Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “XL” as Want to Read:
XL
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

XL

by
3.68  ·  Rating details ·  68 ratings  ·  22 reviews
Fiercely funny, honest, and poignant, this story of a growth spurt gone wrong is perfect for readers who love Becky Albertalli and Jesse Andrews.

Will Daughtry is a late bloomer--at least that's what everyone tells the high school sophomore, who is just shy of five feet. By his sixteenth birthday, Will is resigned, bitterly, to being tiny forever. His only comfort is his
...more
Hardcover, 320 pages
Published March 26th 2019 by Knopf Books for Young Readers
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about XL, please sign up.
Recent Questions
This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
3.68  · 
Rating details
 ·  68 ratings  ·  22 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Mary (BookHounds)
Will Daughtry is just under 5 feet tall and has only two wishes in life: to be taller and to have a girlfriend.  He even knows the perfect girl. Monica and since he and his stepbrother have made a perfect trifecta with her throughout the years of growing up. Just when Will thinks he has the courage to ask Monica out, Drew beats him to it.  Well, at least Will gets one of his wishes when he starts to grow and eat and grow.  There is much drama over this growth and Will's snarky ego grows as well. ...more
Jordanna Brodsky
So funny, so smart. Not one, but THREE compelling protagonists, all of them real and dear and brilliant. Bravo, Scott Brown!
Munro's Kids
Jan 26, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This was very funny, and a perfect guy book, if such a thing is needed. On his sixteenth birthday, Will is still 4'9" and has given up hope of getting any taller. Will is the quintessential "short man" who feels invisible, helpless, and more than a little frustrated by his stature. Then he begins to grow and grow fast - catching up to his secret crush Monica (5'10") and even his best friend and stepbrother Drew (6'3"). Through it all, Will applies heaps of attitude, wit and biological observatio ...more
Moorhead Public Library
Feb 27, 2019 rated it it was ok
Shelves: arcs, young-adult
Advanced copy provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Actual rating: 1.5/5

Reviewed by: Cassey

I did not like this book. I’m so disappointed that I didn’t like it. It has a super interesting plot and I LOVE the cover art (don’t remind me not to judge a book by it’s cover). In the end, XL just did not live up to its name.

The plot is a superb idea and pulled me in right away. Basically, Will just turned sixteen and is living life stuck under 5 feet, unhappily and self-consciousl
...more
Sarah Peters
Will Daughtry is a late bloomer, just shy of 5 feet tall, and both he and his family are losing hope that he’ll ever grow. The one positive in his life are his friendships with stepbrother Will (6’3”) and Monica (5’10”) who he’s loved since age 11. After an especially upsetting 16th birthday, when he’s given a “clown car” as a gift and then catches Will and Monica kissing, he gets really angry. Virtually overnight, he begins to grow…at a rate of 2 inches a month. For the first time in his life, ...more
Barbara
Will Daughtry, his basketball playing stepbrother Drew, and their friend Monica have a plan for what they'll do after high school graduation. They'll continue to hang out together and go to the same college. But Will has long pined for Monica and wanted to tell her how he feels. Still, he worries that if he does, it will spoil the closeness the three share. Plus, he worries that Monica won't share his feelings, especially since he is short, not even five feet tall, while Monica and Drew are tall ...more
Sionna
*I voluntarily read and reviewed an ARC of this book. All thoughts and opinions are my own. *

DNF @ 25%

This book is so, so slow. 25% in and we are still just on day one. He hasn't started growing, only complained about his circumstances, which I mean, totally should, but it feels like all that has happened is complaining and being told background information. With this much page-time spent on just one day, it really made me wonder how everything else was going to fit in-- keeping to this pace we'
...more
Judy
Apr 16, 2019 rated it liked it
Shelves: young-adult-2019
When Will blows out the candles on his 16th birthday cake he doesn't wish to be tall-after being stuck at 4'11" for years, he's pretty much given up on that. But he is maybe hoping for an extra dose of courage, because tonight, tonight is the night he's going to tell the most awesome and amazing girl in the world that he loves her. There are only a couple of problems with this: 1. she's his best friend and 2. she's 5'10" and Will is pretty sure she'd rather be with someone in her own (height) le ...more
Franchesca
Mar 16, 2019 rated it liked it
Shelves: giveaways
I won this ARC in a Goodreads giveaway. To start with I want to say that the copy I received has a page at the beginning which states it is a children's book recommended for ages 12 and up. Due to strong language and situations I don't think I would recommend it for a 12 year old, more for high school students. While it is definitely geared toward the young reader I feel like it is a cute and fun story that adults will enjoy as well. I did.

It starts off (and for about a third of the book) about
...more
Janet
Apr 19, 2019 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2019, litsyatoz2019
I didn’t really understand the point of this book. A guy, below average height, suddenly starts growing at an alarming rate. You keep thinking there will be an explanation for the growth or some sort of closure or lesson, but it never comes. Sorry to those who wanted to find this out for themselves, I just don’t want you wasting your time. In the meantime there’s an underlying current of normal angst that comes with coming of age stories. It just was too disjointed for my tastes to really see th ...more
Pam
Mar 18, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Read an e-arc from Netgalley.
Will is 4'11" at age 16. His stepbrothee Drew and Monica are his tribe. His job is at the gorilla environment at the zoo, where his dad works.
Then Will starts growing, and has appointments at the hospital where his mom was treated for a rare, ultimately deadly form of cancer. And a troll, Jack, keeps texting him and posting less than flattering photos on social media.
Life in the gorilla habitat makes a telling counterpoint to Will's life.
The teenage banter was intere
...more
Kristin Lunz Trujillo
Mar 05, 2019 rated it really liked it
Shelves: gr-giveaways
XL is a funny and lighthearted dive into the awkwardness of being a teenager and how relationships (romantic and platonic) change as you change. It is a useful commentary on how to be a bigger man - figuratively, not literally - when it comes to others. It's perfect for a teenage boy, though as a woman in her late 20s I still found it highly relatable (and a useful glimpse into the young male psyche).

Thanks to the publisher and Goodreads giveaways for an ARC of this book!
B
Apr 09, 2019 rated it it was ok
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Barbara White
Apr 19, 2019 rated it it was amazing
XL is brilliantly relatable to young adults. I loved the character of Will. The emotions he showed were honest. I look forward to sharing XL with my students. I know they will enjoy it.
Thanks to Goodreads First Reads for my copy of XL.
Kim
Apr 04, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Loved this story! Nice to see a quirky love story from a guy's point of view. As a short person, wow, wouldn't it be cool to be tall!
Tory
Oct 01, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2018, ya
YES! A great viewpoint of both sides of being abnormal. Biological treatises. High-school dudes being dudes which is just my favorite. Great asides, great tone, really excellent.
Bayla
Growth, family, friendship, gorillas/zoo, biology, growing up literally and figuratively, high school is a jungle, rivalry, casual profanity
Julie
Apr 21, 2019 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Took me a while to get in to the story but lots of funny parts.
Arlen
Dec 09, 2018 rated it really liked it
I love Scott Brown's writing style: interesting vocabulary, descriptive metaphors, a glimmer of breaking the fourth wall, and a bit of dry, subtle humor. It works. If you don't like being given one of the funniest lines of a movie during a trailer, don't read the next part of this sentence since I'm going to ruin a chuckle for you: car mitzvah, when you turn 16 and get your driver's licence and your parents buy you a car. OK- you can resume reading. I also like that Brown gave me things to ponde ...more
tomatosauce
rated it liked it
Apr 15, 2019
Margaret
rated it liked it
Apr 06, 2019
Marilynrobbins
rated it really liked it
Sep 27, 2018
John
Dec 08, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
The advanced reader copy, XL, by Scott Brown, is a novel I definitely recommend reading. The novel tells a story of a teenager, Will Daugherty, who is slightly below five feet tall. Will is really jealous of his step brother Drew, who is 6’3, and their friend Monica, who is 5’10. Will secretly loved Monica, but he is very self conscious about his height, so he has no confidence in himself. But then Will starts to grow, and it happens really fast. There is a whole lot of drama, and multiple twist ...more
Jenniestarrish
rated it it was amazing
Apr 07, 2019
Andrea
rated it it was amazing
Mar 26, 2019
Megan
rated it liked it
Feb 28, 2019
Cassey
rated it it was ok
Feb 19, 2019
Kevin English
rated it it was amazing
Apr 04, 2019
Kibbenza
rated it liked it
Apr 12, 2019
Roxane
rated it it was amazing
Mar 10, 2019
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Going Places
  • Sorry For Your Loss
  • The Pursuit of Miss Heartbreak Hotel
  • If This Were a Story
  • Cold War on Maplewood Street
  • All the Walls of Belfast
  • Since We Last Spoke
  • Nick and June Were Here
  • Earth to Charlie
  • When Morning Comes
  • The Weight of a Thousand Feathers
  • The Adventures of a Girl Called Bicycle
  • Girls on the Verge
  • Patron Saints of Nothing
  • All the Stars Denied
  • When the Truth Unravels
  • No One Here Is Lonely
  • The Great Unknowable End
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »