Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Pandora Reborn” as Want to Read:
Pandora Reborn
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Pandora Reborn

by
4.20  ·  Rating details ·  45 ratings  ·  32 reviews
A buried chest is unearthed. A malevolent witch returns. The nightmare is just beginning for Deer Falls. Can Ron Olson stop this ancient evil before she destroys him and everyone he loves?

Ron is a reluctant newcomer to this small Colorado town. He has been torn away from his father, his friends, and his soccer team.

His situation takes a frightening turn when a mysterious
...more
Paperback, 308 pages
Published June 19th 2018 by Samak Press
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Pandora Reborn, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Pandora Reborn

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
4.20  · 
Rating details
 ·  45 ratings  ·  32 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Marie
I was taken by surprise as I started reading this book as it just grabbed me and threw me into the story quick. I read this book in a little over two days and stayed up to the wee hours of this morning finishing it.

Ron Olson along with his mother and brother move to the small town of Deer Falls to start a new life. Ron tries to adjust to the new school as he makes friends and ends up making some enemies in the short time since he arrived. Ron and his new friends come up against something that t
...more
Barbara
Sep 22, 2018 rated it really liked it
I received this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.

This was a good read. I wasn’t sure if I would like this book. In the first couple of chapters the pacing seemed a little off but once the plot was established it took off very nicely. There was one character that seemed a little too convenient to have in the roster but I understand why they were needed. It just makes me think how different the story would be if they weren’t there. I’m reluctant to give away much more
...more
Emma Nicole
Nov 25, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Pandora Reborn is a YA horror story about a supernatural ghost haunting a small town in America called Deer Falls. I don’t read a lot of horror but I liked the set-up. It falls on to the backs of a group of teens to solve the mystery.

The main character, Ron at first has a healthy amount of scepticism if there even is such a possibility of the supernatural, which I like as it makes the characters feel more realistic. I also liked Christina’s character and how she fears her own abilities, as she i
...more
Thomas Hiller
Sep 04, 2018 rated it it was amazing
A book I would have liked gifting to my son when he was fourteen…

… but, unfortunately, by that age and by my mistake, my son was already head down into an iPhone that I had gifted him.
He never acquired the habit to read books.
So, parents of actual teens you're warned! If your teen children are not yet reading books, you're late already!
Better you put their head down to this or similar books as soon!
Because a book like this will hopefully engage them, will make them taste the pleasure of readi
...more
P.S. Meraux
Jul 28, 2018 rated it it was amazing
As if moving to a new town isn’t difficult enough, the star football player has it in for Ron Olson. It seems like he has a beef against soccer players and the principal is on his side. All of which makes for a difficult first day of high school for Ron.

Trying to stay out of trouble, keep his soccer skills honed and make new friends isn’t easy. Unfortunately things are gonna go from bad to worse.

Kids are getting killed in the town of Deer Falls. And soon it will be up to Ron and his new classma
...more
Karen Horsley
Aug 06, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Pandora Reborn is an excellent first novel from US author John Coon.

Teenager Ron moves to the rural Colorado town of Deer Falls with his mother and younger brother following his parent’s divorce. Ron is in many ways a typical teenager, he is resentful of the move which has taken him away from his friends and most importantly his beloved football (soccer) team. He soon gets into trouble and ends up in detention on more than one occasion where he discovers that Deer Falls is no ordinary small tow
...more
Larry Cockerham
Aug 25, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Pandora Reborn was an enjoyable read for me. The story follows a group of young teens in the small town of Deer Falls, Colorado. The main character, Ron, a high school soccer player, has just recently moved there with his mother. He has a hard time adjusting to his new surroundings, but a newfound friend, Christina, form a bond that deepens throughout the novel. They are confronted by a malevolent witch that has been foolishly loosed from the wooden chest that has held her captive for the last f ...more
M.V. Clark
Aug 22, 2018 rated it really liked it
This is a classic tale of small-town supernatural shenanigans. John Coon writes very well - the story glides along smoothly. I enjoyed it a great deal although I did feel it was aimed at a younger reader than myself - I'm a bit further along the richter scale of horror in my tastes. However, as a YA book it was pretty much perfect - I'd be delighted for my son to read this when he's 12 or 13 (he loves horror but is too young for most of it!). Great characters. I will be keeping tabs on this auth ...more
Chitra Iyer
May 14, 2019 rated it really liked it
Pandora Reborn by John Coon is a supernatural thriller. As the title suggests, it is about a Pandora’s box opening (re-opening rather) that is the source of all troubles in the story.

I don’t usually read horror books but thought it would be a good change and hence decided to try this out. I must say, I was not disappointed.

Summary

In the small town of Deer Falls, supernatural stuff keep happening. Or so was told to Ron Olson who is a new student here and who rubbishes the idea. A Pandora’s box is
...more
Kitiera Morey
Nov 20, 2018 rated it really liked it
Shelves: reviews
I received a free copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

This was a really easy read and didn’t drag like some other young adult books do. There isn’t much mystery with who the villain is and how to defeat her, but I was engaged and wanted to find out how it ended nonetheless.

Ron is slightly annoying, but like you’d expect a teenage boy who isn’t thrilled about the huge changes in his life to be. He’s realistic, and his slightly jerk-ish qualities didn’t make it har
...more
Rhett Evans
Mar 25, 2019 rated it it was amazing
John Coon's debut novel PANDORA REBORN is a rollicking, supernatural treat that will make those of us who grew up with BUFFY THE VAMPIRE SLAYER or SMALLVILLE feel right at home. Deer Falls is a lovingly painted backdrop for a murderous witch on a killing spree, reminiscent of the small-town terrors of Stephen King. With this debut, Coon marks himself as a talent to watch out for. His thriller is a well-paced, fun and often horrifying read. Stupendous, eerie and exciting from the first chapter on ...more
J.P.
Feb 24, 2019 rated it really liked it
Take the cruelty of the cool kids from Heathers, add the cursed small town of It or Twin Peaks, and toss in an ancient malevolence unleashed in an unexpected manner and you have Pandora Reborn. John weaves a story that is both somewhat surprising and thoroughly enjoyable. I feel like there’s a sequel waiting in the wings.
D.L. Finn
Oct 19, 2018 rated it it was amazing
This is Mr. Coon’s debut YA novel. There were many things I loved about this story. I enjoyed a boy’s viewpoint, since I usually read YA’s through a girl’s perspective. The characters were strong, flaws and all, while the story line was unique. Ron moves to a small town, after his parent’s divorce, with his mother and little brother. He leaves his friends and soccer team behind. The first day at his new school, he ends up in detention. Ron’s introduced to some new friends, and a strange “town lo ...more
Maggie Long
Mar 23, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
WOW!

Brilliantly told story. I loved it from the beginning to the ending. Whilst reading Pandora Reborn, Coon had me clinging to the arms of my chair. This would make a great film - the story has a touch of the film, The Woman in Black with Daniel Radcliffe. Well deserved 5 stars.
Felicia Allen
Oct 24, 2018 rated it it was amazing
This book was AMAZING! It hooked me in from the start and kept my attention throughout. I read it in one sitting! The cast of characters was perfect for this book. I feel like Dean should have gotten a bigger part though. I am going to put this on my Halloween reads shelf!
Kari Marie
Sep 28, 2018 rated it liked it
I received a free copy from NetGalley for an honest review.

Pandora Reborn is a dark horror fantasy book about a town where weird supernatural things take place more frequently than anywhere else. Ron Olson is new to town and already struggling since his parents divorce. The popular kids take an instant dislike to him but he finds friends in Casey and Christina. People are disappearing and dying and Ron may be the prime suspect.

This was a fun easy read. Slightly gruesome but I have read way worse
...more
Joshua Coon
Jul 29, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Solid Book from First Time Author (Spoilers)

Pandora Reborn is a good book from relatively newer author, John Coon. Set in small town Colorado, this book details Ron Olsen's fight with friends Christina and Casey against a powerful and ancient evil that has been released on the town. It is written in classical horror/thriller style, with a linear narrative and third person limited omniscience reference frame. It is a relatively quick read and can easily be finished in a long afternoon.

The story i
...more
Hayley Bi
Jul 20, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
The author is an adept story teller whose words had taken me on a roller coaster ride for the last few days. I found myself devouring pages after pages well after my bedtime because I was eager to see what was going to happen next.

I was able to picture vividly the scenes the author was trying to describe, and at times, I found my blood was pumping anticipating the danger about to befall on the main characters. I let out signs of relief when they were able to dodge the many mishaps that came the
...more
Barnaby Taylor
Jul 31, 2018 rated it it was amazing
I thoroughly enjoyed Pandora Reborn and am very happy to award it five stars. I particularly enjoyed the ambition of the book and the many ways in which the author was able to bring alive the relationship between the various kids embroiled in the small town horrors of the story. There are some very good descriptive passages in the book, especially in relation to the various murders that occur. There are many aspects of Pandora Reborn that echo contemporary television series like Stranger Things ...more
Davon Custis
Aug 21, 2018 rated it it was amazing
This is a good, easy-to-read story that follows a group of teens trying to figure out some murders which take place in the small town of Deer Falls. As the story progresses, there goes a strong supernatural presence that our teenage heroes must fight against or countless others might perhaps die. The characters are very believable and likable such as Ron, Eric, Christina, and Cassandra. The author's writing uses short, concise sentences to convey some beautiful imagery in which there is a natura ...more
James Schmidt
Aug 20, 2018 rated it it was amazing
This is my first time reading this genre and I must say Pandora Reborn does not disappoint. From the first page to the very last page John Coon keeps you guessing, wanting to know more. Despite being a new author, he writes a well thought out and coherent story. Pandora Reborn is a novel I think many fans of horror and supernatural reads will genuinely enjoy. It deals with a multitude of subjects that I think will speak to a wide variety of interest such as magic, high school drama, and murder m ...more
julianne
Sep 06, 2018 rated it really liked it
A good solid horror story that leads the reader to hope there will be a sequel. Looking forward to more by this author.
Booker Bookman
Aug 22, 2018 rated it it was amazing
I got a chance to read this book through Net Galley and I'll say I wasn't disappointed. It's a quality horror novel. John does an excellent job of building suspense early and keeping it going throughout. There are some clever plot twists and both the characters and the dialogue feel real and believable. Pandora Reborn is definitely worth reading more than once.
Mitch Dyer
Aug 27, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Life in Deer Falls was really enjoyable and I hope that Christina's and Ron' adventure does not end here!

Their plot was really exciting. Also a big recommendation from my side. Fluent from the beginning to the end.
Angela
Pretty good book. It kept my interest, but there really wasn’t anything fascinating about it, but it was good. I thought it was going to have bad language throughout, but it was only in the first to second chapters and though I didn’t like the bad language, I was grateful it stopped, so I could enjoy the book more. It’s about a witch who comes back after many years to wreak havoc on a town. And she has been abolished to a chest for all these years. It’s interesting and mysterious, but doesn’t sh ...more
Sophie Kernstock Kernstock
I enjoyed the horror parts of this book which were vividly decribed and really creative in parts but I had hard time feeling for the characters that met all the teen movie tropes and in such fell kinda flat. Jocks, cheerleaders, nerds, and all girls being crazy pretty just does not strike a chord with me.

Though if you enjoy teen horror with sprincle of adolecent love, this is a OK read and worth the time and money put to it.
Jace
Sep 08, 2018 rated it did not like it
DNF’ed at 2% on 08/09/18

Unfortunately I just don’t think this book was for me. I wish I could have loved it; the premise was interesting, but I just couldn’t get past the first chapter. I believe that this book was aimed at a younger book than I, so I take sole blame for my lack of investment.

#PandoraReborn #NetGalley
Kathleen Collier
Jun 24, 2019 rated it really liked it
I was hooked from page one. Great read.
BookLoversLife
Nov 09, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: netgalley, for-review
Review to come.
Angela
Jan 02, 2019 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Pretty good book. It kept my interest, but there really wasn’t anything fascinating about it, but it was good. I thought it was going to have bad language throughout, but it was only in the first to second chapters and though I didn’t like the bad language, I was grateful it stopped, so I could enjoy the book more. It’s about a witch who comes back after many years to wreak havoc on a town. And she has been abolished to a chest for all these years. It’s interesting and mysterious, but doesn’t sh ...more
« previous 1 next »