Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Great Jeff” as Want to Read:
The Great Jeff
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Great Jeff

4.08  ·  Rating details ·  26 ratings  ·  8 reviews
Perfect for fans of Gary D. Schmidt comes the companion to the modern classic Firegirl from acclaimed writer Tony Abbott.

Life hasn't been great for Jeff Hicks. After years at his beloved St. Catherine's, he's forced to spend eighth grade in the public middle school, which he hates. He's no longer speaking to his former best friend, Tom Bender, because of "that burned girl
...more
Hardcover, 288 pages
Published March 19th 2019 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Great Jeff, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Great Jeff

Community Reviews

Showing 1-56
4.08  · 
Rating details
 ·  26 ratings  ·  8 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Gracie
Nov 23, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Soooooooooooo sad!! I love how it shows life at a different perspective.... I understand much more now a person in this story situation feels. Now I want to do anything to help people who are in this kind or f situation. This is one of my favorite books, and I would do anything to help Jeff and other people in the same case as him. Yes, his mother drinks too much, but that is one of the things that bring the story together. The end was so sad, but the author did a great job making me so sympathe ...more
Valerie McEnroe
“I was five when I saw my first person die.”

That’s how Tony Abbott begins this amazing book about a boy shouldering the burdens of his parents. Jeff’s mother is an alcoholic who never got over her father’s death. Now she can’t hold down a job. The rent is way overdue. His dad bailed when his mom’s dysfunction got to be too much. When Jeff tracks him down, he explains why he left.

“You see yourself better when you’re in a different place. The way your life is going. And you can change it. Rearran
...more
Laurie
Feb 09, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Interest Level: 3-6

Have you ever wished that your friends knew what problems you were going through, yet at the same time you want to hide from your friends the problems you are going through? This is exactly what is happening to Jeff Hicks. Jeff spent his seventh grade year at St. Catherine's Catholic School with his best friend, Tom. Now Jeff begins his eight grade year in public school with no best friend. Jeff's parents have gone through a bitter divorce and they can not afford to pay for pr
...more
Laura Petrie
Mar 11, 2019 rated it really liked it
Thank you to the #kidlitexchange network for the review copy of this book. All opinions are my own. The second I saw this book available to review, I knew I needed to read it. Firegirl, the companion to The Great Jeff, is a book I read aloud every year with my 7th grade classes. Jeff is a character we discuss a lot in terms motivations and traits. My students always make great inferences, but most of it is speculation. This book perfectly complements Firegirl and confirms a lot of my students’ i ...more
Laura Gardner
Feb 26, 2019 rated it really liked it
Thanks to @littlebrownyoungreaders and author @tonyabbottbooks for this free book to share with #midlife change. It comes out March 19.
.


⭐⭐⭐⭐/5 for this #mglit book about a boy experiencing housing instability and an alcoholic parent. Readers might remember Jeff from FIREGIRL by Tony Abbott; he was the bully/antagonist in that book, but now he is the protagonist and we get his story. Jeff should be a thoroughly unlikable character except that as things get tougher for he and his single mom, he
...more
Lesley
Oct 02, 2018 rated it really liked it
The Great Jeff is a sequel or companion book, to the 2006 novel Firegirl, and I found it necessary to have read the first book to understand Jeff's feelings about relationships in the new novel. Firegirl left me with questions about Jeff who was not the most sympathetic character and—from his behaviors in that novel—deserved to be ditched by his best friend Tom Bender.
In this well-written, engaging novel, the reader learns more abut Jeff and his family and home life, and he becomes a more sympat
...more
Denise
Feb 17, 2019 rated it liked it
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Laura
Feb 15, 2019 rated it liked it
Shelves: 2019-mt-bookpile
A book that could help readers empathize with those who are, sadly, homeless or nearly so. Jeff's situation changes due to his parent's divorce, then his father's choices and his mother's alcoholism. It's a slow, inevitable slide that starts with changing schools and ends with the loss of the home Jeff's grandfather lived in. And, like many in this position, Jeff doesn't want anyone to know or where to find help. The biggest problem is that Jeff is unlikeable (possibly as a defense, possibly bec ...more
Haley Shaffer
rated it really liked it
Dec 31, 2018
Linda
rated it really liked it
Mar 21, 2019
John
rated it really liked it
Dec 23, 2018
Rachel
rated it liked it
Apr 01, 2019
Jasontes5th
rated it really liked it
Apr 15, 2019
Laura
rated it really liked it
Feb 16, 2019
Caroline
rated it really liked it
Mar 27, 2019
Patrick
rated it really liked it
Dec 27, 2018
Heatherton
rated it really liked it
Mar 30, 2019
Rebecca
rated it it was amazing
Feb 24, 2019
Lauren
rated it really liked it
Apr 05, 2019
Kari Healy
rated it really liked it
Dec 09, 2018
Alvina
rated it it was amazing
Sep 12, 2018
Hanna Morgan
rated it liked it
Apr 13, 2019
Jennifer
rated it it was amazing
Mar 29, 2019
Alexandra
rated it really liked it
Jan 04, 2019
Oona
rated it really liked it
Nov 01, 2018
Mary Ellen
rated it really liked it
Apr 16, 2019
Lisa Welch
marked it as to-read
Sep 09, 2018
Laura
marked it as to-read
Sep 09, 2018
Kellyanne
marked it as to-read
Sep 09, 2018
Kristin
marked it as to-read
Sep 09, 2018
Kathy
marked it as to-read
Sep 10, 2018
Sarah
marked it as to-read
Sep 30, 2018
Eva
marked it as to-read
Sep 30, 2018
Jen Minehardt
marked it as to-read
Oct 01, 2018
Laura Hook
marked it as to-read
Oct 09, 2018
Courtney Jukic
marked it as to-read
Oct 25, 2018
Arielle Goldstein
marked it as to-read
Oct 29, 2018
Jamie
marked it as to-read
Nov 02, 2018
Leah
marked it as to-read
Nov 02, 2018
JS
marked it as to-read
Nov 02, 2018
Emily
marked it as to-read
Nov 02, 2018
Nicki
marked it as to-read
Nov 08, 2018
Michelle
marked it as to-read
Nov 10, 2018
Bree
marked it as to-read
Nov 10, 2018
Maggi Rohde
marked it as to-read
Nov 11, 2018
Mrs Heidrich
marked it as to-read
Nov 13, 2018
Victoria
marked it as to-read
Nov 18, 2018
Kelly
marked it as to-read
Nov 19, 2018
Mallory Rivera
marked it as to-read
Nov 21, 2018
Jan
marked it as to-read
Dec 02, 2018
Lis
marked it as to-read
Dec 16, 2018
Kerry
marked it as to-read
Dec 18, 2018
Frederick Rotzien
marked it as to-read
Dec 19, 2018
amy
marked it as to-read
Dec 19, 2018
Ann Ellis
marked it as to-read
Dec 19, 2018
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Ling & Ting: Twice as Silly
  • Orange World and Other Stories
  • A Drop of Hope
  • William Shakespeare's Much Ado About Mean Girls
  • The Gone Dead
  • How High the Moon
  • Ninja! Attack of the Clan
  • Snail & Worm Again (Snail & Worm, #2)
  • The Fabulous Bouncing Chowder
  • Das Traumbuch
  • Rubber Houses
  • Won Ton and Chopstick: A Cat and Dog Tale Told in Haiku
  • Mama Seeton's Whistle
  • Sergio Makes a Splash
  • The Book of Humans: The Story of How We Became Us
  • Fire!!: The Zora Neale Hurston Story
  • The Suburb Beyond the Stars (Norumbegan Quartet, #2)
  • Beirut Hellfire Society
302 followers
Tony Abbott (born 1952) is an American author of children's books. His most popular work is the book series The Secrets of Droon, which includes over 40 books. He has sold over 12 million copies of his books and they have been translated into several other languages, including Italian, Spanish, Korean, French, Japanese, Polish, Turkish, and Russian. He has also written the bestseller "Firegirl".
Ab
...more
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »
“When people make up their minds about you, they only see you one way, which is the easy way for them.” 0 likes
More quotes…