represented it's not all about the present it's about the love behind it. It's a beautiful written book one I enjoyed whole heartedly. I loved how he was sharing it with his sister.It was so beautiful at the end
Val
Did not see this coming.

Luke's Gift had a promising and entertaining beginning. Luke is back to help Tanner raise their sister, Maddie. He left the army to be a cop and is adjusting to civilian life, which for him doesn't involve falling in love. Unfortunately (fortunately) he meets Mary and sparks fly the instant they start interacting.

In the beginning, I loved Luke and Mary getting to know each other. There were adorable and funny moments that made me think this would be a fantastic love sto
...more
Marsha Keeper Bookshelf
Reviewed at Keeper Bookshelf

I’ve never hidden the fact that I love anything even remotely related to Marietta, Montana – it is my ideal fictional small town where amazing things happen year round. But I have to confess to being so touched by the very realistic messages I’m finding in The Harlow Brothers series by Kaylie Newell. In a world filled with negativity the Harlows – Tanner, Luke, Judd and their half-sister Maddie – put forth all that is still good, decent and realistically believable to
...more
Emma
Nov 01, 2018 rated it really liked it
Luke’s Gift by Kaylie Newell
After serving in the Army, Luke Harlow returns home in time for the holidays to help his brothers raise their twelve-year-old half-sister. With his new job as Marietta’s police officer, Luke finds himself in the middle of a festive mystery that the entire town will want solved before Christmas morning.
Mary Best is Marietta Courier’s most promising young reporter. When she starts spending time with sexy Luke Harlow to write an article about his heroic military service,
...more
Ayekah
Sep 30, 2018 rated it really liked it
Set in one of my favorite little town's in Montana, this was a great, quick read and made me remember why I love Marietta and Copper Mountain so much.
Luke Harlow is home from 3 tours in Afghanistan and now a local police officer. Mary Best is a reporter for the local news paper, part of her wants to go to NY and do bigger things like her friends form college yet she is set here at home. Especially after she meets Luke who comes to answer a call at the paper dealing with an unhappy customer. Luke
...more
Monique
Review written: November 1, 2018
Star Rating: ★★★★½
Heat Rating: ☀☀☼☼☼

An Advanced Reader Copy (ARC) of this book was received free via Netgalley for an honest review.

Luke's Gift hit almost all of my sweet spots: military hero, strong woman, a hint of mystery, a family in crisis, emotionally wounded hero, marshmallow-hearted hero, and such a sweet Christmas story to boot. Wow! I think I was swooning over Luke at the same time as Mary, from the start.

And truthfully, Luke just gets better the
...more
Paula
Nov 02, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Kaylie Newell’s latest Tule Publishing Series, The Harlow Brothers is one of my all-time favorites. I could hardly wait for Luke's Gift. It did not disappoint me in the least but sealed t at the top of great family romance series. Nora Robert’s Chesapeake Bay Series held that honor for many years, but I love the Harlow brothers and especially little sister Maddie.

Luke Harlow is just as great of a person as his younger brother, Tanner from Tanner's Promise. How these men turned out so well after
...more
Mia
Luke Harlow has returned home after several tours of duty in Afghanistan. Back to the town that never quite let him forget who his mother was and how he grew up. The town he left at 18 when he joined the Army. He has returned to be back near his brothers and little sister and accepted a position with the sheriff's department as a deputy.

Mary Best grew up near Marietta raised by her divorced parents. Her father is a retired sheriff who trusts no one. And he has forced his belief on his daughter t
...more
Sharon Grow
Nov 01, 2018 rated it it was amazing
I really enjoyed this heartwarming romance, not just a holiday romance, but an “any time of the year romance”. Luke Harlow has returned to his home town after serving in the military. He is working as a police officer on the Marietta P.D when he is called to a disturbance at the town paper and meets Mary Best, reporter. There is instant attraction between them, but Mary plans on moving to New York and Luke is still recovering from his time in the military. Mary gets Luke to agree to allow her to ...more
Sandi Ramirez
I love Marietta, Montana! It is my adopted hometown. I have no problem that this town is not real because to me and so many others this town feels real. And one of the reasons that it does is because of authors like Kaylie Newell and her latest book Luke's Gift. Luke is one of 3 brothers who have come home to help raise their half sister after the death of their mom. This is the second book in the Harlow series and I have to say one that had me with feel good goose bumps throughout the entire bo ...more
Suzanne Walding
Nov 27, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
An Author's Gift

All the characters were real, because we all know people like them. The worse thing about living in a small country town is that everyone knows your business. The best thing about living in that same town? Everyone knows your business. The two main characters were like the majority of us, not perfect, but good caring people. A couple attracted to each other but due to their different experiences, wary of the strength of that attraction. The romance is about chemistry, not lust, a
...more
Sue
I received this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. I enjoyed this romance that takes place in Marietta Montana. This is book 2 in the series about the Harlow brothers. Luke Harlow has returned from his final tour in Afghanistan to join his brother Tanner and sister Maddie. He takes a job as a police officer in Marietta. As such he meets Mary Best, a reporter with the local newspaper. He is called to the paper office when an irate town person is causing a disturbance. Mary deci ...more
Sarah
Oct 31, 2018 rated it really liked it
Sometimes not knowing can be a blessing and a curse, or at least that is what Mary is faced with when she seeks with the towns help to find out who the Christmas Santa is. I loved the story and the meaning behind this story it was completely heartfelt and it easily put you in the Christmas spirit. I also loved how the author didn't make Christmas all commercialized but showed the heart of Christmas in this story. I loved Maddie when ever she appeared in the story she was a force to recon with, t ...more
Kelly DeMarco
Nov 23, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Humble hero and the sweetest sleuth

Luke's Gift (The Harlow Brothers Book 2) by Kaylie Newell is all the things I love about a holiday romance; wonderful characters, former military, holiday cheer, small town charm, heat and heart.
The hero, Luke is a private person and just wants to stay under the radar while he adjusts to civilian life. Mary is contemplating the comfort and familiarity of home versus an exciting journalist life in NYC. These two seem to be on opposing sides of the spectrum, when
...more
Pam
Oct 14, 2018 rated it really liked it
Loved this story. Luke is a veteran that’s come home to help raise his half-sister. He’s taken a job as a police officer & has a secret he’s keeping. Mary Best is a reporter that is making Luke uncomfortable. She keeps trying to make him out to be a hero & Luke isn’t comfortable with that. Now she’s determined to find out who the town’s Secret Santa is.

I loved Luke’s down to home persona. He doesn’t feel he’s a hero. He was just doing his job. He feels more guilty about what everyone else is go
...more
Shelagh
Nov 03, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Perfect Christmas reading, Luke’s Gift really brings to the fore the true meaning of Christmas. This story is all about family, love, sharing and giving to those who need it in whatever way you can. It’s heartwarming and utterly charming and I flowed through the pages. Luke is a gorgeous man both physically and within himself but he has some healing to do - his mother had a reputation and he’s wary, worried that people might judge him based on that. Maddie is also gorgeous, warm and generous but ...more
Shari
Nov 04, 2018 rated it it was amazing
A must read this holiday season. Luke has returned home after leaving his military career. He is now a police officer in Marietta. Mary is a local reporter f the town newspaper, wanting to do a story on the home town hero, which Luke does not believe he is one. As Luke and Mary get to know each other, their friendship develops into so much more. Luke is keeping a secret though, but soon the talk around town id , who is the Secret Santa.

Luke is one of my all time favorite book boyfriends. He h
...more
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Christmas Challenge (The Wilder Brothers #3)
  • A Marvell Country Christmas (Men of the Marvell Ranch #2)
  • A Hummingbird Christmas (Glacier Creek)
  • Falling for the Firefighter (The Summer Sisters, #5)
  • A Small Town Christmas (Four Irish Brothers Winery, #1)
  • Cowboys Don't Stay (Code of the West #3; Tanner Brothers #3)
  • A Christmas Wish (Sapphire Bay, #3)
  • Doctor for Christmas (Marietta Medical, #3)
  • Christmas Lights and Cowboy Nights (Marshall Ranch, #3)
  • Their Christmas Miracle (Charity, Montana #2)
  • Her Christmas Cowboy (Copper Mountain Christmas #5; The Scott Brothers of Montana #5)
  • The Cowboy Next Door (Once Upon a Western Book 3)
  • His Christmas Wish (Mountain Rescue Romance, #1)
  • A Mistletoe Kiss
  • Mistletoe Kisses (Northstar Holidays, #1)
  • Wild for You (Riding Tall 2 Book 4)
  • A Son for the Texas Cowboy (The Texas Wolf Brothers #1)
  • Resisting Fate (Happy Endings Book Club, #7)
See similar books…
240 followers
Kaylie Newell lives in Southern Oregon with her husband and two daughters. She’s the proud author of over a dozen romances, including the RITA® finalists, Christmas at The Graff and Tanner’s Promise.

Other books in the series

The Harlow Brothers (3 books)
  • Tanner's Promise (The Harlow Brothers #1)
  • Judd's Vow (The Harlow Brothers #3)

Related Articles

Pitched for fans of Jane the Virgin and The Kiss Quotient, Alexis Daria’s newest novel, You Had Me at Hola , goes behind the scenes of a fiction...
9 likes · 2 comments