Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Marooned: Jamestown, Shipwreck, and a New History of America’s Origin” as Want to Read:
Marooned: Jamestown, Shipwreck, and a New History of America’s Origin
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Marooned: Jamestown, Shipwreck, and a New History of America’s Origin

by
4.04  ·  Rating details ·  97 ratings  ·  22 reviews
For readers of Nathaniel Philbrick's Mayflower, a groundbreaking history that makes the case for replacing Plymouth Rock with Jamestown as America's founding myth.

We all know the great American origin story: It begins with an exodus. Fleeing religious persecution, the hardworking, pious Pilgrims thrived in the wilds of New England, where they built their fabled “shining
...more
Kindle Edition, 513 pages
Published October 30th 2018 by Bloomsbury Publishing
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Marooned, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Marooned

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.04  · 
Rating details
 ·  97 ratings  ·  22 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Marooned: Jamestown, Shipwreck, and a New History of America’s Origin
John Gaudet
Nov 14, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Marooned is a fascinating read full of the basic information about what really happened in the First American Colony. One of the more dramatic things I learned in passing from this book was that Powhattan’s real name was Wahunsonacock and that he was the paramount chief of Tsenacomoco, an alliance of Algonquian-speaking Virginia Indians in the Tidewater region of Virginia at the time English settlers landed in the Jamestown Colony. Also, I had no idea that John Smith led such an adventurous life ...more
David
Jan 26, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
A well researched, engrossing account of the early attempts at American colonization in Jamestown. Removing the usual mythology, author Joseph Kelly, brings the settlement, the surrounding areas and it's various occupants to life in clear, sometimes gruesome detail. For everyone interested in early colonial history.
"As in Jamestown, the truly American story is the lives of the discontents. We need to discard that image of a city shining on a hill, because it is populated by a pure and
...more
Vic Lauterbach
Jun 07, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This thorough study of the first English settlements on the James River is vivid and enlightening. Kelley's thesis that we must look beyond the few leaders identified in the firsthand accounts to see the impact of the larger population of unknown commoners is fascinating and leads to a richer and deeper understanding of the origins of American society. The mostly nameless commoners, or 'maroons' as Kelley dubs them, form the bedrock of his narrative even though the voices belong to men of ...more
Lewis Millholland
Feb 23, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Correcting popular misconceptions of history comes with a bonus prize: snobbish self-gratification. Oh, you still think Christopher Columbus was a hero? You think the Civil War was about state’s rights? It feels good to correct someone — even a hypothetical someone — who’s wrong.

There is value in corrections where corrections are due, no doubt. But as Kelly sets the record straight along the way in Marooned, he does something wholly remarkable: he doesn’t revel in it. “Chief Powhatan,” father of
...more
Nancy Kennedy
Nov 15, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Author Joseph Kelly tells a unique story about the origin of our country. In school, we learn about Jamestown and Plymouth, but it's pretty much always the story of the quest for religious freedom. Mr. Kelly widens the lens to bring into focus the idea of the "marooned" -- those who made it to shore, but whose overriding desire was for freedom of commerce and freedom of destiny, even freedom from the prevailing religion. The "maroons," he calls them.

The early colonies were funded by corporations
...more
Fred Svoboda
May 02, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Forget the idea mentioned in the blurb that Jamestown rather than Plymouth was the real origin of America. That's probably publisher's hype, and there is plenty of room for both origin stories. I sometimes teach many of the underlying documents that Kelly is making reference to, and the really interesting part of this history is his explication of the ways in which new conditions in the New World were leading English settlers away from ideas of hereditary nobility and privilege to something more ...more
North Landesman
Dec 05, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: history, non-fiction
Fascinating description of what a 1600s shipwreck was like, and the founding of the United States from the point of view of the common man. "The real origin of America is not embodied in the myth we cherish of the Pilgrims. It resides in the lives of innkeepers, the servants who drank and the inns, and the diggers-up-of roots, the card players, the fornicators, those who trucked with Indians, the defiers of tyranny, the idlers, the disobedient, the victims of witch hunters, the deserters and ...more
Tripp
Apr 14, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
A very enjoyable and educational book. Kelly points to Jamestown as a key component of American national identity as it is a place where settlers were forced to reconsider their previously accepted feudal relationships with their lords and leaders. Some found ways to create new societies with the local Native Americans, others disappeared into the woods. The new reality provided means to create evolved political units. While the powers that be eventually curtailed these early experiments, the ...more
Julie Barrett
Marooned, Jamestown, shipwreck, and a new history of America's origin by Kelly_ Joseph
About the author and a summary of the book.
Starts with the ship and the storm as they are heading west, 1611.
7 ships have left England in 1609 for virginia. Lots of notes that are referenced but not included in this audio tape.
ust want to hear the story-not the notes. So much more it focuses on: shakesphre, JFK, etc
I received this book from National Library Service for my BARD (Braille Audio Reading Device).
David Britten
May 08, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
While exceptionally detailed, the language and sentence structure used by the author made reading difficult. The inclusion of many tribal and individual Native American names, without pronunciation guides when first introduced, made the reading cumbersome and somewhat difficult to keep up a reading pace. However, I found the subject interesting enough that I will likely revisit it through Audible.
Jules
Nov 09, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Grabbed off the public library shelf on a whim. Good writing, too few maps, timely topic both for time of year and state of politics. Gives an entirely more believable slant on Jamestown and the founding of this country than pious pilgrims and sanctimonious preachers -- especially given how slavery so often gets ignored or "explained." Very grateful to have happened upon it.
Lynda
Oct 31, 2019 rated it liked it
Shelves: history, genealogy
I admit to skimming this book as for me, it is research re my Jamestown ancestors. I believe it does pull information from sources not easily accessible. However, I did not find anything immediately useful. However, will check this out again from Kindle Unlimited when I'm doing more in-depth research on Jamestown.
Bruce Stopher
Nov 09, 2019 rated it really liked it
Quite enjoyable, up to the end

I love historical books and this one did not let me down. I appreciate how the authors wove in other pieces of history to give a better overall understanding. I'm not sure the author needed to interpret things at the end of the book.
Bill
Aug 18, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
"Marooned" turns most of the myths surrounding our founding on their heads. The cruelty of the early 17th Century is hard to bear at times, but hard truths make good lessons. Every serious student of American history should read this book.
Stephen Graham
I appreciated the attention paid to the native communities in the story of Jamestown. Detail on the Sea Venture wreck on Bermuda was new information as well. The argument that the experience of the company-driven mess that was Jamestown informed the creation of the Mayflower Compact is interesting but needed more depth to it. This should be a three-and-a-half star review.
Larry
Dec 01, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: read-in-2019
One of the most interesting and well crafted books I've read this year. Will definitely use to reshape my early American history lecture.
Theresa
Nov 24, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This is an amazingly fresh look at the history we all think we know.
Susan McGilvray
Jan 05, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Fascinating! It is a miracle anyone survived Jamestown...or our early leaders (except John Smith - total superhero...)
John
Oct 13, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
To paraphrase George W. Bush, "this is some dark shit."
Will
May 27, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
It lags a bit in the middle, but I liked the detailed history of Jamestown, and the view from the common sort.
Tony Defarlo
Feb 27, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Makes Jamestown come alive. A different angle on the typical story. Kelly writes a deeply sympathetic plausible account.
Cook Memorial Public Library
A 2018 staff favorite recommended by Ellen J. Check our catalog: https://encore.cooklib.org/iii/encore...
cathy kauffman-nearhoof
rated it it was amazing
Nov 01, 2019
John Daly
rated it really liked it
Dec 07, 2019
Dianne Marcotte
rated it liked it
Mar 21, 2019
Deane
rated it really liked it
Feb 07, 2019
James
rated it it was amazing
May 03, 2019
Frank Mapes
rated it really liked it
Dec 22, 2018
Jim
rated it really liked it
Feb 11, 2019
« previous 1 3 4 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • In the Hurricane's Eye: The Genius of George Washington and the Victory at Yorktown
  • 1619: Jamestown and the Forging of American Democracy
  • Black Flags, Blue Waters: The Epic History of America's Most Notorious Pirates
  • The Secret Token: Myth, Obsession, and the Search for the Lost Colony of Roanoke
  • The Pioneers: The Heroic Story of the Settlers Who Brought the American Ideal West
  • American Moonshot: John F. Kennedy and the Great Space Race
  • The Body: A Guide for Occupants
  • Frederick Douglass: Prophet of Freedom
  • Heirs of the Founders: The Epic Rivalry of Henry Clay, John Calhoun and Daniel Webster, the Second Generation of American Giants
  • Young Washington: How Wilderness and War Forged America's Founding Father
  • The Book of General Ignorance
  • Henry VIII and the Men Who Made Him: The Secret History Behind the Tudor Throne
  • Camelot's End: Kennedy vs. Carter and the Fight that Broke the Democratic Party
  • Toil & Trouble
  • Churchill: Walking with Destiny
  • When a Marquis Chooses a Bride (The Worthingtons, #2)
  • The Girl with the Sweetest Secret (Sin and Sensibility, #2)
  • A Lady's Guide to Ruin (Birch Hall Romance, #1)
See similar books…