Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Degrading Orbits (Darkside Earther #2)” as Want to Read:
Degrading Orbits (Darkside Earther #2)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Degrading Orbits

(Darkside Earther #2)

by
4.36  ·  Rating details ·  14 ratings  ·  13 reviews
Dragged out of the void, bleeding nanotech and surfing the EM winds, nothing can prepare Axel for what's next. He needs to get his head on straight, but what he's offered is a run through an intelligent forty-one thousand kilometer jungle while being chased by political nutjobs in an invasionary war.

The Earth is invading the Ring and it's now bringing live bodies and not
...more
Paperback, 218 pages
Published July 19th 2018 by Independently Published (first published January 2018)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Degrading Orbits, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Degrading Orbits

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-44
4.36  · 
Rating details
 ·  14 ratings  ·  13 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Bradley
May 11, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2018-shelf
A little love, more war, assassins, intelligent jungles using the noosphere, and a really big bang. It's HERE!

The other Amazon carries it in both paperback and Kindle:
Link

or

https://www.amazon.com/Degrading-Orbi...


For all you wonderful people who read and reviewed my other books, message me directly if you would like a complimentary copy of this book. :)



I am very pleased with how this turned out. I leveled up. I also followed my heart, kinda bled for this novel. I decided to go all out with th
...more
Sean Gibson
Sep 04, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
(I’m friends with the author on GR, but that didn’t affect my review.)

One time when I was at a modern art museum (we’ll leave the museum nameless to protect the innocent, or at least those who get their knickers in a knot if you have the temerity to suggest that a sculpture built from used condoms and cornflakes is NOT art, modern or otherwise), I was staring at a large, particularly provocative canvas whose paint pattern suggested the possibility that someone had taken a cat the size of a Buick
...more
Paul E. Morph
Monitor your dust for incoming bunnies...

Full disclosure: I am friends with the author on Goodreads. He'd be the first to tell you this has in no way influenced my reviews of his work.

If you could somehow splice the literary DNA of Ernest Cline, Frank Herbert, Iain M. Banks and William Gibson you might get a Frankenstein's monster of a writer that produced work resembling that of Bradley Horner.

Horner's work is a breath of fresh air in today's SF field; fast-paced, action-packed, highly intellig
...more
Trish
Jul 29, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
The usual disclaimer, this time at the begining of the review: I know the author personally but although we are friends and I received a free copy of this book, I was in no way influenced when giving this rating / writing this review.

4.5 stars

In this second installment of the Darside Earther series, we follow Axel immediately after the events of the previous book. He's wounded, barely alive in fact, and becomes a pawn on the political chessboard immediately after his rescue. Or is he more than t
...more
Justin Roberts
Sep 26, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Much better than the other books. Highly recommended if you're a fan of Frank Herbert or Isaac Asimov. I'm sure you'll enjoy the whole series.
Scott Hale
Jul 18, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I was given an eBook copy of the novel by the author in exchange for a fair and honest review.

This is no slight against the first book in the series, Darkside Earther (which I also enjoyed), but immediately upon starting Degrading Orbits (which is an awesome name) I was struck by how much Horner's prose (which was already great) had improved. It just felt... better. There appeared to be more weight behind his words, more confidence. Horner appeared to know what exactly what he wanted to do and h
...more
Ivana Books Are Magic
I liked Degrading Orbits, but not as much as the first novel in the series. The story takes off from where Darkside Earther finishes and I was very excited to follow the story from there. Our protagonist Axel ventures into the Jungle (another very interesting concept, I don't want to explain it because it might be a spoiler). However, the Jungle is also where my reading problems started. I didn't like his "squad", these bodyguards/action figures seemed to land into that world from some Hollywood ...more
Andy
Oct 07, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: science-fiction
I was just talking about how much of a slog I had in a prior book. This book was not like that. I had to tell myself to slow down.. Slow down Andy, it's going to end, you need to enjoy it.. NOOOO.. flipflipflipflip.. NOOOOOO.... WHAT DO YOU MEAN ITS ENDING HERE?

Yea. I got a bit involved.

It was a blast though. This book evolves quite nicely where it's predecessor leaves off. Axel is thrust further into events out of his control and the rest of the world that is on his side is trying to help him,
...more
Andrew Hiller
Dec 17, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Following the path of Ender's Game and Ready Player One, Brad Horner's Darkside Earther series is a book which lives both in the virtual and real world that attempts to answer several pressing modern questions:
What is reality?
Is our social media experience, especially our virtual friendships, less real/valuable than our physical ones?
What would we do if we could act/manipulate the world in real life as we do in games?

Okay, to the book itself. It's a fun and richly written book that delights i
...more
Hobart
Nov 23, 2018 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2018-reads
This originally appeared at The Irresponsible Reader.
---
So, in each of the three books by Horner that I've read, he throws his readers deep into a technologically-enhanced future that requires a very specialized vocabulary. The books are chock full of what I'll be calling SF hooptedoodle, which is cool -- it can be intimidating at times, it can be overwhelming at times, but it suits his fiction well. Now, in Darkside Earther (this book's predecessor), Horner told a sweet teen love story surroun
...more
Sean-Paul Thomas
Thanks to Bradley for letting me enjoy the 2nd installment of his book. I really enjoyed this epic sci-fi adventure. The world building yet again is fantastic, even more so than the first book because the main charter is thrown head first into a real world now rather than the virtual one he is familiar and comfortable with. There's a good pace to this story too. Full of action and violence and suspense with another great cliffhanger at the end. My only gripe is that I wish we could have had more ...more
T.J. Zakreski
Nov 18, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Imagine if you will an average table of millennials out for a meal, casually conversing with each other and interacting with their surroundings, but also connecting with each other and a wider ambit of friends through texting and avatars in virtual reality games. Throw a quantum physics bomb into this scene and make all the external devises disappear into augmented connected brains as well as the line between virtual and real, and you’ll begin to see the world that Horner has imagined for us. I ...more
Belinda Lewis
Dec 22, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Complex and engaging world-building and great social commentary but with a slightly darker and more grownup vibe than the first book (both of which I wholeheartedly approve of).
hIpnoticraQs
marked it as to-read
Jan 18, 2018
Linda Cooper
marked it as to-read
Jan 26, 2018
Jody
marked it as to-read
Jan 29, 2018
Sarah
marked it as to-read
Jan 31, 2018
Logan Keys
marked it as to-read
Feb 03, 2018
Jay Collins
marked it as to-read
Feb 06, 2018
Len Evans Jr
marked it as to-read
Feb 28, 2018
Laurita  Mizz
marked it as to-read
Mar 19, 2018
Paige
marked it as to-read
Mar 19, 2018
Moon
marked it as to-read
May 02, 2018
Josh
marked it as to-read
May 11, 2018
Mary Hopkins
marked it as to-read
May 11, 2018
Bee
marked it as to-read
May 27, 2018
Holly
marked it as to-read
May 31, 2018
Eric
marked it as to-read
Jul 20, 2018
Eliatan
is currently reading it
Jul 26, 2018
Thomas
marked it as to-read
Jul 30, 2018
Cassie
marked it as to-read
Jul 31, 2018
Tracy
marked it as to-read
Aug 13, 2018
Ivi
marked it as to-read
Aug 22, 2018
Rachael
marked it as to-read
Sep 05, 2018
Kim
marked it as to-read
Sep 07, 2018
Bárbara
marked it as to-read
Sep 10, 2018
Rosemary Standeven
marked it as to-read
Sep 11, 2018
Lala
marked it as to-read
Sep 16, 2018
Henrick Palsson
marked it as to-read
Sep 22, 2018
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
2,490 followers
Writer, reader, reviewer, novelist.

Science Fiction and Fantasy and Horror are my passions, but what really gets me going is the Weird stuff. The creative stuff. The enormous OMG what did I just read stuff.

I'm stubborn. An artist. I'm not giving up or giving in. I've read a TON and write as much.


https://danrymes.blogspot.com/
https://www.patreon.com/arctunn
https://www.facebook.com/arctunn/

And new,
...more

Other books in the series

Darkside Earther (2 books)
  • Darkside Earther  (Darkside Earther #1)