Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Other Preacher in Lynchburg: My Life Across Town from Jerry Falwell” as Want to Read:
The Other Preacher in Lynchburg: My Life Across Town from Jerry Falwell
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Other Preacher in Lynchburg: My Life Across Town from Jerry Falwell

3.5  ·  Rating details ·  18 Ratings  ·  3 Reviews

After teaching for a number of years, John Killinger, eager to be a pastor, was offered a church in Lynchburg, Virginia. It was in the 1980s when Jerry Falwell had a congregation there. Falwell had just started the Moral Majority movement and had helped to get Ronald Reagan elected president. In 1983, a Good Housekeeping national poll rated Jerry Falwell the second most

...more
Hardcover, 224 pages
Published March 17th 2009 by Thomas Dunne Books
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Other Preacher in Lynchburg, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Other Preacher in Lynchburg

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-34)
filter  |  sort: default (?)  |  Rating Details
Brian Bojo
Aug 05, 2011 added it
Shelves: 2010
A story of Jerry Falwell's empire as seen through the eyes of a mainline protestant pastor whose church was across town from Dr. Falwell in Lynchburg during the height of the Moral Majority. The author, a liberal theologian in the tradition of Neibuhr and Barth, shares personal stories of both positive and negative interactions with Dr. Falwell. He also broadens the text into a critique of fundamentalism; though his critique is more anecdotal than academic, and his target was not fundamentalism ...more
Kathryn Bundy
Apr 02, 2012 rated it liked it
I picked it up on a whim and on a whim I read it. It was sort of interesting --- certainly not life-changing. Seemed a little like self-justification, but that's the point, isn't it? How do you state your case in response to nonsense without sounding just a little bit petulant?
Stephen Deloney
remarkable story of one man's encounter with the infamous founder of much of modern day popular religion in america. The author writes in a very human, and yet in a subtly pastoral manner.
Art
rated it did not like it
Sep 24, 2011
Cheryl
rated it liked it
Jun 23, 2009
Michelle
rated it it was amazing
Jun 24, 2013
Rebecca
rated it it was amazing
Aug 26, 2009
Francie Shoemaker
rated it liked it
Oct 26, 2012
Linda
rated it really liked it
Mar 03, 2014
Nicole
rated it liked it
Feb 06, 2017
Meg Evans
rated it liked it
Aug 19, 2013
Margaret Elder
rated it liked it
Dec 04, 2011
Francis J Mallalieu
rated it it was amazing
Jun 08, 2015
Susan
rated it it was ok
Nov 10, 2012
Suzanne
rated it it was amazing
Jan 24, 2014
Jim Hiller
rated it really liked it
Aug 07, 2009
Kate
rated it liked it
Jul 14, 2009
Jim
rated it really liked it
Oct 12, 2010
Terri
rated it liked it
Apr 21, 2010
Wayne
marked it as to-read
Jan 29, 2009
Sara
added it
Mar 09, 2009
Katherine Pershey
marked it as to-read
Apr 08, 2009
Redpittman66
marked it as to-read
Nov 26, 2009
Mary Guarnieri
marked it as to-read
Mar 01, 2010
Carla
marked it as to-read
Sep 18, 2010
Jackie
marked it as to-read
Jul 15, 2011
Brian Reagan
marked it as to-read
Jul 28, 2011
Amber
marked it as to-read
Aug 21, 2012
Morgan
marked it as to-read
May 13, 2013
Kellie Reynolds
marked it as to-read
Jun 24, 2013
Marley
marked it as to-read
Jan 27, 2014
LB Johnson
marked it as to-read
Jan 28, 2014
Ryon Keith
marked it as to-read
May 27, 2017
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
71021
The Rev. Dr. John Killinger lives with his wife, Anne, in Warrenton, Virginia. A former pastor in Baptist, Presbyterian and Congregational churches, he also taught for fifteen years at Vanderbilt Divinity School and was Distinguished Professor of Religion and Culture at Samford University in Birmingham. He is the author of over 50 books, among them God, The Devil, and Harry Potter. Because Dr. Kil ...more
More about John Killinger...

Share This Book