Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “That's What Friends Do” as Want to Read:
That's What Friends Do
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

That's What Friends Do

by
4.53  ·  Rating details ·  17 ratings  ·  10 reviews
A heartfelt and powerful debut novel for fans of Erin Entrada Kelly and John David Anderson, That’s What Friends Do is a book for anyone learning how to have the hard conversations about feelings, boundaries, and what it means to be a true friend.

Samantha Goldstein and David Fisher have been friends ever since they met on their town’s Little League baseball team. But whe
...more
Hardcover
Expected publication: March 3rd 2020 by HarperCollins (first published January 28th 2020)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about That's What Friends Do, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about That's What Friends Do

Community Reviews

Showing 1-47
Average rating 4.53  · 
Rating details
 ·  17 ratings  ·  10 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of That's What Friends Do
Tanya
Sep 11, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Wow. This book is exactly what I needed when I was in 5th-6th grade. Cathleen Barnhart touches on much needed themes such as #metoo, consent, bullying, harmful gossiping, outgrowing friendships, female camaraderie, toxic masculinity—all laid out on the page with sensitivity and nuance. The story is told in alternating POVs, between Sammie and David—best friends torn apart by Luke, a new boy in school and an incident on the school bus. The alternating POVs really work in showing how one single ac ...more
Arianne Costner
Aug 27, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Literally could not put this one down! Teenage me would’ve loved this, and adult me did as well! There’s lots of exciting drama/misunderstandings, and the characters feel so real they jump right off the page.

The alternating point of view works great to show how both characters see the same situations in such different ways. No one is vilified, rather, we are able to see where things went wrong and what should have been done to fix it. Lots of complexity and depth. This is such a timely book, an
...more
Jennifer Davids
Aug 07, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I loved this book! As a middle school educator, I have been waiting for a book that will open a conversation about consent and boundaries. This book does this so well for younger teens, but also goes deeper in to the implications of our actions on our friends and loved ones. By offering alternating perspectives of two narrators, Sammie and David, it is also easy for the reader to see how misunderstandings between friends get started and perpetuated. A secondary story line focuses on the kids' st ...more
Ms. Yingling
Oct 16, 2019 rated it liked it
E ARC provided by Edelweiss Plus

Sammie and David have been good friends ever since the girls in her class started avoiding Sammie because she didn't share their growing interest in clothes and makeup. Sammie has even gone so far as to play baseball instead of softball, mainly because her father doesn't think that softball is a "real" sport. When Luke moves to town, David's mother makes him hang out with the new boy. David is intrigued by Luke's ease with girls, especially since David
...more
Olivia Wildenstein
Oct 20, 2019 rated it it was amazing
An important story about friendship between boys and girls at the delicate start of teenage-hood.

I really enjoyed how this story was told. David and Sammie were great characters with interesting POVs that both me and my kids could relate to.

Barnhart does a great job of adding dabs of everyday life to make a hard subject (#metoo) more palatable.
Katrina Feraco
Sep 18, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Cathleen Barnhart has written an engaging, moving story about two friends, Sammie and David, who have played baseball together all their lives and whose friendship dynamic is shattered when a new kid, Luke, joins their school. David, an insecure, artistic boy with a crush on Sammie, feels like he needs to emulate charismatic, would-be playboy Luke, whose forward advances and aggressive harassment (which he and the other boys see as "flirting") make Sammie deeply uncomfortable. Grown ups and even ...more
Celesta Rimington
Sep 27, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: middle-grade
I was lucky enough to read an Advance Edition of this book, and I wish it had been available when I was twelve. Cathleen Barnhart has written an important and tender story about friendship, boundaries, seeing things from another's perspective, and finding your voice even when it's difficult. For anyone who has had (a) #metoo experience(s), there is understanding and validation within these pages. Cathleen shows the truth of growing up and navigating challenges that arise within families and amon ...more
Risa Nyman
Oct 02, 2019 rated it it was amazing
That’s What Friends Do is the perfect coming of age story for today’s tweens. Cathleen Barnhart has tackled the heavy issue of me-too encounters in a poignant and realistic way as it impacts middle school kids. The confusion that comes from innocence and insecurity is heart-wrenching. Ms. Barnhart’s brilliant decision to write this story in both a girl’s and a boy’s point of view makes it even more compelling and important.

This story isn’t simple. Its twists and its unpredictability make it imp
...more
Karen
Aug 22, 2019 rated it it was amazing
This is a beautifully written story that felt quite real to me. The characters are likable and each struggles in their own way to navigate an increasingly complicated world. Because it is written from alternating points of view, it is easy to understand how the situation between Sammie and David develops. I was hooked from the first page!
Laurie Bass
Aug 07, 2019 rated it it was amazing
A great read and a relevant story. I couldn't put it down. These kids, their attitudes and their problems are so real. When I finished reading it, I started reading it again, because the writing is so delicious and it was fun to look at the character development and the unfolding events through the lens of 20-20 hindsight.
Aviva
rated it it was amazing
Aug 06, 2019
ANDREA RITCHIN
rated it it was amazing
Aug 06, 2019
Kate
rated it liked it
Jul 20, 2019
Peter
rated it it was amazing
Jun 08, 2019
Esther
rated it it was amazing
Jul 30, 2019
Jacob
rated it it was amazing
Sep 30, 2019
Rob Hair
rated it did not like it
Oct 13, 2019
Sara Grochowski
marked it as to-read
Sep 14, 2018
Noa  Sperber
marked it as to-read
Nov 02, 2018
Elise
added it
Apr 29, 2019
Claire Swinarski
marked it as to-read
Jun 12, 2019
Amanda Sellet
marked it as to-read
Jun 12, 2019
Jennifer Moffett
marked it as to-read
Jun 12, 2019
Kate O'Shaughnessy
marked it as to-read
Jun 12, 2019
Regina King
marked it as to-read
Jun 13, 2019
Ellen
marked it as to-read
Jun 21, 2019
James Bird
marked it as to-read
Jun 21, 2019
Jessica Rinker
marked it as to-read
Jun 21, 2019
Josh
marked it as to-read
Jun 21, 2019
Erin
marked it as to-read
Jun 21, 2019
Jennifer
marked it as to-read
Jun 21, 2019
Kaela Noel
marked it as to-read
Jun 21, 2019
Amy Parks
marked it as to-read
Jun 21, 2019
Rebecca
marked it as to-read
Jun 21, 2019
Sujin P.
marked it as to-read
Jun 25, 2019
Suzanne Park
marked it as to-read
Jun 25, 2019
Jennifer Lacey Neset
marked it as to-read
Jun 26, 2019
Chris Negron
marked it as to-read
Jun 30, 2019
Prerna Pickett
marked it as to-read
Jun 30, 2019
J.L. Esplin
marked it as to-read
Jun 30, 2019
Lorien Lawrence
marked it as to-read
Jul 01, 2019
Betty Culley
marked it as to-read
Jul 01, 2019
Afoma Umesi
marked it as to-read
Jul 05, 2019
Megan
marked it as to-read
Jul 06, 2019
Kristin Lambert
is currently reading it
Jul 08, 2019
Amanda
marked it as to-read
Jul 09, 2019
MayorEmma
marked it as to-read
Jul 13, 2019
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »