Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Repo Virtual” as Want to Read:
Repo Virtual
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Repo Virtual

by
3.83  ·  Rating details ·  18 ratings  ·  14 reviews
The city of Neo Songdo is a Russian doll of realities augmented and virtual spaces anchored in the weight of the real. The smart city is designed to be read by machine vision while people see only the augmented facade of the corporate ideal. At night the stars are obscured by an intergalactic virtual war being waged by millions of players, while on the streets below ...more
Kindle Edition, 352 pages
Expected publication: April 21st 2020 by Tor.com
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Repo Virtual, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Repo Virtual

Community Reviews

Showing 1-47
Average rating 3.83  · 
Rating details
 ·  18 ratings  ·  14 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Repo Virtual
Rachel (TheShadesofOrange)
Feb 05, 2020 rated it really liked it
Shelves: science-fiction
Full review to come closer to the release date at the request of the publisher.

(But, hint, I really enjoyed this one)

Disclaimer: I received a digital copy from the publisher, Tor.com
Sana
Jul 25, 2018 marked it as anti-library
Shelves: arcs
SCREAMING

-------------------------

COREY J. WHITE WRITING A FULL-LENGTH NOVEL ABOUT A CYBERPUNK HEIST TAKING PLACE IN REAL AND VIRTUAL REALITIES IN THE HUNT FOR A TRUE AI ASLDFKGHAS I CANNOT EVEN.
Jason Pettus
Nov 18, 2019 rated it liked it
Shelves: contemporary, dark, sci-fi
The most frustrating thing about being a fan of a genre publisher, like I am with the science-fiction press Tor, is that for every amazing book they put out, we have to wade through ten mediocre ones, designed mostly for hardcore superfans who burn through a book a day and therefore have a much lower standard of quality than we do, essentially the literary equivalent of bingeing an entire season of Law & Order over a weekend because we're too lazy to get off the couch, and the show provides ...more
Kyra Leseberg (Roots & Reads)
Feb 12, 2020 rated it liked it
Shelves: arc
The city of Songdo blurs the line between virtual reality and the real; a smart city designed to be viewed through a rig with all the trademarks of a corporate facade, complete with plenty of advertisements.
The population steals and hustles on the streets to survive while the Zero Corporation continues to control the world, both virtual and real.

Julius Dax (JD) is an online repoman trying to make ends meet.  In need of enough money to cover a knee surgery and pay off debts, JD can't turn down a
...more
Julie
Feb 29, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
If youve read the Philip K Dick story where the guy has to swipe his way out of his own apartment, conning the AI into extending him enough credit to use his own john and thought, oh yeah, thats exactly how the futures gonna be, then youll understand when I say that White has built one of the most realistic futures Ive ever read. Every scene is grounded and alive with sensory details that arent cynical, tropey, or preachy. They are absolutely believable and sensible and never separate from the ...more
Jameson
Apr 02, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Corey J, White, the author behind the Voidwitch Saga, brings an exciting and interesting cyberpunk world for readers to enjoy. Augmented Reality and other virtual technologies take center stage in this heist/escapism novel, and the main characters are full of idealism and philosophy, which are both questioned heavily in this book, which I particularly enjoyed. This title is chock-full of cyberpunk and science fiction tropes, but does just enough to stand out on its own. In addition, White does a ...more
keikii Eats Books
Apr 04, 2020 rated it really liked it
A very interesting world with a diverse cast of characters and an interesting story. Longer review to come soon.

ARC received from Tor Books on Edelweiss. This did not affect my review. Thank you!

To read more reviews like this, check out my blog keikii eats books!
Ernest
Mar 14, 2020 rated it really liked it
If this was the book William Gibson had written instead of Agency, we'd be saying he's back at his best. But, no, it's a debut novel by Corey J. White, and he's got his own voice and his own vision. You can see where others have influenced him, Gibson, Stephenson, Kim Stanley Robinson, and that guy who wrote Ready Player One (Ernest Cline). If I had to list four cyberpunkish books you had to read, I'd probably give you Neuromancer, Snowcrash, Equations of Life (Simon Morden), and now...Repo ...more
kortnireads
Apr 04, 2020 rated it liked it
Shelves: arcs, 2020-reads
Thank you to Tor for my first ARC!

Sci-fi, cyber-punk, heist centered action. Overall, I found the writing to be nicely done, but lacking in character development. This is especially seen with the main "villains" of the story. They did not feel very credible or threatening. I think the lack of connection to the characters was a major component to my lowering of my rating. They preformed their roles as characters and that felt like that was all. Oddly enough, I was most connected to the AI system
...more
Victoria
Feb 25, 2020 rated it it was amazing
An online and real life semi handicapped repo man, a lethal assassin hired by a corporation, and a drink the kool-aid cult are going after a stolen agi for their own agendas in a multicultural Asian future city overlapped with virtual reality.

Fast paced, fun, and emotional. I felt fully immersed into this world and it broke me down a few times. I left this book a bit depressed, happy, and hungry for fried rice.

Fans of Ready Player One, Neal Stephenson, and players of CyberPunk will really
...more
Lucy
A fast-paced, dystopian tale set in a multicultural city with augmented virtual reality. A high-tech heist & lethal investigation are coupled with fascinating questions about what it means to be alive.
Shannon (enchantedfiction)
I received an eARC of Repo Virtual from NetGalley for an honest review. This review will be posted closer to the release date, April 21st!
Imogene
Review to come when my brain can cope
Deven
rated it liked it
Jan 25, 2020
Gregg Headrick
rated it liked it
Mar 12, 2020
Turi
rated it really liked it
Oct 20, 2019
Celeste Thayer
rated it really liked it
Jan 17, 2020
Andrew
rated it really liked it
Feb 10, 2020
Adri
marked it as to-read
Jul 25, 2018
Victoria Hainsworth
marked it as to-read
Jul 25, 2018
Meg (fairy.bookmother)
marked it as to-read
Jul 25, 2018
Ladyseraph14
marked it as to-read
Jul 25, 2018
Crini
added it
Jul 25, 2018
Eric Taft
marked it as to-read
Jul 25, 2018
Tori
marked it as to-read
Jul 25, 2018
Jenna
marked it as to-read
Jul 25, 2018
Lainy122
marked it as to-read
Jul 26, 2018
Monza Murcatto
marked it as to-read
Jul 27, 2018
Kiera
marked it as to-read
Aug 01, 2018
Jessica Smith
marked it as to-read
Aug 03, 2018
Matt
marked it as to-read
Aug 09, 2018
Chelsies Crazy4Books
marked it as to-read
Aug 16, 2018
Bryan
marked it as to-read
Aug 30, 2018
T
marked it as to-read
Sep 03, 2018
Michael
marked it as to-read
Sep 30, 2018
Avery
added it
Oct 22, 2018
Laura
marked it as to-read
Oct 23, 2018
Sheila
marked it as to-read
Nov 10, 2018
Jana
added it
Nov 11, 2018
Lope Nieves
marked it as to-read
Nov 11, 2018
all knowing trash heap
marked it as to-read
Nov 17, 2018
Blair
marked it as to-read
Nov 20, 2018
Alan Baxter
marked it as to-read
Dec 18, 2018
Irrion
marked it as to-read
Jan 03, 2019
Chris Bradbury
marked it as to-read
Jan 24, 2019
Sebastien
marked it as to-read
Feb 10, 2019
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Finna
  • Sea Change
  • The Last Human
  • Beneath the Rising
  • Highfire
  • The Five: The Untold Lives of the Women Killed by Jack the Ripper
  • To Be Taught, If Fortunate
  • Shorefall (Founders, #2)
  • 88 Names
  • The Last Smile in Sunder City (The Fetch Phillips Archives, #1)
  • The Clan of the Cave Bear (Earth's Children, #1)
  • The Book of Eating: Adventures in Professional Gluttony
  • Hellfire: The Jerry Lee Lewis Story
  • When We Were Vikings
  • The Likely Resolutions of Oliver Clock
  • The Night Bird (Frost Easton, #1)
  • Hamnet
  • Prosper's Demon
See similar books…

Related Articles

Veronica Roth's newest book, Chosen Ones, arrives in U.S. stores on April 7. Known for the Divergent trilogy and the Carve the Mark duology, the ...
16 likes · 4 comments
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »