Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Death March Escape: The Remarkable Story of a Man Who Twice Escaped the Nazi Holocaust” as Want to Read:
Death March Escape: The Remarkable Story of a Man Who Twice Escaped the Nazi Holocaust
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Death March Escape: The Remarkable Story of a Man Who Twice Escaped the Nazi Holocaust

4.39  ·  Rating details ·  41 ratings  ·  27 reviews
In June 1944, the Nazis locked eighteen-year-old Dave Hersch into a railroad boxcar and shipped him from his hometown of Dej, Hungary, to Mauthausen Concentration Camp, the harshest, cruellest camp in the Reich. After ten months in the granite mines of Mauthausen's nearby sub-camp, Gusen, he weighed less than 80lbs, nothing but skin and bones.

Somehow surviving the relentle
...more
Hardcover
Published January 11th 2019 by Frontline Books
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Death March Escape, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Death March Escape

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
4.39  · 
Rating details
 ·  41 ratings  ·  27 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Elizabeth
Title : Death March Escape

By : Jack J Hersch

Genre: Nonfiction :
Biographies & Memoirs ,
Pages: 253

book synopsis :

In June 1944, the Nazis locked eighteen-year-old Dave Hersch into a railroad boxcar and shipped him from his hometown of Dej, Hungary, to Mauthausen Concentration Camp, the harshest, cruellest camp in the Reich. After ten months in the granite mines of Mauthausen's nearby sub-camp, Gusen, he weighed less than 80lbs, nothing but skin and bones.

Somehow surviving the relentless horror
...more
Zohar - ManOfLaBook.com
Feb 27, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: 2019
For more reviews and bookish posts please visit: http://www.ManOfLaBook.com

Death March Escape: The Remarkable Story of a Man Who Twice Escaped the Nazi Holocaust by Jack J Hersch is a biography of Dave Hersch, the author’s father. This is Mr. Hersch’s first non-fiction book.

After his father passed away, the author realized what many other children of Holocaust survivors found out – they didn’t ask enough questions, or pried for more information. Frankly, it’s not his fault the during the book he
...more
Angela H.
Jan 21, 2019 rated it really liked it
Shelves: netgalley, nonfiction
The author is the son of a Jew survivor of the concentration camp. The survivor is his father who escaped twice from the Nazis, which is very rare.

I really enjoyed the book; however, I was seeking for specific details. The author tells the story of father and retraces his father's story to walk where his father walked. Throughout the reading, I can feel how much he honors his father.

What I got out of the book was how honorable and brave his father was in enduring the suffering that fell upon h
...more
January Gray
May 01, 2019 rated it it was amazing
A true and incredible story about the struggle to survive during the Holocaust. Amazing how the human mind and body can survive such a journey and tale.
thewanderingjew
Dec 08, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Death March Escape: The Remarkable Story of a Man Who Twice Escaped the Nazi Holocaust
by Jack J Hersch
When Jack Hersch discovered his father had a past that he did not fully understand, he also discovered that he had a past he had never known about, as well. There were parts of his life that David Hersch had kept from his son, like a trip back to the scene of the crime, Austria, so that he could revisit his Holocaust experiences. When Jack’s Israeli cousin called him to tell him that there was a
...more
Bookish Devil
Jan 27, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Death March
noun
A death march is a forced march of prisoners of war or other captives or deportees in which individuals are left to die along the way.

Eighteen-year-old Dave Hersch was one among the thousands of Jews who were coerced to make the 30 mile 'Death March' to a concentration camp by the ruthless Nazis in the early 1940s. True to its name, the march was yet another devious scheme invented by the Nazis to minimize the Jew population by subjecting them to a walk, long enough to drain the
...more
Jolie
Jan 19, 2019 rated it it was amazing
It is rare that I read nonfiction. It is even rarer that I review it. I do make an exception for anything written about WW2 and the Holocaust. When I was approached by the publisher to review Death March Escape, I accepted without hesitation.

This book was haunting. Excellent but haunting. The author did a fantastic job of telling the story of his father’s escapes from 2 different points of views. The first being his father’s point of view. The second being his. Jack’s story was intertwined with
...more
Katya Vinogradova
The full title reads - Death March Escape: The remarkable story of a man who twice escaped the Nazi Holocaust.
I would say “remarkable” is an understatement in this context. There have only been a handful of recorded cases of prisoners escaping from concentration camps during WWII and not all of those who managed to escape, ever made it to freedom. Many were hunted down, found and killed; many perished on their own, without food and shelter.
Which is why the story of David Hersch, a man who escap
...more
Andrex
May 03, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Written by his son, Jack, this book starts with Jack visiting KZ Mauthausen to retrace the steps of his father, Dave, in 1944 when he entered the camp as a 160lb, 18 year old. How had this search begun? Jack's Israeli cousin, Vivian, had called Jack in 2007 to inform him that his dad was on the Mauthausen website.

Unlike many other survivors, Dave (David) like to tell his story but did he tell it all? He was a man of many smiles and jokes. Jack, however, had never seen the picture of his father o
...more
Dee
Mar 11, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Recommends it for: Everyone of this genre
Recommended to Dee by: Author
Death March Escape - Written by Jack Hersch
Facing death how could you not try to escape anyway, anytime possible!!!

Dave often told his story of survival and escape, and his son, Jack, thought he knew it well. But years after his father’s death, he came across a photograph of his father on, of all places, the Mauthausen Memorial’s website. It was an image he had never seen before – and it propelled him on an intensely personal journey of discovery.

What did I like? I was very touched by this book
...more
Sandra Stiles
Feb 12, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I received an advanced copy from Netgalley. The opinions expressed here are my own.


I have never been able to read a book about Holocaust survivors without getting emotional. As an eighth grade English teacher we have a unit that touches on the Holocaust. When I taught ninth grade English we read Night and other stories about the Holocaust. I have over the years met only one survivor. The only part of her story that stuck with me was the death march she was taken on. To me this is more terrifying
...more
Erin
Apr 05, 2019 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
It is with great reluctance that I give this book only 3 stars. I have great respect for the story, the author’s dedicated research and the desire to share such an incredible tale of survival. I believe that the holocaust cannot be documented enough, too few stories of survivors exist – and every year that passes, every survivor that dies, the stories become, most regrettably, lost to time. With that being said, the construction and arrangement of the 2 accounts in the book made it difficult to ...more
Charlotte Lynn
Feb 02, 2019 rated it really liked it
3.5 star review

I love to learn more about WWII and am always looking for more books to read. Usually, I read fiction books with the history of that era weaved into the story. This is a firsthand look at a man’s journey in life through WWII and the Nazi rule.

Death March Escape is a personal story that shares the facts of two men. One man lived through WWII, lived in concentration camps, walked death marches, and shares the story with his son. The other man is the son, who after his father passe
...more
CoffeeBreakBooks
Mar 06, 2019 rated it it was amazing
“No matter how bad things are, it beats the alternative."

Death March Escape is a truly inspirational tale of Dave Hersch, a gentleman with an incredible "Will" to live. I found it difficult to put the book down, and I can easily picture this title on a World War II bestseller list. The author, Jack Hersch, mentions that his father was a natural storyteller; well, Jack is certainly the same, telling this tale in a personal, conversational mode. Definitely one of the best WWII memoirs that I have
...more
Steve
Feb 13, 2019 rated it it was amazing
An incredible story of escape and survival. The author traveled to the site of Mauthausen Concentration Camp, His father, Dave Hersch was sent there by the Nazis from his hometown in Dej, Hungary in June 1944, when he was eighteen years old. Mauthausen was a labor camp where prisoners worked in the granite mines under harshest conditions. Dave Hersch was then sent to nearby Gusen, where he weighed less than 80 lbs and nothing but skin and bones. During this time, Dave Hersch was being transferre ...more
BookTrib.com
Death March Escape (Frontline Books) by Jack J. Hersch is the true, unimaginable story of his father, David Arieh Hersch, who twice escaped death marches during the Nazi Holocaust. It’s the story of David’s countless ailments, emotional torture, other unexplainable horrors and remarkable escapes from the concentration camps.

But it also is the tale of how Jack, having long heard his father’s story of survival and escape, came upon a photograph of his father on the Mauthausen Concentration Camp Me
...more
Videoclimber(AKA)MTsLilSis
This was a story of a son following in his father's footsteps. He did his best to follow the same paths his father followed and to visit all the places he hid.
The father has an amazing story of having escaped two Nazi death marches. At the time of rescue he was 80 pounds and suffering from several terrible ailments. The fact that he lived to tell his son the story is a miracle.
I appreciate the son sharing his story. The story was hard to read as it was broken into sections skipping between fath
...more
Sarah Stirrup
Jan 22, 2019 rated it really liked it
The story told in this book is a remarkable one that deserves so much recognision.

In 1945, David Hersch escaped a Death March not once, but twice. The journey he went through during that time was one of remarkable courage and hope. This is a story that deserves so much more recognition than it has.

The story was well written and had a lot of detail, though I feel at some points there was a bit too much unnecessary small details and anecdotes that took away from the rest of the story and would h
...more
Donna Pingry
Mar 16, 2019 rated it really liked it
Riveting story of one man's journey to understand the father who chose to share only the highlights of his escape from the Nazi's during World War II. Initially I thought the author was going to be content to retell his father's story. That would have been interesting enough but later the reader comes to realize that there was so much more to the authors father that he didn't know, that he hadn't asked, that he was afraid that he could never measure up to. Yes, the circumstances were unique. The ...more
Olivia
Feb 28, 2019 rated it liked it
Yeah, another WWII story. (Probably bcuz it's the only thing I'm allowed to bring into the house rme.) But this one was a different perspective - a son tracing his father's steps from Hungary to various mines and forced labor camps and making discoveries not only about his father but himself along the way.
Diane Mueller
Apr 09, 2019 rated it it was amazing
The story of a young Jewish man who escaped the Nazi death march. Over sixty years later his son was able to visit and learn more about what his father went through during wwii.
Danielle Honings
Jan 25, 2019 rated it really liked it
I received and ARC of this book by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

I personally am very interested in WWII and will read anything I can get my hands on pertaining to the subject. I tend to stick to more historical fiction and thats why I enjoyed this book so much. It is a nonfiction, very real, very heartfelt story, but was not bogged down with too many facts as I, personally, tend to feel most nonfiction books are.

I very much enjoyed the cross generational approach in the telli
...more
Sandra Dee
rated it it was amazing
Jan 31, 2019
Karo Line
rated it liked it
Mar 17, 2019
Steph
Feb 21, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I have read a few Holocaust stories, and they are always emotional. This one is not an exception.

I have heard Mr. Hersch's story before it was heartbreaking then and it is a little more heartbreaking to follow his son as he pieces the whole story together.The way this book is written is beautiful as you go through and follow the story that is David Hersch's life. His most intimate moments, possibly the scariest time of his life. This book is a must read. I would highly suggest it.

Jack has writ
...more
Dee
rated it it was amazing
Feb 01, 2019
Cassie Krauss
rated it really liked it
May 21, 2019
Andrea B
rated it really liked it
Apr 28, 2019
Edward Streim
rated it really liked it
Jan 26, 2019
John Wokurka
rated it it was amazing
Feb 04, 2019
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »