Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Thirteen Nocturnes” as Want to Read:
Thirteen Nocturnes
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Thirteen Nocturnes

by
4.80  ·  Rating details ·  10 ratings  ·  5 reviews
Combining lush Gothic lyricism with postmodern experimentation, Oliver Sheppard's second collection of verse, Thirteen Nocturnes, presents a nightmare vision of a world in the grip of apocalypse and shadow-a world where "a nighttime of years never-ending" becomes "a darkness severe and unbending," and where life is relentlessly "gathered up against the towering shadow of d ...more
Paperback, 258 pages
Published July 3rd 2018 by Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Thirteen Nocturnes, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Thirteen Nocturnes

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-39
Average rating 4.80  · 
Rating details
 ·  10 ratings  ·  5 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Thirteen Nocturnes
Lisastrawberry
Nov 03, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Slip away into the midnight black musings of this gothic poetry collection... sepulchral, crepuscular, and liminal... you'll float in its dreamscapes for eons, that seem like the blink of an eye
Erika Messer
Feb 02, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I am one of those people who loves gothic, horror, deep and dark places and anything surrounding it. Always have been so this book spoke to me, I just loved the poetry and the way it made me feel. Sometimes it's hard to understand what they are talking about - but as a student of literature, that is exactly what poetry is supposed to do - confuse you, make you think and come to your own conclusion. It's always open to interpretation. One of my favorite quotes from this book is "the starry rose-p ...more
Red Lark Publishing
Feb 03, 2019 rated it it was amazing
A breathtaking volume! Elegant, exquisite verse in the tradition of Lovecraft, Poe, and the Graveyard Poets.
L. Bachman
Jul 08, 2020 rated it it was amazing
I have fallen in love with this work. Excellent poetry reflects the golden age of gothic literary pieces. I don't want to compare this to other well-known poets and writers as it is its own stand-alone piece because of the style of the poet himself. I have recommended this book to several others I knew enjoyed this kind of poetry. The poems were enlightening, intelligent, thoughtful, and even dark, which I appreciate. I highly recommend this book to anyone that might hesitate on purchasing, this ...more
Jason
Jan 11, 2019 rated it it was amazing
An important poet who does not come from the stifling environs of academia. The dark and haunting poems have a timeless quality. They are at once modern and suited for today's more discerning readers, and firmly rooted in the traditions of yore. The best poems in this gathering are on the level of Blake and Dickinson.
Erin Powell
rated it it was amazing
Feb 10, 2019
Sara
rated it it was amazing
Feb 03, 2019
Eric McCrary
rated it it was amazing
Feb 08, 2019
Elizabeth Eden
rated it it was amazing
Feb 10, 2019
Ashley
rated it liked it
Jan 17, 2019
Peggy
marked it as to-read
Jul 23, 2018
Adriana Carrico
marked it as to-read
Aug 29, 2018
Aaron
added it
Sep 18, 2018
Trevor Woodhouse
marked it as to-read
Sep 19, 2018
Darren Mitton
marked it as to-read
Nov 22, 2018
Katrina
marked it as to-read
Nov 23, 2018
Lily
marked it as to-read
Nov 23, 2018
Melissa
marked it as to-read
Nov 24, 2018
Andy Zeigert
marked it as to-read
Nov 27, 2018
Kristin
marked it as to-read
Dec 22, 2018
GracieKat
marked it as to-read
Dec 25, 2018
James Robert
marked it as to-read
Jan 04, 2019
Bea LaRocca
marked it as to-read
Jan 04, 2019
Shirley Ann
marked it as to-read
Jan 04, 2019
Janet Watson
marked it as to-read
Jan 04, 2019
Calvin
marked it as to-read
Jan 04, 2019
Victoria
marked it as to-read
Jan 04, 2019
Wendy
marked it as to-read
Jan 04, 2019
Debbie P
marked it as to-read
Jan 04, 2019
Sherry
marked it as to-read
Jan 04, 2019
Leeyatwahhh
marked it as to-read
Jan 04, 2019
Mary Cloud
marked it as to-read
Jan 04, 2019
Rhonda Miotke
marked it as to-read
Jan 04, 2019
Mari Zuniga
marked it as to-read
Jan 04, 2019
Kelly Nicholson
marked it as to-read
Jan 05, 2019
Stefanie Gladden
marked it as to-read
Jan 05, 2019
Angelica Dimeo
marked it as to-read
Jan 05, 2019
Vladimir Palyuga
marked it as to-read
Jan 05, 2019
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

News & Interviews

Whether it’s magic schools, dystopias, paranormal love stories, or contemporary explorations of important real-life issues, young adult books a...
112 likes · 112 comments