Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Great Jeff” as Want to Read:
The Great Jeff
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Great Jeff

(Firegirl #2)

4.04  ·  Rating details ·  112 ratings  ·  19 reviews
Perfect for fans of Gary D. Schmidt comes the companion to the modern classic Firegirl from acclaimed writer Tony Abbott.

Life hasn't been great for Jeff Hicks. After years at his beloved St. Catherine's, he's forced to spend eighth grade in the public middle school, which he hates. He's no longer speaking to his former best friend, Tom Bender, because of "that burned girl
...more
Hardcover, 288 pages
Published March 19th 2019 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Great Jeff, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Great Jeff

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.04  · 
Rating details
 ·  112 ratings  ·  19 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Great Jeff
Gracie
Nov 23, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Soooooooooooo sad!! I love how it shows life at a different perspective.... I understand much more now a person in this story situation feels. Now I want to do anything to help people who are in this kind or f situation. This is one of my favorite books, and I would do anything to help Jeff and other people in the same case as him. Yes, his mother drinks too much, but that is one of the things that bring the story together. The end was so sad, but the author did a great job making me so sympathe ...more
Valerie McEnroe
“I was five when I saw my first person die.”

That’s how Tony Abbott begins this amazing book about a boy shouldering the burdens of his parents. Jeff’s mother is an alcoholic who never got over her father’s death. Now she can’t hold down a job. The rent is way overdue. His dad bailed when his mom’s dysfunction got to be too much. When Jeff tracks him down, he explains why he left.

“You see yourself better when you’re in a different place. The way your life is going. And you can change it. Rearran
...more
Laura
Jul 16, 2019 rated it really liked it
Reading this book makes me want to read Firegirl, also about the same character, Jeff. Jeff becomes homeless and loses his best friend when his mother loses her job.
Jessica
Aug 08, 2019 rated it really liked it
In The Great Jeff by Tony Abbott the main character Jeff Hicks is going through a rough time in his life. Jeff is not talking to his best friend Tom Bender, he had to leave his catholic school and go to public school, and his mom lost her job. After the news of his mom losing her job Jeff starts to wonder what’s next and how they will pay rent, and where they will live. Although Jeff moves from place to place the main setting of this story is at his house. The main theme of this book is coming t ...more
Laurie
Feb 09, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Interest Level: 3-6

Have you ever wished that your friends knew what problems you were going through, yet at the same time you want to hide from your friends the problems you are going through? This is exactly what is happening to Jeff Hicks. Jeff spent his seventh grade year at St. Catherine's Catholic School with his best friend, Tom. Now Jeff begins his eight grade year in public school with no best friend. Jeff's parents have gone through a bitter divorce and they can not afford to pay for pr
...more
Laura Petrie
Mar 11, 2019 rated it really liked it
Thank you to the #kidlitexchange network for the review copy of this book. All opinions are my own. The second I saw this book available to review, I knew I needed to read it. Firegirl, the companion to The Great Jeff, is a book I read aloud every year with my 7th grade classes. Jeff is a character we discuss a lot in terms motivations and traits. My students always make great inferences, but most of it is speculation. This book perfectly complements Firegirl and confirms a lot of my students’ i ...more
Laura Gardner
Feb 26, 2019 rated it really liked it
Thanks to @littlebrownyoungreaders and author @tonyabbottbooks for this free book to share with #midlife change. It comes out March 19.
.
〰️
〰️
⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️/5 for this #mglit book about a boy experiencing housing instability and an alcoholic parent. Readers might remember Jeff from FIREGIRL by Tony Abbott; he was the bully/antagonist in that book, but now he is the protagonist and we get his story. Jeff should be a thoroughly unlikable character except that as things get tougher for he and his single mo
...more
Shaye Miller
Aug 11, 2019 rated it liked it
This is the story of 8th grader, Jeff Hicks. He’s in a bad situation, but none of it is his fault. His father left Jeff and his mom, his best friend ditched him, his mom drinks too much and lost yet another job, and they’re being kicked out of their home. Oh, and did I mention that he’s having to attend public middle school because they cannot afford his tuition for St. Catherine’s?

This one was tough to read at times, but there were valuable lessons on friendship, forgiveness, and family. And I
...more
Lesley
Oct 02, 2018 rated it really liked it
The Great Jeff is a sequel or companion book, to the 2006 novel Firegirl, and I found it necessary to have read the first book to understand Jeff's feelings about relationships in the new novel. Firegirl left me with questions about Jeff who was not the most sympathetic character and—from his behaviors in that novel—deserved to be ditched by his best friend Tom Bender.
In this well-written, engaging novel, the reader learns more abut Jeff and his family and home life, and he becomes a more sympat
...more
Ellen
Jun 05, 2019 rated it it was amazing
@kidlitexchange #partner Thanks to the @kidlitexchange network for the review copy of this book - all opinions are my own. The Great Jeff by Tony Abbot was released on 3.19.19!

Empathy is written all over the pages of this multifaceted novel. Readers will feel for Jeff as he experiencesall kinds of turmoil. Abbott did an amazing job (again) bringing characters to life and showing the reader that there is a story behind every face. “No one’s forcing me to decide. It’s up to me what I do. I make m
...more
Alice
May 09, 2019 rated it it was amazing
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Kim
Aug 17, 2019 rated it really liked it
This is a great YA novel for anyone to see and understand one of many perspectives on what it’s like to go from a warm, protective home to homeless in a matter of weeks.
Told through the eyes of the protagonist, the story of a boy and his alcoholic mother brings anyone who reads this a little closer to understanding the broken heart of a homeless preteen and how his world affects his thoughts and actions.
Denise
Feb 17, 2019 rated it liked it
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Donna Dobihal Smith
Sensitively written in a unique voice, this novel tackles some tough topics in a way that is absorbing, compelling, and heartbreaking. A lot to discuss, this is a great book club selection for middle school kids. Highly recommended.
Kathy
Sep 09, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: 2019-20-sequoyah
this book is amazing, it will help people understand why some kids act out.............when things are a mess at home, kids try to cover it or deal with it.
Elissa
Nov 15, 2019 rated it liked it
This book struck me as a book that was written over a decade ago and I'm not sure that's a good thing. Kind of basic. It was ok.
PWRL
Jul 30, 2019 marked it as to-read
Shelves: 2019-new
SM
Jennifer
Aug 16, 2020 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: children
This seems to be a good example of a fairly solid story that is marred by a very, very slow start.
Laura
Feb 15, 2019 rated it liked it
A book that could help readers empathize with those who are, sadly, homeless or nearly so. Jeff's situation changes due to his parent's divorce, then his father's choices and his mother's alcoholism. It's a slow, inevitable slide that starts with changing schools and ends with the loss of the home Jeff's grandfather lived in. And, like many in this position, Jeff doesn't want anyone to know or where to find help. The biggest problem is that Jeff is unlikeable (possibly as a defense, possibly bec ...more
Haley Shaffer
rated it really liked it
Dec 31, 2018
LeAnn
rated it liked it
Apr 06, 2020
Vea
rated it liked it
Oct 12, 2020
Kris Oakland
rated it really liked it
Sep 02, 2019
Phoenix
rated it it was amazing
Aug 25, 2020
Linda
rated it really liked it
Mar 21, 2019
Gillian Dawson
rated it really liked it
Sep 08, 2019
Angela
rated it liked it
Jul 25, 2019
John
rated it really liked it
Dec 23, 2018
Rachel
rated it liked it
Apr 01, 2019
Alicia Fussell
rated it it was amazing
Mar 25, 2020
« previous 1 3 4 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Focused
  • The Mighty Heart of Sunny St. James
  • The Line Tender
  • Free Lunch
  • The Next Great Paulie Fink
  • Captain Superlative
  • Good Enough
  • A Good Kind of Trouble
  • For Black Girls Like Me
  • The Bridge Home
  • Extraordinary Birds
  • Roll with It
  • It Wasn't Me
  • Pie in the Sky
  • Rising Water: The Story of the Thai Cave Rescue
  • Other Words for Home
  • Maybe He Just Likes You
  • Here in the Real World
See similar books…
348 followers
Tony Abbott (born 1952) is an American author of children's books. His most popular work is the book series The Secrets of Droon, which includes over 40 books. He has sold over 12 million copies of his books and they have been translated into several other languages, including Italian, Spanish, Korean, French, Japanese, Polish, Turkish, and Russian. He has also written the bestseller Firegirl.

Abbo
...more

Other books in the series

Firegirl (2 books)
  • Firegirl

Related Articles

Children's books featuring bold and brave girls are both becoming easier for parents to find, and also cover a large range of...
130 likes · 47 comments
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »
“When people make up their minds about you, they only see you one way, which is the easy way for them.” 0 likes
More quotes…