Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Can't Beat the Heart of a Carolina Girl” as Want to Read:
Can't Beat the Heart of a Carolina Girl
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Can't Beat the Heart of a Carolina Girl

by
3.69  ·  Rating details ·  13 ratings  ·  9 reviews
Does the quality of a yearbook picture have the power to predict how a school year will turn out?

Riley Houston, once deemed an ugly duckling and social pariah among her classmates, makes a splash in the big pond of Linwood Whaley High her freshman year. Gone are her braceface and haircut of doom as Riley faces her long-awaited chance at love with Brett Harvey: the school’s
...more
Paperback, Cover Change, 212 pages
Published February 22nd 2017 by Createspace
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Can't Beat the Heart of a Carolina Girl, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Can't Beat the Heart of a Carolina Girl

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-36
Average rating 3.69  · 
Rating details
 ·  13 ratings  ·  9 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Can't Beat the Heart of a Carolina Girl
Jes Drew
Mar 11, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This was a fast, sweet romance with a decidedly Carolina flavor that left me craving barbecue without even mentioning it. The characters were very realistic, and both Trent and Taylor were my favorites. There were some euphonistic explatives- much more innocent then kids use now a days- but other than that, it was clean. The theme and romance are timely- especially for young high schoolers the same ages as the characters and the perfect alternative to today's YA.

I received a copy fromance the au
...more
Allyson


Fans of Sarah Dessen, Jenny B. Jones, and Kasie West will enjoy this young adult romance with sweet, southern flair.

Grab your copy of the book:
https://books2read.com/cantbeattheheartofacarolinagirl

This is a standalone novel with characters who live in the fictional town of Grahamwood in eastern North Carolina.
...more
R.A.
Well, I definitely have mixed feelings for this book, but more about that later!

The Characters:
Riley - she was nice and I'm glad she became not-so-shy! :)
Carter - yes, I loved him!! Countryish and all that! I'll agree with Riley about liking the plaid shirt over t-shirt combo!
Brett - *shakes head*
Trent - ha, every book needs to have a nerd!

The Story-line:
It was okay, but I didn't exactly really, really like it!

Content:
Where should I start?
1. I didn't like the dream Riley had - definitely a bit i
...more
Lydia Therese
Can't Beat the Heart of a Carolina Girl is by Allyson Kennedy.

This was a fun book, however, going into it I wasn't aware that it was going to be a book completely and totally centered on romance. I am not a huge romance person, although I do ship book characters pretty hard if they are cute enough. Just romance completely on its own as a genre, though, is not necessarily my thing.

Riley was likeable. I enjoyed reading from her POV. However, the rest of the book characters felt pretty generic to
...more
Gracelyn Buckner
4 Stars

This was really sweet! I was excited to read it, especially since its set in my home state. (view spoiler) I'm taking one star off for how young Riley and Carter were (not that a relationship started at a young age can't work out), but it was still very sweet. I can't wait to read more of Miss Kennedy's books.

I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
...more
Olivia Jarmusch
WRITING STYLE: 5 STARS

Allyson Kennedy is a very talented writer! I have to admit, I was totally hooked from the first line! Her writing style is adorable, and it's nice to read something so spunky and upbeat. I definitely felt like I was reading the diary of her main character, Riley, a High School freshmen. So much YA fiction has a fascinating story-line, yet falls short when it comes to their writing style. Not many authors can write YA realistically and joyfully while capturing true teen and
...more
Hufflepuff Book Reviewer
I feel like another reviewer stole the words right out of my mouth when she said, “I went into [this book] with zero expectations and came away with a goofy smile and a bucket load of respect for the author's ability.” Can’t Beat the Heart of a Carolina Girl broke every mold it could for me. I don’t usually like reading romances, but I enjoyed this novel; I don’t usually care for first-person, present-tense narration, but I love the author’s use of it in this book; I usually can’t stand love tri ...more
Serenna
Sep 17, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This book was awesome! I loved it so much! It was clean book. I really loved the authors writing style. And I really related to the characters. I do wish the they were a little older. Can't wait to read another book of yours! Can't wait to see where God takes the author with her writing. ...more
M. Boyle
Jul 25, 2019 rated it really liked it
Allyson Kennedy’s Christian YA novel Can’t Beat the Heart of a Carolina Girl follows Riley Houston through the ups and downs of her freshman year of high school.
Riley exited middle school as an awkward loner, and she is determined to have a better high school career. Thanks to her cousin Trent, two true friends, and catching the attention of her long-time crush, she’s off to a good start – that is, until her first love threatens to become her first heartbreak. Maybe the cute guy Trent introduced
...more
Lynn Rogers
rated it really liked it
Mar 24, 2018
Brooke Riley
rated it it was amazing
Jun 12, 2019
Anna :)
rated it liked it
Aug 29, 2019
Anna
rated it really liked it
Aug 08, 2019
Eva-Joy
rated it it was ok
Aug 02, 2018
Sydney
marked it as to-read
Mar 01, 2017
Gabriellyn
marked it as to-read
Dec 07, 2017
Abi Puckett
marked it as to-read
Jan 02, 2018
Brenda Knight
marked it as to-read
Jan 14, 2018
Nicki Chapelway
marked it as to-read
Mar 05, 2018
Svetlana H.
marked it as to-read
Mar 05, 2018
Gray Cox
marked it as to-read
Mar 14, 2018
Sarah
marked it as to-read
Mar 14, 2018
Melissa
marked it as to-read
Mar 15, 2018
Chloe (aka Crystal)
marked it as to-read
Mar 24, 2018
Grace Morris
marked it as to-read
Mar 27, 2018
Lonnie
marked it as to-read
Apr 10, 2018
anika
marked it as to-read
Apr 12, 2018
Karyssa
marked it as to-read
Apr 13, 2018
Josie
marked it as to-read
Apr 14, 2018
Zoe
marked it as to-read
Apr 14, 2018
Tricia Mingerink
marked it as to-read
Apr 25, 2018
Sarah
marked it as to-read
May 24, 2018
Libby03
marked it as to-read
May 31, 2018
Brandi
marked it as to-read
Jun 15, 2018
K.L. + Pierce
marked it as to-read
Jun 21, 2018
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Kiera
  • Enjoy the Poodle Skirt
  • Love Needs No Words
  • The Reluctant Godfather (The Tales of Ambia, #1)
  • Counted Worthy
  • The Night Archers (The Twin Arrows, #2)
  • Guitar Notes
  • Restart
  • The Twin Arrows (The Twin Arrows, #1)
  • Once Upon a Dime (The Accidental Cases of Emily Abbott, #6)
  • Red Rover, Red Rover (The Accidental Cases of Emily Abbott, #1)
  • Eventown
  • In His Steps
  • Can I Be Your Dog?
  • Spiderweb for Two: A Melendy Maze
  • Alone Yet Not Alone
  • Carry On, Mr. Bowditch
  • The Scarecrow and His Servant
See similar books…
60 followers
Allyson Kennedy is a southern contemporary YA author whose goal is to write realistic, thought-provoking books that honor God while not sugarcoating the realities of the world. When she’s not putting pen to paper, she can often be found with her nose in a book, watching movies for “storytelling research”, or hanging out at bowling alleys across eastern North Carolina.

CONNECT WITH ALLYSON ON:
Websit
...more

Related Articles

  Some people love books. Some people fall in love. And some people fall in love with books about falling in love. Every month our team...
4 likes · 0 comments