Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “An Open Book” as Want to Read:
An Open Book
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

An Open Book

3.55  ·  Rating details ·  20 ratings  ·  6 reviews
An Open Book celebrates the power of poetry and reaffirms David Malouf as one of Australia’s most celebrated and beloved writers.

This is only David Malouf’s third new poetry volume in nearly 40 years, so it is a significant publishing event. As one of Australia’s greatest living poets, Malouf continues to meditate and reflect on themes of mortality and memory. The poems in
...more
Hardcover, 94 pages
Published October 2018 by University of Queensland Press
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about An Open Book, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about An Open Book

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-43
3.55  · 
Rating details
 ·  20 ratings  ·  6 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Robert Lukins
Sep 25, 2018 rated it it was amazing
An amazingly revealing and moving collection; childhood, adult love and missing, reflection, fear, death and acceptance. A whole life it seems. Malouf somehow achieving a new height.
Haydon
Oct 11, 2018 rated it liked it
3.5 stars
Lisa
Oct 03, 2018 rated it really liked it
I can’t help but feel for the lonely boy in ‘Odd Man Out’ and for the man in his golden prime/ cruelly dumped and broken in ‘Pyrra’. There is loss too in the poems that trace Malouf’s travels in Europe: in ‘On the Move, 1968’, he mourns a lost love from half a century ago:
I miss it still,
and daily, as I miss you
at moments in the heat
of the pavement as I wait
in the traffic of another
city, in another
decade in another century
and have now for how long
is it?

Other poems I liked include ‘House and Hear
...more
Morgan
Dec 30, 2018 rated it it was ok
Just not my kind of poetry. I read about half of the poems and it just didn't connect personally. I'm sure other people would love and connect with Malouf's poems but I just didn't.
Naomi
Feb 18, 2019 rated it liked it
Shelves: 2019
Often I have to be really in the mood to enjoy poetry. It is not my favourite style of book to read. I quite enjoyed this collection of poetry. I found it calming and gentle to read.
Peter Metcalfe
Mar 26, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Great poetry with a fine emphasis on his early life and family. Kite is a favourite for me.
Hailey
rated it really liked it
Apr 03, 2019
Renae
rated it liked it
Mar 18, 2019
Jack
rated it really liked it
Oct 21, 2018
Simon
rated it liked it
Jan 22, 2019
Amanda
rated it liked it
Jan 28, 2019
Kaitlyn
rated it really liked it
Dec 29, 2018
Claire Chomiak
rated it liked it
Dec 07, 2018
Danielle Rankin
rated it liked it
Nov 14, 2018
Katharine
rated it really liked it
Jan 29, 2019
Warrick
rated it liked it
Apr 18, 2019
Nabil
rated it really liked it
Dec 31, 2018
Elaine
rated it really liked it
Nov 08, 2018
Elyse Lucas
rated it really liked it
Nov 24, 2018
Elliott
rated it liked it
Dec 13, 2018
Meg McKinlay
marked it as to-read
Aug 29, 2018
Amanda
marked it as to-read
Sep 24, 2018
Belinda Rule
marked it as to-read
Sep 26, 2018
Suzie
marked it as to-read
Sep 29, 2018
Jason Hilton
marked it as to-read
Oct 02, 2018
Lea
marked it as to-read
Oct 16, 2018
Helen  E Burns
marked it as to-read
Oct 22, 2018
Belinda
marked it as to-read
Oct 25, 2018
Maha Abed
marked it as to-read
Nov 05, 2018
Dan Rogers
marked it as to-read
Nov 06, 2018
Robbie Coburn
marked it as to-read
Nov 19, 2018
Bianca
marked it as to-read
Nov 26, 2018
Emma Sedlak
marked it as to-read
Dec 27, 2018
Amanda
is currently reading it
Jan 21, 2019
Scott Vawser
marked it as to-read
Jan 23, 2019
Emma Lunsford
marked it as to-read
Feb 03, 2019
Martin Perrin
is currently reading it
Feb 04, 2019
Mel
added it
Feb 06, 2019
Kat Lastname
marked it as to-read
Feb 07, 2019
Ayah
marked it as to-read
Feb 20, 2019
Matt Sheppard
marked it as to-read
Apr 22, 2019
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
167 followers
David Malouf is the author of ten novels and six volumes of poetry. His novel The Great World was awarded both the prestigious Commonwealth Prize and the Prix Femina Estranger. Remembering Babylon was short-listed for the Booker Prize. He has also received the IMPAC Dublin Literary Award and the Los Angeles Times Book Award. He lives in Sydney, Australia.
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »